Customer reviews for JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

1 Family Sub-Compact Utility Tractors, 1 Family 1025R
Overall rating:
4.512 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(445 reviews) 445
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 445 reviews
5 Stars
296
4 Stars
110
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
11
1 Star
9
Recommended by395 out of 43092%
Customer reviews for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Review 1 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hydraulic hose and snap ring in two months.

Posted22 April 2016
Customer avatar
From:Buckhannon, WV 26201, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased two months ago and have put over 45 hours on this tractor, I have the back hoe and the H120 loader. This is a very strong machine and I have been impressed. Its very easy to use.
My concern is that the quality is not the same as my 30 year old 325 lawn mower which is tough as nails.
Up on delivery the tractor had a leaking hydraulic hose that had to be replaced, I was using my new tiller, well my wife was using my new tiller and the snap ring that keeps the spline shaft on for the draft arms broke ( and that was a tough self fix ) and now the attachment lift and lower arm wont stay up.......
Will this tractor make it 30 years?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere 1025R FILB

Posted20 February 2016
Customer avatar
From:Sutton, WV, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked at the competitions sub compact tractor offerings before I decided on buying the John Deere . Any of them will most likely be able to do the work you have in mind. Some are boasting running at low Rpm's or doing this or that better. Here is what I have learned after sitting on the competition machines. Hands down the John Deere has controls that are easier to use. Everything from the 4x4 shifter to the loader control is within easy reach. Having been able to operate the competitions machines in real world work conditions the John Deere offers better comfort, less complex control's and is a easy machine to operate. It will do the job just as easy as a bigger machine just takes a few extra buckets.
Prosall controls are within easy reachengine runs excellent at 2200 rpm . plenty of poweeasy to service!
Consreversing the seat takes a little practicerops could be just a little widerrops lights should be standard!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

she thinks my tractor's sexy

Posted9 February 2016
Customer avatar
From:Lower Saucon Township, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this for 5 acres of mowing and has done a great job, only complaint is where the rear lights are mounted. Mowing along a hedgerow the lights sometimes get hung up on a branch or shrubs and has broken away from ROV bar. Have them wired tied now to bar. Bucket has been an awesome attachment for moving stone, mulch and even snow. Have a blade that attaches to rear (given to me by my brother) that I also use for plowing snow. All in all, I Love my John Deere 1025R. Before I purchased it my brother said," a tractor payment is better then a car payment." I agree.
Conslocation of rear lights
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my tractor!

Posted21 January 2016
Customer avatar
From:Sanborn, NY
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had my John Deere 1025r tractor over 2 years with a 110 hrs of use and can say I am very happy with this machine. Its very simple to operate and cutting the grass up tight around trees is easy due to a very tight turning radius and precise hydro-static foot controls even with a 60" deck. I mostly use it for cutting grass but the tractors real power become apparent when you use the front loader. I have wooded area in my yard with a lot of brush and wild grape vines. Using the front loader its incredibly easy push all the brush and small trees out of the way without any manual labor. Its a lot of fun to use. Drive over deck auto connect and drive up loader attachment are easy to use and time savers. I love my John Deere.
Prospowerfultight turning radiusprecise hydro-static foot controlslow fuel consumptiondrive over mower deck
Consmower height adjustment label lacks numbersoccasional spongy bucket controls
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good, thought out designed tractor.

Posted13 January 2016
Customer avatar
From:Vermont, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I picked up my 1025r on October 27th 2015 and have put on twenty two hours so far. It's been a great tractor on my 4.6 acres of land. I was able to get the Frontier York rake with the 0% down promotion for free. I have the H120 loader as well. I was able to find the rest of my attachments (60" finish mower, 60" three point blade, and a set of quick attach forks) for under $1000.00. Why buy new implements when you can find good used stuff for a lot less and save money. These implements make this great Deere tractor more versatile.
The tractor is good on fuel, and very comfortable. I'm 6'2" and can ride hours in great comfort. It's easy to run, and simple to service.
Only trouble I had was a small hydraulic leak on one of the female couplings from the tractor to the loader(dealer fixed right off) and a very small coolant leak which I fixed my self by tighning a clamp.
I highly recommend this tractor over any other brand and I did my research.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

fieldturf

Posted9 January 2016
Customer avatar
Been doing research on this machine for several months and can't get over that RIO switch. I'll just stay with my old 25 year tractor or upgrade to a larger tractor. Can't believe I got to hold a switch to keep my PTO running when I back up. Wow
Consrio switch
No, I do not recommend this product.
-24points
9of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Avery useful little powerhouse.

Posted3 January 2016
Customer avatar
From:Highland, NY
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this machine since July 2015 & have about 25 hours on it. In addition to the FILB I have a 47" front Snow Blower & a Box Ballast on the back. I also have the 54" drive over belly mower. Although it does take some practice the implements are very easy to change out. The caveats are to always change & store implements on firm level surface & to relieve hydraulic pressure on the lines before removing the lines: very important! That having been said everything about this machine is as advertised. It is a real powerhouse! Wish I got it at least a year sooner! I have moved tons of gravel & dirt. I have dug numerous holes of varying depth & width & I had a brief chance at snow blowing. A great little machine.
Prosuser friendlypowerful
Consnot a one
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great small tractor

Posted29 December 2015
Customer avatar
From:Colorado, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have about 70 hours on my 1025R. I initially bought it with the H120 loader and a Frontier rotary mower, and a rear ballast bucket for use with the loader outside of mowing season. As a first-time tractor owner, I found the 1025R was very easy to learn and use. It has plenty of power to dig and move dirt, and mowing 7-10 acres of prairie grass and brush was very easy and not too uncomfortable (aside from bumpy ground and dust, which has nothing to do with the tractor). After using it for a year, I got the I-Match quick connect hitch, and a hydraulic snow plow blade for the front. For my needs, this tractor and the implements mentioned cover everything very nicely. I have had absolutely no problems with the equipment. With the I-Match rear hitch, H120 loader, and the quick hitch snow plow blade, it literally only takes a few minutes to change implements, which is VERY nice - saves a lot of time and gets the chores done faster. I highly recommend this tractor for anyone who has a small farm/ranch or a big yard. It's a very dependable workhorse. Another bonus - 5 gallons of diesel goes a long way in this tractor. It's very cheap to operate.
Prosreliabilityease of operationsize is perfect for use around the houseease of changing implementsfuel economy
Conscan't really think of any
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Ergonomics!

Posted21 December 2015
Customer avatar
From:Dryden, MI 48428, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There's more comfort in this little tractor than a nap on grandma's lap! Everything is logically laid out and functionally located. Visibility is great and getting on and off either side is a breeze. The tilt wheel makes all the difference in the world.
Getting in and out of the loader and mower is a fast, easy and convenient.!
You'll love the long list of attachments for this tractor. The 1025 R really is a dandy little tractor.
Prosoperator station layoutvisibilitycomfortversatility of attachments
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1025 TLB FANTASTIC PRODUCT!!

Posted12 December 2015
Customer avatar
From:Princeton, NJ, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Bought a new 1025TLB from my dealer here in Princeton. It definitely has great power and the hydraulics are incredible strong! I am already on my 5th stump and what a ball to operate! Wish I would have purchased it long ago! I also added the Barracuda thumb--excellent addition. Cost was only $330 and really helps with stumps and brush piles. Also bought the 54 inch snow blower for front. Because the FEL is so easy to remove, it makes the snow blower attachment process easy. Now just waiting for our first snow. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone. The product development folks have really gotten this model right--Congrats JD!
Prosan absolute ball to operate
Consi waited to long to buy it!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of the best

Posted28 November 2015
Customer avatar
From:Russell, PA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the 1025R, mid mount mower with bagger, bucket, pallet forks, block heater, extra lights/light guards and hydraulic snow plow. Wish I would have looked at the ZM industries 960 snow pusher instead of the snow plow. Although I haven't used the plow yet, however the pusher might be more useful. The machine is very powerful and runs super. Z&M ag and turf (Falconer)are the best. Rod Ruttenbur knows his stuff.
I shopped the Kubota. However I found the controls to look and feel cheap. The hydraulic control handle is huge. Also, the quick attach bucket, and mower deck on the Deere is tons easier on and off. (I tried both out) Don't get fooled by the sales pitch. "Kubota has steel hood and fenders" It rattles more compared to the Deere. Also the plastic doesn't rust and rattle. If you are going to spend the money, the Deere is close in price. And Deere service is tons better if you need it.
Prosattachments are a breeze to put on and take off
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1025r Working beast

Posted11 November 2015
Customer avatar
From:Chepachet, Glocester, RI, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have run my 1025r for 55 hours since Jan 2015. I bought 54 inch snow thrower, 60 inch mmm, FEL, backhoe, and weight box. Non-JD clamp on forks and subsoiler too. I have 6 acres, 2 lawn, 4 woods. I down sized from a larger 36 hp tractor and consolidated 3 machines. The snow blower was timely with record snow in Boston. It went through more than 2' no problem. 11 hrs blowing in half time as before. I put in 15 hrs mowing, half time as before. I moved 20 trees of brush with forks. Moved 50 tree lengths 8-12' with forks. I pulled 1-3000 lb logs with cable out of swamp. I moved yards of manure, graded, subsoiled 25'x50' garden. I used forks and long pallet to lift material to barn loft. I dug up 6 stumps 12-20" diameter and planted 12 trees and bushes. I pulled 6 cords firewood up ice and snow path, uphill 300' to house all winter, no problem. Implement change is a breeze. Think this is not enough machine? Think again.
Prosdoes everythingimplement change
Consmmm spring pin was undersize
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick connect deck and bucket are engineering marvels

Posted11 November 2015
Customer avatar
From:Lockport, NY 14094, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased 1025r early summer 2015, mowing about 5 acres twice a week all summer. tractor has been awesome performer, no issues whatsoever. Talked to my salesmen about the height cut of my deck, they were out the next day to adjust, thanks Z and M ag and turf. My only complaint is the pto switch when backing as machine will stall if you go to reverse before pulling switch...
Prosquick connect attachmentsvery comfortable
Conspto switch when backing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not the best

Posted29 October 2015
Customer avatar
From:Monee, IL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a1023e with a 60 ' auto connect deck witch has not worked from day one . tractor is OK auto deck has been in for repair three times one time for 3wks. deck still will not auto connect .the deck was an expensive option. it was not worth the money. DEN. monee il.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the price

Posted28 October 2015
Customer avatar
From:Batavia, NY 14020, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All the power and quality I expected. Love the quick easy implement installation
Prosqualityeasy operation
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too many problems with this machine.

Posted24 October 2015
Customer avatar
From:Illinois, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Plus is great fuel economy and power. But 5 trips to the dealer in less than a year. It's a mower that will not mow anywhere close to even. 3 point arm has literally fallen off twice. 3 point control lever has come loose 3 times. This is the 4th JD subcompact we have had on the farm (all JD equipment), but likely the last. Just too many issues that are unresolved.
Prosfuel economy
Conswill not mow level
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall tractor, could still use some updates

Posted18 October 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seat suspension could be improved for mowing on rough ground, maybe an aftermarket kit like available on the Z-traks. Auto connect deck, when working is fantastic, but when it get a little out of adjustment is a pain in the rear. Side panels could use a different type connector/holder to eliminate having to take a wrench to remove. Maybe something similar to the old 755/855 series. Needs heavier tires on front when using with a loader. Love the mulch kit on the 60 Auto Connect deck. Is cleaner to operate, and leaves the lawns looking better than my Z930A.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a great product that seems to to be built well.

Posted13 October 2015
Customer avatar
From:Bremerton, WA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the tractor almost a year now and have just about 50 hours on it. I have not had any issues with any of the mechanical features, the only real problem I seem to have is the with the headlight switch, some of the switches do not appear that quality. And the only other thing I would like is a little more power on the 3 pt hitch. But the machine worked great and I have never second guessed getting one. Worth stepping up to the 1025, the features and power are worth every penny.
Prossuspension seat with arm restswork lightsease of use and control placementdetachable bucket for mower deck use
Consnot enough 3 pt powerswitches are not a quality product
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1025R EXCELLENT!

Posted4 October 2015
Customer avatar
From:Bismarck, ND, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the 1025R with a loader, mower and landscape rake. I landscaped my yard and moved 60 tons of sub soil and 95 tons of top soil. 1025R was excellent!! lots of power, easy to operate and comfortable. Very good on fuel!
The only complaint is the dealer ship I bought the JD from.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

1025R .. after two weeks it was broke

Posted24 September 2015
Customer avatar
From:monterey, IN
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
after two weeks the auto connect deck quit being an auto connect deck. first the PTO drive shaft was bad, then they brought it back and said it was fixed backed it out of the garage and the deck was rubbing on tires. dealer came took the tractor back to the shop for the second time and brought it back again and said it was fixed and brought it back. Got on the tractor that night took the deck off and went to put it back on and the PTO again didn't line up and deck would not go on. told them come get this piece of junk. Really 3 times now with same problem within 3 weeks and still can't fix the problem give me my money back so I can get me a tractor that will work like it's supposed to. Once I get it back it will be for sale. What a shame spending 17K on a tractor that broke only after 2 weeks.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>