Customer reviews for JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

1 Family Sub-Compact Utility Tractors, 1 Family 1025R
Overall rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
Recommended by26 out of 2990%
Customer reviews for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Review 1 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A powerful little tractor!

Posted27 October 2014
Customer avatar
Ringy
From:Wenona, IL 61377, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I traded a 2305 for the 1025r and the 1025r can mow so much better and faster with less fuel usage. I just plowed my garden and it had plenty of power to pull a one bottom plow. The operator station is set up nice with a very comfortable seat. I love the autoconnect mower deck and very easy to use. The lighting package is very nice for after dark usage. The three things I was disappointed in was 1 Fuel gauge on the fender is in a bad location and should be located on the dash. 2 The electric mower deck lift should hold the deck up without manually locking the mower height knob. 3 The 3 point limiter wont lock in place and moves out of position easily. All in all a very nice tractor!
Prosautoconnect mower deckvery powerful and fuel efficientlight packagecomfortable seat
Consfuel guage on the fenderelectric mower deck lift should stay up on its own3 point adjustment knob moves and will not lock in
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great tractor for the price

Posted15 October 2014
Customer avatar
Phil25
From:New York, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just bought the tractor we have is about two weks now and love it.We got the buck , loader , and mower and the machine is cleaning up the brush in my yard super easy.So far no problems with the tractor , kinda can't wait to see it in the snow.Enjoy yours if you buy one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

1026r still at dealer

Posted17 September 2014
Customer avatar
Sonny
From:Bedford, IN 47421, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just got a call from dealer said it would be at least another week, that's two and half weeks in shop for broken or bent parts on auto connect mower. This is second time this had happened. JD has stopped posting my comments about this tractor because it is junk.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All I Could Ask For At My Place

Posted12 September 2014
Customer avatar
FJ60
From:Southern, NJ
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased a 1025R FILB this past summer from my local dealer.
I have 4 1/2 acres with almost a 1/4 mile gravel driveway. I have struggled in the past with snow removal and general maintenance.
Also have had alot of projects around the house like retaining walls that i have neglected to build because i hate borrowing people's equipment.
This tractor so far has exceeded all of my expectations. It loads the bucket great and the backhoe works fine for it's size. Some of the backhoe functions are a little slow, but again it's fine for it's size.
I also bought the drag box which is a very high quality attachment.
Backhoe removes in a matter of seconds. Reattaching it is a little more tricky as it has to be lined up perfect. Just takes a little longer is all.
The only two things i see that could maybe use improvement -
-a lock out for the rear backhoe controls to prevent accidental hitting joysticks when entering and exiting backhoe seating position.
-Maybe an alternative exhaust tip routing. Or an optional extension.
Overall i love it. Fits in my garage bay just fine.
It's a great machine for a home owner or small farm. It's not a full size machine and shouldn't be expected to perform like one.
And by the way i have been a heavy equipment operator for over 30 years. Have run loaders and excavators that the 1025R could park in their bucket.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Everything (Except the Easy Deck 60D Installation)

Posted8 September 2014
Customer avatar
JSMack
From:Hudson, WI, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I'm a first time "tractor" owner. After living on 5 acres for a couple of years and starting a bunch of projects #paver patio and garden# I decided we needed some help to finish them. That's when we bought this machine.
When it arrived on the truck, I first thought I'd made a mistake. It looked like a riding lawnmower. However, when it came off the truck, I realized that there is some size to this machine.
The H120 front loader works great, better than I thought it would. It's really easy to put on and take off, a fantastic piece of machinery. I've dug up fill dirt from one part of my property for a landscape wall with minimum effort. Without this loader, I'd still be working on my paver patio. If you are planning to use the loader a lot, you should probably but some kind of ballast for the back of the tractor, I guess the back blade works ok for that.
The mowing deck is great #once you get it attached#. I've been mowing in high gear all summer and this tractor/mower combination is powerful and fast. In my younger years I worked at a few golf courses driving their big mowers, so I know what some nice equipment feels like.
We bought this size tractor so we could use it for everything, and the mower is good, but taking it off and putting it on is a challenge. Today was the 6th time I've installed and usually it takes at least 30 minutes to get everything attached. The drive over part is easy enough, but each time I have a different challenge. Usually the deck takes some moving around the get
the clips to catch, and then the PTO is a challenge to get on.
Granted, it's still probably a lot faster than using a conventional deck, but it's sold as an "easy button". Still though, I'd buy it again. Because the loader is so easy to install, I'm probably expecting too much from the deck installation.
Overall, I love this piece of equipment and expect to own it for the rest of my life. .
Prossizeengineloadermowingfuel usagequick change loader h120
Consinstallation of deck
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It will tackle what every I throw at it for its size

Posted22 August 2014
Customer avatar
PooBear
From:Missouri
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have looked at them all . This one fits the bill. I have a loader, 4ft rotary cutter and a 5 foot rear blade, 60D belly mower and weight box. It mows, digs and pushes everything like it should for its size. I wish the seat spring was stonger but all of the brands I have been on are all soft and I weigh 210 pounds. I have 50 hours on it now with no problems . Read the manual it needs greased so it will last forever. The lights on it are amazing and you can mow into the cooler evenings. With a set of rear chains it will push snow anywhere.
Proseverything about it
Consbigger seat spring
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Day three

Posted2 August 2014
Customer avatar
TMAC2000
From:Alabama, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I strongly recommend this machine for any disabled Operating Engineers out there. Granted it looks like a lawn mower on steroids with just the belly mower. The fact is with just the belly mower, it IS a riding mower on steroids. Mine has a loader and a backhoe. this machine is put together very much like a normal piece of heavy equipment. The hoe and the loader are as strong as I hoped they would be. Much more than I expected. I think every man who has the space to use one should have one. Also there are grease fittings all over the machine and attachments so it should be a long lasting machine.
Proswell built
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact Tractor with Big Tractor Features

Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
Cincinnatus
From:Hamilton, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My previous tractor was a 455 that served me very well for 15 years. This tractor is both bigger and better.
** The reverse gear is more powerful and faster.
** The kill switch on the driver seat actually works as intended. I was forced to disable the switch on the 455. Every time my weight shifted on the seat, the tractor stopped.
** Connecting the 60 inch mower deck is easy as opposed to a chore.
** The loader is easily connected and disconnected. I use it with a ballast box connected with an I Match Hitch.
** The three point hitch enables the use of a wide range of implements that formerly only a bigger tractor could use.
** Whereas the 455 battery could only be accessed by taking off the grill, the 1025R batter is accessed by raising the hood. Hence, it is much easier to attach a battery tender or check the battery.
** Tires with treads and 4 wheel drive significantly enhance traction. This improved traction plus a ballast box will make snow plowing this winter much easier.
** The seat with armrests is very comfortable.
My congratulations to the engineers at John Deere who thought carefully about the construction of this tractor. It is a joy to use.
John Deere advertises this tractor as a "family tractor." It lives up to the label. My wife enjoys the tractor and uses it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

drive over deck is not easy

Posted12 July 2014
Customer avatar
marty56
From:Laceyville, PA 18623, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall I like my new tractor. I up graded from a 4100.The loader attaches and disconnects easy also the backhoe is easy BUT the mower deck is horrible. it was so easy on the 4100 line up hook up.this thing never hooks up first try then the pto is so hard to reach without laying on your back or lifting tractor with the bucket. Maybe I have to get use to it,Ihope so.
Prosloader and backhoe attach easy
Consmower deck hard to attach first try
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lots of pros, but a few big cons

Posted9 July 2014
Customer avatar
TimH
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In general, this is a nice tractor, and some of the features are amazing. But there are a few big issues for me, and reading around online I don't think they are unique to me at all.
Pros:
The drive over/auto connect deck works well and is way easier than manually taking a deck on and off.
The quick connect loader also works very well. I can have the loader on and off in a few minutes, which makes it much easier to use when I need it.
It's more than capable of working such as material moving, snow removal etc.
Cons:
The cons generally have to do with cutting grass.
IMO, the deck was never set up properly. I contacted JD and the dealer and never received any real response. On all but 2 of the height settings the blades are literally digging into dirt. Google this problem and you will find that I am not alone.
In addition, on my unit, which I have not been able to find as much about, the deck actually drops to lower settings while cutting. I am lowering the deck until it is firmly resting on the stop. It only seems to happen on the highest setting or two (but these are the only two that can be used, see above).
Bottom line, for cutting grass it is a sub par machine.
The hardest part about writing this review was whether or not to check that I would recommend it to a friend. If a friend honestly asked me, I would say if even 50% of your use is cutting grass, look elsewhere.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

Posted3 July 2014
Customer avatar
farmboy944
From:Spencer, IA 51301, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this tractor since Aug of last year and about 50 hours on it now. We have the 60D deck, tiller, box scraper, weight box, manure spreader and more toys planned soon. I replaced my 445 with a 60" deck and no toys. We live on a small acreage and have cattle and horses. I also have a 3020 that I was mainly using before this 1025 purchase. While its not comparable to either of those tractors I do so much of what I used to do with my 3020 with this 1025 now.
I read all of the previous reviews and I will add the following:
- Fuel consumption is awesome like everyone has said. Hands down probably the best in this class of tractor.
- Overheating, I like to mow all my fence lines and it can get pretty dusty and dirty. I love the fact that the unit shuts down on its own to alert me - I'm normally too busy watching what I am mowing so I might not know it otherwise! When it shuts down, I simply pull the screen out and clean it and I'm going again in a matter of a couple minutes. The production I get from this unit and the fact that its saving itself and me in the long run all off set IMO.
- Seat, I am a larger build guy and no "factory" seat offers the ride, I don't care who makes it. I found it very easy to add additional springs into my seat and the ride it perfect now. Bottom line, the seat is comfortable and modifications can be made to fit your needs if desired. I find it hard to believe that anyone buying a unit like this would not have driven it before hand and talked with the dealer about it.
- Deck The deck works very well. The Auto connect function is far better than any other design previous. Is it perfect, no, but it is a huge improvement.
Overall this is a great value for the money. Keep in mind that JD makes all kinds of equipment as do MANY other companies. If this tractor doesn't fit your needs, don't buy it - buy the right machine the first time so you don't have any regrets and are happy with it. Don't try and save a few bucks and settle.
Prosfuel useease of operationgood dealer supportgood value for the pricei got everything i paid for
Conshonestly can not think of one
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome tractor to have

Posted16 June 2014
Customer avatar
Dennis2014
From:Aspers, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always wanted a compact tractor with between 20 and 30 horsepower. My parents own 5 acres taking care of it with our old Wheel Horses was getting to be a pain and now even harder to fix when broke. We bought the 1025R in Febuary right before we had a big snow. Dealer had the tractor without the loader on it we said we'd take it and put the loader on ourselves. Putting the loader together was a little rough but with our backgrounds we were able to get it done. The snow came and WOW did it do the job we wanted. Since then we have done a ton of stuff with it from digging holes to plant trees with the loader to almost anything else you can think of. We recently bought a tiller for it and did the samething put it together ourselves and that mind you was a lot easier to do. Right now these are the only two attachements we have for it. We have 17 or so hours on it and we love and are not having any problems what so ever. It has saved us so much time that its really not funny. As far as fuel consumption its crazy we have used less than 15 gallons and with the old ones it be 2-3 times that amount. Dad has back problems so hes been using it to move mowers and my landscaping trailor when mowing he loves. I grew up working on farms with Deeres so I'm kind of one sided. Keep up the good work JD.
Proseasy on and off of attachmentslow fuel concumptionvery good lighting for use at nighteasy to get used to usingmy dealer is awesome with helping us with whatever
Conshave to travel about 20+ miles for a dealer
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This Product has some issues

Posted23 May 2014
Customer avatar
Green52
From:IL
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like the seat and the how the mower deck is designed. It cuts and discharges the grass better than the older ones. However I have had some quality issues with it. The first 30 min of use the seal in the mower gearbox when out. After 10 hours of use the engine is blowing oil out the crankcase vent tube. It is currently at the dealer for this. The height cut system does not work properly. There is 10 height settings but I can only use 5 because the deck is on the ground in the medium setting. I have spent many hours with the manual trying all the adjustments; I have taken it back to the dealer 3 times for this and it still doesn't function properly. Not too impressed with the tractor.
Prosgood seat and mower deck cutting
Consquailty issuesheight cut system problems
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Who thinks of this stuff

Posted16 May 2014
Customer avatar
pgcg4life
From:Bethel, NY
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, it's been a few weeks since I posted my first review. Since then I've mowed my 2 acres twice and started to move 25 tons of gravel. I wasn't able to use the 1025R to level the area for the new shed due the ground being too wet. Luckily my neighbor has access to a e3025 and even that got stuck. As for mowing, what a machine to do the task. First, removing the H120 loader couldn't be any easier. There is a slight learning curve with knowing which way to move the joystick to get the loader to do what it needs to to get it off and back on. A few more times and I should have that down. Now back to the mowing. The first cut was on Sunday, the grass was high and the yard still wet. Neither one mattered to the 1025R. I set the cruise control and went to town. Not once did the mower bog down. The second cut was done on the following Thursday. Again the grass was high, but the lawn had dried out some. Both times it only took about 2 hours from start to finish and roughly a gallon of fuel. With my previous garden tractor it used over 4 gallons of gas. The one thing I don't like is that the height selector for the deck isn't marked in inches. Instead it has high/medium/low. Further broke down to three dots in each setting. The first time I had it at the highest position due to how high and wet the grass was. The second time I moved it to the highest medium selection. That left the deck scalping the lawn to much. Now moving the gravel I first wanted to take off the mower deck. Unbelievably simple to do and re-attaching it was even easier. Being new to using a loader there is a learning curve on how to actually get the material from the pile. After a hour I finally got it down and was dumping full buckets of gravel.
Prosuses very little fuelease of putting on/taking off attachments
Consdeck height selector not marked in inchesfuel filler neck opening to wide allows splashing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't wait to get it dirty

Posted27 April 2014
Customer avatar
pgcg4life
From:Bethel, NY 12720, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only had my 1025R for a few weeks now and have used it for a few little jobs. However, these jobs would have taken days, not the hours they were done in, if I were using my garden tractor and pull behind cart. This is my first "true" tractor and I can't wait to tackle some bigger jobs. Up first will be leveling an area for a new shed w/extended overhangs for the 1025R on one side and firewood on the other as well as a dog run in the rear.
As for my dealer, they were great. I was actually looking to buy the X700 series garden tractor. But the salesman showed just how close in price it was compared to the 1023E. So, after some long sleepless nites I pulled the trigger and went with the 1025R. I got the 54" auto connect mower, H120 loader, and 54" power angle plow for snow removal.
As I put more hours on I'll update my review good or bad.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tractor

Posted2 April 2014
Customer avatar
Tom57
From:Westminster, MD, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the 1025R for a month and it is great. Does everything that I needed and then some. Comfortable and a pleasure to operate. Have used it to clear heavy underbrush, push downed trees and plow snow. I wish I had it for the past 20 years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality piece of equipment

Posted8 March 2014
Customer avatar
Joe01
From:Ozarks,Mo.
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We traded in an old JD 420,60"mower & 48"tiller for the new 1025, 60" auto attach deck and the 48" tiller.Dealer gave us more for the old equipment than we originally paid for it (bought used 15 yrs. ago).So am very happy with price,yeah it's pricey even at that but what isn't now days.I love the auto connect deck,was very tired of wrestling with the old deck on the 420 every time it needed to go off or on so I could till.Once I figured out how this setup all worked and that it has to be perfectly level to re-attach,it's a breeze to unhook and hook up.We don't mow our small lawn with this,living on a farm it gets used for the bigger,rougher mowing jobs like out further from the house. Mower works very well.It runs much faster than the JD riding mower decks do,doing a much better job of mowing (IMO). We have a smaller JD riding mower we mow around the house with & it doesn't compare with the 60" mower on the 1025.I love the surplus of power the Yanmar diesel engine generates,plenty for the 60" mower or the 48" tiller,also love how stingy it is on fuel,it will mow the same 1 acre or so we used to mow with the 420 on about 1/2 the fuel.The tiller is also about twice the tiller as our old JD 48" tiller,tills much faster and does a much better job.Great piece of equipment.We have owned our 1025 & attachments since last year and so far no problems at all.
Proseasy startingplenty of powerbuilt very toughperforms very well
Conshood could use some further design improvementsdiff lock is a little difficult to accessseat could use more springpricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tractor!!!!!!!!

Posted18 February 2014
Customer avatar
WMCD
From:Winnsboro, LA 71295, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchase the 1025R w/60'' deck and loader in April 2013. Dealer walked me through the operations of machine. Had them disconnect from mower deck and connect back worked great and did it on concrete. Frist time I mowed it was great love the machine would recommend it to everyone. Dealer did a great job in finding me a machine as they didn't have one in stock. They gave me a great deal on trade in of 4 year old John Deere mower.
Proseasy of usegreat horsepowertilt steering4wddeck auto connect
Consshould have bought one sooner
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Tractor

Posted2 December 2013
Customer avatar
Jason
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this tractor and loader for a month, and its awesome! I'm very happy with the tractor in general, but I am a little dissapointed with the final setup when it was delivered.
The ROPS did not work properly, which was quite annoying given that I can't park it in my garage with the ROPS up. The top bar was clearly welded out of position. You could see easily after banging the pins out with a mallet that one of the three holes was about 1/4" out of alignment. I'm not so fond of needing to file down safety structures at 0 hours.
One of the fender lights was delivered full of water. I don't think these should take on water at all, and certainly shouldn't be delivered that way. Anyway, the bulbs are bright but hot and explode when wet.
At about 6 hours one of the loader lines started leaking badly. The hydraulic line's bolt was only hand tight.
I would also like if the seat had stiffer springs available. A good bump will bottom them out hard and adjust your spine.
Other than that, I love it. Just go over it really well before you start using it! Stiffer seat springs please!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+28points
30of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall tractor/mower/loader

Posted19 November 2013
Customer avatar
Stubby
From:Central, IL, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this tractor to replace my old faithful 2305 and loader. I had a bit of early buyer's remorse because of the mower cut quality on my lawn when set up to factory specs. The dealer was not much help here, so I set it the way my logic indicated. Set deck wheels to 1/16 - 1/8" clearance on the drive way....cut well. I'm VERY disappointed with the ride quality of the suspension seat. The seat bottoms out with a spine jarring impact that tears my ailing back up. Again, no help from either Deere or the dealer other than "sorry". Looks like I'll have to re-engineer the springs. Deere may make them well but the engineers leave a LOT to be desired.
Prospowerloaderfuel economy
Conspoor ridepoor mower cuteasily scratched paint/finish
Yes, I recommend this product.
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>