Customer reviews for JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

1 Family Sub-Compact Utility Tractors, 1 Family 1025R
Overall rating:
4.487 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
Recommended by34 out of 3889%
Customer reviews for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Review 1 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, LOVE, L-O-V-E this tractor

Posted7 July 2015
Customer avatar
RenaissanceMan
From:Fort Collins, CO, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For a small acreage operation, this thing is a great tool. Got the backhoe, tiller, and blade. Does everything I need. Easy to learn to operate, hook up attachments, and PTO does the job.
My only complaint is the front bucket joy stick is so tall, it gets hooked on my shorts when I climb off the tractor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little workhorse!!!

Posted3 June 2015
Customer avatar
smittydawg
From:Columbus, MS, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Before I purchased this little gem, I looked at and researched a lot of different tractor brands but primarily focused on the most popular brands and what I found in my research is that John Deere has a reputation for being the most expensive brand out there but as with everything, the devils are in the details. When I began a closer inspection of the details, I found that the john deere is in fact not the priciest but actually gives you what you are paying for with all of the extra features. Take your time and look close to the fittings, seat, etc and you will see what im talking about. I dont know much and am certainly no expert but I know when a manufacturer tries to cheapen up to increase their bottom line but I can assure you that John Deere has not done this on this little machine. I never ceases to amaze me what this little fella can do and never break a sweat!!! Amazing!!! If you are someone who is looking for a well made, well engineered tractor, go ahead, you wont regret it! Another thing, dont just look at the price when comparing tractors, look at the details and you wil see what im talking about, which is overall value. Very well thought out machine. I hope this helps. Thanks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bruce here in Pa. Fabulous.

Posted31 May 2015
Customer avatar
RUKiddingMe
From:Bucks County, Pa
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchase my 1025R 2 yes ago. Don't know how I lived without this machine. Did all my work with wheelbarrow & lawn cart & pick up truck. Crazy. This machine is a God sent. Live on 4.5 acres. Lawn cutting time slashed in half. Construction projects effortless. BUY ONE. Not to mention 240ft of driveway to plow. Transport of wwood to split.
Prosall positiveyep great
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The tractor is great but attaching John Deere implements to the rear PTO is a pain

Posted12 May 2015
Customer avatar
MikeM
From:West Chester Township, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poorly designed drive shaft attachment collar makes it a real hassle each time I attach or remove an accessory. Other manufacturer's products are better. This is too bad considering how much has been invested in making other accessories integrate so easily, like the belly mower and loader.
Prosgreat tractor
Conspto drive shafts are a pain to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect small tractor

Posted11 April 2015
Customer avatar
Olstandfast
From:Hamilton, VA 20158, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I didn't plan on getting this such a little tractor but am glad I did. The salesman talked me out of the 2 and 3 series into getting this little 1025R. It is such a well-thought little machine, with controls in perfect locations and a very comfortable seat. It runs my wood chipper great, it's easy to maneuver, and the bucket will lift anything that I need to move, including some pretty huge stumps.
The mid-mount mower is ridiculously easy to put on and very well built. Many thanks to whatever smart engineers figured out such a clever but simple mechanism. I'm amazed every time I put it on. It's easy enough that I can take it off when using the loader and chipper, so I don't have to drag the mower in the muck around the barn. The iMatch hitch was definitely a good purchase as well. Zero aggravation mounting implements. I also bought the new LED light kit, which seemed kind of expensive but when I got it seemed very well made and is very convenient.
The fuel consumption is very good as well, using half as much as my gas riding mower. So far, I couldn't be happier with it. Only thing that's a bit annoying is the PTO turns off in reverse when mowing unless you hold up the switch. Not intuitive to look forward at switch when I need to back up, but not a big deal. In fairness, my old gas ride mower does the same think except there's no override. Anyway, overall I highly recommend it.
Proslow fuel consumptiongood powervery maneuverablemower very easy to take on and offloader has excellent capacityloader very easy to take on and off
Consreverse pto safety switch
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You Get What You Pay For

Posted7 April 2015
Customer avatar
LeeGar
From:Woodville, Ontario, Canada
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having spent time reviewing the competition, I decided on the John Deere 1025R. I am glad I put in the time to check out the good bad and ugly of all the machines I looked at.
Value, Reputation, Service and the dealer itself played a major role in my purchase.
Purchased in December 2014, this reliable, easy and fun to use small tractor helped make plowing the driveway this year fun. With only 30 hours on the machine, I am looking forward to the many projects on the property that are waiting to be done this summer.
With several yards of top soil and stone coming in the next few weeks, I am already planning on the next delivery as I know the first project will be completed way ahead of schedule with this little work horse.
My only complaint is that I showed the wife how to operate it and now find it parked in a different spot in the barn when I get home.
Outstanding on fuel and plenty of power for those projects I once completed with a shovel and wheelbarrow.
Good luck with your purchase. I have no hesitation recommending the 1025R.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A PRECISION INSTRUMENT

Posted6 April 2015
Customer avatar
Sighleth
From:Ontario, Canada
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally, North American products are climbing back on top of the world! This tractor is obviously the culmination of countless hours of research and development, design and planning. The features, performance and ease of operation make this the only choice for those who have done their homework. If your looking for a compact tractor that will bring you unexpected results, look no further! This tractor is the king of the hill.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The tractor is not reliable, and the auto connect is not as easy as it is advertised.

Posted13 March 2015
Customer avatar
52572
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My tractor has fewer hours on the engine than it has in the shop. The hydraulic system has failed twice. The auto connect function is not nearly as easy as it appears in the advertisements. The tractor is not comfortable for a person that is more than average sized. I must say that the dealer has been very good about repairing the tractor. I can not recommend this tractor, it is not worth the cost.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
19of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tractor

Posted8 March 2015
Customer avatar
KYDB
From:Grayson, KY 41143, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased 1025r with bucket, mower deck and tiller. Tractor has more than enough power for tiller and bucket. Four wheel drive works good in snow and going up steep grades, front or back. This is my first tractor and john deere product. Don't know how I got by without one for so many years.
Prosattaching detaching mower deck is easybucket is very capablepower steeringattaching detaching bucket is easy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far I love the tractor

Posted13 January 2015
Customer avatar
gene
From:Shawano, WI 54166, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Yearly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought a 1025r tractor with a Curtice cab and a few attachments just before winter in 2013. Had a few issues with the cab but can live with it. My biggest issue is with the snow blower. I only have about 15 hours on it or maybe less cause I use my back blade a lot, I already had to have the bearings replaced and the plastic propeller came loose from the shaft that it's attached to. Now that I had the work done, I realized I should have taken it in last winter already, cause it was noisy then. It sure operates smooth and quiet now. I hope it lasts thru this winter. I thought for sure a snow blower made by John deere would last longer than one winter.The thing that gets me is the warranty. You get one year, it runs thru the summer ( like something is going to fall apart on a snow blower during the summer) so by this winter of 2014 the warranty is done and you pay for the parts and labor. I know parts fail but really. 15 hrs.? and no warranty! I have a smaller tractor with a snow blower (different brand) that is 11 years old and it still works great.
So come on john deere how about changing your warranty on seasonal equipment
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I bought the 1025r with the grading blade, bucket, and 60 auto mower deck, disc harrow.

Posted31 October 2014
Customer avatar
jimb
From:iowa
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
the grader blade when set at a 15 deg. angle is great for clearing snow.in less then a year i have put over a 100 hours on this little guy and it has done everything i asked it to do. it has handled these 10 acres with no issues.
Prosa great buy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A powerful little tractor!

Posted27 October 2014
Customer avatar
Ringy
From:Wenona, IL 61377, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I traded a 2305 for the 1025r and the 1025r can mow so much better and faster with less fuel usage. I just plowed my garden and it had plenty of power to pull a one bottom plow. The operator station is set up nice with a very comfortable seat. I love the autoconnect mower deck and very easy to use. The lighting package is very nice for after dark usage. The three things I was disappointed in was 1 Fuel gauge on the fender is in a bad location and should be located on the dash. 2 The electric mower deck lift should hold the deck up without manually locking the mower height knob. 3 The 3 point limiter wont lock in place and moves out of position easily. All in all a very nice tractor!
Prosautoconnect mower deckvery powerful and fuel efficientlight packagecomfortable seat
Consfuel guage on the fenderelectric mower deck lift should stay up on its own3 point adjustment knob moves and will not lock in
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great tractor for the price

Posted15 October 2014
Customer avatar
Phil25
From:New York, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just bought the tractor we have is about two weks now and love it.We got the buck , loader , and mower and the machine is cleaning up the brush in my yard super easy.So far no problems with the tractor , kinda can't wait to see it in the snow.Enjoy yours if you buy one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

1026r still at dealer

Posted17 September 2014
Customer avatar
Sonny
From:Bedford, IN 47421, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just got a call from dealer said it would be at least another week, that's two and half weeks in shop for broken or bent parts on auto connect mower. This is second time this had happened. JD has stopped posting my comments about this tractor because it is junk.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
18of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All I Could Ask For At My Place

Posted12 September 2014
Customer avatar
FJ60
From:Southern, NJ
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased a 1025R FILB this past summer from my local dealer.
I have 4 1/2 acres with almost a 1/4 mile gravel driveway. I have struggled in the past with snow removal and general maintenance.
Also have had alot of projects around the house like retaining walls that i have neglected to build because i hate borrowing people's equipment.
This tractor so far has exceeded all of my expectations. It loads the bucket great and the backhoe works fine for it's size. Some of the backhoe functions are a little slow, but again it's fine for it's size.
I also bought the drag box which is a very high quality attachment.
Backhoe removes in a matter of seconds. Reattaching it is a little more tricky as it has to be lined up perfect. Just takes a little longer is all.
The only two things i see that could maybe use improvement -
-a lock out for the rear backhoe controls to prevent accidental hitting joysticks when entering and exiting backhoe seating position.
-Maybe an alternative exhaust tip routing. Or an optional extension.
Overall i love it. Fits in my garage bay just fine.
It's a great machine for a home owner or small farm. It's not a full size machine and shouldn't be expected to perform like one.
And by the way i have been a heavy equipment operator for over 30 years. Have run loaders and excavators that the 1025R could park in their bucket.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Everything (Except the Easy Deck 60D Installation)

Posted8 September 2014
Customer avatar
JSMack
From:Hudson, WI, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I'm a first time "tractor" owner. After living on 5 acres for a couple of years and starting a bunch of projects #paver patio and garden# I decided we needed some help to finish them. That's when we bought this machine.
When it arrived on the truck, I first thought I'd made a mistake. It looked like a riding lawnmower. However, when it came off the truck, I realized that there is some size to this machine.
The H120 front loader works great, better than I thought it would. It's really easy to put on and take off, a fantastic piece of machinery. I've dug up fill dirt from one part of my property for a landscape wall with minimum effort. Without this loader, I'd still be working on my paver patio. If you are planning to use the loader a lot, you should probably but some kind of ballast for the back of the tractor, I guess the back blade works ok for that.
The mowing deck is great #once you get it attached#. I've been mowing in high gear all summer and this tractor/mower combination is powerful and fast. In my younger years I worked at a few golf courses driving their big mowers, so I know what some nice equipment feels like.
We bought this size tractor so we could use it for everything, and the mower is good, but taking it off and putting it on is a challenge. Today was the 6th time I've installed and usually it takes at least 30 minutes to get everything attached. The drive over part is easy enough, but each time I have a different challenge. Usually the deck takes some moving around the get
the clips to catch, and then the PTO is a challenge to get on.
Granted, it's still probably a lot faster than using a conventional deck, but it's sold as an "easy button". Still though, I'd buy it again. Because the loader is so easy to install, I'm probably expecting too much from the deck installation.
Overall, I love this piece of equipment and expect to own it for the rest of my life. .
Prossizeengineloadermowingfuel usagequick change loader h120
Consinstallation of deck
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It will tackle what every I throw at it for its size

Posted22 August 2014
Customer avatar
PooBear
From:Missouri
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have looked at them all . This one fits the bill. I have a loader, 4ft rotary cutter and a 5 foot rear blade, 60D belly mower and weight box. It mows, digs and pushes everything like it should for its size. I wish the seat spring was stonger but all of the brands I have been on are all soft and I weigh 210 pounds. I have 50 hours on it now with no problems . Read the manual it needs greased so it will last forever. The lights on it are amazing and you can mow into the cooler evenings. With a set of rear chains it will push snow anywhere.
Proseverything about it
Consbigger seat spring
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Day three

Posted2 August 2014
Customer avatar
TMAC2000
From:Alabama, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I strongly recommend this machine for any disabled Operating Engineers out there. Granted it looks like a lawn mower on steroids with just the belly mower. The fact is with just the belly mower, it IS a riding mower on steroids. Mine has a loader and a backhoe. this machine is put together very much like a normal piece of heavy equipment. The hoe and the loader are as strong as I hoped they would be. Much more than I expected. I think every man who has the space to use one should have one. Also there are grease fittings all over the machine and attachments so it should be a long lasting machine.
Proswell built
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact Tractor with Big Tractor Features

Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
Cincinnatus
From:Hamilton, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My previous tractor was a 455 that served me very well for 15 years. This tractor is both bigger and better.
** The reverse gear is more powerful and faster.
** The kill switch on the driver seat actually works as intended. I was forced to disable the switch on the 455. Every time my weight shifted on the seat, the tractor stopped.
** Connecting the 60 inch mower deck is easy as opposed to a chore.
** The loader is easily connected and disconnected. I use it with a ballast box connected with an I Match Hitch.
** The three point hitch enables the use of a wide range of implements that formerly only a bigger tractor could use.
** Whereas the 455 battery could only be accessed by taking off the grill, the 1025R batter is accessed by raising the hood. Hence, it is much easier to attach a battery tender or check the battery.
** Tires with treads and 4 wheel drive significantly enhance traction. This improved traction plus a ballast box will make snow plowing this winter much easier.
** The seat with armrests is very comfortable.
My congratulations to the engineers at John Deere who thought carefully about the construction of this tractor. It is a joy to use.
John Deere advertises this tractor as a "family tractor." It lives up to the label. My wife enjoys the tractor and uses it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

drive over deck is not easy

Posted12 July 2014
Customer avatar
marty56
From:Laceyville, PA 18623, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall I like my new tractor. I up graded from a 4100.The loader attaches and disconnects easy also the backhoe is easy BUT the mower deck is horrible. it was so easy on the 4100 line up hook up.this thing never hooks up first try then the pto is so hard to reach without laying on your back or lifting tractor with the bucket. Maybe I have to get use to it,Ihope so.
Prosloader and backhoe attach easy
Consmower deck hard to attach first try
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>