Customer reviews for JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

1 Family Sub-Compact Utility Tractors, 1 Family 1025R
Overall rating:
4.514 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(405 reviews) 405
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 405 reviews
5 Stars
267
4 Stars
103
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
10
1 Star
7
Recommended by359 out of 39092%
Customer reviews for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Review 1 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great balance of size and power

Posted29 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Saint Cloud, WI 53079, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 1025R has a great balance of size and power. It's small enough for daily residential use but powerful enough for landscaping/light excavating use. I've used mine for mowing lawn, blowing snow, grading driveways, light excavating, and everything in between.
It's amazing how many projects pop up once you own a machine like this. I sometimes change attachments multiple times per day so I love how fast and simple it is. I especially like the drive-over deck with AutoConnect.
The hydraulics cycle a bit slow (loader raise/lower and bucket tilt) in my opinion, but maybe I'm just impatient.
I bought mine on the 0% for 60 month deal. This kept my payments low enough that I could outfit mine with a mower deck, loader and bucket, pallet forks, snowblower, broom, and iMatch hitch. I hope John Deere is still offering 0 for 60 when I'm ready to replace this unit.
Prossmall but powerfulgreat traction and maneuverability
Conshydraulics cycle slow
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I knew going in...

Posted29 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I grew up on tractors, so my view is perhaps a bit skewed. This is a small tractor, though larger than its primary competition. I bought it for its versatility, and I've used it for a total of about 80 hours as indicated on the tach since new. It does the job. In fact, my wife now wonders how we have gotten along without one for so long. It is lacking in hydraulic power, so I've had to learn to be creative in how I get work done, as in clay, it just doesn't have enough oomph. I also dislike the leaking control valves which allow the various cylinders to settle over the course of a day to positions I don't expect, such as the stabilizers on the backhoe, which allow the entire assembly to settle onto the ground when off the tractor, or the bucket to drop to the ground after a day or two sitting. But, again, it does the job, and I can't really complain about the quality, or the customer support. Nothing has broken in 80 hours, beyond a loose hydraulic hose leak, and I have no plans to trade it in or get something different. It's small, and if you remember that, then it was a good purchase, and I'm not unhappy that I spent the extra money for the Deere.
Prosversatilitydealer support
Consunderpowerednot cheap
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1025r

Posted28 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Manhattan, illinois
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really good tractor. I am impressed with how little fuel it uses. I like having the attachments for it because I only have 1 engine to take care of. It is also very comfortable to be on for hours at a time.
Conscan not have forwar and back lights on roll barcan not move the bucket up & roll at the same time
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

Posted27 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Reidsville, NC 27320, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The John Deere 1025r is the best in its class in my opinion. I have no regrets in my purchase, it has payed for itself, I have done so much with it already that I could have never gotten done without it. The ease of removal and connectablility of all its attachments is one of the best features. I would recommend this tractor to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Improvement over my 2007 2305

Posted27 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Edwardsville, IL, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros:
Better gas fill location
Drive over auto connect
Better seat with suspension
3 point implement position control
Tilt steering
Lighting kit
Cruse control
Rubber floor deck
Cons:
Noisy ROPS
Hood latch is low quality
Hydraulic hoses on the H120 Loader could be 4" longer
Need to remove the rear tire to service transmission
Maximum deck is 60" instead of 62" which I had on my 2305
Needs step plate on 60D deck, currently you step on the Autoconnect label.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great tractor

Posted26 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:St Joseph, Michigan USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this tractor after owning a john deere 455 diesel for over ten years. Let me say that i love the ease of attaching the mower deck. I have the loader attachment and It has much more lift capacity than my old 455. Yanmar diesel engine is still the best in the industry. With the suspension seat it is much more comfortable mowing large fields than my old tractor.On the 60 Inch mower deck the deflector shute is made of plastic now instead of steel...plan on replacing this part every season if you are going to do a lot of mowing. I wish that John Deere would make the protective guards for the lighting on the ROPS standard equipment instead of an option as is it too easy to break the turn signal / 4 way flasher light assembly. Until they do please do yourself a favor and purchase this protective kit.Those lights are expensive. I feel that this is an honest review on this fine piece of equipment and I hope that I don't discourage anyone from from buying one. I am a true John Deere fan that has owned a 455 tractor and I currently still own a 855 tractor and an STX 38 tractor plus a John Deere walk behind 21 in mower
Proswell builtyanmar diesel engine
Consplastic mower shuteplastic rear lighting
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very easy to operate

Posted26 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Kentucky, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
attaching & detaching front loader is a hoot would like to have fuel gage on dash display
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little tractor

Posted26 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Cadott, WI 54727, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I felt I had to do this review after reading some of the comments. I bought this tractor to replace an old Massey 65 tractor & X540 lawnmower . I wanted something I can till with, mow, move material , plow snow & etc. I have A older 5 foot king cutter tiller that use with it & it handles it very nicely . This tractor is A joy to till with , mow & all the above . I bought it with the 60 inch drive on & off deck . This took A couple times to get used to lining it up when driving back on but other than that it works great . I have A loader , snow blade , front weight set & I match hitch & all work great . The tractor runs smooth & is easy on fuel . I grew up on my dads farm & run all the bigger stuff & this runs & works just as good as the big stuff . Great little tractor .
Prosworth every penny
Conswish i would have bought one sooner
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Little Tractor

Posted26 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Clermont, FL
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This tractor can do everything I need it to do. The only issues I have with it is the mower deck does not come on and off as easily as advertised unless you are on solid ground. By solid ground I mean concrete or asphalt. The other issue I have is that the headlights are blocked by the hood guard and thus do not provide ample light. The side lights are ok, but since they are so close to the driver, they attract bugs like crazy.
Prosgreat tractor with powerful diesel engine
Consmower deck hard to take off and put onlighting is poorly placed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice tractor

Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Ohio, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I get a lot of use out of the tractor. I like how easy it is to put the mower deck on. My only problem with the mower deck was the outside "ears" rubbed. I had to adjust them. It works fine now. I mow or use this on our small farming operation daily. Got a lot of bang for my buck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Baby Deere is fabulous!

Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Mobile, AL, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
The only complaint I can come up with on my 1025R with front end loader and fork lift attachment is its' "jerky'' movement. I also wish that the load level system was available when i made my purchase!
Conscounter balance absoutly necessary when lifting
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good job

Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for a lot of different job...................
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great tractor!

Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a user friendly tractor. From mowing, to digging, to removing the bucket and the mower deck. The only thing I would change is the fact you have to pull the button out to back up while mowing. My husband thought a step over the mower deck would be helpful too. I love this tractor and tell everyone about it and I've named her Gladyis!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really enjoy this tractor

Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Middleville, MI 49333, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have quite a difficult time with the drive on deck, I am nearing the 40 hour mark and plan to have it checked out as it is very difficult to get the deck on and off. I have a 60" deck.
Consdrive on deck
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and very well thought out

Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Four States, WV 26591, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very well thought out product, no complaints and no problems as of now. It has been worked harder than a 1 family tractor probably should have been and it just keeps going.
Cons3 point hitch stop is cheap and unuseable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OVERALL A GREAT TRACTOR

Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Monroeville, Ohio USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the 1025R with the 47" JD tiller, 48" snowblower, and the 60" drive over deck. When you do it just right, the drive over deck is great to have for cleaning and sharpening. Mows great. I used the snowblower (front mount) last winter and it was fun to go bail out the neighbors too. I bought a soft cab to add on from Green Dealer. Nice for the price. The rototiller is super and I have used it for my 1/4 acre garden for two years now. Excellent all around except for one minor issue. I weigh 240 and the seat does bottom out at times when mowing rough terrain. A little more support could be there. Other than that I love running it 130 hrs now.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and useful piece of equipment

Posted24 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Olympia, WA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this with only a few tasks in mind for our home on 5 acres. I am amazed at the help this 1025 provides. I use it all of the time to help out with anything from digging to lifting to toting. It is an uncomplicated workhorse for the small acreage set.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A combination of two tractors

Posted24 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Postville, IA 52162, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very pleased with the power of the 1025 when I first got it. I traded in my IH 1066 and was replacing my Cub Cadet with an in between tractor for my small acreage. After using the tractor for the first three months, I noticed the hydraulics were sagging/weeping when parked or driving. No fluid was leaking, but I needed to keep raising the deck or the bucket when driving. I returned the tractor to the dealer to have this checked and was told that this normal and within spec. My twenty year old Cub wouldn't do that. Also when driving the tractor on uneven surfaces, the linkage for the deck rubs the rear wheels. This causes the Auto-Connect Deck to come unhooked when maneuvering. This was fixed by putting a pin in the manual deck release to prevent it from unhooking. But this doesn't prevent grooves from being wore into the rear tires. Other than those issues the tractor is very nice to drive and steer and the fast action in the hydraulics.
Prosvery smooth tight steeringgood power for the hp rating
Consvery poor hydraulicspoor deck linkage desighn
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the home or small farm

Posted24 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Florence, AL, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased this tractor for our 12 acre farm. We use the front loader, the mower and a auger attachment. In the short time we've owned the 1025r we have erected a fence around 2 acres, mowed grass, moved dirt, leveled our driveway and completed many other small jobs around the house and farm that would have taken forever without the tractor. I don't know how we ever made it before buying this tractor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too many parts susceptible to breaking

Posted24 August 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the course of the two years that we've owned this tractor, we've had to (or need to) repair or replace at least the following:
1. Weld an anti-scalp wheel socket to the deck because a weld broke.
2. Weld the deck to fix a bent lug holding the adjustment bolt that controls the height of the the deck attachment link.
3. Replace the spring holding the deck attachment link in the raised position.
4. Two deck belts. One was ruined because the PTO transfer case came loose when a pair of bolts fell out. The other when debris found its way around the belt guards and wedged in a pulley.
5. Two hydraulic leaks
6. Two punctured tires
7. Lights on ROPS (they should be mounted on the inside of the ROPS to avoid damage, not the outside).
8. Bagger belt replaced.
9. Tighten a loose control lever for the loader (repeatedly).
10. Missing bolt in the rear deck attachment link.
11. Scaling/film behind the instrument panel cover after the tractor warms up.
We've put about 120 hours on this unit. Thus, a repair (or needed repair) about every 10 hours of run time. The unit is garaged and maintained according to the maintenance schedule. About 2/3 of the time it's used for mowing. The other 1/3 of the time for hauling material with the loader (deck removed).
We paid a premium for perceived Deere quality, but it hasn't worked out that way.
Proslooks nice
Constoo much down time for broken parts
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>