Customer reviews for JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

JohnDeere 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor

1 Family Sub-Compact Utility Tractors, 1 Family 1025R
Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
Recommended by13 out of 1587%
Customer reviews for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Review 1 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tractor

Posted2 April 2014
Customer avatar
Tom57
From:Westminster, MD, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the 1025R for a month and it is great. Does everything that I needed and then some. Comfortable and a pleasure to operate. Have used it to clear heavy underbrush, push downed trees and plow snow. I wish I had it for the past 20 years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality piece of equipment

Posted8 March 2014
Customer avatar
Joe01
From:Ozarks,Mo.
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We traded in an old JD 420,60"mower & 48"tiller for the new 1025, 60" auto attach deck and the 48" tiller.Dealer gave us more for the old equipment than we originally paid for it (bought used 15 yrs. ago).So am very happy with price,yeah it's pricey even at that but what isn't now days.I love the auto connect deck,was very tired of wrestling with the old deck on the 420 every time it needed to go off or on so I could till.Once I figured out how this setup all worked and that it has to be perfectly level to re-attach,it's a breeze to unhook and hook up.We don't mow our small lawn with this,living on a farm it gets used for the bigger,rougher mowing jobs like out further from the house. Mower works very well.It runs much faster than the JD riding mower decks do,doing a much better job of mowing (IMO). We have a smaller JD riding mower we mow around the house with & it doesn't compare with the 60" mower on the 1025.I love the surplus of power the Yanmar diesel engine generates,plenty for the 60" mower or the 48" tiller,also love how stingy it is on fuel,it will mow the same 1 acre or so we used to mow with the 420 on about 1/2 the fuel.The tiller is also about twice the tiller as our old JD 48" tiller,tills much faster and does a much better job.Great piece of equipment.We have owned our 1025 & attachments since last year and so far no problems at all.
Proseasy startingplenty of powerbuilt very toughperforms very well
Conshood could use some further design improvementsdiff lock is a little difficult to accessseat could use more springpricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tractor!!!!!!!!

Posted18 February 2014
Customer avatar
WMCD
From:Winnsboro, LA 71295, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchase the 1025R w/60'' deck and loader in April 2013. Dealer walked me through the operations of machine. Had them disconnect from mower deck and connect back worked great and did it on concrete. Frist time I mowed it was great love the machine would recommend it to everyone. Dealer did a great job in finding me a machine as they didn't have one in stock. They gave me a great deal on trade in of 4 year old John Deere mower.
Proseasy of usegreat horsepowertilt steering4wddeck auto connect
Consshould have bought one sooner
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Tractor

Posted2 December 2013
Customer avatar
Jason
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this tractor and loader for a month, and its awesome! I'm very happy with the tractor in general, but I am a little dissapointed with the final setup when it was delivered.
The ROPS did not work properly, which was quite annoying given that I can't park it in my garage with the ROPS up. The top bar was clearly welded out of position. You could see easily after banging the pins out with a mallet that one of the three holes was about 1/4" out of alignment. I'm not so fond of needing to file down safety structures at 0 hours.
One of the fender lights was delivered full of water. I don't think these should take on water at all, and certainly shouldn't be delivered that way. Anyway, the bulbs are bright but hot and explode when wet.
At about 6 hours one of the loader lines started leaking badly. The hydraulic line's bolt was only hand tight.
I would also like if the seat had stiffer springs available. A good bump will bottom them out hard and adjust your spine.
Other than that, I love it. Just go over it really well before you start using it! Stiffer seat springs please!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall tractor/mower/loader

Posted19 November 2013
Customer avatar
Stubby
From:Central, IL, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this tractor to replace my old faithful 2305 and loader. I had a bit of early buyer's remorse because of the mower cut quality on my lawn when set up to factory specs. The dealer was not much help here, so I set it the way my logic indicated. Set deck wheels to 1/16 - 1/8" clearance on the drive way....cut well. I'm VERY disappointed with the ride quality of the suspension seat. The seat bottoms out with a spine jarring impact that tears my ailing back up. Again, no help from either Deere or the dealer other than "sorry". Looks like I'll have to re-engineer the springs. Deere may make them well but the engineers leave a LOT to be desired.
Prospowerloaderfuel economy
Conspoor ridepoor mower cuteasily scratched paint/finish
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 1026R

Posted11 November 2013
Customer avatar
Joseph
From:Vienna, VA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was an early bird and purchased a 1026R in December 1012. A wonderful Christmas present for myself. Included a loader, shredder and snow blower. The tractor itself is the envy of my neighborhood which which is made up of small Kubota owners. I have many trees and the most I have used it for is to haul very large tree logs to a neighbor who uses wood for heating his house. I had no reason to purchase it except I always wanted a four wheel drive and a loader. Both features are outstanding and it has a full bay in my garage to validate my appreciation of this investment. Had not experienced one problem to date. Yes, my only gripe is the scuffing on the front of the fenders I do when mounting and dismounting the tractor. I also own a 318 and that tractor also is a classic homerun. Has worked faithfully since 1983. Yes, I am a bit prejudice towards John Deere and its well made products.
Prosstyleease of startingcapacity of loaderease in operating
Consneed more homeowner jobs for it|
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HYD. DUST COVERS

Posted17 October 2013
Customer avatar
Sonny
From:Bedford, IN 47421, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wrote one review, now a follow up after 10 hours of use.. Sill boils radiator over, paint is a throw back to the old 445s anything that touches it leaves marks on finish. Actually spent 5 hours getting auto connect mower to work (dealer setup??). The hyd. dust cover do not stay together when loader is being used. Have contacted John Deere and Dealer both say can't help, dealer is sending replacements but say their the same way. JD changed vendors and the new brand (fastner) just don't work, should go back to the old brand like was on the 2305 I had. I'm not new to JD having had at least 6 starting with a 425 in 2000 all the way to the 1025R. Just when I think they got it right along comes the 1025R. Sorry but that's the way I feel.
Prosmower higth knob bettertilt wheellightingcontrols
Consoverheatsdust caps not compatible no help from jd
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best machine in it's class.

Posted22 September 2013
Customer avatar
Dean54
From:Manning,ND
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traded in a competetors machine of same HP ,deck size, and loader size. Other than that, there are no similarity's. The 1025R is far superior in every aspect. The foldable ROPS is wonderful for work around our many trees. Operator station is far more comfortable, fantastic seat, lots of leg room, the tilt steering is awesome. Best turning radius , ease of attachments, superior ride. When I purchased the other machine, I thought the Deere was too expensive, but if you want quality, it is absolutely worth every penny.
Prostilt steering wheelease of attaching deckloaderfoldable rops
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Little Tractor

Posted31 August 2013
Customer avatar
Channon
From:Hayes, Va
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well brush hogging and mowing and bucket works great for gravel. 60d deck cuts very nicely but don't like height knob . Mine came set up ready to go full of diesel. Uses very little diesel when running. Worth every Penny!
Proseconomical
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Some improvements

Posted25 August 2013
Customer avatar
Sonny890
From:Bedford in.
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Traded in a 2305 for the 1025r. Some of the improvements are a lot better then what's on the 2305 like the mower height control knob, controls are better configured but harder to use, better turning radius. First two hours of use it overheated and shut down even though I cleaned grill every half hour. Auto connect 54C mower was not set up properly from dealer and I spent about two hours fixing or at least I made it better. I will take the 54D mower over the auto connect any day. One more thing if you are thinking about the auto connect mower and use front wheel weights manual says to remove them before driving over deck and reinstall after connecting mower, and once mower is removed you can't roll it around so I guess you leave it outside all winter because you can't connect it on a concrete floor Go figure only from John Deere. If you own a 2305 with a 'C' deck I would keep it the 1025r is a cheap replacement for the 2305, I wish I had mine back
Proseasier on and off
Conscheap
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it.

Posted22 August 2013
Customer avatar
davi239
From:Americus, Ga.
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Bought this tractor in May 2013 along with a H120 loader and a 60D auto-connect deck. I have 43 hours so far and the tractor has been perfect. The loader is also perfect and easy to connect and disconnect. Been a loyal JD customer for 20 years. The dealer was unable to successfully configure the deck and I ended up doing it myself. Not easy to do even with the instructions. Finally got it right and now the deck works perfectly. Tractor is very fast, forward and reverse. Mows very well. Make sure the deck is installed correctly before accepting delivery. Mechanics need more training. Good buy. Excellent quality.
Prostight turning radius excellent engine and hydraul
Conspainted plastic parts which marr easily.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great so far

Posted4 August 2013
Customer avatar
volt
From:Mount Pleasant, PA 15666, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
digging tree stumps and leveling drive way small tractor with just enough horse power. High lift and backhoe and mower deck like it all.
Prosnice
Consgreat but pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1025R FILB

Posted24 July 2013
Customer avatar
LoveMyNewDeere
From:Northeaster Pennsylvania
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this with a 647 tiller and a 54D Auto-connect deck. I have used the unit over 33 hours in the 7 weeks of ownership. One gripe I have is the painted green panel on the front side of the rear fenders near the operator platform. This came pre-scuffed from the dealer, and it got worse from there on. Ended up fixing it and putting the protective plastic that is the rage for the front of your vehicle to protect the paint. Enough of my rant.
The cutting deck first. This is a great deck. Very good suction throwing the grass evenly cutting the grass evenly. Power is more than ample for the 54 inch deck. It attaches very easily. You have to really rub the guide rail on the left side of the deck, otherwise the front mount of the deck on the tractor hits the gearbox.
The tiller works great. Very heavy duty. Actually kicked out rocks that were 8 or 9 inches in diameter. I am very happy with this unit. Again more than ample PTO power. The dealer once again did not do the company justice. Driveshaft Shield was bent pretty badly and was actually rubbing the drive shaft. They also dented the leveler board before the unit was delivered. not badly, but enough that if it were a car I would have flipped out on the dealer. Also came low on gear case oil with the side chain overfilled.
The 260 backhoe is nice. Came with the 12 inch bucket. I have removed tree stumps, dug my puppy's grave and will soon be digging the foundation to build the building to house all these goodies. Does not quite swing the 180 degrees that is advertised, but that is minor. Wish it had more digging power, but it is what I paid for. The tractor pump could use some additional pressure and volume so that multiple movements could happen simultaneously and have a little more digging force. Once you do the attachment and removal a few times, it is pretty easy.
The H120 bucket works great. Good lifting power and digs well. Attachment is super easy. Lower the bucket is tipped, the easier the hoses attach
Prosall around good performereasy to handle and operatemade my gardening work almost effortless.made me very happy.
Consthey limit the review length...dealer is less than stellar.dealer choice was mine... research before you buy.attachments pricy when you add the required parts.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just plain AWESOME

Posted29 May 2013
Customer avatar
Gilby
From:Platteville, WI 53818, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new 1025R. I have owned a 485x for the past 9 yrs with no repairs just normal services. It has been bullet proof. I sold it for half what I paid for it and could have got more(sold to friend ). I also own a 3038E tractor with loader and three point snow blower and 84 inch frontier finishing mower. NOTHING but awesome. I know my 1025R is just new but I love the great features and ease of use. My wife and daughter caught on to it with ease. Look forward to the next ten years with it. Thanks JOHN DEERE for building GREAT equipment.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
31of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1025R Sub-Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1025R is EASY to Use

Posted12 May 2013
Customer avatar
pmc1210
From:Victoria, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 1025R is one of the easiest tractors I have ever used. Everything you need is right there in your line of sight and within easy reach. Fantastic turning radius!! Super smooth ride, with plenty of power to get even difficult jobs done quickly. Quick attach/release tools allow a smooth transition from one job task to the next. Wonderful engineering that combines comfort and ease in this JD workhorse! I LOVE IT!
Pamela
Prostilt wheelmoveable seatlow hood i can seegreat in tight quarters
Cons3 point hitch control could be smoother
Yes, I recommend this product.
+51points
53of 55voted this as helpful.