Customer reviews for JohnDeere 3038E Compact Utility Tractor

JohnDeere 3038E Compact Utility Tractor

Utility tractor for life-style farmers and large-estate owners. Visit JohnDeere.com to get information on the newest addition to the compact utility tractor lineup - the 3E Series.
Overall rating:
3.968 / 5
4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
Recommended by25 out of 3181%
Customer reviews for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Review 1 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little dissapointed

Posted17 April 2016
Customer avatar
From:Edgewood, TX 75117, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a 3038e that I have had for 1.5 years and overall it is ok. It has been in the shop 3 times other than scheduled maintenance and it seems to take 3-4 weeks each repair.
The first repair was the lift arm broke completely off, the second was both back wheels needed to be replaced (one fell off), and here recently, the lift arms again while mowing.
I am not here to bash JD, because overall it is easy to use and has good power for its size. What I would like to say, is if you have any doubt about the size and quality of this tractor, I recommend moving up to the utility series tractor.
This one is a bit light and has some cheap features (gas gauge/tool box). Mine should be repaired by this Friday, but I have a feeling I am going to come home with a different (larger) one.
Prospowerfuleasy to use
Conslight weightcheap featuresslow service
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tractor for the money!

Posted12 February 2016
Customer avatar
From:Scarborough, ME, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this tractor back in August of 2010 and have had only one major issue with the machine. The front Hub seals went south on me twice. I checked the front axle oil and removed the dip stick plug and it almost popped off under psi every time during the summer months after putting a few hours on the tractor. Three years ago I made my own dip stick cap and vented it with a small hole, this alleviated the seal leaking again. I have had this home made vented cap now for three years and my front hubs don't pressurize anymore, the weak link in the front hub when under PSI is the seals. I now have approx 500 hours on this machine and so far it has been flawless after this additional plug I made to the front axle. The tractor has been very impressive other than this one issue for me. I did wear out my cutting edge on my 305 Loader so I replaced the cutting edge with a double sided new cutting edge through John Deere, the 305 loader has to be drilled out to take the new cutting edge but it was well worth the addition. Saved me from having to buy a new Loader. Real happy with this tractor!!
Proshorsepowereasy using capabilitiescost
Consfront hub axle seals
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid

Posted24 January 2016
Customer avatar
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just went through "Snowzilla" in Virginia. Snowblower wouldn't start and run reliably. Generator - one worked, the other one didn't. But 18 degrees, 35 MPH winds, 32 inches of snow, and the Deere started up every time, worked many hours with the FEL and a rear snow blade, bottom line, when I needed it, it ran flawlessly. That's true value. I own three Deere tractors, 7220, 5100M, and my little 3038E for my house, and wouldn't buy another tractor brand for anything.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Was good for the first 150 hours????

Posted10 November 2015
Customer avatar
From:Troy, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will as advised by dealer to service at 100 hours. I did complete service and filters(oil, Hydraulics). Runs great and transmission good for Hydrostatic. The 3 point lift failed 3 days out of the 2 year warranty. The dealer wouldn't help or look at, they gave me advise to change hydraulic fluid and filters. I did all this and still no 3 point lift. I've have found numerous people online with same problem which was complete replacement of pump. This why I gave low Quality and no recommend.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected.

Posted7 October 2015
Customer avatar
From:Wisconsin, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tractor to help with cutting firewood and doing landscaping around my property. My land is hilly and the tractor has amazed me with it's power and performance. I carved roads into the woods with no problems. I haul a trailer and loader full of wood out up hills with the tractor wanting more. It is just the right size for tight areas. I had the dealer add rear Hydros to make this tractor be able to run a front grapple and a rear log splitter. I get a lot more done than I ever thought possble. No issues in my first year. Put at least 600 lbs on the 3 point for max traction and lifting.
Prospower to spareeasy to get on and off
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tractor at a Great price

Posted20 September 2015
Customer avatar
From:St Louis, MI, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've waited until I had 100 hours to write a review.. Its been completely problem free.. After having 3 different Kubota's over the last 20 years I decided to try green and I've been very happy with the power, performance, lifting capacity and handling of this tractor.. It would be nice if they came out with a option to switch the loader to a skid steer style quick hitch though..
Its a good by
Prosgreat value
Consneeds skid steer bucket attachment
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Reduced Lifting power

Posted19 May 2015
Customer avatar
From:Lafayette Oregon
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
after having this tractor for 8 months, Im very unhappy on its lifting capacities on the front loader.
Prosengine runs smoothvery easy to steer
Consfront loader doesn't lift very much
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
18of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

Posted7 April 2015
Customer avatar
From:Waupaca, WI 54981, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was the best thing I have purchased. I compared it to the competition and it was the best value I could find. A back up light is needed in my opinion. Loader works great have moved a lot of rocks that would still be sitting there because I could not have moved them with out it. Use it to disc a couple acres and it works great.
Conswish i would have added rear hydrolics
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

3038E Review- 4 stars!

Posted9 January 2015
Customer avatar
From:Ladysmith, BC, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my 3038E for 3 years now and am quite happy with it. It is a quality JD product, and you're getting good value for the money. I've put over 600 hours on my tractor and have used it extensively for loader work, brush mower work, manure spreading and back blade work. I've used the loader on plain dirt and have used it to move blast rock and other heavy loads. Custom features since I purchased was: welding chain hooks on the bucket, adding a back up light, installing a block heater.
The only truouble I've had was when a part in the hydraulic pedal failed, and JD replaced at no cost. The dash developed a leak and allowed moisture in after about 400 hours and this made the tach stop working. I had to pay for that to be fixed at $600. Other than those two issues, which really are minor in the grand scheme of things I've had no other issues.
The tractor is a hard-working tough machine that is more capable than you'd think. The four wheel drive feature is excellent, and where I live with all the mud etc, the tractor has never gotten stuck.
I wish it came with some of the features I've installed, however it was quite easy to add the backup light as the wiring is already there behind the seat to add a light and already pre-wired at the factory to the existing light switch. Adding a back up light cost me $20.
The block heater is tricky to install but for $90, I was able to install this as well in under an hour. It improves the warming of the engine on cold days, reducing idling and saving on fuel and wear on the engine.
Overall, I'd say I'm very happy and if you buy this tractor, you will be too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+39points
39of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really well built and user friendly machine.

Posted11 October 2014
Customer avatar
From:Newnan, GA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a 3038e in March of 2014 so far I have put about 100 hours on the machine. I have been very pleased with performance and durability. Front loader capacity is good, I can dig holes and move dirt and materials easily, three point is smooth and precise, 4WD pretty much makes this tractor go anywhere, twin pedals make loader work easy, and the PTO/Engine has plenty of power. Maintenance is easy and machine has performed flawless thus far. Good purchase for the price.
Prospowereasy to usedurable
Conslight weightno mid pto option
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

jd 3038e review - canadian - south country equipment

Posted1 May 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Little bit of a story. I had a 3032e, found it lacked front end loader power, dealer was unable to repair it to bring adequate lifting power (bucket of gravel shouldn't be too much). A year later I bought a 3038e to replace it.
3038 was ok for the first few years, still a bit under powered, very tippy, but ok. I had fluid put in the tires and I was quite happy with it. Did a lot of tilling, snowblowing, 3 point hitch mower. Typical large farm yard work. Maintenance done at 400 hours (year 3 or 4), changed front diff fluid, changed trans fluid.
Here we are today at year 5-6. Transmission range shifter input leaks, both front hubs leak, quite loud now, tach occasionally stops working, front end loader is slower acting and still will just barely lift a full bucket of gravel.
Quote to repair from 2 different dealers - South country equipment and Maple Farm equipment. $3000 +/-
They are known to have front axle leaks. All of them have it after about 2 years of regular service, tach problem is common and some have trouble with the hydrostatic transmission not putting out enough pressure. Both dealers admitted that these are trouble with the 3038e/3032e machines...with the statement of ...it's a cheap tractor, what do you expect?
(I expected the well advertised John Deere quality)
Corey Dietz
Proscheapeasy to use
Consqualityfront axlestransmissionfront end loader underpowered
No, I do not recommend this product.
+76points
80of 84voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bucket keeps dumping

Posted18 April 2014
Customer avatar
From:montgomery, al
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this 3038E over a Kubota, but now I wish I had bought a Kubota.
The bucket will become loose and you must continuely keep bumping the controller to keep it upright and from spilling what is in it.
I have carried it back to the dealer while under warranty and John Deere says there is nothing wrong. I have owned several tractors in the past and this is the only one that has hydraulics that leak down while in operation. Overall the tractor is fine but this is very annoying and John Deere does not seem interested in trying to fix it. Their service in Montgomery, Alabama is very very poor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+39points
42of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough Little Tractor

Posted13 March 2014
Customer avatar
From:Waynesville, NC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am a retired power plant maintenance mechanic, I live on a sloping/rocky 2-acres in western NC Smoky Mountains area. I purchased my JD 3038E Nov 2012, it now has 275HRS. It’s been a work horse. I have mowed, tilled, dug ditches with loader and/or rear blade, excavated, dug up and/or moved rocks, pulled fallen trees / hauled firewood, cleared snow. My implements consist of the JD 305 loader, 72” fully hydraulic front and rear blade, 58” tiller, 5’ shredder. I included at purchase the additional 2-valve hydraulic controls, tow bar and the rear work light. I have put this little tractor to the test, running it to its max and at times beyond specs. I have not experienced any mechanical issues with my JD 3038E to this point, hope this continues. After reading some of the reviews I will pay close attention to those issues (thanks to all for the info). Due to the extremes I have operated this tractor I am going to complete the 400HR service at 300HRS. I do all my own maintenance and will do my own repairs if and when the need arises.
Prosfuel usage is goodperforms well
Consjd website lacks infojd authorized sales centers lack knowledgenot made in usa
Yes, I recommend this product.
+45points
45of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still Going After Five Years

Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
From:Buras-Triumph, LA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have about 4 acres and bought our 3038E roughly 5 years ago. This is one tough little tractor! I use the loader more than the finishing mower we bought with it. Lately, I've been building a 56' x 36' house pad and have pushed or pulled about 40 dump-truck loads of clay soil and river sand. I haven't got stuck once and have had no trouble at all. I have even dug up grass-covered ground with the loader with no trouble. Keep it clean and greased and the engine maintained and you'll never have any problems with it. Be sure to put Armor-All on the seat periodically to keep it from cracking.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+26points
29of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tractor

Posted3 February 2014
Customer avatar
From:Anton, TX
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've operated this specific tractor for 30 hours. Moved a lot of dirt with the loader, disced 2 acres, set two 1625 gallon tanks (empty), box-bladed, and generally have hauled and pulled stuff around.
Most of the negative comments I see are not the tractor's fault. If you use the loader extensively without the proper rear ballast you will wear out the front seals. Don't be surprised. Stay within the limits of what the tractor was designed for and you will be pleasantly surprised. If you want to run it like a larger tractor then buy a larger tractor.
Concerning not accepting a backhoe. Correct, it will not accept a backhoe and if you would have done your research you would have known this. This is an economy tractor, it will not have all the whistles and bells that a 33xx series tractor of the same class will have.
Don't blame the tractor if you operate it outside the parameters of its specs.
This tractor is a great value for the money. Hydrostat drive is easy to drive, FWD, one-piece ROPS #that fits in a garage without folding), good fuel usage, easy to use controls, lots of attachments available. Tank mounted fuel gauge is adequate for the job.
Prosgood valuedual pedal hydrostat drivenimble - perfect manueverability on a small farm
Conswish it had a tool box
Yes, I recommend this product.
+31points
35of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bought the tractor thinking it would be good quality.

Posted7 November 2013
Customer avatar
From:Oklahoma, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have 10 acres and do not need a heavy duty tractor, figured this tractor would do most of what I need, grading, moving dirt, hauling small loads. I have struggled with this tractor ever since I bought it, it is poor quality, I had problems with the loader dumping unless you keep pulling the handle, it won't hold the pressure and dumps on it's own if you aren't paying close attention to it. Bolts and nuts have fallen off of it, multiple times bolts would fall off and parts would be come detached. I've only used this for 40 hrs and left front knucle seal leaking and John Deere wants $400.00 to fix. Never will I buy a John Deere tractor after this one, it is underwhelming. John Deere shouldn't be proud of this tractor. Warranty ran out a year ago so I gotta foot the bill for all of the problems.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+35points
47of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good tractor good price

Posted28 October 2013
Customer avatar
From:derby kansas
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
have had the tractor for just over 4 months/105 hours and has not had any issues. would definently buy again.
Prosfuel economypricepower
Consa little light on the rear
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value for the money

Posted9 October 2013
Customer avatar
From:Buffalo, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tractor for a 40+ acre cattle farm. It does really well, bush hogging, digging with loader, post holes etc. I too have a bucket that leaks forward, although I may have overloaded the hydraulics at one point. No issues with the RPM gauge or axle as some have said. It is a bit unstable on sloping ground, I have also had the rear wheels off the ground hauling round bales on the loader. I wish they made rear wheel weight for this model. Front to back and left to right the wheel base is small, thats good for tight spaces, bad for stability on slopes. Didn't think I'd need rear hydraulics, wish I had them on this model. Overall, great little tractor.
Prosgets into tight areas trees gates etc.
Consunstable on slopes when loaded
Yes, I recommend this product.
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent value for the money

Posted4 October 2013
Customer avatar
From:Southeast Kansas
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of power, bucket easy to use,best value, I did lots of comparison and felt that the 3038E was best buy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 3038E Compact Utility Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy to operate on level ground dangerous on slopes. Really like the hydrostatic transmission.

Posted28 August 2013
Customer avatar
From:WV
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You have to remember this is an "economy tractor", and that you get what you pay for. Generally it works very well for what I use it for, grading driveway, plowing snow, plowing garden, brush hogging, however it has it's limits. I have had a rear wheel off the ground on three different occasions, and one was not on really steep ground. I live in WV, and don't have a lot of flat ground. The biggest issue I have had is that the loader bucket constantly goes forward no matter what you are doing. I have taken it back to the dealer, who said it was fixed, but when I got it home, it was the same as before. Every thirty seconds or so when you are using the loader bucket you have to keep tapping the control to keep the bucket from dumping whatever it is you are carrying. I lost a good 20' chain because of it.
Proseasy to operate
Consloader bucket continually drops forward
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
31of 32voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>