Customer reviews for JohnDeere XUV 550 S4

JohnDeere XUV 550 S4

"The XUV550 S4 from John Deere is now available."
Overall rating:
3.923 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
Recommended by10 out of 1377%
Customer reviews for XUV 550 S4
Review 1 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was everything I was looking for!

Posted10 March 2014
Customer avatar
toad
From:Triad Park, Kernersville, NC 27284, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought one of the first ones out in 2012. It had everything I was looking for--in the price range I wanted to spend. I immediately put it to the test.
Then, I took it to Wyoming for a 10 day hunting trip--four people, survival kit--9,000 feet in elevation. My only complaints--which I immediately sent pictures of places I had taken it--back to John Deer Marketing--was it was under powered for where I was at, but works fine here in NC under the same conditions, and it was a little heavy on the front end--in tight places. Power steering assist would be a perfect update--which they did both for 2013. Today I'm replacing the shifter where--from shifting hard--it broke off. However, I think my cable just needs adjusting--someone else was on it when it broke--so I have no idea what kind of force might have been used--I just got a call that it was broke--needed fixing.Overall--I have no complaints with my Gator--but would trade it up for a 2014 with bigger motor/power steering--if they would trade with you fairly--which they won't, but that's a dealer issue--not John Deere's fault?? It's NOT for sale!
Prosperfect family vehicle
Constook john deer to long to build
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure of the 550 S4

Posted5 March 2014
Customer avatar
vanderrt
From:Padre Island Corpus Christi TX
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought my 550 S4 in November 2012. I'm a quadriplegic and wanted to do some beach exploring on Padre Island Texas. I enjoy the ride but the problem that 2012 has with shifting is annoying to say the least. It will not shift from reverse to forward or back again without turning off the engine. They have replaced the primary clutch and added a longed belt and it shifts fine until the 550 warms up. If you leave it set for an hour or so it starts shifting fine again. $11K plus and having these problems just don't seem right. I understand the 2014 work much better that's why I said I would recommend it and gave it 3 stars. Being serverely disabled, miles form anywhere, with no phone service, and depending on the 550 to get home is kind of scary. The newer models don't seem to have much for problems.
Prossmooth ridelots of room & storagethe 16hp engine is a workhorse
Consshifting problems
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my first John Deere ATV, it will not be my last. It has the best ride in the industry.

Posted25 January 2014
Customer avatar
ChickenRanch
From:Bronwood, GA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My family and I could not be happier with our John Deere XUV 550 S4.
I spend as much time as possible driving threw the woods and farmland where we live. My neighbor has Kubota and is considering a trade for a John Deere like ours. The room, ride, and dependability makes it a great vehicle. Our dogs love it too.
Proscomfortgreat ride.style
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great unit for what it was designed for.

Posted17 October 2013
Customer avatar
YoYo
From:Hope, AR 71801, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reading other reviews it is clear who needed to get the 825I or the 850 but was too cheap. I have 275 trouble free hours on my Gator 550 S4 and have not rode in anything with such a smooth ride. If you are a seasoned rider you will know that all you have to do is have the RPM`s right (like on a 4wheeler) and unit shifts great, use ethanol treatment and have no carb problems, don`t go where log skidders have been, and you will love the Gator 550 S4. To all of the bad reveiws, you can`t expect to pay for a VW and end up with a Cadilac, although I consider my 550 S4 to be a Camo Limo. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone with enough time to enjoy it because that is all I do with mine.
Proshas the smoothest most dependable ride available
Consnot enough time to ride
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do NOT buy

Posted7 October 2013
Customer avatar
RM312
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this with the purpose of using it for hunting and hauling passengers to deer stands. I've never pulled anything with it or abused it. I've had it in the shop 3 times for transmission problems. It's had 2 new transmissions the last one lasted less than 20 hours. Do not buy this unless you're driving on flat terrain. Loses power going up hills. Transmissions slips in low gear. Dealership has been great about repairing it. John Deere has just put out a poor product. I've owned it for 1 year and it's been in the shop for 4 weeks.
Proslooks great sitting in the garage
Consfails every time it's in the field
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Has Shift Problems

Posted28 September 2013
Customer avatar
Buckshot
From:Hartford, AL 36344, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ride is smooth, 4 Seater very nice! Been in the shop twice with less than 10 hours for shift problems. Had to cut ignition switch off to shift from reverse to forward.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

AS GOOD AS EXPECTED

Posted24 September 2013
Customer avatar
TAB58
From:WEATHERFORD, TX
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PURCHASED THE GATER A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO, SINCE THEN HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE MUD PARK, THE GATER HANDLED EVERYTHING IN ITS PATH EXCEPT FOR 10" TALL STUMPS..... MUD, SAND, ROCKS, TRENCHES, UPHILL, DOWN HILL, GATER TOOK THEM ALL BETTER THAT I THOUGHT IT WOULD. JUST RETURNED FROM A THREE DAY DOVE HUNT WITH SEVERAL MEN, GATER WAS THE STAR OF THE SHOW, I WAS ABLE TO CARRY FOUR MEN COUNTING MYSELF, A DOG, ALL OF OUR EQUIPMENT, CHAIRS, GUNS, COOLERS, EVERYTHING WE NEEDED IN ONE TRIP TO THE FIELD. AFTER ONE RIDE SEVERAL OF THE MEN TALKED ABOUT HOW SMOOTH THE GATER RIDE WAS COMPARED TO OTHERS... CALLED MY GATER THE CADILLAC OF XUV'S .
ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE HAD IS TRANSMISSION LINKAGE IS OFF SOME, WILL HAVE TO ADJUST LINKAGE , THEN I EXPECT EVERYTHING TO BE GOOD. IF YOU ARE IN THE MARKET FOR AN XUV.. GIVE JOHN DEERE A GOOD LOOK, I DID AND HAVE BEEN REALLY IMPRESSED.
Proscomfortgood gas economyease of usedump bed
Consdoes not like real tight places around treesmore ground clearance
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

John Deere Gator 550 S-4

Posted8 September 2013
Customer avatar
Alice
From:Texas, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased my Gator back in April 2013 based on the John Deere reputation, was I wrong!! Right off the bat, with only 8 Hrs. on the meter, the carburetor had to be replaced, factory defect. The carburetor was once again replaced with 17.7Hrs. on the meter.
The problem know, my gears lock up, hard to shift. I have to turn off the machine so that the clutch can release. "WILL" never purchase another Gator
Prossmoth ridelooks great
Conslong radius when turninggears lock
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product have great working

Posted20 May 2013
Customer avatar
Ernesto
From:Panama, Panama city
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not recommended for sand, you can get stocked. Works fine in any other conditions. The speed is good and comfortable. Might be better if they put additional speed and horse power.
Prosgood speedcomfortable
Consnot recommend for sand
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ray Vanderpool

Posted29 November 2012
Customer avatar
vanderrt
From:Padre Island, Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live on Padre Island Corpus Christi Texas. The Island allows Gulf Cart type vehicals. The restrictions are it must have Bench Seats, a Slow Vehical sign place on the back of the vehical and restricted speed. The Gator XUV 550 S4 meets all this restriction and more such as seat belts, headlights and break lights. I just got my XUV 550 S4 and I love it. It says that the maxium speed is 28 miles per hour (seems faster) and the speed limits on streets of the Isand is 30, perfect! There is 128 miles of beach on Padre and most of it is open to vehicals. I'm a quadraplegic and I would have never been able to see the beauty of the duns and white sands of the Island without the Gator. Thank you Josh of Gulf Trackor of Corpus Christi for all your help. If you live any where near Corpus Christi and are thinking of buying farm or recreational equipment I urge you to see Josh.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

can`t wait to get home and ride some more

Posted28 November 2012
Customer avatar
YoYo
From:Hope, AR, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am the parts manager for a John Deere dealer in Arkansas and have recently purchased a Gator 550 S4, I love it and can`t wait to ride some more. Based on part sales, I can say that the only parts needed for these units are add on accessories, which are numerous. I have drove all models and I am IMPRESSED at John Deere`s drastic improvement in all of them. I like the 550 S4 for my needs, but the 850I is a Rocket. If your local dealer has any you should try one out, we have trouble keeping all models in stock.
Prossmooth ride alot of room for everyone
Consnot enough time to ride
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice ride, fold down rack over back seat

Posted25 November 2012
Customer avatar
etcallhome
From:WV
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have 96 hrs so far and has done everything I've asked. Low gear has a higher pitch whine than when in high.
Only complaints takes large area to turn it around . On open road (gravel, dirt, or hard surface) with one person or 4 looses speed real fast going up a hill. Try it in low same thing has no top end speed when throttle to the floor.
Prosnice ridefold down storage
Consfalls flat on its face at full throttletakes large area to turn around
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XUV 550 S4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooooth..!!

Posted19 November 2012
Customer avatar
Dennis51
From:Manchester, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had a Kawasaki Mule 4 seater. It had cheap seats and a log wagon ride. I could hardly wait for the new 550 S4 to be introduced. We took our 550 S4 with us to Kansas to ride my 82 year old mother around on the prairie where she was born. She loved the smooth ride. We use it here in Tennessee to tour our hill farm regularly. It is equally at home both on the prairie and the hills. I was very skeptical of the B&S engine but it has served me well. I currently own a TS Gator, a 625i Gator and the 550 S4 Gator. Each one will do exactly what I need it to do.
I trust Deere to build the right thing and build the thing right..!!
Prosexcellent ride qualityair cooled engine requiring less maintenancetrue differential with selectable locking featureeasy-on easy-off foot operated parking brakecomfortable driving position
Conslong wheelbase does compromise ground clearance.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.