Customer reviews for JohnDeere XUV 550

JohnDeere XUV 550

"The Gator XUV550 from John Deere is now available."
Overall rating:
3.756 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
8
Recommended by31 out of 4569%
Customer reviews for XUV 550
Review 1 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good machine for the money

Posted4 June 2015
Customer avatar
wildbill66
From:Calhoun, GA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the 2012 550s4 and had cable break that shifts gear lever. Found out clutches were not working properly. Sold the s4 and bought a new 2014 regular cab 550. Dealer told me that any made after July 2014 had the new clutches and older units that were still under warranty had the clutches replaced. I've put 20 + hours on this new unit and everything works as it should. It runs and drives really good with no problems so far. Hope this clears up a lot of questions about the older 550's before they corrected the clutches.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely poor quality

Posted2 April 2015
Customer avatar
junk
From:Alberta, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This machine is plagued with issues. Don't know why it has a 4 wheel drive option let alone a diff lock. If you require to use either they never seem to work. The machine is afraid of cold weather. shift cable ices up if its left outside below freezing. under powered for a 550. operates more similarly to my brother in laws golf cart but less reliable. I really thought John Deere was better than this. Will be replacing mine with a Mule, Ranger, Rhino, or Kubota. I don't normally do these kinds of reviews but I really don't want anyone else to go through the issues I have. Do your research and spend a little more money up front. don't just buy a product because of its name like I did expecting to have a half descent machine.
Prosaffordable to purchasenice looking golf cart
Consexpensive to keep runninghates to be off road
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!

Posted29 March 2015
Customer avatar
Farmchick
From:West Liberty, IA 52776, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We've now had our 550 gator for 2 years. Bought it new, but was a year old on the lot. Around the yard, it is the best garden cart I've ever had. Easy on and off and the dump box is easy to operate. Great for our cow/calf operation and checking crops. We have been a lot of places where we should not have returned from because of mud and deep water currents. Great in deep snow too. Amazing!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor product plagued with mechanical problems. Do not buy.

Posted1 March 2015
Customer avatar
Stihl02
From:Pennsylvania, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have utilized many John Deere products over the years and they have all been excellent machines. Introduce the XUV 550: I have owned the machine for almost two years and have logged 200 hours of very light duty work. At 20 hours the transmission failed to shift out of gear - Frozen cables. Shortly thereafter, a new clutch was installed, then new head gaskets, then the carb had to be cleaned. The shift cables were then updated with no improvement in shifting. In my opinion, this is the very definition of a lemon, that must be doing no end of damage to the John Deere name. I talked to my dealer about trading in this unit on the 625i but there is a large difference in the value.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak shift components

Posted26 February 2015
Customer avatar
hendihoo
From:La Crescent, MN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have now had my Gator 550 for two years. Fit and finish are superb. Suspension and handling are great. When I purchased this unit I realized it was a price point XUV designed to get people into and familiar with the Gator family of vehicles. What I wasn't prepared for was the poorly engineered engine and drive train . I have had too many days when the temp is cold and this model won't even shift. As I write this my gator is thawing out in the garage and my car sits outside just so I can load up firewood later. Dealer told me my $9K Gator is now only worth $5600.00 so much for holding it's value. Deere has always stood behind their products in the past. On this one I feel as though I'm being left out in the cold.
Proslooks greatfit and finish
Conspoor drivetrain
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

subpar product

Posted21 November 2014
Customer avatar
debushau
From:NJ
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a moderately priced SxS with a modest performance envelope in terms of speed, acceleration, load hauling. However, it does perform the basic utility functions quite well and uses a generic, easily repaired, air-cooled V twin (though it remains to be seen whether this is a good application for that motor). It drives well and is comfortable, is easily cleaned and has a decent sized dumping bed. The tow and load capacity is realistic for a light SxS. I believe the frame is shared with the more expensive 850 model. It's built to a price but it would be quite acceptable if it performed like other Deere products. The transmission, however, is lamentable. It ran for about 20 hours before the problems started. Clutch problems, hard shifting, wont leave reverse, etc. You might get a good one but I suspect there's a fundamental design flaw with the transmission.
Prosframesuspensionsimplicity
Constransmission
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not really designed for muddy roads!!??

Posted28 September 2014
Customer avatar
SCOTTY714
From:Columbia, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After 65 hrs on the unit I have had a new clutch, throttle cable, and a new bed installed. I was just informed that mud can get under some of the guards you can't see where the carb and exhaust are which could cause the engine to overheat. I think this 550 might be ok for grassy farm land, but muddy roads seem to be its weak point. There are currently no performance parts available.
Prosstarts like a champ
Consapparently not designed to get muddy
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Side x Side for the Price

Posted14 September 2014
Customer avatar
GM34
From:Great Mills, MD, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like my XUV, and my kids love the XUV. We've had it since December of '13 and it's got about 60 hours logged. Very early on we experienced a performance problem with the Gator. The performance problem was never discovered by the dealer. The XUV lost power, inexplicably, after minimal hours had been logged. It's like it lost some of it's get up and go and never regained it. The thing still moves along well and I've done 33 mph in it, but it backfires from time to time and seems to have lost some of it's low end torque. The dealer never found anything wrong. They have been friendly and accommodating though. I guess I just accepted it and kept putting the hours on.
Next the parking brake snapped. I was probably a little rough when applying the parking break. The cable snapped around 35 hours. The dealer did give me another to install on my own.
The last thing that happened was that the Gator got stuck in reverse. I was in the woods when shifting felt like it was getting really tight. Finally the shifter wouldn't come out of reverse. I lifted the bed and found that the linkage was operational, but the lever on top of the gearbox was stuck. I checked to make sure fluid was in the case, and it was, so my next step was to try to break it free. Luckily i was able to get out of reverse gear with a stick and some leverage, and into high gear. When I got back to the house, I sprayed some oil on the mechanism, which helped, but I think there's been some damage done? I've put only about an hour or so on the Gator since that incident and now low gear wants to pop out of gear from time to time.
I would recommend this model to anyone that is interested in really light duty. It doesn't seem to stand up to any aggressive terrain or use. I'm going to sell the Gator and I'm leaning towards another brand.
Prosgreat for light duty
Consexperienced multiple mechanical issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor design & cost alot to get worked on

Posted25 August 2014
Customer avatar
justme61
From:nc
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
poor design jd shop charges way to much hr to work on stuff (78.00) motor gaskets linking at everyone. parts reasonable but cost a lot to repair. like everyone else shifting problems.cable problems. thought jd was a good product but wondering now. machine less than 2 yr old.very disappointed in service.jd should stayed with older design. it was easier to work on and take parts off. would I get another jd product don't think so. getting rid as soon as it is fixed.. dealer want help out on total cost. something would help. jd should put better gaskets on stuff. should last longer on gaskets. told when bought best one to buy. going to have fixed but if I use it got to have it, it has not been abused. hope jd does better in future on gators.will never know cause I am not going to get another to see or any product they have. was looking at tractor or lawn mower but not now.. scared of jd and the high price to pay per hour to fix.. I have never made that kind of money.
Consbad design on everything
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Built to last... for a few hours

Posted28 July 2014
Customer avatar
ryan
From:Reading, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This vehicle works great when it's working but has way too many issues with the transmission and shifting linkage. My machine is just out of warrenty (over 2 years old) and has only 40 hours on the machine. I don't work it hard but it's been in and out of the dealer for repairs since I bought it. The problems are all related to transmission/linkage issues. I dont beleive it was ever fixed properly and now the dealer doesn't want anything to do with it. They flat out told me this model is prone to problems and they won't even sell them anymore. When I bought it brand new, I was told it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. Now I'm stuck with a 10,000 yard decoration.
Proslooks nice
Conscheap
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The XUV 550 was a great choice for us.

Posted25 July 2014
Customer avatar
JimmyFunk
From:New Philadelphia, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have a Polaris dealer and John Deere Dealer 10 minutes from our house we looked at models from both as well as checked out what our friends and family have and we made the decision to go with the deer. The top speed of 30mph is plenty fast enough. We did not want our kids driving something that was capable of going 80mph in the woods. Our land is mostly wooded and very hilly and it has no issues with pulling our family of four around wherever we want to go. The gear shift was one thing I was concerned about as I read other reviews however ares shifts very smoothly. Although most reviews said this was a problem in the winter. My brother has a cub cadet with EFI and out gator starts better and runs smoother than his. The gator is built strong. The only thing I wish we did was buy a brush guard with it.
Proseconomicalstylingperformanceseatingfuel economyglove boxstorage under hoodstoage that doubles as a coolerfits on trails nicely
Conswish the dump bed was a little bigger
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My Gater will not shift

Posted5 July 2014
Customer avatar
Steve91
From:Linden, MI 48451, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
With only 46 hours on my 550 Gater, it will not shift properly and now it shuts off after a few minutes of use. It is again at the dealer getting repaired for these problems. The shifting problem was repaired by the dealer several months ago but the repair only lasted a few days before it failed to shift again. I'm now beyond the one year warrenty so I'm sure I will have a huge repair bill. I have learned to live with the shifting problem, I have to shut the engine off whenever I want to shift. Now my gator shuts off and will not start after five minutes of use. I can't sell my gator to anyone because of the shifting problem (I refuse to stick another person with this problem) and the dealer will not give me a good trade in price. My 550 gator has been a major headache. John Deere should issue a recall for these problems and do what is right for its customers.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

right size and price

Posted27 June 2014
Customer avatar
justme61
From:north carolina
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
had about year and half. problems is the brake cable has broken 3 times..needs a hand brake..hard to shift carburetorhard to get to to work on it.. poor design
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great utv

Posted21 May 2014
Customer avatar
grower65
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this gator 550 for 2 years now. it starts fast and runs great. I have 10 acres of pistachios and pull a 60 gal spray rig around. it gets the job done and my kids love it
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice WARM weather vehicle

Posted19 May 2014
Customer avatar
Toby13
From:North Carolina
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enjoy our Gator,,, few issues,,, clutch would stick when engine got warm,, was taken care of under extended warranty I purchased. Only issue since is that if temps outside get much below freezing, transmission cable will freeze up and you cannot shift from whatever gear you parked it in. Have to let engine run 10-20 minutes in 20 degree weather if Gator has been sitting for a few hours (like during a morning or afternoon hunt). Once warmed up, linkage will thaw enough you can shift and go. Spoke to JD service department about problem, and they advised nothing you could do but let it idle until it thawed. No problems at all during warm weather. Nice ride.
Prosvalueride
Consclutch issueslinkage cable from shifter to transmission freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed engine

Posted18 February 2014
Customer avatar
Sling
From:Markesan, WI 53946, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have a 550 xuv with Briggs Stratton engine failed at 60 hr .
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall rugged and sporty, but a few glitches.

Posted21 January 2014
Customer avatar
Mukluk
From:Gilford, NH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the new XUV550 in March 2013. Our primary uses are hauling manure, firewood and exploring the logging roads of central NH. The dump body works great and the machine seems strong and capable in all terrain. I have had it buried in mud and snow, but that is due to operators poor choices. It has been back to the dealer three times for shifting issues, with limited success. The shifting cables are frozen as I write this, due to cold weather and apparently ice inside them.
Prosmulti-use machineruggedsporty
Consshifting design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sold it to many problems

Posted18 January 2014
Customer avatar
glitch
From:River Falls, WI 54022, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
625 or 825 I took my back with 48 hours on it ! This unit is built to cheap. The 825 is great but also 16k. Dealer worked with me after 3trip to dealer for shifting cables and carb problems! I have a new 825 power steering. I would go 625 or 825 or a different color paint!
Proslawn ornament
Consmany problems
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shifts hard and idles bad when cold. 11k Invested.

Posted22 December 2013
Customer avatar
Gitch
From:River Falls, WI 54022, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I like the machine overall. Goes anywhere in deep hills. Cons of this machine are the shifting cable to the transmission. Shifts very hard and idles bad when cold. I use mine for hunting and plowing in Wisconsin. Cant set the idle up because it wont let the machine shift properly. The belt wants to engage at higher idle. In 4 wheel low lock its is unstopable.
Pros10.3 inch clearance
Consshifting rough idle in winter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy this unit

Posted25 November 2013
Customer avatar
the48indian
From:in
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
we have our unit in the shop 5 times due to the tranmission not shifting , look at all the other people out on the web , that have the same problem . Demand that your dealer refund your money , and buy something elese
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>