Customer reviews for JohnDeere XUV 550

JohnDeere XUV 550

"The Gator XUV550 from John Deere is now available."
Overall rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
Recommended by25 out of 3083%
Customer reviews for XUV 550
Review 1 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed engine

Posted18 February 2014
Customer avatar
Sling
From:Markesan, WI 53946, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have a 550 xuv with Briggs Stratton engine failed at 60 hr .
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall rugged and sporty, but a few glitches.

Posted21 January 2014
Customer avatar
Mukluk
From:Gilford, NH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the new XUV550 in March 2013. Our primary uses are hauling manure, firewood and exploring the logging roads of central NH. The dump body works great and the machine seems strong and capable in all terrain. I have had it buried in mud and snow, but that is due to operators poor choices. It has been back to the dealer three times for shifting issues, with limited success. The shifting cables are frozen as I write this, due to cold weather and apparently ice inside them.
Prosmulti-use machineruggedsporty
Consshifting design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sold it to many problems

Posted18 January 2014
Customer avatar
glitch
From:River Falls, WI 54022, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
625 or 825 I took my back with 48 hours on it ! This unit is built to cheap. The 825 is great but also 16k. Dealer worked with me after 3trip to dealer for shifting cables and carb problems! I have a new 825 power steering. I would go 625 or 825 or a different color paint!
Proslawn ornament
Consmany problems
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shifts hard and idles bad when cold. 11k Invested.

Posted22 December 2013
Customer avatar
Gitch
From:River Falls, WI 54022, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I like the machine overall. Goes anywhere in deep hills. Cons of this machine are the shifting cable to the transmission. Shifts very hard and idles bad when cold. I use mine for hunting and plowing in Wisconsin. Cant set the idle up because it wont let the machine shift properly. The belt wants to engage at higher idle. In 4 wheel low lock its is unstopable.
Pros10.3 inch clearance
Consshifting rough idle in winter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy this unit

Posted25 November 2013
Customer avatar
the48indian
From:in
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
we have our unit in the shop 5 times due to the tranmission not shifting , look at all the other people out on the web , that have the same problem . Demand that your dealer refund your money , and buy something elese
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rides very smooth

Posted22 November 2013
Customer avatar
Scoot65
From:Decatur, MS, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The ONLY reason I don't recommend this model is, it has a shifting problem. The cable shifting is sub par, My 550 hangs up in reverse and will not come out of reverse unless the engine is turned off. I broke the lever off trying to get it out of reverse, took it back to dealer and they repaired it under warranty and idled the engine down but it still hangs up. The mechanic told me mine was not the first with this problem. I did a survey after my repair and have no problems with my dealer, but did state this was a poor design.
Prosexcellent ridevery comfortable
Conspoor shifting
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love My 550

Posted17 November 2013
Customer avatar
Sanduskybob
From:Sandusky, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have owned my 550 for a year now and have about 40 hrs on it, bought a blade and winch with it, installed it myself took about 6 hrs, had to pull all the plastic and seat off but not has bad as it sounds everything was pre drilled and lined up wiring harness for winch was easy to install. Added windshield first winter helped just put a poly top on and a soft cab on for this year, and putting in a 12 volt heater I clean out a lot of driveways around my neighborhood and it got a little cold last year, everything I buy for my 550 is easy to put on and fits nice. The only problems I have had is the brakes squeak and the head gasket blew out but the dealership I bought it from was great (Holkenberg) the gave me one to use while mine was getting fixed. The speed could be a little faster but isn't to bad, dump box is balanced perfectly I have had it loaded with stone and had no problem dumping it.
Prossqueaky brakes
Consspeed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

Posted6 November 2013
Customer avatar
halton
From:Ontario, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The 550 is a good deal for the money. It has many features more expensive utvs have.
Purchased for my wife's use on our farm and found that I ended up using it for a lot of things that were inconvenient to do with my atv.
Doesn't have liquid cooled style power but has lots of torque, is simple to service and less complicated.
Very useable and safe machine.
Prosgreat suspensionstarts great in coldsimple operation and maintenance
Conssecondary clutch bolt backed out in first 8 hours
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2013 gator 550

Posted25 September 2013
Customer avatar
Mechfred
From:San Jose, CA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The 550 was bought in Feb of 2013.It has the Ancla xt tires 2 ply by the way ,the polly roof,spedomter kit,overheat kit,olive and black,all 4 cv gaurds,rear screen with tail and stop light,It has 60 hours on it now.I used it for deer hunting and scouting areas on 4WD rough dirt roads and trails off thes roads.It is very well built and the frame and a arms are strong.The brakes are very good as well as the emergency brake.The 16 hp engine develops it's hp at a low rpm thats very good for hunting.The shifting is tough unless you are at a idle,there is a upgrade primary clutch i have to have them replace under warranty soon.It rides well but the gear noise and engine noise is louder than i like.I have the black bucket 21 inch seats and a fold down windshield that i like.I am a certified mechanic since 1958.For low speed trails and hunting it is good,for high speed trails get a faster UTV.Fred.Lastly steering is good.
Prosgood all around utvbuilt strong
Consnoisyhard shifting2 ply stock tiresno dash lightsno interior lights
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

owned the 550 for 10 months....ugh

Posted20 September 2013
Customer avatar
deerhunter
From:memphis tn
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Yearly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
upon lots of research I decided to purchase the Gator instead of the Polaris 570.... the Gator performed well in the parking lot, was priced less, and seemed to be a better value.....BIG MISTAKE
I used my gator for one reason only.. deer hunting.... to enter and leave the woods, retrieve game, and place stands...
after the fourth trip back to the dealer n 10 months (who did have fantastic service, state line turf and tractor was great) this machine has a SUPER poor shifting mechanism and after it broke leaving me stranded 2 miles from my truck inside the river levy I took it back and got rid of it. This machine is fine for yard work and light use, but for hunting and off road use this machine simply has too many bugs to work out....its loud, the exhaust is just behind the driver seat and you suck fumes while driving, the ride is avg. the turning radius isn't great, it has a slow speed that is governed, and I only had 27 hours on my machine and got sick of the repairs..... the dealer was fantastic about my situation, but this machine is not built well... buy a Polaris and save the frustration...
Prospricesizepower
Conspoor exhaust placementhorrible shifting mechanism that breakssqueeky shocks
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

would buy again!

Posted10 September 2013
Customer avatar
Jeff10
From:upstate New York
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my 550 gator August 23rd. I have 9ish hours on it but for the first 3 days of ownership I took it on a very ruff off road trip. I was a little nervous at first, but after the first rocky up hill section I was at ease. I went on a back country fishing trip in the Adirondacks. Very ruff road and the only thing that stopped me was a bridge that was to narrow. The gator was wider than I thought. It felt a little tipsy at first when I was going over angled trail areas but after I got use to it I never felt like it was going over. It went up and down everything with ease. I don't have a problem with the speed. Anything faster than 30 seems crazy in these things. When I went over a couple of steeper areas I smacked the bottom pretty hard and the guy I was with had a Honda 4 wheeler an he never bottomed out. I assume that's because of the length of the 550. Although I looked under the gator after the trip and not even a scratch. My family loves driving around the house and on trails in the back. I will put a plow on it this winter and I hope it holds up to the wet lake effect snow we get. We love it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent access and handling!

Posted8 September 2013
Customer avatar
Rick550
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have had the xuv 550 for several months now. For looks, and access, it is the best machine on the market. If I could improve it, I would give it a 25 hp engine and gear the high side so that it could travel at 38 to 40 mph. It is a little sluggish and does not keep up with my brothers Polaris on the straights. I much prefer the ride and comfort of this machine though. Another down side w my choice on tires. The Ancla M/T tires are a mere 2 ply, and did not last long. We upgraded to some 6 ply tires recently. I recommend opting for the Maxxis Bighorn tires when you purchase the vehicle. Maybe John Deere will take some of the thoughts to the engineers and make this model the premiere XUV on the market. All in all, we're loving this machine. It digs with the best of them, has the appropriate amount of cargo capacity, and plenty of clearance underneath for most terrain. Hill climbing gives me the most thrill. We'll be keeping ours till they make it better.
Proseasy accesscomfortcargo capacityclearancesporty
Conspowerground speed
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product at a great price

Posted2 September 2013
Customer avatar
CAB1950
From:Monticello, IN
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the 550 for over a year now and have really put it through its paces. This is a great little machine for the value. I just wish J. D. would come out with a snow blade I can attach to the front with ease.
Proseasy to operatesolid tractioni have tried but never got it stucklove the winch
Conscheap seat coverwith bench seat you cannot easilyget to the aircleaner
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We are Very Satisfied With the XUV 550.

Posted28 August 2013
Customer avatar
Goatfarmer2
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this as a work Gator when we bought the 825i S4 for pleasure. We have 15 hours on it. I use this every day for farm chores. We are very satisfied with it. It handles turns well except for sometimes harder to steer since there is no power steering. I would suggest John Deere puts power steering in the 550. The braking is better than the 825i S4. Stops on hilly terrain very well. The vinyl seat is sometimes hard to clean and seems thin. I personally like the power bed on the 825i S4 and wish I bought the extra feature. Overall we are very happy with John Deere's 550 Gator.
Prosvery good brakescuts sharp turns well
Consseat is hard to cleanlow to ground
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is a work horse

Posted26 August 2013
Customer avatar
troll
From:Utah
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This piece of equipment was bought to hauls rock, road base, and other items over rough and uneven ground. It tows objects without complaint. It in every way is worthy of the name John Deere. The XUV 550 is very simple to operate. Maintenance on the 550 is very simple with a spin on oil filter and two grease zerts. The head lights are great. Our 550 is an important piece of farm equipment.
Prosthe 550 will out work and out last any other brand
Consseat belts are a little hard to adjust.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great All Around Vehicle

Posted14 June 2013
Customer avatar
j76475
From:Sierra Blanca, TX 79851, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this in late March. I utilize this to check survey on a very large 290,000 acre ranch in the Hudspeth county Texas. Terrain is extremely rocky and has many wash out areas and cactus and thorns. I operate at an average altitude of 4800 to 5500 feet and have no problems, I have added work lights, engine temp sensor and front tow hitch. I pull my 7x10 work trailer
in areas where my 4x4 pickup won't reach. Great vehicle; operated over 14 hours on 5 gallons or less of fuel. Bought it in Stephenville Texas.
Proseasy to work on
Conscheck part numbers before ordering parts.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

XUV 550

Posted3 June 2013
Customer avatar
JecFarmsAlberta
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had picked up the john deere xuv 550 in mid march and love it great for hills and hauling beds of feed and sand to the barn.
Pros4 wheel drive
Consgolve box lock
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Farm Tool

Posted5 May 2013
Customer avatar
Bubba57
From:Bristol, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for fence repairs, herding cattle and just plain fun running through the woods and mud. It'll go just about anywhere with the locking rear dif and 4X. Great addition to the farm.....handy indeed. Have about 200 hours on it with no issues so far. I added a windshield and canvas enclosure that makes it a year-round, any weather tool for the field.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all-round utility

Posted23 April 2013
Customer avatar
Ozzie
From:Melbourne VIC, Australia
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Was torn between this and the 4x6, but opted for the better ride and the 'real' 4WD capability. We live on the side of a hill with a creek and a dam at the bottom, so need both wet-ground and hill-climbing ability.
When he delivered it, I made the John Deere dealer take the Gator through our #very steep# forest to prove it could handle the terrain, and he admitted he'd never taken it "anywhere so extreme" before. It handled the slope and rocks with ease.
It's been used for hauling heavy timbers for building retaining walls, carrying stock feed, fetching the fire pump from the bottom of the hill for repairs, taking sick alpacas up to the shed so we can keep an eye on them, and even herding livestock.
The only thing it can't manage is falling in a wombat burrow, but then who can?!
Had a minor problem with the brakes which was fixed immediately and quickly by the dealer #they came and picked up the Gator from my house# under warranty.
Don't know what I'd do without it! ... And it's great fun to drive!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The everything Gator

Posted5 April 2013
Customer avatar
JohnDeereFarmer12
From:Eure, NC 27935, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this gator for 6 months and have 100 hours on it and i have used it for mudding, offroading, working on the farm, working in woods, to Anything and i am VERY hard on stuff and this is the best gator for a farmer who whats something he came use for hard work on the farm and yet can play rough with when the work is done. BUY A XUV 550 NOW!!!!!
Prostoughroomy cargo box4wd is excellent
Conslittle bit under powered but does fine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>