Customer reviews for JohnDeere XUV 550

JohnDeere XUV 550

"The Gator XUV550 from John Deere is now available."
Overall rating:
3.698 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
7
1 Star
9
Recommended by34 out of 5265%
Customer reviews for XUV 550
Review 1 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product

Posted11 January 2016
Customer avatar
From:Paulina, LA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought it brand new 2014, i use it every day. It's my way to get around, bc I am paralyzed waist down. I use it for everything, mud, trails, hunting, etc... I absolutly love it for what I do,! I just put 25x8-12(front) and 25x10-12(rear) ITP Mudlite XL tires on! Turns them very good, little slower, but ok! It's got a little over 435.7 hours on it, never had any problems I love this Gator
The Ancla tires, r trash wear to fast, really easy to puncture
Proseasy to usequietmulti terrain usage
Consno front differential lock on 4wd16hp briggs and stratton engine (to small)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't dare buy a JD xuv 550

Posted9 January 2016
Customer avatar
From:Burlington NC
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
2012 model ran great for 10 months
Then new clutch 2 new head gaskets
New carborator at 75 hours.
Have several JD tractors. Deere
Should have a recall this gator
Is complete junk!
Has me surely re thinking anything by Deere
In the future!!!
Proslooks nice while working on it!
Conswon't run!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolute Garbage

Posted10 November 2015
Customer avatar
From:Indiana, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
At only 85 hours the mechanics told me the piston rings were shot and right after the crankcase gasket blew out. This is the biggest piece of junk I have ever owned. Do not even consider buying one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I need for hunting and watching my woodland.

Posted28 October 2015
Customer avatar
From:Eastern Shore Maryland
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought a 2015 XUV 550 at Atlantic Tractor in Clayton, DE. I am very happy with the Gator and it suits me just fine. Great staff where I bought the machine and they explained everything and answered all my questions. I mainly use the Gator in woods roads, trails and fields and drive it every day. I have had four wheelers in the past and this Gator is my favorite to date. Not real fast but plenty fast enough for where I used it.
It is a little cold natured but starts quickly and after warmed up it runs great. The bed is just right for bringing deer out of the woods. It also is great for hauling my hunting gear to a hunting site.
I also bought a cover for the Gator and it fits perfectly and is very easy to put on.
Prosstarts quickly.shifts easily.
Conscold natured but i can live with that.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How easy it is to use!

Posted6 October 2015
Customer avatar
From:Grand Meadow, MN 55936, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My gator is the easiest thing every to use it is low cheap and doesn't chug gas. I would recommend this machine to the president if I ever thought of never not getting on my gator and getting on my golf cart It would be Opposite Day I actually own 2 because these machines are amazing!!!
Proseasy to start in the cold
Consno power steering
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
 
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could be better without this Briggs Engine

Posted29 August 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good solid machine, but this Briggs & Stratton engine developed an oil leak at only 600 hrs. The crankcase cover gasket blew and the engine had to come out to replace the gasket. The machine is only 3 yrs old!! What was Deere thinking by not using Kawasaki as the powerplant??? Very disappointed for the money.
Consjunk engine
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing product

Posted3 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Prescott WI
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My xuv 550 is a 2012 model. Hopefully improvements have been made to the newer xuv's. Bolt backed out of the secondary clutch when it was new. At a year old, engine timing cover gasket gave out. A couple months later the shift lever broke, the park cable broke, then the engines head gasket went out. Year two; shift cable has broken again, eft front tire is bald, other three tires are about 60%.my xuv will be three in September and currently has 260 hours I it. If your looking for a product that needs constant costly repairs, and frequently cannot be used because it is broken. But one, otherwise ; run away. I bought this unit because of deere's reputation, and history of among reliable Gators. They missed the mark on this model.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good machine for the money

Posted4 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Calhoun, GA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the 2012 550s4 and had cable break that shifts gear lever. Found out clutches were not working properly. Sold the s4 and bought a new 2014 regular cab 550. Dealer told me that any made after July 2014 had the new clutches and older units that were still under warranty had the clutches replaced. I've put 20 + hours on this new unit and everything works as it should. It runs and drives really good with no problems so far. Hope this clears up a lot of questions about the older 550's before they corrected the clutches.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely poor quality

Posted2 April 2015
Customer avatar
From:Alberta, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This machine is plagued with issues. Don't know why it has a 4 wheel drive option let alone a diff lock. If you require to use either they never seem to work. The machine is afraid of cold weather. shift cable ices up if its left outside below freezing. under powered for a 550. operates more similarly to my brother in laws golf cart but less reliable. I really thought John Deere was better than this. Will be replacing mine with a Mule, Ranger, Rhino, or Kubota. I don't normally do these kinds of reviews but I really don't want anyone else to go through the issues I have. Do your research and spend a little more money up front. don't just buy a product because of its name like I did expecting to have a half descent machine.
Prosaffordable to purchasenice looking golf cart
Consexpensive to keep runninghates to be off road
No, I do not recommend this product.
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!

Posted29 March 2015
Customer avatar
From:West Liberty, IA 52776, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We've now had our 550 gator for 2 years. Bought it new, but was a year old on the lot. Around the yard, it is the best garden cart I've ever had. Easy on and off and the dump box is easy to operate. Great for our cow/calf operation and checking crops. We have been a lot of places where we should not have returned from because of mud and deep water currents. Great in deep snow too. Amazing!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor product plagued with mechanical problems. Do not buy.

Posted1 March 2015
Customer avatar
From:Pennsylvania, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have utilized many John Deere products over the years and they have all been excellent machines. Introduce the XUV 550: I have owned the machine for almost two years and have logged 200 hours of very light duty work. At 20 hours the transmission failed to shift out of gear - Frozen cables. Shortly thereafter, a new clutch was installed, then new head gaskets, then the carb had to be cleaned. The shift cables were then updated with no improvement in shifting. In my opinion, this is the very definition of a lemon, that must be doing no end of damage to the John Deere name. I talked to my dealer about trading in this unit on the 625i but there is a large difference in the value.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak shift components

Posted26 February 2015
Customer avatar
From:La Crescent, MN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have now had my Gator 550 for two years. Fit and finish are superb. Suspension and handling are great. When I purchased this unit I realized it was a price point XUV designed to get people into and familiar with the Gator family of vehicles. What I wasn't prepared for was the poorly engineered engine and drive train . I have had too many days when the temp is cold and this model won't even shift. As I write this my gator is thawing out in the garage and my car sits outside just so I can load up firewood later. Dealer told me my $9K Gator is now only worth $5600.00 so much for holding it's value. Deere has always stood behind their products in the past. On this one I feel as though I'm being left out in the cold.
Proslooks greatfit and finish
Conspoor drivetrain
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

subpar product

Posted21 November 2014
Customer avatar
From:NJ
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a moderately priced SxS with a modest performance envelope in terms of speed, acceleration, load hauling. However, it does perform the basic utility functions quite well and uses a generic, easily repaired, air-cooled V twin (though it remains to be seen whether this is a good application for that motor). It drives well and is comfortable, is easily cleaned and has a decent sized dumping bed. The tow and load capacity is realistic for a light SxS. I believe the frame is shared with the more expensive 850 model. It's built to a price but it would be quite acceptable if it performed like other Deere products. The transmission, however, is lamentable. It ran for about 20 hours before the problems started. Clutch problems, hard shifting, wont leave reverse, etc. You might get a good one but I suspect there's a fundamental design flaw with the transmission.
Prosframesuspensionsimplicity
Constransmission
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not really designed for muddy roads!!??

Posted28 September 2014
Customer avatar
From:Columbia, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After 65 hrs on the unit I have had a new clutch, throttle cable, and a new bed installed. I was just informed that mud can get under some of the guards you can't see where the carb and exhaust are which could cause the engine to overheat. I think this 550 might be ok for grassy farm land, but muddy roads seem to be its weak point. There are currently no performance parts available.
Prosstarts like a champ
Consapparently not designed to get muddy
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Side x Side for the Price

Posted14 September 2014
Customer avatar
From:Great Mills, MD, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like my XUV, and my kids love the XUV. We've had it since December of '13 and it's got about 60 hours logged. Very early on we experienced a performance problem with the Gator. The performance problem was never discovered by the dealer. The XUV lost power, inexplicably, after minimal hours had been logged. It's like it lost some of it's get up and go and never regained it. The thing still moves along well and I've done 33 mph in it, but it backfires from time to time and seems to have lost some of it's low end torque. The dealer never found anything wrong. They have been friendly and accommodating though. I guess I just accepted it and kept putting the hours on.
Next the parking brake snapped. I was probably a little rough when applying the parking break. The cable snapped around 35 hours. The dealer did give me another to install on my own.
The last thing that happened was that the Gator got stuck in reverse. I was in the woods when shifting felt like it was getting really tight. Finally the shifter wouldn't come out of reverse. I lifted the bed and found that the linkage was operational, but the lever on top of the gearbox was stuck. I checked to make sure fluid was in the case, and it was, so my next step was to try to break it free. Luckily i was able to get out of reverse gear with a stick and some leverage, and into high gear. When I got back to the house, I sprayed some oil on the mechanism, which helped, but I think there's been some damage done? I've put only about an hour or so on the Gator since that incident and now low gear wants to pop out of gear from time to time.
I would recommend this model to anyone that is interested in really light duty. It doesn't seem to stand up to any aggressive terrain or use. I'm going to sell the Gator and I'm leaning towards another brand.
Prosgreat for light duty
Consexperienced multiple mechanical issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor design & cost alot to get worked on

Posted25 August 2014
Customer avatar
From:nc
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
poor design jd shop charges way to much hr to work on stuff (78.00) motor gaskets linking at everyone. parts reasonable but cost a lot to repair. like everyone else shifting problems.cable problems. thought jd was a good product but wondering now. machine less than 2 yr old.very disappointed in service.jd should stayed with older design. it was easier to work on and take parts off. would I get another jd product don't think so. getting rid as soon as it is fixed.. dealer want help out on total cost. something would help. jd should put better gaskets on stuff. should last longer on gaskets. told when bought best one to buy. going to have fixed but if I use it got to have it, it has not been abused. hope jd does better in future on gators.will never know cause I am not going to get another to see or any product they have. was looking at tractor or lawn mower but not now.. scared of jd and the high price to pay per hour to fix.. I have never made that kind of money.
Consbad design on everything
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Built to last... for a few hours

Posted28 July 2014
Customer avatar
From:Reading, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This vehicle works great when it's working but has way too many issues with the transmission and shifting linkage. My machine is just out of warrenty (over 2 years old) and has only 40 hours on the machine. I don't work it hard but it's been in and out of the dealer for repairs since I bought it. The problems are all related to transmission/linkage issues. I dont beleive it was ever fixed properly and now the dealer doesn't want anything to do with it. They flat out told me this model is prone to problems and they won't even sell them anymore. When I bought it brand new, I was told it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. Now I'm stuck with a 10,000 yard decoration.
Proslooks nice
Conscheap
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The XUV 550 was a great choice for us.

Posted25 July 2014
Customer avatar
From:New Philadelphia, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have a Polaris dealer and John Deere Dealer 10 minutes from our house we looked at models from both as well as checked out what our friends and family have and we made the decision to go with the deer. The top speed of 30mph is plenty fast enough. We did not want our kids driving something that was capable of going 80mph in the woods. Our land is mostly wooded and very hilly and it has no issues with pulling our family of four around wherever we want to go. The gear shift was one thing I was concerned about as I read other reviews however ares shifts very smoothly. Although most reviews said this was a problem in the winter. My brother has a cub cadet with EFI and out gator starts better and runs smoother than his. The gator is built strong. The only thing I wish we did was buy a brush guard with it.
Proseconomicalstylingperformanceseatingfuel economyglove boxstorage under hoodstoage that doubles as a coolerfits on trails nicely
Conswish the dump bed was a little bigger
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My Gater will not shift

Posted5 July 2014
Customer avatar
From:Linden, MI 48451, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
With only 46 hours on my 550 Gater, it will not shift properly and now it shuts off after a few minutes of use. It is again at the dealer getting repaired for these problems. The shifting problem was repaired by the dealer several months ago but the repair only lasted a few days before it failed to shift again. I'm now beyond the one year warrenty so I'm sure I will have a huge repair bill. I have learned to live with the shifting problem, I have to shut the engine off whenever I want to shift. Now my gator shuts off and will not start after five minutes of use. I can't sell my gator to anyone because of the shifting problem (I refuse to stick another person with this problem) and the dealer will not give me a good trade in price. My 550 gator has been a major headache. John Deere should issue a recall for these problems and do what is right for its customers.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

right size and price

Posted27 June 2014
Customer avatar
From:north carolina
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
had about year and half. problems is the brake cable has broken 3 times..needs a hand brake..hard to shift carburetorhard to get to to work on it.. poor design
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>