Customer reviews for JohnDeere XUV 550

JohnDeere XUV 550

"The Gator XUV550 from John Deere is now available."
Overall rating:
3.949 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
Recommended by29 out of 3974%
Customer reviews for XUV 550
Review 1 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not really designed for muddy roads!!??

Posted28 September 2014
Customer avatar
SCOTTY714
From:Columbia, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After 65 hrs on the unit I have had a new clutch, throttle cable, and a new bed installed. I was just informed that mud can get under some of the guards you can't see where the carb and exhaust are which could cause the engine to overheat. I think this 550 might be ok for grassy farm land, but muddy roads seem to be its weak point. There are currently no performance parts available.
Prosstarts like a champ
Consapparently not designed to get muddy
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Side x Side for the Price

Posted14 September 2014
Customer avatar
GM34
From:Great Mills, MD, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like my XUV, and my kids love the XUV. We've had it since December of '13 and it's got about 60 hours logged. Very early on we experienced a performance problem with the Gator. The performance problem was never discovered by the dealer. The XUV lost power, inexplicably, after minimal hours had been logged. It's like it lost some of it's get up and go and never regained it. The thing still moves along well and I've done 33 mph in it, but it backfires from time to time and seems to have lost some of it's low end torque. The dealer never found anything wrong. They have been friendly and accommodating though. I guess I just accepted it and kept putting the hours on.
Next the parking brake snapped. I was probably a little rough when applying the parking break. The cable snapped around 35 hours. The dealer did give me another to install on my own.
The last thing that happened was that the Gator got stuck in reverse. I was in the woods when shifting felt like it was getting really tight. Finally the shifter wouldn't come out of reverse. I lifted the bed and found that the linkage was operational, but the lever on top of the gearbox was stuck. I checked to make sure fluid was in the case, and it was, so my next step was to try to break it free. Luckily i was able to get out of reverse gear with a stick and some leverage, and into high gear. When I got back to the house, I sprayed some oil on the mechanism, which helped, but I think there's been some damage done? I've put only about an hour or so on the Gator since that incident and now low gear wants to pop out of gear from time to time.
I would recommend this model to anyone that is interested in really light duty. It doesn't seem to stand up to any aggressive terrain or use. I'm going to sell the Gator and I'm leaning towards another brand.
Prosgreat for light duty
Consexperienced multiple mechanical issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor design & cost alot to get worked on

Posted25 August 2014
Customer avatar
justme61
From:nc
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
poor design jd shop charges way to much hr to work on stuff (78.00) motor gaskets linking at everyone. parts reasonable but cost a lot to repair. like everyone else shifting problems.cable problems. thought jd was a good product but wondering now. machine less than 2 yr old.very disappointed in service.jd should stayed with older design. it was easier to work on and take parts off. would I get another jd product don't think so. getting rid as soon as it is fixed.. dealer want help out on total cost. something would help. jd should put better gaskets on stuff. should last longer on gaskets. told when bought best one to buy. going to have fixed but if I use it got to have it, it has not been abused. hope jd does better in future on gators.will never know cause I am not going to get another to see or any product they have. was looking at tractor or lawn mower but not now.. scared of jd and the high price to pay per hour to fix.. I have never made that kind of money.
Consbad design on everything
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Built to last... for a few hours

Posted28 July 2014
Customer avatar
ryan
From:Reading, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This vehicle works great when it's working but has way too many issues with the transmission and shifting linkage. My machine is just out of warrenty (over 2 years old) and has only 40 hours on the machine. I don't work it hard but it's been in and out of the dealer for repairs since I bought it. The problems are all related to transmission/linkage issues. I dont beleive it was ever fixed properly and now the dealer doesn't want anything to do with it. They flat out told me this model is prone to problems and they won't even sell them anymore. When I bought it brand new, I was told it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. Now I'm stuck with a 10,000 yard decoration.
Proslooks nice
Conscheap
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The XUV 550 was a great choice for us.

Posted25 July 2014
Customer avatar
JimmyFunk
From:New Philadelphia, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have a Polaris dealer and John Deere Dealer 10 minutes from our house we looked at models from both as well as checked out what our friends and family have and we made the decision to go with the deer. The top speed of 30mph is plenty fast enough. We did not want our kids driving something that was capable of going 80mph in the woods. Our land is mostly wooded and very hilly and it has no issues with pulling our family of four around wherever we want to go. The gear shift was one thing I was concerned about as I read other reviews however ares shifts very smoothly. Although most reviews said this was a problem in the winter. My brother has a cub cadet with EFI and out gator starts better and runs smoother than his. The gator is built strong. The only thing I wish we did was buy a brush guard with it.
Proseconomicalstylingperformanceseatingfuel economyglove boxstorage under hoodstoage that doubles as a coolerfits on trails nicely
Conswish the dump bed was a little bigger
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My Gater will not shift

Posted5 July 2014
Customer avatar
Steve91
From:Linden, MI 48451, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
With only 46 hours on my 550 Gater, it will not shift properly and now it shuts off after a few minutes of use. It is again at the dealer getting repaired for these problems. The shifting problem was repaired by the dealer several months ago but the repair only lasted a few days before it failed to shift again. I'm now beyond the one year warrenty so I'm sure I will have a huge repair bill. I have learned to live with the shifting problem, I have to shut the engine off whenever I want to shift. Now my gator shuts off and will not start after five minutes of use. I can't sell my gator to anyone because of the shifting problem (I refuse to stick another person with this problem) and the dealer will not give me a good trade in price. My 550 gator has been a major headache. John Deere should issue a recall for these problems and do what is right for its customers.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

right size and price

Posted27 June 2014
Customer avatar
justme61
From:north carolina
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
had about year and half. problems is the brake cable has broken 3 times..needs a hand brake..hard to shift carburetorhard to get to to work on it.. poor design
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great utv

Posted21 May 2014
Customer avatar
grower65
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this gator 550 for 2 years now. it starts fast and runs great. I have 10 acres of pistachios and pull a 60 gal spray rig around. it gets the job done and my kids love it
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice WARM weather vehicle

Posted19 May 2014
Customer avatar
Toby13
From:North Carolina
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enjoy our Gator,,, few issues,,, clutch would stick when engine got warm,, was taken care of under extended warranty I purchased. Only issue since is that if temps outside get much below freezing, transmission cable will freeze up and you cannot shift from whatever gear you parked it in. Have to let engine run 10-20 minutes in 20 degree weather if Gator has been sitting for a few hours (like during a morning or afternoon hunt). Once warmed up, linkage will thaw enough you can shift and go. Spoke to JD service department about problem, and they advised nothing you could do but let it idle until it thawed. No problems at all during warm weather. Nice ride.
Prosvalueride
Consclutch issueslinkage cable from shifter to transmission freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed engine

Posted18 February 2014
Customer avatar
Sling
From:Markesan, WI 53946, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have a 550 xuv with Briggs Stratton engine failed at 60 hr .
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall rugged and sporty, but a few glitches.

Posted21 January 2014
Customer avatar
Mukluk
From:Gilford, NH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the new XUV550 in March 2013. Our primary uses are hauling manure, firewood and exploring the logging roads of central NH. The dump body works great and the machine seems strong and capable in all terrain. I have had it buried in mud and snow, but that is due to operators poor choices. It has been back to the dealer three times for shifting issues, with limited success. The shifting cables are frozen as I write this, due to cold weather and apparently ice inside them.
Prosmulti-use machineruggedsporty
Consshifting design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sold it to many problems

Posted18 January 2014
Customer avatar
glitch
From:River Falls, WI 54022, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
625 or 825 I took my back with 48 hours on it ! This unit is built to cheap. The 825 is great but also 16k. Dealer worked with me after 3trip to dealer for shifting cables and carb problems! I have a new 825 power steering. I would go 625 or 825 or a different color paint!
Proslawn ornament
Consmany problems
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shifts hard and idles bad when cold. 11k Invested.

Posted22 December 2013
Customer avatar
Gitch
From:River Falls, WI 54022, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I like the machine overall. Goes anywhere in deep hills. Cons of this machine are the shifting cable to the transmission. Shifts very hard and idles bad when cold. I use mine for hunting and plowing in Wisconsin. Cant set the idle up because it wont let the machine shift properly. The belt wants to engage at higher idle. In 4 wheel low lock its is unstopable.
Pros10.3 inch clearance
Consshifting rough idle in winter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy this unit

Posted25 November 2013
Customer avatar
the48indian
From:in
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
we have our unit in the shop 5 times due to the tranmission not shifting , look at all the other people out on the web , that have the same problem . Demand that your dealer refund your money , and buy something elese
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rides very smooth

Posted22 November 2013
Customer avatar
Scoot65
From:Decatur, MS, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The ONLY reason I don't recommend this model is, it has a shifting problem. The cable shifting is sub par, My 550 hangs up in reverse and will not come out of reverse unless the engine is turned off. I broke the lever off trying to get it out of reverse, took it back to dealer and they repaired it under warranty and idled the engine down but it still hangs up. The mechanic told me mine was not the first with this problem. I did a survey after my repair and have no problems with my dealer, but did state this was a poor design.
Prosexcellent ridevery comfortable
Conspoor shifting
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love My 550

Posted17 November 2013
Customer avatar
Sanduskybob
From:Sandusky, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have owned my 550 for a year now and have about 40 hrs on it, bought a blade and winch with it, installed it myself took about 6 hrs, had to pull all the plastic and seat off but not has bad as it sounds everything was pre drilled and lined up wiring harness for winch was easy to install. Added windshield first winter helped just put a poly top on and a soft cab on for this year, and putting in a 12 volt heater I clean out a lot of driveways around my neighborhood and it got a little cold last year, everything I buy for my 550 is easy to put on and fits nice. The only problems I have had is the brakes squeak and the head gasket blew out but the dealership I bought it from was great (Holkenberg) the gave me one to use while mine was getting fixed. The speed could be a little faster but isn't to bad, dump box is balanced perfectly I have had it loaded with stone and had no problem dumping it.
Prossqueaky brakes
Consspeed
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

Posted6 November 2013
Customer avatar
halton
From:Ontario, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The 550 is a good deal for the money. It has many features more expensive utvs have.
Purchased for my wife's use on our farm and found that I ended up using it for a lot of things that were inconvenient to do with my atv.
Doesn't have liquid cooled style power but has lots of torque, is simple to service and less complicated.
Very useable and safe machine.
Prosgreat suspensionstarts great in coldsimple operation and maintenance
Conssecondary clutch bolt backed out in first 8 hours
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2013 gator 550

Posted25 September 2013
Customer avatar
Mechfred
From:San Jose, CA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The 550 was bought in Feb of 2013.It has the Ancla xt tires 2 ply by the way ,the polly roof,spedomter kit,overheat kit,olive and black,all 4 cv gaurds,rear screen with tail and stop light,It has 60 hours on it now.I used it for deer hunting and scouting areas on 4WD rough dirt roads and trails off thes roads.It is very well built and the frame and a arms are strong.The brakes are very good as well as the emergency brake.The 16 hp engine develops it's hp at a low rpm thats very good for hunting.The shifting is tough unless you are at a idle,there is a upgrade primary clutch i have to have them replace under warranty soon.It rides well but the gear noise and engine noise is louder than i like.I have the black bucket 21 inch seats and a fold down windshield that i like.I am a certified mechanic since 1958.For low speed trails and hunting it is good,for high speed trails get a faster UTV.Fred.Lastly steering is good.
Prosgood all around utvbuilt strong
Consnoisyhard shifting2 ply stock tiresno dash lightsno interior lights
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

owned the 550 for 10 months....ugh

Posted20 September 2013
Customer avatar
deerhunter
From:memphis tn
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Yearly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
upon lots of research I decided to purchase the Gator instead of the Polaris 570.... the Gator performed well in the parking lot, was priced less, and seemed to be a better value.....BIG MISTAKE
I used my gator for one reason only.. deer hunting.... to enter and leave the woods, retrieve game, and place stands...
after the fourth trip back to the dealer n 10 months (who did have fantastic service, state line turf and tractor was great) this machine has a SUPER poor shifting mechanism and after it broke leaving me stranded 2 miles from my truck inside the river levy I took it back and got rid of it. This machine is fine for yard work and light use, but for hunting and off road use this machine simply has too many bugs to work out....its loud, the exhaust is just behind the driver seat and you suck fumes while driving, the ride is avg. the turning radius isn't great, it has a slow speed that is governed, and I only had 27 hours on my machine and got sick of the repairs..... the dealer was fantastic about my situation, but this machine is not built well... buy a Polaris and save the frustration...
Prospricesizepower
Conspoor exhaust placementhorrible shifting mechanism that breakssqueeky shocks
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XUV 550
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

would buy again!

Posted10 September 2013
Customer avatar
Jeff10
From:upstate New York
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my 550 gator August 23rd. I have 9ish hours on it but for the first 3 days of ownership I took it on a very ruff off road trip. I was a little nervous at first, but after the first rocky up hill section I was at ease. I went on a back country fishing trip in the Adirondacks. Very ruff road and the only thing that stopped me was a bridge that was to narrow. The gator was wider than I thought. It felt a little tipsy at first when I was going over angled trail areas but after I got use to it I never felt like it was going over. It went up and down everything with ease. I don't have a problem with the speed. Anything faster than 30 seems crazy in these things. When I went over a couple of steeper areas I smacked the bottom pretty hard and the guy I was with had a Honda 4 wheeler an he never bottomed out. I assume that's because of the length of the 550. Although I looked under the gator after the trip and not even a scratch. My family loves driving around the house and on trails in the back. I will put a plow on it this winter and I hope it holds up to the wet lake effect snow we get. We love it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>