Customer reviews for JohnDeere 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)

JohnDeere 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)

2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series) Riding Mower Attachments from John Deere. Learn more about the features and more for the 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series) Riding Mower Attachments.
Overall rating:
2.913 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
Recommended by11 out of 2348%
Customer reviews for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Review 1 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ever

Posted28 October 2012
Customer avatar
Bill222
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work great and fits the 48" deck on my LA145 perfect. This is 100 time better then the lawn sweeper.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Leaf Removal

Posted28 November 2013
Customer avatar
dklech
From:Marlton, Evesham Township, NJ, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bagger works great with "high lift" blades. Both bags fill evenly. Would like to see a sight glass along the lift tube, rather than just the top of the cover. You have to learn not to take a full path width if you have several inches of leaves. The cover latch should have a "T" handle, although it is still pretty easy to release the hold down strap. The bagger has certainly made my life easier here in the northeast with all of our trees!
Prosbag dumpingseperate tubes for cleanout and blockages
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Issues with this Bagger...

Posted15 July 2013
Customer avatar
mlopes010
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this bagger with my Z225 for about 2 years now. I am astonished by the negative reviews. I wonder if it is more a function of the mower or installation than the bagger. Regardless, I have had no issues, and I have a thick lawn that Scott's would envy. Whether I cut it short 2-3" or longer 3-4", with morning dew or not, I have not experienced clogs. If you DO let the bags over fill, the chute will back up. I consider that operator error. Enjoy the bagger and the neat lawn it allows for!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great for me

Posted9 May 2013
Customer avatar
Jeff999
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wonder what everybody else is complaining about. Do they wait until everything is a foot deep? I've used it thru a season and a half and it works perfectly for me.
Proseasy to useeasy to empty
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

it does not work

Posted1 May 2013
Customer avatar
Ruben
From:Ocala, FL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i get stuck in less than 5 minutes, it doesn't work..
Prosnothing
Conseverything
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the price

Posted7 August 2013
Customer avatar
Fuel683
From:Seattle, WA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this at for my D170. The rivets on the chute broke on the second use. The chute kept clogging, so taking it apart was a frequent event on a 2.5 acre lawn. I bought the 42 inch lawn sweeper, and that works like a champ! Buy the lawn sweeper instead.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

Posted29 September 2013
Customer avatar
RRH1
From:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed in the $400 bagger system. Always clogs even with dry grass.
Note to John Deere - if someone buys a bagger doesn't it make sense to supply the lifting blades?
Prosnone
Consdoesn't work
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!!!

Posted30 June 2013
Customer avatar
marlin304
From:illinois
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a little nervous to pay the price for this bagger given some poor reviews however it has worked great for me. I did put the lifting/bagging blades on when i bought the bagger. People who had problems with clogging must not have put the bagging blades on. I mowed thru relatively high grass with no issues and never clogged. Obviously you can't mow wet grass and expect good results with any bagger. The bags also detach very easily for emptying. Also very few grass clippings get by the bagger.
Prosworks great
Conscost is high but worth it
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

Posted9 June 2012
Customer avatar
Morty
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this bager system, easy on/off or other uses of the tractor you must install the high lift/bager blades
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Efficent

Posted31 July 2012
Customer avatar
Jerry
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with the bagger because it leaves the yard so neat. It was easy to assemble and install. It is also easy to remove and reattach. I would highly recommend this bagger for anyone has limited abilities.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is a waste of money

Posted18 April 2012
Customer avatar
misled
From:Plant City, FL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was a hugh waste of money. I agree with the other reviewer. Hard at attach, clogs constantly. Now it just takes up space in my garage. I would rather rake than hassle with this. Surprised since John Deere has such a great reputation.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design equals poor performance

Posted1 June 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From:Rochester NY USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Repeatedly clogs even when cutting dry green grass. Works great on dry browned out grass although the dust factor can be somewhat disconcerting. Would not recommend as this accessory is not well designed. Not what one would expect from John Deere.
Proslooks great
Consclogs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

just like the others

Posted9 May 2012
Customer avatar
steve
From:Warren, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the bagger clogs regardless of how high grass is cut,i havent tried the leaves yet because it is May,it is not worth a .very hard to attach and detach to unclog.do not buy one.
Prosdont have to empty bags if they dont fill
Consi still have to rake
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works fine for me.

Posted21 May 2012
Customer avatar
Ross
From:CT
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had the bagger for 3 years. Yes I have had clogs but only when cutting damp or wet grass. I keep the inside of the tube clean and free of grass dust buildup to create less friction. I would purchase another.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not purchase

Posted27 April 2013
Customer avatar
john328
From:Mooresville, NC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor, one pass and I am off disassembling and cleaning out the clogs. I don't believe the positive review are real.
This is not John Deere quality.
Guys recall this and fix it.
Proseasy to empty
Consclogs every passdifficult to attach to the deck
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product, what is everyone thinking!

Posted11 September 2012
Customer avatar
MikesMowing1
From:Comox, BC, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hello, I bought the 48" bagger for my D160 a few weeks ago,.. I honestly don't know what all the whining is about. I got the bagging blades with the bagger, these are absolutely necessary to get the propulsion you need. MAKE SURE that you purchase the bagging blades with the bagger when you buy. Overall, this is an absolutely phenominal product. I would recommend this to anyone with a JD 100 series mower
Prosbuild qualityeasy to usefits to deck well.is very lightwindow on top is nice
Consbagging blades are not included.little better seal on deck port
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My second John Deere. It cuts great and easy to operate

Posted11 April 2013
Customer avatar
Bobb4711
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is my 2 John Deere. Any dampness and it clogs. On dry grass and leaves, a lot leaks out around deck and at chute attach point to deck. Bags difficult to empty. Bags bulge out in the middle and at times I have to pull the grass out about 1/3 before it will empty when turned upside down. wet or dry no difference. Hard plastic hoppers would be better.
Proscuts clean and even
Consbagger
No, I do not recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Light duty only

Posted7 November 2012
Customer avatar
sunsetdon
From:Chesterfield, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This bagger has a very tough time in grass that is tall (3") or wet. I have to stop after almost every pass to empty the chutes that lead to the bags. Paying $400 for a bagger is just too expensive not to have one that is first class.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does a poor job

Posted6 October 2012
Customer avatar
Richard
From:Carmel, ME
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This bagger does a very poor job. It plugs up too easily, picking up nothing after that. And, it doesn't fit properly at the mower deck and at the cover (over the two bags). If I go in reverse on a dry day I get covered with dirt/dust.
Consdoesn't work
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Bag, 6.5-Bushel Rear Bagger (100 Series)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Design

Posted29 August 2012
Customer avatar
LHWE
From:Williamsburg, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
With hindsight, I would not waste my money on this bagger...if you cut more than an inch it can not propel the clippings up and around these large volume chutes. Not even close to a John Deere standard of yesteryears.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>