Customer reviews for JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

The D105 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
3.862 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
Recommended by19 out of 2576%
Customer reviews for D105 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this piece of junk!

Posted30 April 2015
Customer avatar
S111
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this mower for 1 year now, at 21 hours the engine blew took a act of congress to get them to honor the warranty. At 50 hours the entire linkage for the transmission broke. Worst cutting mower you could own, unless your yard is perfectly level it will cut uneven now matter how you try to adjust the deck. Save a headache and buy something else. It's priced cheap for a reason.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love my new mower!!

Posted26 July 2013
Customer avatar
Jackson123
From:Kingsport, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my John Deere D105 not to long ago and it dose a wonderful job. easy to use and powerful. It cuts wonderful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs front protection for mower. hood very fragile. to many safety features. very difficult to back up when mowing and blade is engaged.

Posted7 May 2015
Customer avatar
eester1662
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
choose a differnt model. would rfeccomendhigher end items instead of lower price items
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Piece of equipment!

Posted9 May 2015
Customer avatar
Joedf
From:Turley, OK, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With just over 5 hours on the machine, I have had zero issues with it. I read a lot of reviews before purchasing this mower. I see a lot of people bashing this thing. But one thing that no body seems to consider is that out of the thousands of these machines sold there is bound to be a bad apple in the bunch every now and then. My only complaints on the machine is that the hood hinges are very weak, after a small bump against a fence the hinges snapped. My second complaint is that it should come from the factory with adjustable drag links to adjust the front wheel steering angle.
Prosfuel efficiencyoverall performanceease of usepriceease of maintenance
Consweak hood hingesnon adjustable drag links
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D105 almost a year old

Posted29 April 2015
Customer avatar
Matt783
From:Pa.
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had zero problems. Just did my first oil change...it was a breeze. Mower started right up after charging the battery after a long winter. Still cuts perfect and doesn't bog at all when it encounters thick grass.
I grew up with craftsmen riders and this is my first Deere product. My yard is not flat and it only scalps in one small spot everything else it just rolls over perfectly. It has some small rattles but in my bumpy yard, that is expected.
Very pleased with my purchase.
PS. bought it from Lowe's because I had a 10% coupon and it came with free shipping (it came right from my local store) and a free JD dump cart which I use like crazy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good while it worked

Posted6 May 2015
Customer avatar
TomAustin
From:Austin, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a D100 in 2012. It worked great for 2 years. This year, as soon as the warranty ran out, it threw a rod that made a hole through the side of the engine. It was out of warranty. I took it to the dealer and they said the engine needed to be replaced and it would cost more that $1000 to replace the engine. I waited 2 weeks and they said the engine was back ordered and couldn't give me a date when they could get an engine. This is not a great recommendation.
Prosgood while it worked
Consengine blew after 2 years and difficult to fix
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John deer D140

Posted18 May 2014
Customer avatar
Bobbysturm
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
I bought this john deer mower after having a snapper it has more power and cuts grass great but there is a little knocking sound in the motor hopefully Home Depot will stand by there word to swap it for one that sounds ok before it blows up. They sad take it to a repair place let them fix it. But it's new why take it in after only 6 hours of cutting time
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted24 July 2013
Customer avatar
Mark66
From:Pequot Lakes,MN
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The D-105 is a fine machine that cuts like a dream and is one of the easiest mowers to operate.Plenty of power to mow my acre of lawn.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good mower love it!!!!!!

Posted29 June 2014
Customer avatar
jdmann
From:cutting, grass
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I mow for about 12 people. when I got the mower everyone said it cut better the any mower thay had seen used on there yards and were very happy. I was happy to becouse it is very good on gas with the prices up it is fast. I have a d105 and hope to get a bigger one next summmer if the small one is this good a bigger one should be great.
Prosgas savercuts very smoothfast
Conswill scap if you have a big hump
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fist time owning a John Deer

Posted24 May 2014
Customer avatar
aptrail2005
From:Kalispell Montana
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've cut a lot of grass over the years, I used to have a wheel horse tractor from 1967 (when they built them to last). I wasn't sure about buying this model only because I felt the hood wouldn't hold up and I was worried about how long it would last. Well I just finished cutting the grass and I have say I'm very happy with the way this tractor performed. John Deer will have my business for a long time.
Proseasy useseat feels goodsolid framelarger gas tank then mostgood tires
Consside discharge (would like to see rear discharge)deck will scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Failure with only 4 Hours on the Machine

Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
HighlyDisappointed
From:Oregon, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This mower appeared to be the highest quality entry level mower on the market when I bought it. However, after only 4 hours of mowing, the CVT transmission has failed and the mower will not move in forward or reverse. It appears an internal belt or pulley has failed, as the drive belt moves freely.
I highly recommend staying away from this mower unless you enjoy having transmission troubles. A failure at 4 hours doesn't give me high confidence on reliabilty.
+23points
47of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good mower but not a lot of power

Posted28 June 2014
Customer avatar
Jarhead
From:Stafford, Va
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this mower for several months now and have about an acre of grass to cut. Though it cuts well, it doesn't have a lot of power. JD has however upgraded this entry level model over what it used to be. The automatic transmission is a real plus. The addition of spindles that have grease fittings is also an improvement--with the fittings accessible without having to take the spindle covers off. Not bad for the money--but realize it is not of the D160 caliber, or the higher level JD's.
Prosprice and jd quality
Conswater nozzle on the cutting deck--doesn't do job
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

Posted5 July 2013
Customer avatar
Austin07
From:Lancaster, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased JD D105 on 4/2/2013. Now (July 4) the belt is loose and the rubber of the food pedal is broken. It has only 4 hours of use. Poor Quality!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+18points
32of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

D105 lawn tractor

Posted23 March 2015
Customer avatar
Daniel
From:Burnsville, NC
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Worst lawn tractor I've owned. It lasted 10.6 hours before the engine failed. It was only used for half of a mowing season before it failed. The authorized service dealer is over 1.5 hrs away. I have no way to haul it there. What an inconvenience. Looks like I got a lemon and am having to pay for it.
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

Posted13 August 2013
Customer avatar
Hijack
From:Eaton, OH 45320, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my mower yesterday and picked it up today and brought it home. I mowed my yard and it did a wonderful job. The only problem I had was trying to get the correct height . I love my D105. My yard looks very nice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
30of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

High grass, poor performance

Posted10 August 2013
Customer avatar
MyFirstDeere
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Monthly
I got my D105 today and immediately stalled it in the high grass. I only had a few minutes to experiment with the use of the "gas pedal" before an approaching storm, but was unable to find a method to avoid terrible shuddering in high grass. It even shuddered when driving over the cuttings of previously cut grass (no high grass, just a pile of cut grass). At this point I'm wondering if the tranny does not properly downshift under these conditions. I would be very interested in hearing what the Deere engineers have to say. I also noticed the full throttle position does not sound like the typical full throttle of my old Encore which never shuddered in the same grass and only had 12 HP, but a manual transmission. Could it simply be I should have bought a more powerful unit? Even if I should have bought a bigger model, I guess I'm puzzled as to why the tranny would simply not shift down lower under near stall conditions to avoid the shudder. Granted, I'm not a mower engineer, but would like to better understand what my error might be.
+23points
41of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good machine

Posted14 July 2014
Customer avatar
RRJi
From:Arkansas
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Altho the engine seems small it has plenty of power and mows very will without any signs of bogging down. I would recommend this mower to a friend.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE MY DEERE !!!

Posted6 June 2013
Customer avatar
JEFFREY
From:BURLESON TEXAS
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I HAVE MOWED WITH IT THREE TIMES NOW & ENJOY IT VERY MUCH !!!!! I RECAMEND THIS TO ANYONE LOOKIN FOR A RIDING MOWER !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Mower

Posted9 July 2014
Customer avatar
volvoskydiver
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For a lower priced John Deere, I think this unit is really good, for the price mind you......some people think because its a Deere and all it should run without a flaw and must say , working in a manufacturing plant, things happen and mass production is not flawless, but we try to make it that way. never had any trouble with any Deere product that the company does not stand behind it and make it right. this mower is no exception, it runs good and power to size is perfect . ride is good and mows great. would recommend to anyone with an average size yard.
Prosbriggs engineease of usehour metergas gauge
Conslike hydrostatic drive better
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and built to the top standards

Posted29 May 2013
Customer avatar
Pilot1
From:Omaha, Ne
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mowed 3 times and I am very impressed. Mowers large feel translates into unmatched cutting performance. The lawn this year has been a jungle, and the tractor is not affected. Cutting is consistent, and even. Speed is way faster than my old 38" MTD (Montgomery Ward) tractor was! Nothing can stop this machine. Impressed with top quality John Deere features. All controls and safety items are well thought out. Service and implements available for this tractor are available at the John Deere dealer network, which has numerous locations, with friendly and knowledgeable sales people. The prices on the implements are very reasonable - quality is excellent!
Proscomfort and handlingsharp turning radiusvery stable on inclines
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>