Customer reviews for JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

The D105 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
3.488 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
Recommended by24 out of 3765%
Customer reviews for D105 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too expensive for what you get.

Posted19 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Vine Grove, KY
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1. Seat uncomfortable
2. Cuts unevenly even though there are leveling wheels on the deck
3. Deck cleaning feature does not work well when cutting damp grass
4. Bagger is exceptionally poor at picking up grass, despite using recommended lift blades.
Review based upon mowing 6/10th of an acre, relatively flat terrain.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

Posted3 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Hanover, PA , usa
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The John Deere d105 is a garbage I have had to replace the teamsm after one year of us I have bought two starters both went bad it blows fuses it is made of plastic and when I say it's made of plastic I mean everything is plastic from the transmission to the engine my tractor is one year old and I have had all these problems don't buy save your money
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
12of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love my new mower!!

Posted26 July 2013
Customer avatar
From:Kingsport, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my John Deere D105 not to long ago and it dose a wonderful job. easy to use and powerful. It cuts wonderful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad product

Posted30 November 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This a bad product, had a broke throttle cable/handle,they sent the wrong cable,the reverse is hard to get going, front end slides all over, uneven cutting, my old Cub Cadet was a much better mower, the ride was much better and the controls was light years above the John Deere D105
Cons10
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad mower

Posted19 November 2015
Customer avatar
From:Spartanburg, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Yearly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
the worst mower i have ever bought, I only have 8 hours on this mower and i just got it back from the shop where it cost me $100.00 for a belt that was slipping, when i unloaded it it would not even pull up my drive way, you should tell people that this is a cheep mower and only use it on flat ground.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs front protection for mower. hood very fragile. to many safety features. very difficult to back up when mowing and blade is engaged.

Posted7 May 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
choose a differnt model. would rfeccomendhigher end items instead of lower price items
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far I love it

Posted1 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Conway, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just got I today.
After returning the battery to
Lowe's it started!
Mowed the back yard and it
Is very comfortable and
easy to use.
Proscomfortableresponsive
Consnone so far
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John deer D140

Posted18 May 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
I bought this john deer mower after having a snapper it has more power and cuts grass great but there is a little knocking sound in the motor hopefully Home Depot will stand by there word to swap it for one that sounds ok before it blows up. They sad take it to a repair place let them fix it. But it's new why take it in after only 6 hours of cutting time
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

Posted9 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Loganville, GA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the gas pedal setup. Easy to control speed in tight spaces.
Prosgas pedal controltight turning radiusstep through entry
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this piece of junk!

Posted30 April 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this mower for 1 year now, at 21 hours the engine blew took a act of congress to get them to honor the warranty. At 50 hours the entire linkage for the transmission broke. Worst cutting mower you could own, unless your yard is perfectly level it will cut uneven now matter how you try to adjust the deck. Save a headache and buy something else. It's priced cheap for a reason.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted24 July 2013
Customer avatar
From:Pequot Lakes,MN
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The D-105 is a fine machine that cuts like a dream and is one of the easiest mowers to operate.Plenty of power to mow my acre of lawn.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Problems

Posted9 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Arkansas, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had it for 3 years
only 32 hours
transmission going out
spent $500 dollars
Had take it back to the dealer
again after two weeks getting it fixed
I feel ripped off
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wanted a John Deere and went with this lowest end model and its been great.

Posted26 September 2015
Customer avatar
From:Goshen, NY 10924, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At lowes, this was the lowest end John Deere. Everyone said to go with the name and since i have a little under an acre to mow thought this would be good. I have been happy with it, have 30 hours on it this summer alone using it often twice a week. Changed the oil twice my self very easily. Its been running fine, with I had a zero turn radius but this does the job fine. No complaints at all. For the price its a great value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fist time owning a John Deer

Posted24 May 2014
Customer avatar
From:Kalispell Montana
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've cut a lot of grass over the years, I used to have a wheel horse tractor from 1967 (when they built them to last). I wasn't sure about buying this model only because I felt the hood wouldn't hold up and I was worried about how long it would last. Well I just finished cutting the grass and I have say I'm very happy with the way this tractor performed. John Deer will have my business for a long time.
Proseasy useseat feels goodsolid framelarger gas tank then mostgood tires
Consside discharge (would like to see rear discharge)deck will scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

transmission problems on the first use!

Posted15 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Colorado, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Total transmission failure after 3.4 hours of use...total junk! Not the quality you would expect.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Failure with only 4 Hours on the Machine

Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
From:Oregon, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This mower appeared to be the highest quality entry level mower on the market when I bought it. However, after only 4 hours of mowing, the CVT transmission has failed and the mower will not move in forward or reverse. It appears an internal belt or pulley has failed, as the drive belt moves freely.
I highly recommend staying away from this mower unless you enjoy having transmission troubles. A failure at 4 hours doesn't give me high confidence on reliabilty.
+25points
49of 73voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good mower love it!!!!!!

Posted29 June 2014
Customer avatar
From:cutting, grass
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I mow for about 12 people. when I got the mower everyone said it cut better the any mower thay had seen used on there yards and were very happy. I was happy to becouse it is very good on gas with the prices up it is fast. I have a d105 and hope to get a bigger one next summmer if the small one is this good a bigger one should be great.
Prosgas savercuts very smoothfast
Conswill scap if you have a big hump
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

Posted25 May 2015
Customer avatar
From:Plain City, OH 43064, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gets really good fuel efficiency. Turns pretty sharp . Steering wheel turns easily kind of like power steering. The seat adjusts/ slides back and forth for different leg lengths. It has a safety feature that, when in gear, if you get off the seat the engine shuts off.
Proslots
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

Posted5 July 2013
Customer avatar
From:Lancaster, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased JD D105 on 4/2/2013. Now (July 4) the belt is loose and the rubber of the food pedal is broken. It has only 4 hours of use. Poor Quality!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
33of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

Posted13 August 2013
Customer avatar
From:Eaton, OH 45320, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my mower yesterday and picked it up today and brought it home. I mowed my yard and it did a wonderful job. The only problem I had was trying to get the correct height . I love my D105. My yard looks very nice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
30of 42voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>