Customer reviews for JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

The D105 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
3.372 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
Recommended by28 out of 4464%
Customer reviews for D105 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too expensive for what you get.

Posted19 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Vine Grove, KY
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1. Seat uncomfortable
2. Cuts unevenly even though there are leveling wheels on the deck
3. Deck cleaning feature does not work well when cutting damp grass
4. Bagger is exceptionally poor at picking up grass, despite using recommended lift blades.
Review based upon mowing 6/10th of an acre, relatively flat terrain.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
9of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

D 105 Lawn Mower

Posted24 April 2016
Customer avatar
From:Fort Bragg, NC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this lawn mower last year for father's day it was a great gift. I have an uneven lawn kind of hilly also, no problem with the cutting or the drive system. If you have a lawn that is about 15,000 sq. ft. you should have no problem with this lawn mower if used correctly. i would recommend this lawn mower to any home owner for personal use. Good product.
Proseasy storagereverse cutting
Conssteering wheel height
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs front protection for mower. hood very fragile. to many safety features. very difficult to back up when mowing and blade is engaged.

Posted7 May 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
choose a differnt model. would rfeccomendhigher end items instead of lower price items
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love my new mower!!

Posted26 July 2013
Customer avatar
From:Kingsport, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my John Deere D105 not to long ago and it dose a wonderful job. easy to use and powerful. It cuts wonderful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

Posted16 March 2016
Customer avatar
From:Knoxville, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is a great value. Good quality product. Works as advertised on flat grades. I have gentle sloping to level. Plenty of power to cut the dense grass at the bottom of my property. Has the maneuverability to work around my shed, trees and raised bed garden. This is a good entry level rider for someone with less than an acre who still likes to mow their own yard. People who are expecting to use this for professional service will be greatly disappointed.
Prosease of maintenance for diyer.
Constrailer connection on mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

Posted3 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Hanover, PA , usa
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The John Deere d105 is a garbage I have had to replace the teamsm after one year of us I have bought two starters both went bad it blows fuses it is made of plastic and when I say it's made of plastic I mean everything is plastic from the transmission to the engine my tractor is one year old and I have had all these problems don't buy save your money
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
19of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission broken

Posted5 June 2016
Customer avatar
From:Oregon, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The transmission went out with only 22 hours of use and is inoperable.
The estimate for repair is over $600. Piece of junk.
Conswaste of money
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad product

Posted30 November 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This a bad product, had a broke throttle cable/handle,they sent the wrong cable,the reverse is hard to get going, front end slides all over, uneven cutting, my old Cub Cadet was a much better mower, the ride was much better and the controls was light years above the John Deere D105
Cons10
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad mower

Posted19 November 2015
Customer avatar
From:Spartanburg, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Yearly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
the worst mower i have ever bought, I only have 8 hours on this mower and i just got it back from the shop where it cost me $100.00 for a belt that was slipping, when i unloaded it it would not even pull up my drive way, you should tell people that this is a cheep mower and only use it on flat ground.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Malfunctioned

Posted28 May 2016
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After only three years of use and approximately 42 hours on the mower, during operation the pedal slipped forward and now it will not accelerate but will only move at an extremely slow speed. Apparently this mower is unable to endure much. Of course the warranty expired. John Deere is reputable for quality products, however I hate to say I am disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far I love it

Posted1 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Conway, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just got I today.
After returning the battery to
Lowe's it started!
Mowed the back yard and it
Is very comfortable and
easy to use.
Proscomfortableresponsive
Consnone so far
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my John Deer

Posted26 May 2016
Customer avatar
From:Florida
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a Troy before the John Deer and was not at all happy with it. My JD is an awesome tractor, it is easy to handle, the maintenance is easy to do ( I'm a widow so I do it myself) and I love the way it almost drives itself. You couldn't give me enough money to make me give up this tractor!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

Posted25 April 2016
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a good mower so far it seems to have plenty of power and mows grate but I only have 8 hours on it right now I hope it holds out for at least ten to fifteen years like my old one guess we Will have to wait and see but so far really satisfied.
Prosruns grate mows gratedoes really good on hills.
Consdon't like the seat the back is a little low.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John deer D140

Posted18 May 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
I bought this john deer mower after having a snapper it has more power and cuts grass great but there is a little knocking sound in the motor hopefully Home Depot will stand by there word to swap it for one that sounds ok before it blows up. They sad take it to a repair place let them fix it. But it's new why take it in after only 6 hours of cutting time
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted24 July 2013
Customer avatar
From:Pequot Lakes,MN
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The D-105 is a fine machine that cuts like a dream and is one of the easiest mowers to operate.Plenty of power to mow my acre of lawn.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

d105

Posted15 April 2016
Customer avatar
From:Ontario, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After only 103 hours, the motor blew. Throttle control is cracked from cheap plastic.. You may want to look at other models before the John Deere. Your only paying for the name and not the quality. Will never buy again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this piece of junk!

Posted30 April 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this mower for 1 year now, at 21 hours the engine blew took a act of congress to get them to honor the warranty. At 50 hours the entire linkage for the transmission broke. Worst cutting mower you could own, unless your yard is perfectly level it will cut uneven now matter how you try to adjust the deck. Save a headache and buy something else. It's priced cheap for a reason.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fist time owning a John Deer

Posted24 May 2014
Customer avatar
From:Kalispell Montana
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've cut a lot of grass over the years, I used to have a wheel horse tractor from 1967 (when they built them to last). I wasn't sure about buying this model only because I felt the hood wouldn't hold up and I was worried about how long it would last. Well I just finished cutting the grass and I have say I'm very happy with the way this tractor performed. John Deer will have my business for a long time.
Proseasy useseat feels goodsolid framelarger gas tank then mostgood tires
Consside discharge (would like to see rear discharge)deck will scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

Posted9 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Loganville, GA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the gas pedal setup. Easy to control speed in tight spaces.
Prosgas pedal controltight turning radiusstep through entry
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good while it worked

Posted6 May 2015
Customer avatar
From:Austin, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a D100 in 2012. It worked great for 2 years. This year, as soon as the warranty ran out, it threw a rod that made a hole through the side of the engine. It was out of warranty. I took it to the dealer and they said the engine needed to be replaced and it would cost more that $1000 to replace the engine. I waited 2 weeks and they said the engine was back ordered and couldn't give me a date when they could get an engine. This is not a great recommendation.
Prosgood while it worked
Consengine blew after 2 years and difficult to fix
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>