Customer reviews for JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

The D105 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.174 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
Recommended by17 out of 2085%
Customer reviews for D105 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love my new mower!!

Posted26 July 2013
Customer avatar
Jackson123
From:Kingsport, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my John Deere D105 not to long ago and it dose a wonderful job. easy to use and powerful. It cuts wonderful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bad transmissions which can not be serviced- throw away mentality.

Posted1 October 2014
Customer avatar
Phil34997
From:Stuart, FL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little mower for just over a year, with little more than 100 hours, its ready for the dumpster.
The Tuff Torque tranny according to the manual, is a sealed unit and can't have a fluid change or service. Its toast now, and doesn't warrant fixing at about 50% of the original price, just for Everglades to put the same bad tranny in it- over 700 bucks and we know its going to fail again.
Bought it at Home Depot. All great except for this problem, but don't recommend it to anyone due to the poor mentality that comes with it- things should be serviceable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good machine

Posted14 July 2014
Customer avatar
RRJi
From:Arkansas
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Altho the engine seems small it has plenty of power and mows very will without any signs of bogging down. I would recommend this mower to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John deer D140

Posted18 May 2014
Customer avatar
Bobbysturm
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
I bought this john deer mower after having a snapper it has more power and cuts grass great but there is a little knocking sound in the motor hopefully Home Depot will stand by there word to swap it for one that sounds ok before it blows up. They sad take it to a repair place let them fix it. But it's new why take it in after only 6 hours of cutting time
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good mower love it!!!!!!

Posted29 June 2014
Customer avatar
jdmann
From:cutting, grass
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I mow for about 12 people. when I got the mower everyone said it cut better the any mower thay had seen used on there yards and were very happy. I was happy to becouse it is very good on gas with the prices up it is fast. I have a d105 and hope to get a bigger one next summmer if the small one is this good a bigger one should be great.
Prosgas savercuts very smoothfast
Conswill scap if you have a big hump
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fist time owning a John Deer

Posted24 May 2014
Customer avatar
aptrail2005
From:Kalispell Montana
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've cut a lot of grass over the years, I used to have a wheel horse tractor from 1967 (when they built them to last). I wasn't sure about buying this model only because I felt the hood wouldn't hold up and I was worried about how long it would last. Well I just finished cutting the grass and I have say I'm very happy with the way this tractor performed. John Deer will have my business for a long time.
Proseasy useseat feels goodsolid framelarger gas tank then mostgood tires
Consside discharge (would like to see rear discharge)deck will scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted24 July 2013
Customer avatar
Mark66
From:Pequot Lakes,MN
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The D-105 is a fine machine that cuts like a dream and is one of the easiest mowers to operate.Plenty of power to mow my acre of lawn.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Failure with only 4 Hours on the Machine

Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
HighlyDisappointed
From:Oregon, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This mower appeared to be the highest quality entry level mower on the market when I bought it. However, after only 4 hours of mowing, the CVT transmission has failed and the mower will not move in forward or reverse. It appears an internal belt or pulley has failed, as the drive belt moves freely.
I highly recommend staying away from this mower unless you enjoy having transmission troubles. A failure at 4 hours doesn't give me high confidence on reliabilty.
+18points
42of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

Posted5 July 2013
Customer avatar
Austin07
From:Lancaster, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased JD D105 on 4/2/2013. Now (July 4) the belt is loose and the rubber of the food pedal is broken. It has only 4 hours of use. Poor Quality!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
30of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

High grass, poor performance

Posted10 August 2013
Customer avatar
MyFirstDeere
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Monthly
I got my D105 today and immediately stalled it in the high grass. I only had a few minutes to experiment with the use of the "gas pedal" before an approaching storm, but was unable to find a method to avoid terrible shuddering in high grass. It even shuddered when driving over the cuttings of previously cut grass (no high grass, just a pile of cut grass). At this point I'm wondering if the tranny does not properly downshift under these conditions. I would be very interested in hearing what the Deere engineers have to say. I also noticed the full throttle position does not sound like the typical full throttle of my old Encore which never shuddered in the same grass and only had 12 HP, but a manual transmission. Could it simply be I should have bought a more powerful unit? Even if I should have bought a bigger model, I guess I'm puzzled as to why the tranny would simply not shift down lower under near stall conditions to avoid the shudder. Granted, I'm not a mower engineer, but would like to better understand what my error might be.
+18points
35of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere dealer made my up my mind J.D vs C.C

Posted1 September 2014
Customer avatar
TomMyers
From:Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been reading reviews for several months and trying to decide if I should buy a Cub Cadet 1040 or a John Deere D105. Seemed all the reveiws were about balanced between the two,each had pros and cons. Some said do not buy JD from big box store because it is a cheap model.
First I called my local Cub Cadet dealer in Ft Pierce Fl. since they had a special and I could save $100.00 off the $1500.00 price. The dealer was so rude they could not even tell me if they had one in stock kept me on hold for ever also when I mentioned the sale price the women said she had no idea what I was talking about and said if I came in I need to talk to a manager !!!
I then went to Home Depot and looked at the D105 JD, $1500.00 also the sales guy told me that when C.C. and J.D. come in apart in a box, JD has a certified mechanic come out from the dealer and put it together and adjust it and make sure it is perfect before they sell it .
The Cub Cadet comes in and anyone from Home Depot puts it together.
Next I called my local J.D. dealer and talked to them and was told that it did not matter where I bought the D105 from dealer or H Depot it was the same quility rider. She also told me that since H.Depot was running a Labor Day special and giving a J.D. cart free to buy it there. They were so nice even knowing that I was going to buy from H Depot and not them. That impreed me.
I can not say which would be better since I never used theC.C.but I have used this D105 once and it is so quit I'm impressed with the rider but more impress with how I was treated by J.D. Dealer.
Ever Glades Farm Equipment Ft Pierce Fl
They made My mind up which to buy
Wish I remembered her name but she was in service dept
Thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good mower but not a lot of power

Posted28 June 2014
Customer avatar
Jarhead
From:Stafford, Va
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this mower for several months now and have about an acre of grass to cut. Though it cuts well, it doesn't have a lot of power. JD has however upgraded this entry level model over what it used to be. The automatic transmission is a real plus. The addition of spindles that have grease fittings is also an improvement--with the fittings accessible without having to take the spindle covers off. Not bad for the money--but realize it is not of the D160 caliber, or the higher level JD's.
Prosprice and jd quality
Conswater nozzle on the cutting deck--doesn't do job
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

Posted13 August 2013
Customer avatar
Hijack
From:Eaton, OH 45320, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my mower yesterday and picked it up today and brought it home. I mowed my yard and it did a wonderful job. The only problem I had was trying to get the correct height . I love my D105. My yard looks very nice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
28of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Troubles

Posted22 August 2014
Customer avatar
GMWV
From:St. Marys, WV 26170, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought the D105 around the end of June 2014 and the biggest problem is mower scalps no matter how you adjust the wheels, It would mow just fine if your yard was flat, but WV is anything but flat. The next big thing is the transmission went out last week (Aug 15) it would not go forward or reverse and it's only 2 months old. Kind of wondering what's next?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE MY DEERE !!!

Posted6 June 2013
Customer avatar
JEFFREY
From:BURLESON TEXAS
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I HAVE MOWED WITH IT THREE TIMES NOW & ENJOY IT VERY MUCH !!!!! I RECAMEND THIS TO ANYONE LOOKIN FOR A RIDING MOWER !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Mower

Posted9 July 2014
Customer avatar
volvoskydiver
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For a lower priced John Deere, I think this unit is really good, for the price mind you......some people think because its a Deere and all it should run without a flaw and must say , working in a manufacturing plant, things happen and mass production is not flawless, but we try to make it that way. never had any trouble with any Deere product that the company does not stand behind it and make it right. this mower is no exception, it runs good and power to size is perfect . ride is good and mows great. would recommend to anyone with an average size yard.
Prosbriggs engineease of usehour metergas gauge
Conslike hydrostatic drive better
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and built to the top standards

Posted29 May 2013
Customer avatar
Pilot1
From:Omaha, Ne
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mowed 3 times and I am very impressed. Mowers large feel translates into unmatched cutting performance. The lawn this year has been a jungle, and the tractor is not affected. Cutting is consistent, and even. Speed is way faster than my old 38" MTD (Montgomery Ward) tractor was! Nothing can stop this machine. Impressed with top quality John Deere features. All controls and safety items are well thought out. Service and implements available for this tractor are available at the John Deere dealer network, which has numerous locations, with friendly and knowledgeable sales people. The prices on the implements are very reasonable - quality is excellent!
Proscomfort and handlingsharp turning radiusvery stable on inclines
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower!

Posted25 May 2013
Customer avatar
TBolick72
From:Western North Carolina
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this mower at my local Lowe's store after doing extensive research online, and I could not be happier with the purchase. I have only cut the grass 1 time so I can not speak for durability but this mower is very well made. The automatic transmission works wonderfully. I have about 1.5 acres of lawn with some hills and the mower handled them with ease. If you are in the market for a new riding mower please look no further.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
29of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D105 Lawn Tractor

Posted28 October 2013
Customer avatar
Fiona
From:Independence, MO, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this mower yesterday, got it off the truck and after a few minutes figuring out the go pedal, was off! It cut my grass beautifully. I felt it has tones of power for what I need, so its a keeper!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gas is hard to fill with a bagger on it. since it is tilted, s/b be improved

Posted10 May 2013
Customer avatar
Terry
From:Syracuse, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good mower except it is very hard to fill the gas tank with the bagger on it. This should be changed so you don't spill the gas which happens very time I fill it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+66points
85of 104voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>