Customer reviews for JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

The D105 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
3.641 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
8
Recommended by23 out of 3370%
Customer reviews for D105 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Problems

Posted9 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Arkansas, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had it for 3 years
only 32 hours
transmission going out
spent $500 dollars
Had take it back to the dealer
again after two weeks getting it fixed
I feel ripped off
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

Posted3 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Hanover, PA , usa
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The John Deere d105 is a garbage I have had to replace the teamsm after one year of us I have bought two starters both went bad it blows fuses it is made of plastic and when I say it's made of plastic I mean everything is plastic from the transmission to the engine my tractor is one year old and I have had all these problems don't buy save your money
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too expensive for what you get.

Posted19 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Vine Grove, KY
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1. Seat uncomfortable
2. Cuts unevenly even though there are leveling wheels on the deck
3. Deck cleaning feature does not work well when cutting damp grass
4. Bagger is exceptionally poor at picking up grass, despite using recommended lift blades.
Review based upon mowing 6/10th of an acre, relatively flat terrain.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far I love it

Posted1 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Conway, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just got I today.
After returning the battery to
Lowe's it started!
Mowed the back yard and it
Is very comfortable and
easy to use.
Proscomfortableresponsive
Consnone so far
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love my new mower!!

Posted26 July 2013
Customer avatar
From:Kingsport, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my John Deere D105 not to long ago and it dose a wonderful job. easy to use and powerful. It cuts wonderful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs front protection for mower. hood very fragile. to many safety features. very difficult to back up when mowing and blade is engaged.

Posted7 May 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
choose a differnt model. would rfeccomendhigher end items instead of lower price items
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

transmission problems on the first use!

Posted15 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Colorado, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Total transmission failure after 3.4 hours of use...total junk! Not the quality you would expect.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

Posted9 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Loganville, GA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the gas pedal setup. Easy to control speed in tight spaces.
Prosgas pedal controltight turning radiusstep through entry
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't settle, spend a little more

Posted18 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Rison, AR 71665, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The transmission went out at 26 months 60 hours, 2 months after the warranty expired.
Proseasy to use
Consnot well built
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this piece of junk!

Posted30 April 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this mower for 1 year now, at 21 hours the engine blew took a act of congress to get them to honor the warranty. At 50 hours the entire linkage for the transmission broke. Worst cutting mower you could own, unless your yard is perfectly level it will cut uneven now matter how you try to adjust the deck. Save a headache and buy something else. It's priced cheap for a reason.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John deer D140

Posted18 May 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
I bought this john deer mower after having a snapper it has more power and cuts grass great but there is a little knocking sound in the motor hopefully Home Depot will stand by there word to swap it for one that sounds ok before it blows up. They sad take it to a repair place let them fix it. But it's new why take it in after only 6 hours of cutting time
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted24 July 2013
Customer avatar
From:Pequot Lakes,MN
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The D-105 is a fine machine that cuts like a dream and is one of the easiest mowers to operate.Plenty of power to mow my acre of lawn.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

Posted25 May 2015
Customer avatar
From:Plain City, OH 43064, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gets really good fuel efficiency. Turns pretty sharp . Steering wheel turns easily kind of like power steering. The seat adjusts/ slides back and forth for different leg lengths. It has a safety feature that, when in gear, if you get off the seat the engine shuts off.
Proslots
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good while it worked

Posted6 May 2015
Customer avatar
From:Austin, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a D100 in 2012. It worked great for 2 years. This year, as soon as the warranty ran out, it threw a rod that made a hole through the side of the engine. It was out of warranty. I took it to the dealer and they said the engine needed to be replaced and it would cost more that $1000 to replace the engine. I waited 2 weeks and they said the engine was back ordered and couldn't give me a date when they could get an engine. This is not a great recommendation.
Prosgood while it worked
Consengine blew after 2 years and difficult to fix
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fist time owning a John Deer

Posted24 May 2014
Customer avatar
From:Kalispell Montana
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've cut a lot of grass over the years, I used to have a wheel horse tractor from 1967 (when they built them to last). I wasn't sure about buying this model only because I felt the hood wouldn't hold up and I was worried about how long it would last. Well I just finished cutting the grass and I have say I'm very happy with the way this tractor performed. John Deer will have my business for a long time.
Proseasy useseat feels goodsolid framelarger gas tank then mostgood tires
Consside discharge (would like to see rear discharge)deck will scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not near as bad as the reviews

Posted19 July 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
People you have to maintain and service these things and they are not made to run full blast on hills.
Still have a 2004 Troy-Bilt but bought the JD 105. It has 15.2 hours and I have had no problems thus far, cuts well and has the same engine as the Troy -Bilt 17.5 HP but this has an oil filter.
The Troy -Bilt still goes and has 3200 hours. Yes it is old and belts and pulleys all needed replaced but this Deere should go on and on with proper maintenance.Will let you know as time goes on
Prosgas gaugehour meterquietsturdynice adjustable seat
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good mower love it!!!!!!

Posted29 June 2014
Customer avatar
From:cutting, grass
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I mow for about 12 people. when I got the mower everyone said it cut better the any mower thay had seen used on there yards and were very happy. I was happy to becouse it is very good on gas with the prices up it is fast. I have a d105 and hope to get a bigger one next summmer if the small one is this good a bigger one should be great.
Prosgas savercuts very smoothfast
Conswill scap if you have a big hump
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Failure with only 4 Hours on the Machine

Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
From:Oregon, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This mower appeared to be the highest quality entry level mower on the market when I bought it. However, after only 4 hours of mowing, the CVT transmission has failed and the mower will not move in forward or reverse. It appears an internal belt or pulley has failed, as the drive belt moves freely.
I highly recommend staying away from this mower unless you enjoy having transmission troubles. A failure at 4 hours doesn't give me high confidence on reliabilty.
+24points
48of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D105 almost a year old

Posted29 April 2015
Customer avatar
From:Pa.
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had zero problems. Just did my first oil change...it was a breeze. Mower started right up after charging the battery after a long winter. Still cuts perfect and doesn't bog at all when it encounters thick grass.
I grew up with craftsmen riders and this is my first Deere product. My yard is not flat and it only scalps in one small spot everything else it just rolls over perfectly. It has some small rattles but in my bumpy yard, that is expected.
Very pleased with my purchase.
PS. bought it from Lowe's because I had a 10% coupon and it came with free shipping (it came right from my local store) and a free JD dump cart which I use like crazy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good mower but not a lot of power

Posted28 June 2014
Customer avatar
From:Stafford, Va
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this mower for several months now and have about an acre of grass to cut. Though it cuts well, it doesn't have a lot of power. JD has however upgraded this entry level model over what it used to be. The automatic transmission is a real plus. The addition of spindles that have grease fittings is also an improvement--with the fittings accessible without having to take the spindle covers off. Not bad for the money--but realize it is not of the D160 caliber, or the higher level JD's.
Prosprice and jd quality
Conswater nozzle on the cutting deck--doesn't do job
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>