Customer reviews for JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

The D105 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
3.823 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
Recommended by21 out of 2875%
Customer reviews for D105 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

transmission problems on the first use!

Posted15 June 2015
Customer avatar
Boulder1
From:Colorado, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Total transmission failure after 3.4 hours of use...total junk! Not the quality you would expect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this piece of junk!

Posted30 April 2015
Customer avatar
S111
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this mower for 1 year now, at 21 hours the engine blew took a act of congress to get them to honor the warranty. At 50 hours the entire linkage for the transmission broke. Worst cutting mower you could own, unless your yard is perfectly level it will cut uneven now matter how you try to adjust the deck. Save a headache and buy something else. It's priced cheap for a reason.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

D105 lawn tractor

Posted23 March 2015
Customer avatar
Daniel
From:Burnsville, NC
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Worst lawn tractor I've owned. It lasted 10.6 hours before the engine failed. It was only used for half of a mowing season before it failed. The authorized service dealer is over 1.5 hrs away. I have no way to haul it there. What an inconvenience. Looks like I got a lemon and am having to pay for it.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Failure with only 4 Hours on the Machine

Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
HighlyDisappointed
From:Oregon, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This mower appeared to be the highest quality entry level mower on the market when I bought it. However, after only 4 hours of mowing, the CVT transmission has failed and the mower will not move in forward or reverse. It appears an internal belt or pulley has failed, as the drive belt moves freely.
I highly recommend staying away from this mower unless you enjoy having transmission troubles. A failure at 4 hours doesn't give me high confidence on reliabilty.
+24points
48of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

Posted5 July 2013
Customer avatar
Austin07
From:Lancaster, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased JD D105 on 4/2/2013. Now (July 4) the belt is loose and the rubber of the food pedal is broken. It has only 4 hours of use. Poor Quality!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+18points
32of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs front protection for mower. hood very fragile. to many safety features. very difficult to back up when mowing and blade is engaged.

Posted7 May 2015
Customer avatar
eester1662
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
choose a differnt model. would rfeccomendhigher end items instead of lower price items
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good while it worked

Posted6 May 2015
Customer avatar
TomAustin
From:Austin, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a D100 in 2012. It worked great for 2 years. This year, as soon as the warranty ran out, it threw a rod that made a hole through the side of the engine. It was out of warranty. I took it to the dealer and they said the engine needed to be replaced and it would cost more that $1000 to replace the engine. I waited 2 weeks and they said the engine was back ordered and couldn't give me a date when they could get an engine. This is not a great recommendation.
Prosgood while it worked
Consengine blew after 2 years and difficult to fix
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Troubles

Posted22 August 2014
Customer avatar
GMWV
From:St. Marys, WV 26170, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought the D105 around the end of June 2014 and the biggest problem is mower scalps no matter how you adjust the wheels, It would mow just fine if your yard was flat, but WV is anything but flat. The next big thing is the transmission went out last week (Aug 15) it would not go forward or reverse and it's only 2 months old. Kind of wondering what's next?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

High grass, poor performance

Posted10 August 2013
Customer avatar
MyFirstDeere
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Monthly
I got my D105 today and immediately stalled it in the high grass. I only had a few minutes to experiment with the use of the "gas pedal" before an approaching storm, but was unable to find a method to avoid terrible shuddering in high grass. It even shuddered when driving over the cuttings of previously cut grass (no high grass, just a pile of cut grass). At this point I'm wondering if the tranny does not properly downshift under these conditions. I would be very interested in hearing what the Deere engineers have to say. I also noticed the full throttle position does not sound like the typical full throttle of my old Encore which never shuddered in the same grass and only had 12 HP, but a manual transmission. Could it simply be I should have bought a more powerful unit? Even if I should have bought a bigger model, I guess I'm puzzled as to why the tranny would simply not shift down lower under near stall conditions to avoid the shudder. Granted, I'm not a mower engineer, but would like to better understand what my error might be.
+23points
41of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't settle, spend a little more

Posted18 June 2015
Customer avatar
Stuck
From:Rison, AR 71665, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The transmission went out at 26 months 60 hours, 2 months after the warranty expired.
Proseasy to use
Consnot well built
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bad transmissions which can not be serviced- throw away mentality.

Posted1 October 2014
Customer avatar
Phil34997
From:Stuart, FL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little mower for just over a year, with little more than 100 hours, its ready for the dumpster.
The Tuff Torque tranny according to the manual, is a sealed unit and can't have a fluid change or service. Its toast now, and doesn't warrant fixing at about 50% of the original price, just for Everglades to put the same bad tranny in it- over 700 bucks and we know its going to fail again.
Bought it at Home Depot. All great except for this problem, but don't recommend it to anyone due to the poor mentality that comes with it- things should be serviceable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+32points
36of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My D105 looks tough, is tough

Posted22 June 2015
Customer avatar
Gopete7
From:Arkansas, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had my 105 two years since June 30th, 2013. Love it. I cut 3 acres of tough green grass about every 10 days. 79 +hours. Problems? No more than any other brand, but a lot less than most. One thing, occasionally have a problem getting into reverse. All I do is sequence the shifting cycle. N-dr-reverse and away I go. Timely servicing goes a long in extending its life. Those who bash, welllll! Also never have I read so many reviews with such poor spelling.
Proswell built for the money
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good mower but not a lot of power

Posted28 June 2014
Customer avatar
Jarhead
From:Stafford, Va
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this mower for several months now and have about an acre of grass to cut. Though it cuts well, it doesn't have a lot of power. JD has however upgraded this entry level model over what it used to be. The automatic transmission is a real plus. The addition of spindles that have grease fittings is also an improvement--with the fittings accessible without having to take the spindle covers off. Not bad for the money--but realize it is not of the D160 caliber, or the higher level JD's.
Prosprice and jd quality
Conswater nozzle on the cutting deck--doesn't do job
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted24 July 2013
Customer avatar
Mark66
From:Pequot Lakes,MN
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The D-105 is a fine machine that cuts like a dream and is one of the easiest mowers to operate.Plenty of power to mow my acre of lawn.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gas is hard to fill with a bagger on it. since it is tilted, s/b be improved

Posted10 May 2013
Customer avatar
Terry
From:Syracuse, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good mower except it is very hard to fill the gas tank with the bagger on it. This should be changed so you don't spill the gas which happens very time I fill it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+71points
90of 109voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

Posted9 June 2015
Customer avatar
Biglumberjack
From:Loganville, GA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the gas pedal setup. Easy to control speed in tight spaces.
Prosgas pedal controltight turning radiusstep through entry
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

Posted25 May 2015
Customer avatar
joshmiddle
From:Plain City, OH 43064, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gets really good fuel efficiency. Turns pretty sharp . Steering wheel turns easily kind of like power steering. The seat adjusts/ slides back and forth for different leg lengths. It has a safety feature that, when in gear, if you get off the seat the engine shuts off.
Proslots
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Piece of equipment!

Posted9 May 2015
Customer avatar
Joedf
From:Turley, OK, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With just over 5 hours on the machine, I have had zero issues with it. I read a lot of reviews before purchasing this mower. I see a lot of people bashing this thing. But one thing that no body seems to consider is that out of the thousands of these machines sold there is bound to be a bad apple in the bunch every now and then. My only complaints on the machine is that the hood hinges are very weak, after a small bump against a fence the hinges snapped. My second complaint is that it should come from the factory with adjustable drag links to adjust the front wheel steering angle.
Prosfuel efficiencyoverall performanceease of usepriceease of maintenance
Consweak hood hingesnon adjustable drag links
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D105 almost a year old

Posted29 April 2015
Customer avatar
Matt783
From:Pa.
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had zero problems. Just did my first oil change...it was a breeze. Mower started right up after charging the battery after a long winter. Still cuts perfect and doesn't bog at all when it encounters thick grass.
I grew up with craftsmen riders and this is my first Deere product. My yard is not flat and it only scalps in one small spot everything else it just rolls over perfectly. It has some small rattles but in my bumpy yard, that is expected.
Very pleased with my purchase.
PS. bought it from Lowe's because I had a 10% coupon and it came with free shipping (it came right from my local store) and a free JD dump cart which I use like crazy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere dealer made my up my mind J.D vs C.C

Posted1 September 2014
Customer avatar
TomMyers
From:Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been reading reviews for several months and trying to decide if I should buy a Cub Cadet 1040 or a John Deere D105. Seemed all the reveiws were about balanced between the two,each had pros and cons. Some said do not buy JD from big box store because it is a cheap model.
First I called my local Cub Cadet dealer in Ft Pierce Fl. since they had a special and I could save $100.00 off the $1500.00 price. The dealer was so rude they could not even tell me if they had one in stock kept me on hold for ever also when I mentioned the sale price the women said she had no idea what I was talking about and said if I came in I need to talk to a manager !!!
I then went to Home Depot and looked at the D105 JD, $1500.00 also the sales guy told me that when C.C. and J.D. come in apart in a box, JD has a certified mechanic come out from the dealer and put it together and adjust it and make sure it is perfect before they sell it .
The Cub Cadet comes in and anyone from Home Depot puts it together.
Next I called my local J.D. dealer and talked to them and was told that it did not matter where I bought the D105 from dealer or H Depot it was the same quility rider. She also told me that since H.Depot was running a Labor Day special and giving a J.D. cart free to buy it there. They were so nice even knowing that I was going to buy from H Depot and not them. That impreed me.
I can not say which would be better since I never used theC.C.but I have used this D105 once and it is so quit I'm impressed with the rider but more impress with how I was treated by J.D. Dealer.
Ever Glades Farm Equipment Ft Pierce Fl
They made My mind up which to buy
Wish I remembered her name but she was in service dept
Thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>