Customer reviews for JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

The D105 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
Recommended by16 out of 1794%
Customer reviews for D105 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Failure with only 4 Hours on the Machine

Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
HighlyDisappointed
From:Oregon, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This mower appeared to be the highest quality entry level mower on the market when I bought it. However, after only 4 hours of mowing, the CVT transmission has failed and the mower will not move in forward or reverse. It appears an internal belt or pulley has failed, as the drive belt moves freely.
I highly recommend staying away from this mower unless you enjoy having transmission troubles. A failure at 4 hours doesn't give me high confidence on reliabilty.
+15points
38of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

Posted5 July 2013
Customer avatar
Austin07
From:Lancaster, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased JD D105 on 4/2/2013. Now (July 4) the belt is loose and the rubber of the food pedal is broken. It has only 4 hours of use. Poor Quality!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
27of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

High grass, poor performance

Posted10 August 2013
Customer avatar
MyFirstDeere
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Monthly
I got my D105 today and immediately stalled it in the high grass. I only had a few minutes to experiment with the use of the "gas pedal" before an approaching storm, but was unable to find a method to avoid terrible shuddering in high grass. It even shuddered when driving over the cuttings of previously cut grass (no high grass, just a pile of cut grass). At this point I'm wondering if the tranny does not properly downshift under these conditions. I would be very interested in hearing what the Deere engineers have to say. I also noticed the full throttle position does not sound like the typical full throttle of my old Encore which never shuddered in the same grass and only had 12 HP, but a manual transmission. Could it simply be I should have bought a more powerful unit? Even if I should have bought a bigger model, I guess I'm puzzled as to why the tranny would simply not shift down lower under near stall conditions to avoid the shudder. Granted, I'm not a mower engineer, but would like to better understand what my error might be.
+18points
33of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good mower but not a lot of power

Posted28 June 2014
Customer avatar
Jarhead
From:Stafford, Va
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this mower for several months now and have about an acre of grass to cut. Though it cuts well, it doesn't have a lot of power. JD has however upgraded this entry level model over what it used to be. The automatic transmission is a real plus. The addition of spindles that have grease fittings is also an improvement--with the fittings accessible without having to take the spindle covers off. Not bad for the money--but realize it is not of the D160 caliber, or the higher level JD's.
Prosprice and jd quality
Conswater nozzle on the cutting deck--doesn't do job
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted24 July 2013
Customer avatar
Mark66
From:Pequot Lakes,MN
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The D-105 is a fine machine that cuts like a dream and is one of the easiest mowers to operate.Plenty of power to mow my acre of lawn.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gas is hard to fill with a bagger on it. since it is tilted, s/b be improved

Posted10 May 2013
Customer avatar
Terry
From:Syracuse, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good mower except it is very hard to fill the gas tank with the bagger on it. This should be changed so you don't spill the gas which happens very time I fill it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+65points
84of 103voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good machine

Posted14 July 2014
Customer avatar
RRJi
From:Arkansas
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Altho the engine seems small it has plenty of power and mows very will without any signs of bogging down. I would recommend this mower to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Mower

Posted9 July 2014
Customer avatar
volvoskydiver
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For a lower priced John Deere, I think this unit is really good, for the price mind you......some people think because its a Deere and all it should run without a flaw and must say , working in a manufacturing plant, things happen and mass production is not flawless, but we try to make it that way. never had any trouble with any Deere product that the company does not stand behind it and make it right. this mower is no exception, it runs good and power to size is perfect . ride is good and mows great. would recommend to anyone with an average size yard.
Prosbriggs engineease of usehour metergas gauge
Conslike hydrostatic drive better
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good mower love it!!!!!!

Posted29 June 2014
Customer avatar
jdmann
From:cutting, grass
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I mow for about 12 people. when I got the mower everyone said it cut better the any mower thay had seen used on there yards and were very happy. I was happy to becouse it is very good on gas with the prices up it is fast. I have a d105 and hope to get a bigger one next summmer if the small one is this good a bigger one should be great.
Prosgas savercuts very smoothfast
Conswill scap if you have a big hump
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fist time owning a John Deer

Posted24 May 2014
Customer avatar
aptrail2005
From:Kalispell Montana
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've cut a lot of grass over the years, I used to have a wheel horse tractor from 1967 (when they built them to last). I wasn't sure about buying this model only because I felt the hood wouldn't hold up and I was worried about how long it would last. Well I just finished cutting the grass and I have say I'm very happy with the way this tractor performed. John Deer will have my business for a long time.
Proseasy useseat feels goodsolid framelarger gas tank then mostgood tires
Consside discharge (would like to see rear discharge)deck will scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John deer D140

Posted18 May 2014
Customer avatar
Bobbysturm
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
I bought this john deer mower after having a snapper it has more power and cuts grass great but there is a little knocking sound in the motor hopefully Home Depot will stand by there word to swap it for one that sounds ok before it blows up. They sad take it to a repair place let them fix it. But it's new why take it in after only 6 hours of cutting time
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent mower

Posted10 December 2013
Customer avatar
Racer83L
From:Long Island, New York, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im a first time home buyer that works too much. I had a push lawnmower that took me 2 hours to cut my grass, this Mower cut that time down to 40 minutes.
So far so good. Mower has been flawless for me. I appreciate that John Deere sells maintenance kits that are complete. (makes proper maintenance a breeze)
My property has a few steep hills and the mower climbs them with ease.
Prosgood qualitystrong motorfuel efficientfuel gaugehour metercomfy adjustable seatcup holder
Consaccessories are a bit expensive.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+33points
33of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D105 Lawn Tractor

Posted28 October 2013
Customer avatar
Fiona
From:Independence, MO, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this mower yesterday, got it off the truck and after a few minutes figuring out the go pedal, was off! It cut my grass beautifully. I felt it has tones of power for what I need, so its a keeper!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Entry Level Riding Mower

Posted30 August 2013
Customer avatar
HighlyDisappointed
From:Deer Island, Oregon
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first JD purchase following a very negative experience with a new mower from another brand. After mowing with both mowers, I can say that the JD is superior in almost every way and didn't cost a penny more.
All the controls and CVT auto are easy to use and work well. The mower is overall designed and built well. I like the addition of the fuel gauge, the hour meter, and 1/4" deck height adjustment at this price point.
Looking at the specs for this mower, the turning radius is wider than some others, but in use, I found the steering radius to be quite good and turning tight corners works well.
I especially like the pressurized engine oil system added by JD and not found in similar mowers that use the same B&S engine.
The mower cuts great, with plenty of power and traction for steep hills and towing a small trailer. I have not yet used a grass catcher or snow blade, and I can't speak for the reliability yet, but so far, the mower has been flawless.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+32points
34of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

Posted13 August 2013
Customer avatar
Hijack
From:Eaton, OH 45320, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my mower yesterday and picked it up today and brought it home. I mowed my yard and it did a wonderful job. The only problem I had was trying to get the correct height . I love my D105. My yard looks very nice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
28of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love my new mower!!

Posted26 July 2013
Customer avatar
Jackson123
From:Kingsport, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my John Deere D105 not to long ago and it dose a wonderful job. easy to use and powerful. It cuts wonderful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value

Posted9 July 2013
Customer avatar
QueenBee
From:Mexico, NY
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although the least expensive John Deere lawn tractor, it is easy to see it was made in the USA by people who care. Quality throughout. The new "automatic" (Constant Velocity Transmission) works great and is very instinctive. No more shifting gears...use lever to select direction (forward or reverse) ,and push pedal down for fast mowing speeds on straightaways, or let off the pedal for slower speeds while trimming around trees, gardens, etc. Very economical on fuel. Included hour meter makes it easy to maintain properly. Briggs and Stratton single-cylinder engine starts quickly, usually requiring no choke above 80 degrees, runs smoothly and is more than adequately powerful. Deck is well-made and sturdy, cuts grass cleanly and evenly. Controls are easy to reach and operate. Seat is comfortable and adjustable for almost anyone. Steering radius is more than adequately tight, and low effort. You can leave the mower running by disengaging the PTO and setting the parking brake. I won't get into the safety features like Reverse Implement Option or the fact that it takes some effort to push the speed pedal down...they're there for a reason.
Prosgreat valuehigh qualityeasy to use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+39points
39of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE MY DEERE !!!

Posted6 June 2013
Customer avatar
JEFFREY
From:BURLESON TEXAS
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I HAVE MOWED WITH IT THREE TIMES NOW & ENJOY IT VERY MUCH !!!!! I RECAMEND THIS TO ANYONE LOOKIN FOR A RIDING MOWER !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
19of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and built to the top standards

Posted29 May 2013
Customer avatar
Pilot1
From:Omaha, Ne
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mowed 3 times and I am very impressed. Mowers large feel translates into unmatched cutting performance. The lawn this year has been a jungle, and the tractor is not affected. Cutting is consistent, and even. Speed is way faster than my old 38" MTD (Montgomery Ward) tractor was! Nothing can stop this machine. Impressed with top quality John Deere features. All controls and safety items are well thought out. Service and implements available for this tractor are available at the John Deere dealer network, which has numerous locations, with friendly and knowledgeable sales people. The prices on the implements are very reasonable - quality is excellent!
Proscomfort and handlingsharp turning radiusvery stable on inclines
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
23of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower!

Posted25 May 2013
Customer avatar
TBolick72
From:Western North Carolina
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this mower at my local Lowe's store after doing extensive research online, and I could not be happier with the purchase. I have only cut the grass 1 time so I can not speak for durability but this mower is very well made. The automatic transmission works wonderfully. I have about 1.5 acres of lawn with some hills and the mower handled them with ease. If you are in the market for a new riding mower please look no further.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
29of 34voted this as helpful.