Customer reviews for JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D105 Lawn Tractor

The D105 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
3.385 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Customer Reviews 52 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
Recommended by28 out of 4464%
Customer reviews for D105 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission broken

Posted5 June 2016
Customer avatar
From:Oregon, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The transmission went out with only 22 hours of use and is inoperable.
The estimate for repair is over $600. Piece of junk.
Conswaste of money
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

d105

Posted15 April 2016
Customer avatar
From:Ontario, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After only 103 hours, the motor blew. Throttle control is cracked from cheap plastic.. You may want to look at other models before the John Deere. Your only paying for the name and not the quality. Will never buy again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a quality product

Posted10 March 2016
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this mower in May of 2013. It has a total of 31.9 hours and the connecting rod broke. Had nothing but problems. Completely disappointed with the quality coming from John Deere .Do not purchase this mower.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad product

Posted30 November 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This a bad product, had a broke throttle cable/handle,they sent the wrong cable,the reverse is hard to get going, front end slides all over, uneven cutting, my old Cub Cadet was a much better mower, the ride was much better and the controls was light years above the John Deere D105
Cons10
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad mower

Posted19 November 2015
Customer avatar
From:Spartanburg, SC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Yearly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
the worst mower i have ever bought, I only have 8 hours on this mower and i just got it back from the shop where it cost me $100.00 for a belt that was slipping, when i unloaded it it would not even pull up my drive way, you should tell people that this is a cheep mower and only use it on flat ground.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Issues

Posted29 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Troy, TN
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The transmission on my D105 suffered internal failure and has to be replaced at a cost of $400.00 and $225.00 for labor. The mower has a warranty of 24 months or 120 hours. Unfortunately for me the mower was 26 months old and had 76 hours on it. I believe any transmission that has that kind of failure with only 76 hours should be covered and replaced for free of charge. I have been a strong advocate of John Deere products for years and I think this is a very poor showing for John Deere. I am very disappointed that I will have to bite the bullet on this one.
Consstay away from the d105
No, I do not recommend this product.
+28points
29of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too expensive for what you get.

Posted19 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Vine Grove, KY
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1. Seat uncomfortable
2. Cuts unevenly even though there are leveling wheels on the deck
3. Deck cleaning feature does not work well when cutting damp grass
4. Bagger is exceptionally poor at picking up grass, despite using recommended lift blades.
Review based upon mowing 6/10th of an acre, relatively flat terrain.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
10of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Problems

Posted9 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Arkansas, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had it for 3 years
only 32 hours
transmission going out
spent $500 dollars
Had take it back to the dealer
again after two weeks getting it fixed
I feel ripped off
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

Posted3 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Hanover, PA , usa
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The John Deere d105 is a garbage I have had to replace the teamsm after one year of us I have bought two starters both went bad it blows fuses it is made of plastic and when I say it's made of plastic I mean everything is plastic from the transmission to the engine my tractor is one year old and I have had all these problems don't buy save your money
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
20of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

transmission problems on the first use!

Posted15 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Colorado, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Total transmission failure after 3.4 hours of use...total junk! Not the quality you would expect.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this piece of junk!

Posted30 April 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this mower for 1 year now, at 21 hours the engine blew took a act of congress to get them to honor the warranty. At 50 hours the entire linkage for the transmission broke. Worst cutting mower you could own, unless your yard is perfectly level it will cut uneven now matter how you try to adjust the deck. Save a headache and buy something else. It's priced cheap for a reason.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

D105 lawn tractor

Posted23 March 2015
Customer avatar
From:Burnsville, NC
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Worst lawn tractor I've owned. It lasted 10.6 hours before the engine failed. It was only used for half of a mowing season before it failed. The authorized service dealer is over 1.5 hrs away. I have no way to haul it there. What an inconvenience. Looks like I got a lemon and am having to pay for it.
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Transmission Failure with only 4 Hours on the Machine

Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
From:Oregon, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This mower appeared to be the highest quality entry level mower on the market when I bought it. However, after only 4 hours of mowing, the CVT transmission has failed and the mower will not move in forward or reverse. It appears an internal belt or pulley has failed, as the drive belt moves freely.
I highly recommend staying away from this mower unless you enjoy having transmission troubles. A failure at 4 hours doesn't give me high confidence on reliabilty.
+28points
52of 76voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

Posted5 July 2013
Customer avatar
From:Lancaster, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased JD D105 on 4/2/2013. Now (July 4) the belt is loose and the rubber of the food pedal is broken. It has only 4 hours of use. Poor Quality!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
35of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Malfunctioned

Posted28 May 2016
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After only three years of use and approximately 42 hours on the mower, during operation the pedal slipped forward and now it will not accelerate but will only move at an extremely slow speed. Apparently this mower is unable to endure much. Of course the warranty expired. John Deere is reputable for quality products, however I hate to say I am disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs front protection for mower. hood very fragile. to many safety features. very difficult to back up when mowing and blade is engaged.

Posted7 May 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
choose a differnt model. would rfeccomendhigher end items instead of lower price items
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good while it worked

Posted6 May 2015
Customer avatar
From:Austin, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a D100 in 2012. It worked great for 2 years. This year, as soon as the warranty ran out, it threw a rod that made a hole through the side of the engine. It was out of warranty. I took it to the dealer and they said the engine needed to be replaced and it would cost more that $1000 to replace the engine. I waited 2 weeks and they said the engine was back ordered and couldn't give me a date when they could get an engine. This is not a great recommendation.
Prosgood while it worked
Consengine blew after 2 years and difficult to fix
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Troubles

Posted22 August 2014
Customer avatar
From:St. Marys, WV 26170, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought the D105 around the end of June 2014 and the biggest problem is mower scalps no matter how you adjust the wheels, It would mow just fine if your yard was flat, but WV is anything but flat. The next big thing is the transmission went out last week (Aug 15) it would not go forward or reverse and it's only 2 months old. Kind of wondering what's next?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

High grass, poor performance

Posted10 August 2013
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Monthly
I got my D105 today and immediately stalled it in the high grass. I only had a few minutes to experiment with the use of the "gas pedal" before an approaching storm, but was unable to find a method to avoid terrible shuddering in high grass. It even shuddered when driving over the cuttings of previously cut grass (no high grass, just a pile of cut grass). At this point I'm wondering if the tranny does not properly downshift under these conditions. I would be very interested in hearing what the Deere engineers have to say. I also noticed the full throttle position does not sound like the typical full throttle of my old Encore which never shuddered in the same grass and only had 12 HP, but a manual transmission. Could it simply be I should have bought a more powerful unit? Even if I should have bought a bigger model, I guess I'm puzzled as to why the tranny would simply not shift down lower under near stall conditions to avoid the shudder. Granted, I'm not a mower engineer, but would like to better understand what my error might be.
+21points
41of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D105 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't settle, spend a little more

Posted18 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Rison, AR 71665, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The transmission went out at 26 months 60 hours, 2 months after the warranty expired.
Proseasy to use
Consnot well built
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>