Customer reviews for JohnDeere D130 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D130 Lawn Tractor

The D130 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.236 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
Recommended by61 out of 7285%
Customer reviews for D130 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

Posted21 April 2016
Customer avatar
From:North Carolina, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this mower in May 2014 & use it 2 or 3 times a week around our home. Does a very good job of mowing , handles well , foot pedals are easy to use , plenty of horse power to cut heavy weeds & grass & throw it out of the chute. Accelerates very well & smooth running. Easy to adjust cutting level & a pocket for keys or small tools is handy & so is the beverage holder. We also received a 8 yard dump cart when we purchased & have filled it many times over with dirt, debris, concrete mix { several 80 lb. bags } & this lil tractor pulls it with no problem. Great mower..
Prosgood hpeasy maintenance
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just received

Posted7 April 2016
Customer avatar
From:Richmond, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Received from Lowes delivery. Inspected myself and no issues found. This is my first riding lawn mower. I put gas in it and it started right up. It drive forward great. A little jerky in reverse, probably sense I didn't have the feel for the sensitivity in the reverse pedal yet. Definitely would recommend. I will post again in a couple months to give my views after further use.
Prosqualitycame with bumperlocal dealer support
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lawn tractor for the money

Posted20 February 2016
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have 2 of these. Great mowers for the money. Don't hit a rock or a root though. The deck will bend or even break. The spindals are over engineered and don't break so your deck will take the impact. Would be better for the consumer to replace a spindal rather than a deck.
Prosgreat value
Consflimsy deck
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my D130

Posted28 September 2015
Customer avatar
From:Maine USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used my D130 lawn tractor for 36 hours with and without the material catch system in place. The only problem I had was my own fault. I left the garden hose attaching device attached to the deck while clearing autumn leaves. It got clogged and I had to replace it. Just remember to remove that attachment after cleaning the machine.
Very happy with machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son and I were looking for a tough, but affordable machine.

Posted30 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Ste Anne de Bellevue, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
And we decided on the D-130.
We had a lot of lawns to cut and needed dependability, and something that would be strong enough for professional use.
We were very pleased with this machine. It was way beyond our expectations. !! After one year, and 375 hours on the clock, we did not change one belt, or anything else for that matter, and looking back, I must say that John Deere's quality is unquestionable. Little things like grease fittings!, Never had to change our deck, as it was greased on a regular basis! As well, the machine never broke down once!!
I don't believe that there's a machine anywhere ,made by anyone else, available that can compare to our D-130, for what we paid. We are buying another one today!!
Prosall good!
Consnone whatsoever!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a very helpful machine

Posted27 June 2015
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am 13 years old and I have had a D-130 for one year. I bought it for work and it is phenomenal. It couldn't be a better machine. Its turning radius is great for going around large trees and corners. I highly recommend this machine to people of any years of age because it is a smooth ride and wont let you down, Plus it has great mpg.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

Posted21 May 2015
Customer avatar
From:Lincoln, DE 19960, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs very well and is reliable and handles hills and ditches easily. Only problem is the fuel gauge that doesn't work since new I cut nearly an acre of grass and use about half a tank so the gauge doesn't matter. fine product and a good price. I bought it from a JD dealer and they charged for delivery.
Prospowerfuleconomical to rundelight to use
Consfuel gauge
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A smooth operator!

Posted26 April 2015
Customer avatar
From:Springfield, MO, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mowed for first time,yard looked great
great. A pure joy to operate.
Easy on gas, cleanup was a
cinch.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tractor, good buy at lowes with free cart, spring, 2014.

Posted16 November 2014
Customer avatar
From:Milford, IN 46542, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mows good. Starts easy. Goes up & down hills easily. Baggers work
good except for strap that secures bagger cover to bag support, made of rubber and wears out.
Wish I could find a basket or bucket accessory to store small tools or sticks & stones that you don't want to drive over.
Consrubber strap on bagger is perhaps poor design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

Posted6 July 2014
Customer avatar
From:Lansing, MI USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would highly recommend the D130 to anyone looking for a great riding lawn tractor. I don't have a lot of hours on mine at this time but it operates/runs like a champ since the day I purchased it. It takes basically not time getting use to "pushing" the button and reversing as it is second nature and do it fluidly. A great tractor for the price and seems durable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tractor!

Posted2 June 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the D130 when we moved to a house with a larger yard last month. With buying from our local dealer we had the tractor--and the lawn cart we bought delivered to our house. This unit has been everything I hoped for and more. It cuts great and runs like a champ. We do have a small hill on our front lawn and have not had the issues that I've read in other reviews such as uneven cutting. Great value and love mowing the grass now!
Prosvalueperformance
Consnone at this time!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Dependable

Posted23 May 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Havent had a problem and it is very dependable. Wouldnt try another brand.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a quality lawn tractor

Posted11 May 2014
Customer avatar
From:Winthrop, ME, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our family bought this Deere last year, and we haven't had a problem with it ever since. Runs smoothly, is quiet, great horsepower, so many advantages to getting this one mower. When this year came around, it was easy to hook it up to a battery and juice it up for this season after the long winter. I have used it twice this year and it has had no problems. Leaves a wonderful look on your lawn, people are always complimenting how good it looks. I also mow our neighbor's lawn, it is full of hills and bumps but again it is not a problem for this Deere. Nothing runs like a Deere©
Proseasy startruns smoothlytop speed is perfectnot too much $worth every cent
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
26of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality tractor.

Posted8 May 2014
Customer avatar
From:Western Montana
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading some of the reviews here, I was a little worried about my purchase of this mower. I waited for five days to get it delivered. The main gripes seem to be with regard to the bagging system.
Overall, I'm impressed with the quality of the mower. It is relatively quiet, yet has plenty of power. It's comfortable. Mowing quality is excellent and it's easy to use and maintain.
About the bagging. The first thing I did after buying the mower was to get some high-lift blades for it. The first thing I did after delivery was to remove the deck and install the new blades....then the bagger.
For anyone considering a D130 tractor with a bagger, it is an excellent unit. Mine bags just fine and packs the bags so tight that they are almost too heavy to carry. There isn't a tractor/bagger made that bags wet grass very well at all that I am aware of. Even expensive vacuum units don't do a good job. For those complaining about that,
you should seriously just use a push mower if you absolutely have to mow wet grass. They simply work batter than a tractor in those conditions. I would also recommend always installing high-lift blades for bagging. No matter what brand you buy, they are always more efficient.
The D130 is a great mower. I don't part with money real easily so I tend to think it was a little on the high side for price, however I am 100% happy with the mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+37points
42of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In summary, I would buy this again.

Posted27 April 2014
Customer avatar
From:Ohio
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than enough smooth, quiet, power. Really good traction. Mows faster than I should. I haul firewood, use it for towing, pulling, jerking stuff loose, as in logs. Bought it at Lowes, and they did an excellent set up job. Don't like the deck clean out fitting, it's laying somewhere.
As I said, I would buy another one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D130 ROCKS!!!!

Posted4 January 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have had this mower for two years.I cut about a half acre. I actually look forward to cutting the lawn now! Thanks for making an excellent product.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Mower

Posted27 December 2013
Customer avatar
From:NH
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased 9/13. Used in that time for leaf removal. 1+acre and approx 50 trees in my yard. Runs strong v-twin power is impressive. Minimal vibration, comfortable seat, ease of maintenance. I Would recommend this mower to anyone
Prospowerdurabilityease of maintenance
Consprice of parts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT MOWER

Posted4 December 2013
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUST GOT MINE .HAVE 6 ACRES OF GOLF COURSE QUALITY IT MOWS LIKE BUTTER AND LOOKS GREAT .IM 70 YRS OLD AND MOW ALL 6 ACRES AT ONE TIME.BEST MOWER EVER HAD
Prosgreat value
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing but good things to say

Posted16 September 2013
Customer avatar
From:Texas
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this mower since the first of March, 2013. The dealer convinced me to go with the D130 over the D120, and I couldn't be happier. It has a lot of power and goes faster than I need it to go. It is a lot quieter, too. I mow a little over an acre in about 40 minutes, with trees and uneven ground. Gas use is about a gallon in 1 1/4 hours. Love not having to shift, and the reverse cutting is one of the reasons I chose this mower. It has a great turning radius. No problems with the cut or discharge, but clippings do build up on top of the deck. I always blow off the mower after anyway, so no problem. I haven't had any problems with starting, either hot or cold. I am still on the same blades as came with the mower, and I have a lot of Bahia grass which is rough on blades. Tires haven't lost any pressure at all. Maintenance is pretty easy, especially if you watch the videos available on this site. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this tractor so far!
Proslots of powercuts in reversegreat turning radius
Yes, I recommend this product.
+40points
41of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Third and best Deere I've owned

Posted26 August 2013
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started out with an STX-38 and had that for about 12 years, which I bought from my brother who bought it new in '93. Decided to trade that for a D100 last year as it was starting to have reliability issues, not bad for being almost 20 years old.The D100 seemed quirky because you had single pedal for brake/clutch and the gear shift mechanism was very notchy. D130 is so smooth and powerful and has gas pedal to go whatever speed suits the terrain. Reverse is as easy as pushing in the reverse lockout button and stepping on the reverse pedal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>