Customer reviews for JohnDeere D130 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D130 Lawn Tractor

The D130 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
Recommended by38 out of 4584%
Customer reviews for D130 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D130 ROCKS!!!!

Posted4 January 2014
Customer avatar
cutler456
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have had this mower for two years.I cut about a half acre. I actually look forward to cutting the lawn now! Thanks for making an excellent product.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Mower

Posted27 December 2013
Customer avatar
Paul29
From:NH
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased 9/13. Used in that time for leaf removal. 1+acre and approx 50 trees in my yard. Runs strong v-twin power is impressive. Minimal vibration, comfortable seat, ease of maintenance. I Would recommend this mower to anyone
Prospowerdurabilityease of maintenance
Consprice of parts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT MOWER

Posted4 December 2013
Customer avatar
DUANE6
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUST GOT MINE .HAVE 6 ACRES OF GOLF COURSE QUALITY IT MOWS LIKE BUTTER AND LOOKS GREAT .IM 70 YRS OLD AND MOW ALL 6 ACRES AT ONE TIME.BEST MOWER EVER HAD
Prosgreat value
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing but good things to say

Posted16 September 2013
Customer avatar
KeithTexas
From:Texas
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this mower since the first of March, 2013. The dealer convinced me to go with the D130 over the D120, and I couldn't be happier. It has a lot of power and goes faster than I need it to go. It is a lot quieter, too. I mow a little over an acre in about 40 minutes, with trees and uneven ground. Gas use is about a gallon in 1 1/4 hours. Love not having to shift, and the reverse cutting is one of the reasons I chose this mower. It has a great turning radius. No problems with the cut or discharge, but clippings do build up on top of the deck. I always blow off the mower after anyway, so no problem. I haven't had any problems with starting, either hot or cold. I am still on the same blades as came with the mower, and I have a lot of Bahia grass which is rough on blades. Tires haven't lost any pressure at all. Maintenance is pretty easy, especially if you watch the videos available on this site. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this tractor so far!
Proslots of powercuts in reversegreat turning radius
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Third and best Deere I've owned

Posted26 August 2013
Customer avatar
Nick
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started out with an STX-38 and had that for about 12 years, which I bought from my brother who bought it new in '93. Decided to trade that for a D100 last year as it was starting to have reliability issues, not bad for being almost 20 years old.The D100 seemed quirky because you had single pedal for brake/clutch and the gear shift mechanism was very notchy. D130 is so smooth and powerful and has gas pedal to go whatever speed suits the terrain. Reverse is as easy as pushing in the reverse lockout button and stepping on the reverse pedal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drives like a dream,,,

Posted24 August 2013
Customer avatar
lgshesha
From:Alabama, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 64 and I think this mower was built just for me. It is easy to use, moves smoothly, turns with ease I would recommend this to anyone.
Prosexcellent
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent mower

Posted24 August 2013
Customer avatar
jerry35
From:Snead, AL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my D130 mower for almost 2 years now and I absolutely love it.it is definitely the best mower I have ever owned but at first I had some problems with keeping the deck level.so I adjusted the deck and wheels.bad mistake on my part.the problem was I had let the tire pressure get just a little bit off.so I had to get my deck set back like it was at the dealer.my tip would be to always check tire pressure first just being one pound off on the tire pressure can cause your mower to cut uneven and cause lines in the grass
Prosgreat mowergreat pricelots of power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding tractor

Posted24 August 2013
Customer avatar
OldSarge
From:Cumming, GA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works great and starts everytime. Drives easy and cuts even and level. Would recommend to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
15of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would buy it again

Posted11 August 2013
Customer avatar
bdog3099
From:Tyngsboro, MA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Am glad I went for the V twin
Bought from dealer, set up was great
No issues to date, had for a month now
I would recommend this for a homeowner, and I would buy it again.
Reverse button is not an issue.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Ridding Mower

Posted1 August 2013
Customer avatar
acep51
From:Pennsylvania, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had mine since last month and have had no problems. The only thing incorrect I found upon delivery from Lowes was the oil a half quart low and the tires a little over inflated. Out side of that it has run perfect! This is my second 100 series JD and the other I owned for 7 years my neighbor now has and it is still run fine for him.
I suppose you can get a problem unit from anywhere these days, but JD always seems to stand behind their product.
I recommend this mower!
Prosruns like a deere should
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Up date

Posted22 July 2013
Customer avatar
topper48
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My last post was before I had a chance to use the snow blower attachment. that was the best thing that I bought. it was fun using it no back pains an many happy people that live by me didn't have to remove snow all winter. I was surprised how much power it has. the only problem I had was the control. they wouldn't stay tight on the mower. what I did was get small washers the same size as the holes so when the bolt went tightened up the bracket wouldn't loosen up any more that was the only problem
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great mower

Posted21 July 2013
Customer avatar
KSIxHUNTBOY180x
From:Riverton, IL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this mower is great but i purchased the optional 8y cart and i broke when i put one bag of sand in it but the mower is excellent
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, powerful, lawn tractor!

Posted30 June 2013
Customer avatar
Moose
From:Ontario, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only owned my D130 for less than a week, and have only mowed our one plus acre once. It started right up, no smoke, ran smoothly and quietly. It has lots of power and can really move! Easy to handle, turns easily. Looking forward to using it every 5 to 7 days all summer. I would strongly recommend this tractor!
Proseasy to handlepowerfulwell built
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good mower with great power.

Posted28 June 2013
Customer avatar
Randall
From:Boaz Al.
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mows very low, turns pretty sharp. All adjustments seem very simple based on manual (I haven't adjusted anything.) and manual is actually readable. I would highly recommend based on price and the cut .
Prospowerful
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this mower!

Posted28 June 2013
Customer avatar
JCruze
From:Vermont
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have this mower for 3 months, purchased to replace a Toro/Wheelhorse that I spent as much time repairing as mowing. I purchased the Deere due to the fact that it is American made in TN and that I could purchase it from my local Deere dealership for the same price as the box stores. This was marketing genius on JD's part. The local dealer set it up and will maintain it and I know it was done correctly. I settled on the D130 because I needed a 42" deck due to fence gate width and the larger, 2 cyl motor for the hills in my yard. The mower runs great, cuts great and the 2 cyl motor is smooth with plenty of power up the hills. Highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere D130

Posted7 June 2013
Customer avatar
BigLou
From:Campbell Hall, Hamptonburgh, NY USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had several lawn tractors through the years but never owned a John Deere. I have a little over an acre to mow with some slight hills and dales to tackel. I purchased this D130, 3 months ago and so far I am loving it. The cut is fantastic and performance is as advertised. I love the looks and feel and hope this tractor will continue to serve me as it is doing now for many years to come.
Prosgreat mower deck and cutgreat looks and feel
Consa bit awkward to use the reverse pedel
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One great mower

Posted7 June 2013
Customer avatar
Bobert
From:Washougal, WA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this mower almost a year now and put 23 hours on it. I love this machine. For those with problems I recommend reading the manual. I had smoke on start up at first, but following the manual and running at full throttle before shutdown fixed that. I bought the mower at Lowes and I found that it was not adjusted well when I bought it. I had uneven cuts when turning, but leveling the deck per the manual fixed that. The PTO cable was very slack until I adjusted it per the manual. The tires were over inflated until I checked the pressure. I have slightly better traction on slopes now. Poor traction on steep slopes is my only problem. The mower has plenty of power to get up a steep slope while mowing tall grass if the tires don't slip. I gave it a "good" on ease of use only because I don't like having to push the button to backup while mowing and having to disengage the PTO when getting off to move something.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - Worth the Money

Posted18 May 2013
Customer avatar
Yardy31
From:Middletown, CT, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my D130 after I ruined the deck on my old Scotts lawn tractor because I was too lazy to move the hammock stand in my backyard. I chose this model because I was limited to a 42" deck having a fenced in yard and the Scotts line of lawn tractors, which were made by John Deere & I was very happy with, had been discontinued. I'm interested in where many of these negative reviewers bought their tractors because I had been told by many people to only buy John Deere from a dealer due to the lack in quality control at other places. I also believe customer service is much better as well. The dealer I bought mine from installed my bagger attachment, checked everything from tire pressure to oil level before delivering, and gave me a brief overview after it was delivered. In regards to the bagging attachment, it will get clogged if the grass is too long or wet. I've found that sometimes I have to make two runs over my lawn, the first with the mower deck an inch higher than the second. Sure it takes a little more time but it's worth it not having the aggrevation. I would reccomend this tractor to anyone looking for a ride on mower. In fact, my father-in-law liked mine so much, that he gave up paying someone to mow his yard and bought one for his own!
Prosqualityquick startfeaturesattachments
Consfuel gauge position could be better
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere (What can I say) You get what you pay for

Posted4 May 2013
Customer avatar
RetiredMarine307
From:Jacksonville, NC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first ever John Deere purchase my previous riding mower was a craftsman 16HP 42" and had it five years and is still running good, however I am selling it because this JD D130 is replacing it, Second I normally don't write reviews, however I had to on this one I , I have 2hrs and I know that is not a lot of hours, however this JD d130 is one mean machine and would highly recommend this over the Husqvarna 24/48. John Deere makes and markets one of the best-selling lines of lawn tractors they are like the Harley Davidson is of Motorcycles when it come to looking for the best brand to buy and reliable. I purchased mine with out the extended warranty, because I put it on my American Express Business Gold card which gave me an additional year after the manufactures warranty expires so I get a total of 3 years on this Extreme Beast John Deere D130 riding lawn tractor. I bought it at Lowes and it is a true JD and will be serviced by a JD dealer locally when it needs to be serviced. Rides nice , started right up on first try. I did not have to adjust the wheel height , it cut my lawn perfectly and in less time than my 16 HP 42" Craftsman Riding Mower. Disregard any negative reviews because they must have gotten a lemon which can happen because humans do build them and we are not perfect and can make mistakes. Someone might have been tired that day when the built the D130 JD. By the way you can't please everyone and someone is always going to say something about something the don't like about it, just like Husqvarna they have a few bad review and Cub Cadet as well. However in my opinion I believe John Deere is like the Bentley of all mowers meaning you get way you pay for a quality, well built, reliable riding lawn tractor. If you want the best go get you a John Deere you will not regret it. It is the best thing since slice bread. JD D130 Rocks. Feel free to ask me any question about my JD D130, if you can afford one , go get one, you will not regret the purchase
Proshigh qualitydurable42" deckreliablewell builthydrostatic drmows in reverse
Consprice
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
20of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

QUALITY BUILT IN

Posted24 April 2013
Customer avatar
Swamper
From:Vacherie, LA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this macine for over a year now, it performs very well, powerfull engine & has an even cut. My only complaint is the engine does not run smooth at idle, has a miss in it, besides that a good mower.
Proswell built
Consunrefined engine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>