Customer reviews for JohnDeere D130 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D130 Lawn Tractor

The D130 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.283 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
Recommended by45 out of 5385%
Customer reviews for D130 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

Posted6 July 2014
Customer avatar
mungerov
From:Lansing, MI USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would highly recommend the D130 to anyone looking for a great riding lawn tractor. I don't have a lot of hours on mine at this time but it operates/runs like a champ since the day I purchased it. It takes basically not time getting use to "pushing" the button and reversing as it is second nature and do it fluidly. A great tractor for the price and seems durable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tractor!

Posted2 June 2014
Customer avatar
Jim46
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the D130 when we moved to a house with a larger yard last month. With buying from our local dealer we had the tractor--and the lawn cart we bought delivered to our house. This unit has been everything I hoped for and more. It cuts great and runs like a champ. We do have a small hill on our front lawn and have not had the issues that I've read in other reviews such as uneven cutting. Great value and love mowing the grass now!
Prosvalueperformance
Consnone at this time!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Dependable

Posted23 May 2014
Customer avatar
Jay1977
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Havent had a problem and it is very dependable. Wouldnt try another brand.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a quality lawn tractor

Posted11 May 2014
Customer avatar
Nate5567
From:Winthrop, ME, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our family bought this Deere last year, and we haven't had a problem with it ever since. Runs smoothly, is quiet, great horsepower, so many advantages to getting this one mower. When this year came around, it was easy to hook it up to a battery and juice it up for this season after the long winter. I have used it twice this year and it has had no problems. Leaves a wonderful look on your lawn, people are always complimenting how good it looks. I also mow our neighbor's lawn, it is full of hills and bumps but again it is not a problem for this Deere. Nothing runs like a Deere©
Proseasy startruns smoothlytop speed is perfectnot too much $worth every cent
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality tractor.

Posted8 May 2014
Customer avatar
BRRB
From:Western Montana
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading some of the reviews here, I was a little worried about my purchase of this mower. I waited for five days to get it delivered. The main gripes seem to be with regard to the bagging system.
Overall, I'm impressed with the quality of the mower. It is relatively quiet, yet has plenty of power. It's comfortable. Mowing quality is excellent and it's easy to use and maintain.
About the bagging. The first thing I did after buying the mower was to get some high-lift blades for it. The first thing I did after delivery was to remove the deck and install the new blades....then the bagger.
For anyone considering a D130 tractor with a bagger, it is an excellent unit. Mine bags just fine and packs the bags so tight that they are almost too heavy to carry. There isn't a tractor/bagger made that bags wet grass very well at all that I am aware of. Even expensive vacuum units don't do a good job. For those complaining about that,
you should seriously just use a push mower if you absolutely have to mow wet grass. They simply work batter than a tractor in those conditions. I would also recommend always installing high-lift blades for bagging. No matter what brand you buy, they are always more efficient.
The D130 is a great mower. I don't part with money real easily so I tend to think it was a little on the high side for price, however I am 100% happy with the mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In summary, I would buy this again.

Posted27 April 2014
Customer avatar
Gunnar
From:Ohio
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than enough smooth, quiet, power. Really good traction. Mows faster than I should. I haul firewood, use it for towing, pulling, jerking stuff loose, as in logs. Bought it at Lowes, and they did an excellent set up job. Don't like the deck clean out fitting, it's laying somewhere.
As I said, I would buy another one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D130 ROCKS!!!!

Posted4 January 2014
Customer avatar
cutler456
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have had this mower for two years.I cut about a half acre. I actually look forward to cutting the lawn now! Thanks for making an excellent product.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Mower

Posted27 December 2013
Customer avatar
Paul29
From:NH
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased 9/13. Used in that time for leaf removal. 1+acre and approx 50 trees in my yard. Runs strong v-twin power is impressive. Minimal vibration, comfortable seat, ease of maintenance. I Would recommend this mower to anyone
Prospowerdurabilityease of maintenance
Consprice of parts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT MOWER

Posted4 December 2013
Customer avatar
DUANE6
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUST GOT MINE .HAVE 6 ACRES OF GOLF COURSE QUALITY IT MOWS LIKE BUTTER AND LOOKS GREAT .IM 70 YRS OLD AND MOW ALL 6 ACRES AT ONE TIME.BEST MOWER EVER HAD
Prosgreat value
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing but good things to say

Posted16 September 2013
Customer avatar
KeithTexas
From:Texas
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this mower since the first of March, 2013. The dealer convinced me to go with the D130 over the D120, and I couldn't be happier. It has a lot of power and goes faster than I need it to go. It is a lot quieter, too. I mow a little over an acre in about 40 minutes, with trees and uneven ground. Gas use is about a gallon in 1 1/4 hours. Love not having to shift, and the reverse cutting is one of the reasons I chose this mower. It has a great turning radius. No problems with the cut or discharge, but clippings do build up on top of the deck. I always blow off the mower after anyway, so no problem. I haven't had any problems with starting, either hot or cold. I am still on the same blades as came with the mower, and I have a lot of Bahia grass which is rough on blades. Tires haven't lost any pressure at all. Maintenance is pretty easy, especially if you watch the videos available on this site. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this tractor so far!
Proslots of powercuts in reversegreat turning radius
Yes, I recommend this product.
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Third and best Deere I've owned

Posted26 August 2013
Customer avatar
Nick
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started out with an STX-38 and had that for about 12 years, which I bought from my brother who bought it new in '93. Decided to trade that for a D100 last year as it was starting to have reliability issues, not bad for being almost 20 years old.The D100 seemed quirky because you had single pedal for brake/clutch and the gear shift mechanism was very notchy. D130 is so smooth and powerful and has gas pedal to go whatever speed suits the terrain. Reverse is as easy as pushing in the reverse lockout button and stepping on the reverse pedal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drives like a dream,,,

Posted24 August 2013
Customer avatar
lgshesha
From:Alabama, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 64 and I think this mower was built just for me. It is easy to use, moves smoothly, turns with ease I would recommend this to anyone.
Prosexcellent
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent mower

Posted24 August 2013
Customer avatar
jerry35
From:Snead, AL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my D130 mower for almost 2 years now and I absolutely love it.it is definitely the best mower I have ever owned but at first I had some problems with keeping the deck level.so I adjusted the deck and wheels.bad mistake on my part.the problem was I had let the tire pressure get just a little bit off.so I had to get my deck set back like it was at the dealer.my tip would be to always check tire pressure first just being one pound off on the tire pressure can cause your mower to cut uneven and cause lines in the grass
Prosgreat mowergreat pricelots of power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
30of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding tractor

Posted24 August 2013
Customer avatar
OldSarge
From:Cumming, GA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works great and starts everytime. Drives easy and cuts even and level. Would recommend to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
17of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would buy it again

Posted11 August 2013
Customer avatar
bdog3099
From:Tyngsboro, MA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Am glad I went for the V twin
Bought from dealer, set up was great
No issues to date, had for a month now
I would recommend this for a homeowner, and I would buy it again.
Reverse button is not an issue.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Ridding Mower

Posted1 August 2013
Customer avatar
acep51
From:Pennsylvania, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had mine since last month and have had no problems. The only thing incorrect I found upon delivery from Lowes was the oil a half quart low and the tires a little over inflated. Out side of that it has run perfect! This is my second 100 series JD and the other I owned for 7 years my neighbor now has and it is still run fine for him.
I suppose you can get a problem unit from anywhere these days, but JD always seems to stand behind their product.
I recommend this mower!
Prosruns like a deere should
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Up date

Posted22 July 2013
Customer avatar
topper48
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My last post was before I had a chance to use the snow blower attachment. that was the best thing that I bought. it was fun using it no back pains an many happy people that live by me didn't have to remove snow all winter. I was surprised how much power it has. the only problem I had was the control. they wouldn't stay tight on the mower. what I did was get small washers the same size as the holes so when the bolt went tightened up the bracket wouldn't loosen up any more that was the only problem
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great mower

Posted21 July 2013
Customer avatar
KSIxHUNTBOY180x
From:Riverton, IL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this mower is great but i purchased the optional 8y cart and i broke when i put one bag of sand in it but the mower is excellent
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, powerful, lawn tractor!

Posted30 June 2013
Customer avatar
Moose
From:Ontario, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only owned my D130 for less than a week, and have only mowed our one plus acre once. It started right up, no smoke, ran smoothly and quietly. It has lots of power and can really move! Easy to handle, turns easily. Looking forward to using it every 5 to 7 days all summer. I would strongly recommend this tractor!
Proseasy to handlepowerfulwell built
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D130 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good mower with great power.

Posted28 June 2013
Customer avatar
Randall
From:Boaz Al.
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mows very low, turns pretty sharp. All adjustments seem very simple based on manual (I haven't adjusted anything.) and manual is actually readable. I would highly recommend based on price and the cut .
Prospowerful
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>