Customer reviews for JohnDeere D140 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D140 Lawn Tractor

The D140 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.314 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
Recommended by43 out of 4988%
Customer reviews for D140 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving this lawn tractor

Posted14 July 2014
Customer avatar
CarolinaPete
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought a home with a 1+ acre yard and steeps hills, so I needed something like this. I use all the horsepower this engine delivers and could not have gotten by with one of the less powerful models. It pulls up the hills easily and cuts the thickest grass without a problem. It's still new and time will tell how durable it is over the long haul, but so far it has been a pleasure to operate.
Prossolid buildpowerful enginewide base stable on hillswide cut
Consdoes not include bagger or mulching kitknobbier tires would help traction
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good move up.

Posted13 June 2014
Customer avatar
Jimithyone
From:Nebraska, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After years of satisfied use with a Craftsman rider i decided to move up. After looking at all the available choices i settled on the Deere D140. I am very pleased with the delivery to my door, the pre service of the tractor, the features, ease of use and overall quality of this tractor. I would recomend it to anyone wanting to step up to a superior product. I operate my tractor on a large property with uneven ground. takes aprox 2 hours to mow.the seat is suporting and does not leave me with the back pain i got from my small seat craftsman.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tanke care of it, it will take care of you!

Posted5 June 2014
Customer avatar
buzz
From:houston, mn
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you go to start a machine that has been sitting since last year you can bet the battery will be dead, if you are not smart enough to figure this out you should not have a riding lawn mower, maybe a non motorized push mower will be more your speed. Sorry for the rant, just could not let that one pass by.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-15points
5of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Tractor, great dealer support

Posted23 May 2014
Customer avatar
Bearcat
From:Independence, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought a new home with 1.5 acres so I needed my first lawn tractor. After much research I purchased a D140 from Shearer Equipment in North Royalton, OH. Brian the sales rep was great, taking time to find out what I needed and helping me get the right fit for my property. Jeff, the delivery man, spent half an hour going over the tractor with me and was extremely knowledgeable. The tractor is a beast, and my lawn looks like a manicured putting green when I am done. The bagger makes short work of the clippings and it maneuvers great around trees and flowerbeds. Best purchase I could have made, glad I choose a Deere!
Prosdealer supportmanueverability
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere D140 Lawn Tractor

Posted1 May 2014
Customer avatar
DaveinDover
From:Dover, ID, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rated a Best Buy by Consumer Reports, the D140 has the all the features that I needed in a lawn tractor. The reviews from owners of the other models helped me choose the one that would suit my needs the best. Thanks guys.
The Pros: The engine is really quiet, the mower deck cuts quite nicely and the bagging system works great even with the standard cutting blades. I got the high lift blades as backups but really didn't see much difference in the pickup ability between the two types. The reverse safety override switch is a seriously great idea even if it takes some getting used to it. The parking brake is so easy to use just like the cruise control. The installation of the bagging system took a little bit of work and even required me to drill a new hole in the mower deck to make it fit but it was not at all difficult and the parts all fit nicely. The mower plugged up twice on me but both times it was totally my fault for moving too fast for conditions. I have only had this mowing machine for a month but I can already tell that it's going to be a "keeper". This brings the total John Deere tractors at our house to three now. JD 870, JD 285, JD D140.
Cons: I should have gotten this tractor long ago. I wondered why the 140 didn't come standard with the front bumper so went ahead and bought a bumper for it anyway. The extra protection is cheap insurance.
To those reviewers who got a "lemon" or had significant problems, I hope you got them resolved and can honestly say that John Deere stands above the rest in quality and durability. If these machines are properly maintained and operated, they will last for many, many years. Be sure to get it from a John Deere dealer because they will give you priority service over the box stores.
I highly recommend this tractor for any mowing up to 5 acres as it will be up to the task to handle the job.
Remember, quality doesn't cost, it pays. Go Green or Go Home.
Prosquiet mows very nicely easy operation.bagger works great and easy to empty.
Consno front bumper as standard equipment.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
22of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super tractor!

Posted3 February 2014
Customer avatar
Jetboy44
From:La Plata, MO 63549, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a LT133 for almost 20 years and finally upgraded. I wish I had done it sooner. The V-twin is quieter and more powerful. Much tighter turn. I mow approx. 3 acres of lawn and this year used it to clear out a garden spot in approx. 1 acre of overgrown pasture. Worked through it effortlessly. I wouldn't recommend using it for this all the time but it is a Deere!
My only complaint is I wish they would switch that hood latch from plastic. It broke off on the LT133 and I never found a used replacement($500 new) and I see the D140 uses the same plastic w/no wire to keep it from flipping and breaking off.
Most importantly, it has a cup holder and small compartment, a feature my boss(wife) complained about on the LT for many years!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tough mower!!

Posted26 January 2014
Customer avatar
SmittysD140
From:British Columbia
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is my first John Deere tractor. I bought my D140 from Prairie Coast Equipment in Kelowna BC. I LOVE THIS TRACTOR! I am a small time landscaper and quality equipment is a must for me. This tractor performs tremendously well and completes my every task with flying colors. I was a little nervous buying this tractor because on our property we have some steep grades. This mower handles them like a champ! I have 87 hours on the beast, with no signs of slowing down. This tractor will tow a full 10p trailer up a hill with no struggle. It will bag better than any lawn tractor I have ever seen. It will bag leaves, grass and pine needles and wont leave any spills. This tractor is a 10 out of 10 in my opinion. If you are a property owner, or a small landscaper, this tractor is perfect for you. This machine is super user friendly. It is easy to operate and control, not to mention comfy! Head to your local dealership today to get a price. The salesman that i dealt with was very supportive and gave suggestions to help my decision. "Nothing Runs Like A Deere"
Prosbest bang for your buckuser friendlytougheasy to maintaincheapgood mulchergood at bagginggood for towing equipment
Consthere isn't any!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tractor

Posted19 January 2014
Customer avatar
georgy123
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This John Deere D140 series tractor is by far the best mower i have ever owned period. I have purchased a mulching kit for my unit and this mower devours the leaves like its noting i can go through piles of leaves 8 inches high and it destroys them no problem. It starts up on the dime and it is easy to change the oil and regular seasonal maintenance. I would definitely recommend this tractor to anyone else
Proseasy to usetractor is a beast
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This lawn tractor is a breeze to use.

Posted8 January 2014
Customer avatar
BIGBRUCE
From:Boonville, NY 13309, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this D140 for almost two years and it hasn't given me a lick of trouble. I start the engine and in an hour the job is done. I have a little over 1 acre in Boonville, New York. I am a 67-year-old disabled Vietnam veteran and that's why I have the lawn tractor. I am using it with a snow blower mounted on the front and it clears away any snow that's there. It takes me about 45 minutes to clear the driveway and parking area. Our garage is located in the basement of our home so I need to keep that area clear so I can get the van out. We haven't had a lick of trouble using it for that purpose. I would recommend anyone who has a large lawn or a lot of snow to purchase this product!!
Prosease of use
Conscan not really list a con
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

Posted29 December 2013
Customer avatar
Bama
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I taught my wife how to use this mower in less than five minutes. Now she uses it more than me.......
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Solid Product

Posted18 October 2013
Customer avatar
Bigguy
From:Hopkins, MN, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My D140 is perfect for my one acre property. I have a short but steep hill and this unit has plenty of power to handle the hill. The three blade deck gives me a good level cut and the machine has a surprisingly short turn radius. My old machine had and electric PTO so I am glad I moved up to this unit to get this feature. My previous lawn tractor was a heavier duty unit with a very heavy duty mower deck and all metal construction but D140 is the perfect balance between heavy duty and affordable for my acre wooded lot. This unit gives you many big tractor features compared to my neighbor's less expensive units. And it uses half as much fuel as my former 1989 unit.
Proshandsome unitgood fuel economyshort turn radiusbig tractor feel
Consmower deck blows leaves ahead of tractor a bit
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

Posted12 October 2013
Customer avatar
Fred67
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish I had bought it 4 months earlier. Easy to get around a swing set in the middle of the lawn. I would recommend to any one that needs a ridding lawn mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Great

Posted27 September 2013
Customer avatar
Birdie
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mower is a great mower that almost anyone can use. I do not have anything bad to say about this lawn mower. This mower is very powerful, I hauled over 500 pounds of wood back and fourth with this beast.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere's online add

Posted7 August 2013
Customer avatar
Joeh
From:Bulls Gap
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I bought my D140 I was expecting a 22hp Kawasaki, but the D-140 only comes stock with 22 hp Briggs Stratton, so why does JD advertise that way? But regardless I love it anyway....
Prosgreat deal
Consnone that i can find
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the D 140 Best Mower Purchase To Date

Posted14 July 2013
Customer avatar
DBodee22
From:Central, IL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I moved to a lot that was a little too big for a push mower although i tried pushing it the first five times i mowed. finally gave in and after much online research and visits to my local JD retailer, i landed on the D 140. Added mulching discharge cover and front bumper. This is an outstanding product. Cut is exactly what i wanted and ride and ease of operation is amazing. Really like the high back seat and cup holder. My initial worry was would the rider have same or comparable cut to the push mower. Well, after two cuts, i think it is better. Like the 48" wide path and it really makes the yard look great. No grass clippings lines left at all. Adding the mulch kit is the way to go. Plenty if not too much power for my needs, but I am all about getting the right tool for the job. I am definitely recommending this mower to anyone looking for one to handle any yard size. My best mower purchase to date and well satisfied.
db
Proscutrideease of usepowerturning radiuscontrols easy to reach and comfortable
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top tracter

Posted22 June 2013
Customer avatar
babo
From:Central,Florida
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the D140 and very happy with it,much better then my old one other brand.Wow does it cut the lawn with ease and the trackter, is so easy to steer and start and all things are right there in the open to work on if you have too,workmen ship is excellent as well,I'd to my friends to buy one if there in the market
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good tractor you will need to pour synthetic auto transmission fluid in the tranny.

Posted1 June 2013
Customer avatar
wizard
From:idaho
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good mower cuts nice. When it starts to slip pour in synthetic atf fluid and it will work better than new pour fluid put in at factory meant to lose viscosity. Good tractor overall. Suck out old fluid with a hand pump. pour in atf and be amazed. Change after about 50hrs of atf used and repeat process to get out all original fluid and the tranny will last as long as the engine which is longer than 200hrs!
Prosnice cutcomfortableeasy to maintainlong lastinggood on hills with atf
Consbad fluid put in at factory needs to be changed
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best riding lawn mower and value

Posted16 May 2013
Customer avatar
VietnamVeteran1969
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just recently purchased a D140 riding lawn mower. All I can say it is awesome. Great cutting deck and adjustments, easy to use, cutting power, & lots of gripping power on a hill. About 9 months ago I purchased a Husqvarna 48". Boy was I disappointed. Biggest piece of junk I ever bought. Couldn't wait to sell it and I did. Unfortunately had to take a huge price cut to sell it. I believe in the saying "Nothing runs like a Deere".
Prosreliablecutting powerexcellent tractioneasy to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best tractor i ever had

Posted25 March 2013
Customer avatar
bigG
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought my D140 from lowes last years floor model and saved money , I have a hill to climb to cut and it does it like its nothing great power the best i ever had ,wish i did this several years ago .
Prospowerfully
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D140 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You think this thing would die!

Posted2 March 2013
Customer avatar
Wifey
From:Ardrossan, AB, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We moved from a condo to an acreage in May this year (we are in central Alberta, Canada). Neither of us have any real lawn mowing experience, but research showed the D140 had the most power, the bigger deck, at the lowest price. We have three acres. At the time of moving in, we had to cut the 2 acres worth of lawn, which was hilly, and the back yards has a lot of obstacles, and the steep ditch. Then, due to bad timing, we ended up having to tackle the one acre of pasture, full of gopher holes, and about 4 -5 feet tall, mostly weeds. Deere-dre made some not so pleasant noises, but she did it. Sometimes we had to go over the same spot two or three times (Canada Thistle and Lamb's Quarters stalks are like young saplings). All in all, she did good. we attached the hose in her deck and cleaned her off. We bought an after market steel trailer, she hauled it, loading with heavy duty fencing rails, posts, a medium-sized generator, and other equipment for our entire fencing adventure.
When the snow fell, we did buy the John Deere 44" snowblower attachment (with chains and weights). It took longer to attach than what it said, but we did it. Dropping the mower deck was surprisingly easy. Deere-dre is now a snowblowing machine. She sits in our non-heated, non-insulated garage. Starts when we need her (coldest was -22 C), and has blown snow 2 feet deep. Our driveway is 350 meters, gravel, with a turn around large enough for a firetruck/schoolbus to turn with out reversing.
The seat is a comfy foam, and survived being munched on by our horse. It still shows a dent, but didn't rip. It's not overly loud, and it does the job of a much larger machine.
Something that I found hard to get use to was the pressing the button to reverse with the blades engaged. I have no problems removing the mowing deck, attaching the mowing deck, changing the height of the deck (wish it went one more inch higher), changing the height of the snowblower, or cleaning the deck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+35points
38of 41voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>