Customer reviews for JohnDeere D170 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D170 Lawn Tractor

The D170 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
Recommended by30 out of 3586%
Customer reviews for D170 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Made

Posted27 June 2015
Customer avatar
zachd170
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my John Deere for 3 years now. Got it June 2012, and since that day it has been nothing but happy mowing with this mower. I really test its limits and I use it at every possible moment. Many say these mowers are not good at all for reliability, but with anything you buy you role the dice with. I knew of the so called "weak" transmissions in these and completely over looked it and was happy I did. I ended up buying the machine and dont regret it. Went from a simplicity to this. This cut with the JD is much better. When people ask me how many hours I have on this machine they cant believe it ,being a 100 series mower but I think I've proved them reliable. I Have just recently crossed 485 hours on my machine and the only hiccup we had was at 250 hours the ignition coil went. No biggy, dealer was willing to help, came and picked up the machine for free, fixed the issue in one day and had me my mower back. Transaxle still pulls strong, I cut on steep grades and use it for towing my trailer with firewood, bricks, etc. I plan to keep this mower till the wheels fall off, its really an excellent machine. My next purchase will without a doubt be a green and yellow machine. To keep these machines just do regular maintenance, i do oil, and all the filters and plugs every 50-55 hours.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Have only had it for 4 days, but so far so good.

Posted9 June 2015
Customer avatar
DonaldK
From:Corfu, NY
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well I bought this D170 to replace my 33 year out Cub Cadet, that I just got tired of repairing since many parts on it are just wearing out, although it still runs great. I was a little hesitant spending 2800.00 for a mower, but went with the John Deere because of the great reputation and reviews from Consumer Reports. Got it from Lowes because I was able to get a special low finance rate of 5.99% for up to 84 months.
I have to admit, I am sure I would have gotten a lot better customer service from a specialized dealer but the big box store was easier to get too when I had time.
Only problem so far, was that when I got the machine home, it would not start since the battery was very close to being dead. If I were someone who had never needed or had any other riding power equipment I would have been super up set. Since I have a good battery charger right there in the garage I charged it up for 30 mins, filled the tank with gas and then cut the lawn. It seems to be fine now after running it for just over 3 hours cutting my 2 acres which was close to 8 inches high and then pulling the sweeper around to clean up the clippings left behind. The mower did an excellent job in this relatively tall grass without any problems, plenty of power. There are only a couple of things I do not really like. One is the location of the deck height control lever. Just to the left of the seat does cause me a problem getting on and off since the plastic chute guard makes the right side more difficult getting on and off. The other thing that I am not sure I like is that so much of the machine is plastic. Yeah, it won't rust but I am sure that it probably won't last 30+ years either. Time will tell!
Prosplenty of powerwide 54 inch deck18 in turning radius
Constires look cheaper than average not much treadlots of plastic parts
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tractor with some minor repairable problems

Posted8 June 2015
Customer avatar
PBarcola
From:Honesdale, PA 18431, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought my D170 in April of 2014, so I've used it for over a year now on a 5 acre lot. It takes me about 4-6 hours to cut it all depending on the thickness of the grass and other things. I go slower when it is really thick/T
tall. Overall it does a good job when the grass is low to start with. If the grass is tall, it will leave a small line of uncut grass in the middle of the cut. I don't know if this problem can be fixed. it's no problem when the grass is low. So if you cut your grass weekly this is not a problem.
Second problem is the seat springs are not strong enough for a 250 lbs man. They slam so hard as you go over bounces that at the end of the day your back really hurts from the pounding.
To repair it go to John Deere and buy the rubber coated springs.
They are the heaviest duty . However, I purchased a pair of stronger springs from them ($11.00), but I will get the stronger rubber ones the next time I'm in town. The springs I did purchase, did help a lot, no more back pain.
So all in all, it is a good tractor so far. I had a L100 for 11 years and it sure took a beating. I still have it, but its retired now. HAHa. I just won't let it go. So I'm hoping my new D170 will last as long.
They make great Lawn tractors.
Good luck.
Phil Barcola
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

D170 Review

Posted18 May 2015
Customer avatar
Basecamp
From:Florida
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Above average lawn tractor --- BUT --- the front end wheel steering linkages could not be more poorly designed. You would think they were built for a toy. If you buy this overall good model expect to spend some down time occasionally replacing the front wheel steering arms. There is no excuse for this problem as I have had many far cheaper mowers that never had this incapacitating problem.
Proshandlingcutting abilitypowerwidth of cut
Conspoor front wheel linkages
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Do not use premium fuel!

Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
scoootz
From:Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I always run premium fuel in all of my small, gas powered equipment. When i bought this mower, I began running it with premium fuel, and it would backfire and idle uneven. When running the mower attachment, it would smooth itself out, but whenever the mower was not running and the engine was not under any load, it would run very poorly. I sent it back to Deere after putting about 4 hours on it. When I got it back, it was still doing the same thing. i tried a couple of different fuel stabilizers, but the problem continued. I kept running it like this all summer. After talking with some friends about the problem, I found another person who had the same issue with a different brand mower. They suggested running regular fuel instead of premium, so I tried it out. Ever since I switched to regular fuel, it has been running excellent, and I have not had any issues since.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
19of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D170 is the mowers mower

Posted28 October 2014
Customer avatar
RICKMAN
From:Dyersburg, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purchase 4 month ago-- it replace a 9 year old Troy Bilt 42 inch 21 hp mower.
The 54 inch deck and 25 hp has cut my time by half. the speed and power are great. My yard is 2+ acres. The grass not only gets a great cut ,but the D170 then pulls a grass sweeper afterwards to give that clean neat look. NO problems other than occasional dip cuts from to sharp of a turn. Love the quietness of mower and the power. Easy to maintance-REGULAR oil changes is the life of any motor and 93 octane always-- no excuses.. THANK YOU JOHN DEERE AND BRIGGS for the D170........
Prospowerperformancereliable
Consoccasional dip cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Machine

Posted29 August 2014
Customer avatar
grube
From:North Saanich, BC, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only two issues:
1. As per some other complaints on this site, the mower deck does not like to mow on lateral slopes. It leaves ridges of grass behind and it is necessary to re-mow over this (with marked results) to eliminate the ridges.
2. Mulcher attachment is marginal as it requires frequent passes -- some of this being related to previous issue.
Other than that, I am happy with it.
Prosconstructionease of use
Conslateral mowingmulch kit
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good lawn tractor

Posted11 August 2014
Customer avatar
peteman
From:Oakley, KS 67748, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this mower has been a good investment. when first picked up there was an issue with the lift rockshaft retainer, it was broke from factory, replaced it and also added a steel reinforcement so that should never be a problem again.
we also put the blower bagger on it and it sure makes the lawns at home look really nice. we had a 2046 saber and i thought it was a pretty good mower as far as power, turning and mowing, but this D-170 will out do it, especially in turning. i really love the seat on the new tractor and it seems to rides alittle better.
so far it has treated us really well and it sure cuts the mowing time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving my Deere !

Posted1 July 2014
Customer avatar
TacticalPunch
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've had it about a month now. I have to mow my 1 acre corner lot about twice a week, the 54" deck makes short work of it. I get it done in about 35 minutes and push mow the rest. The controls take some getting used too but once you mow a couple times you get it down. I've added a mulching kit and bagger. This is truly a world class mower,you won't be disappointed. The only con I have is the mower deck top is hard to clean. The pulley covers hold what seems like a yard of lawn material. i think investing in a pressure washer will quickly cure this though.
Prosreally well builtlots of powerlots of add-onscomfortablefast
Conshard to clean
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wreck

Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
Rolyat1958
From:New York State
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
I have 2 J.D's. This model is a wreck. I had a weld break on the mower deck. I had that fixed. It should not have snapped. I had to replace the battery after one season. Now the transmission is shot. WIll not go forwards or backwards. The JD dealer said it's out of warranty and $800.00 to repair. His exact words to me are: These do not have the best transmissions. I have 52 hours on it and keep it maintained only by J.D. dealer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+32points
35of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Machine!

Posted21 June 2014
Customer avatar
zach26
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this machine and could not be happier. I am always finding reasons to just go use. I bought it 2 years ago from a dealer and 2 years later I have 317 hours on the machine. Ive spent a total of 7 and a half hours on this machine in one day once and i got off of it at the end of all that time in no pain! Adjustable lumbar seat is a big plus and the big rear tires provide for a nice ride. Steering is light as well and engine is smooth. I cut on very bumpy terrain and there are no squeaks from the deck or anything. I do maintenance on it during the mowing season and then bring it to the dealer to be fully serviced over the winter. oil changes and filter every 50 hours. It cuts beautifully. Not to mention at 2,799 for a 54 inch deck mower is a steal! At 297 hours I had an issue. I have a lot of trees and i drive around them quickly and so my steering went on it. Went out pretty early. What happened was it went out of alignment and it didnt turn left. when you turned the wheel left nothing would happen, turning right was all it would do. the issue was the teeth that are on the steering plate wore down and the part from the steering wheel was skipping over it. so, replaced the plate ($60) and all is well. Also, im just nit picking now to try to find things wrong but, the head lights also went, they're pretty cheap, $7 per bulb so im not really complaining. But, I wear my john deere hat while cutting proudly and happily recommend this machine.
Proseverything!
Conssteering went out quickly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Runs very Poorly

Posted5 June 2014
Customer avatar
mflynn1736
From:Hornell, NY
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this mower a year and half ago and have had nothing but problems. It runs unevenly, even after having it serviced twice. Right after I purchased this tractor it started with the problem, and the service I received from the dealer was extremely poor. They took it to their shop and kept it for 3 weeks, and when they finally returned it, it had the same problem. I own 2 other mowers and a JD tractor and I love all of those. Would not recommend this tractor or my dealer.
Consruns poorly
No, I do not recommend this product.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

Posted17 May 2014
Customer avatar
tmax
From:Athens, AL, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cut a lot of grass, this mower rides and drives great, bought on labor day 2013 it now has 85 hrs.
I do have to choke it everytime I crank it,no big deal. The center grease fitting in the front axle could be improved,needs a angled one. Cuts smoother if you run it at a medium speed. This is my second JD. Good machine for the money, bought at Lowes.
Prospowerful-good machine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good Lawn Tractor at all

Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
Okye
From:Kearneysville, WV 25430, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am now on my 3rd D170 within a 12 month period. The first one had a issue with the gas line, the second had a issue with starting up now the third one is sitting in the shop having the PTO repaired because the blades will not engage at 27 hours of use.
At the cost of this product I was expecting a good product like my father owned but was disappointed. My D170 has been sitting in the shop waiting in line to be repaired for three weeks now and during this time I've had to rent a lawn tractor to keep up with my grass. Each time I rent one it cost me $85. This is a cost which I feel I should not be paying to rent after paying $2799.00 for a mower.
Consnot sturdy
No, I do not recommend this product.
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ergonomics not very user friendly

Posted6 April 2014
Customer avatar
rustynail
From:Georgia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have 3 hours on my d170 and I am not at all impressed by the controls layout, the deck adjustment lever is on the left side rear fender...the side I am used to exiting on. it will tear your pants off!! the back up button should be on the right side of the steering wheel. I bought this mower to replace a scotts s2554 purchased in 2002. At this point I am second guessing my decision due to the odd position of the controls,and lack of overall qualityl . The deck makes more noise and vibrates more than my 12 year old mowers does and is missing paint where the rear support gussets are welded on( black primer visible)
Front wheels do not have grease fittings, and deck stabilization devices have been eliminated from this model< not a good idea on a 54 wide deck.
Prospretty
Consergomomics
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does not like tall grass

Posted3 January 2014
Customer avatar
CutterBill
From:Newport News, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mower deck clogs up badly when trying to cut grass approx. 12" - 14" high. will stall engine and / or break belt. if you are not planning to mow on a weekly basis consider something else. my old 155c with 48" deck has no problem cutting in these conditions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-15points
8of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you don't have one, I recommend you get one.

Posted20 December 2013
Customer avatar
Camper
From:Oromocto, NB, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had it for 2 years now, works fantastic, mowes grass up to 12 to 14 inches, the grass catcher works great, I have the 2 bagger, I have a trailer for it and it works great. My next buy is the snow blower yet to come.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

Posted7 October 2013
Customer avatar
tractordaddy
From:Washington, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the 170 for two seasons now and had no problems with it, it mows well the onlything I can say is that if you have an uneven lawn like my 3+ acres the 54 inch deck is a little uneven when mowing but other than that it starts right up and have had no issues with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good tractor

Posted3 September 2013
Customer avatar
fyrmnjim
From:Waynesville, Ohio
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just put over 50 hours on my D170 and am satisfied so far. It starts quickly, although you frequently have to choke it even when the engine is hot. I bought a blade gauge and the deck uses a 3 point adjuster and is fairly easy to level. I haven't removed the deck yet, but it seems fairly straight forward. Grease fittings are easily accessible and the oil is easy to change, so routine maintenance should not be a problem. The engine is very strong. Deck washer is a nice gadget, but doesn't work that great.
I have a rolling 2.5 acres with lots of bumpy areas. The frame has flexed quite a bit and so far so good. Time will tell how the frame holds out. I sometimes have to cross cut in the rolling areas, but that's just the downside of having a 54" deck.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase and we'll see how it performs plowing snow this winter.
Prospowerful enginereliableeasy routine maintenance
Conscold natured (needs to choke on restarts)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wow... it cuts with the precision of a machete

Posted25 August 2013
Customer avatar
Machete
From:Eustis, FL
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you want a yard that looks like it was cut by a bush hog, then this is the mower for you. Or if your looking for a reason to ride your mower 2-3 times longer than normal while you double and triple cut your yard in an effort to try and cut all the grass that was smashed down by the front wheels and then missed... again this is the mower for you. What a waste of money this was...
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
18of 42voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>