Customer reviews for JohnDeere D170 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D170 Lawn Tractor

The D170 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
Recommended by19 out of 2190%
Customer reviews for D170 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ergonomics not very user friendly

Posted6 April 2014
Customer avatar
rustynail
From:Georgia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have 3 hours on my d170 and I am not at all impressed by the controls layout, the deck adjustment lever is on the left side rear fender...the side I am used to exiting on. it will tear your pants off!! the back up button should be on the right side of the steering wheel. I bought this mower to replace a scotts s2554 purchased in 2002. At this point I am second guessing my decision due to the odd position of the controls,and lack of overall qualityl . The deck makes more noise and vibrates more than my 12 year old mowers does and is missing paint where the rear support gussets are welded on( black primer visible)
Front wheels do not have grease fittings, and deck stabilization devices have been eliminated from this model< not a good idea on a 54 wide deck.
Prospretty
Consergomomics
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does not like tall grass

Posted3 January 2014
Customer avatar
CutterBill
From:Newport News, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mower deck clogs up badly when trying to cut grass approx. 12" - 14" high. will stall engine and / or break belt. if you are not planning to mow on a weekly basis consider something else. my old 155c with 48" deck has no problem cutting in these conditions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-9points
3of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you don't have one, I recommend you get one.

Posted20 December 2013
Customer avatar
Camper
From:Oromocto, NB, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had it for 2 years now, works fantastic, mowes grass up to 12 to 14 inches, the grass catcher works great, I have the 2 bagger, I have a trailer for it and it works great. My next buy is the snow blower yet to come.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

Posted7 October 2013
Customer avatar
tractordaddy
From:Washington, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the 170 for two seasons now and had no problems with it, it mows well the onlything I can say is that if you have an uneven lawn like my 3+ acres the 54 inch deck is a little uneven when mowing but other than that it starts right up and have had no issues with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good tractor

Posted3 September 2013
Customer avatar
fyrmnjim
From:Waynesville, Ohio
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just put over 50 hours on my D170 and am satisfied so far. It starts quickly, although you frequently have to choke it even when the engine is hot. I bought a blade gauge and the deck uses a 3 point adjuster and is fairly easy to level. I haven't removed the deck yet, but it seems fairly straight forward. Grease fittings are easily accessible and the oil is easy to change, so routine maintenance should not be a problem. The engine is very strong. Deck washer is a nice gadget, but doesn't work that great.
I have a rolling 2.5 acres with lots of bumpy areas. The frame has flexed quite a bit and so far so good. Time will tell how the frame holds out. I sometimes have to cross cut in the rolling areas, but that's just the downside of having a 54" deck.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase and we'll see how it performs plowing snow this winter.
Prospowerful enginereliableeasy routine maintenance
Conscold natured (needs to choke on restarts)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wow... it cuts with the precision of a machete

Posted25 August 2013
Customer avatar
Machete
From:Eustis, FL
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you want a yard that looks like it was cut by a bush hog, then this is the mower for you. Or if your looking for a reason to ride your mower 2-3 times longer than normal while you double and triple cut your yard in an effort to try and cut all the grass that was smashed down by the front wheels and then missed... again this is the mower for you. What a waste of money this was...
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
7of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This machine cuts excellent

Posted31 May 2013
Customer avatar
Cory
From:Maine, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have approx. 7 hours on my D170 and I am in love!!! Its a great piece and I am very glad I made the choice to buy this. I have about 1 1/2 acres of lawn to mow. The mower deck is easy to adjust and cuts extremely level! The price is a little steep but once I saw how it worked I was impressed!! If you have a big lawn and can spend the money, this is your machine!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D170- BEST LAWN tractor for home

Posted30 May 2013
Customer avatar
TAZMANTIM
From:Michigan City,In.
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this model last year-2012. Best tractor, I've ever had. well worth the money. Strong 26 Horse v-twin eng. smooth, quite, strong..Great turning radis. smooth ride, very comfortable seat,.excelent blower,sheder, bagger. Large rear wheels makes the ride very smooth. Blower is belt driven, into 2 bages instead of 3, very strong..hour meter keeps tract of sched maintance, reminds you when & what to check, replace , or service..
I would recommend this to everyone..
TAZ-MAN-TIM
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

Posted20 May 2013
Customer avatar
Donsom43
From:Wichita, KS, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The thickness of the mower deck is a good thing. I've had other mowers and I would Have holes in the deck before end of season.
Starts every time and a good strong engine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has a better feature then the old models.

Posted20 May 2013
Customer avatar
Pookey
From:Sodus, NY 14551, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You can now get off the seat with out the engine stopping. There is alot of engine power, very comfort seat, and very easy to use.
Prosyou can now get off the seat with out the engine s
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mower deck rocks/tilts laterally and jump from D140 to D170 is $800

Posted16 May 2013
Customer avatar
sjp70
From:Willoughby Hills, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the D170 to replace a Cub Cadet LT1042 (42'' cut) and wanted to get the widest cut for the least amount of money. The D170 cut my mowing time by 30 minutes on 2 semi-wide open acres. I wish the D140 was a 54'' cut; would have saved $800! D170 cuts nicer than my Cub. Steering is smoother/easier too. Like the 26-hp for hauling cut wood, etc. The quality of the cut is excellent for a residential mower. I had a landscaper cut my lawn the week before I purchased the D170 with a 54'' Dixie Chopper commercial. Cut quality is just as nice as the Dixie, but of course the Dixie cuts 1/3 faster than a residential mower. Only real compliant about the D170 is that the 54'' deck with rock laterally over bumping terrain. The result is scalping on the outer edge of the deck. Not a big deal unless you have a nice lawn. Seems that the engineers need to revisit the lateral play in the deck. So, going 1/2 the max speed is key to an even cut. I like that John Deere demands that all retailers sell their mowers at the same advertised MSRP. Therefore, I went to my local Deere dealer, Lake Erie Lawn and Garden in Mentor, OH. Glad to give them the business. Lastly, I spent a couple weeks talking to neighbors about their lawn tractors that were comparable to the D140 and D170. Hands down, the Deere owners had zero complaints. The other owners who owned the competition had some negative things to say. Not enough time to list the details, but trust me, the comlpaints were significant enough to persuade me to purchase a Deere. Glad I did. Just wish the D170 wasn't $800 more than the D140!
Prosreally nice cutnice hp
Consdeck rocks laterally on bumpy terrainprice diff between d140 and d170don't like the rio button
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would NOT recommend!

Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
fiveodole
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I find it to be very cheaply made. Stupid things are breaking, like the seat bolts coming up through the fender, (I'm an average size guy) the steering gear is stripped so I can't turn left. It's only 2 years old. Not happy with it.
Conscheaply made
No, I do not recommend this product.
-8points
7of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D170 - excellent product!!

Posted8 October 2012
Customer avatar
ohio51mower
From:Medina, OH 44256, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just picked this tractor up on Saturday morning from a dealer and I could not be happier with the transaction. The D170 is very nice and cuts very well. The seat is the best on the market and really makes mowing an easy experience. I worked for the competition and have taken these units apart often to see how John Deere can make a nicer unit for cheaper and that is exactly what pushed me to this unit. I know that this unit is well built and is easy to maintain. I look forward to many trouble-free years with this one!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
28of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Riding Mower Out There!

Posted4 September 2012
Customer avatar
zach0217
From:New Jersey, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got my D170 3 months ago and it has been a champ. I traded my Simplicity Axion with a 50 inch deck for the D170. I traded my Simplicity with 361 hours on it. After a while the cut on it was becoming pretty bad and i always cut on the highest setting but the highest setting was still too low! After i did some research i looked at a lot of different mowers. I ended up falling in love with the D170 because of its great looks, big deck, quality of the cut, gas economy, cruise control, the powerful power plant and the lumbar adjusting seat! Thats a premium feature that you will never find on any other riding tractor. I have been the grease monkey with my D170, i have been changing the oil, oil filter and done some of the lubrications. Like i said I have had my D170 for 3 months and she has 29.2 hours on her. I mow 2 acres of grass every 5 days. Also when time passes by mowing it feels like the mower is getting better, what i mean by that is it feels like it wants to keep going and do anything you want it to do. The D170 gets the job done in comfort and style. John Deere really hit the spot with this wonderful riding tractor! I would highly recommend this tractor to any one who has 2-2.5 acres of grass and wants to mow in a nice manor.
Prosheadlightsstylecruise controllumbar seatcut qualityuses little gasengine
Consnone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
27of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick set up and easy to use

Posted17 August 2012
Customer avatar
arod
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this today and brought it home myself , all I had to do was add gas , connect the battery cable and install the front bumper. Great larger size fule tank than my old tractor.
Excellent power and cutting performance and the V twin is smoother and quiter than what I was used to.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my D170

Posted2 August 2012
Customer avatar
ZX12RMCKEE
From:Woodbridge, CT
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first lawn tractor, and I'm happy that I bought the biggest deck and motor I could afford. This machine pulls a lot of weight, and is very durable so far. The cut somtimes leaves a small amount of grass down the middle of the cutting area uncut, and I'm not sure why. I may be cutting too fast. So far I am extremely happy, and the only complaint I have is about the deck sometimes leaving grass uncut.. I don't know how I survived without this machine before, I use it for everything! I bought the thatcherator, small poly cart ( I already have a large metal trailor), and spreader. The only thing I would add is the bagger, but its really expensive. I have pulled my large trailor filled with about 550lbs of material and it was no problem. My brother has a D140, and my friend a select 300 series. Both of them are nice machines as well, but I prefer the deck size and motor size of my machine compared to both of theirs. The 170 is a great machine and I thank Jonh Deere for making an affordable, high horsepower, large deck mower.
Proshorsepowerlarge cutting decklow center of gravitystarts every time!
Conssometimes leaves grass uncut
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product Has Great Features

Posted30 July 2012
Customer avatar
Zack473
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought a d170 a month ago and I could not be happier with it. The d170 has a smooth ride, is good on gas, has a very good cut, has a well performing engine and is quiet. I have a 2 acre lawn and i cut in about and 1 hour and 45 minutes. I am driving this deere until the engine stops working!
Proseverything
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice machine - Use every bit of it!

Posted12 July 2012
Customer avatar
Chinzo
From:Erie, PA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I mow about 1 acre - I know I could be mowing it with walk behind mower, but too busy to spend the time, and when i'm not too busy - I'm too lazy! :)
This D170 Lawn mower is very comfortable to sit on, starts right up, good power, fast speed, good turn radius, nice automatic transmission with reverse mowing capability. Just everything I needed. I've got free cart with this and it comes very handy moving firewood to my fire pit, moving mulch and dirt. Nice cup holder with little enclosed toolbox comes handy. Mows very level and end results are great! Will definitely buy another one - but don't need it :)
Chinzo
Prosrevers mowingautomaticfast
Consheadlight could be more brighter
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

even eldery can use it

Posted5 April 2012
Customer avatar
4630
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I FARM WITH JOHN DERRE . IT IS EASY TO USE,D 170 GOOD MOWER TO USE,VERY STRONG TACTOR.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+26points
32of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

would not buy another product with my money.

Posted23 March 2012
Customer avatar
happyfitz
From:Kountze, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it handles great and makes me feel like i was in my 20's again. i have a replaced right shoulder and other health problems at age 60 and i just cant find another product that makes it easier on me to keep my lawn up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
37of 44voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>