Customer reviews for JohnDeere D170 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D170 Lawn Tractor

The D170 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.026 / 5
4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
Recommended by31 out of 3979%
Customer reviews for D170 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Should have bought something else

Posted3 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Dayton, TX
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just turned one year of purchase. Second time within a month that it's been to the shop. First time took three weeks to get the governor replaced. Went to use it the next weekend after getting out of the shop and the engine vibrated so bad that the oil drain nipple vibrated out. The tires keep going flat which is aggravating, I have a D110 and have never had a minutes trouble. Wished this one was as good. I might get it back in three weeks. Not sure. Been at the shop for a week and they haven't even looked at it yet. Is John Deere products so bad that the shops can't keep up with all the repairs? If I had to do it all over I would look around more before buying another Deere.
Consunreliable
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little tractor

Posted1 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Blue Springs, MO, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought it replace a larger diesel tractor used to mow 5 acres.
My only complaint is that you have to push a button to back up with th blades running. Guess that is a good safety feature if you mow with blinders on in a group of children.. Wife loves her smaller l120 lawn tractor..
Proslike the cruise controlquickgood turn radius
Consbackup shut off
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

20 hours in already a problem

Posted16 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Westminster, MD, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this because of the reputation of the brand. 20 hours in the main transmission drive belt is wasted and wont move. Checked pulleys, nothing stuck in there. So here we go, a tractor that wont move. Everything says these belts should last years.
Consdrive belt life only 20 hours
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Low end quality all the way

Posted5 July 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Currently own a x739 its great , Bought d170 for utility odds & ends yes it's cheaper priced. But yes the quality is way way down !! The only thing left to cut corners is reduce the tire air !!!! Got rid of it quick !!! It raced down the hill or I had to ride the brakes down. The transmission hill holder is useless on any type of hill.kept it 2 months 8 hours total . Traded it for a super x530 Would rather have the payment than the rough poor quality d170
Prosnone
Conscheapquality poor
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Made

Posted27 June 2015
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my John Deere for 3 years now. Got it June 2012, and since that day it has been nothing but happy mowing with this mower. I really test its limits and I use it at every possible moment. Many say these mowers are not good at all for reliability, but with anything you buy you role the dice with. I knew of the so called "weak" transmissions in these and completely over looked it and was happy I did. I ended up buying the machine and dont regret it. Went from a simplicity to this. This cut with the JD is much better. When people ask me how many hours I have on this machine they cant believe it ,being a 100 series mower but I think I've proved them reliable. I Have just recently crossed 485 hours on my machine and the only hiccup we had was at 250 hours the ignition coil went. No biggy, dealer was willing to help, came and picked up the machine for free, fixed the issue in one day and had me my mower back. Transaxle still pulls strong, I cut on steep grades and use it for towing my trailer with firewood, bricks, etc. I plan to keep this mower till the wheels fall off, its really an excellent machine. My next purchase will without a doubt be a green and yellow machine. To keep these machines just do regular maintenance, i do oil, and all the filters and plugs every 50-55 hours.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Have only had it for 4 days, but so far so good.

Posted9 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Corfu, NY
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well I bought this D170 to replace my 33 year out Cub Cadet, that I just got tired of repairing since many parts on it are just wearing out, although it still runs great. I was a little hesitant spending 2800.00 for a mower, but went with the John Deere because of the great reputation and reviews from Consumer Reports. Got it from Lowes because I was able to get a special low finance rate of 5.99% for up to 84 months.
I have to admit, I am sure I would have gotten a lot better customer service from a specialized dealer but the big box store was easier to get too when I had time.
Only problem so far, was that when I got the machine home, it would not start since the battery was very close to being dead. If I were someone who had never needed or had any other riding power equipment I would have been super up set. Since I have a good battery charger right there in the garage I charged it up for 30 mins, filled the tank with gas and then cut the lawn. It seems to be fine now after running it for just over 3 hours cutting my 2 acres which was close to 8 inches high and then pulling the sweeper around to clean up the clippings left behind. The mower did an excellent job in this relatively tall grass without any problems, plenty of power. There are only a couple of things I do not really like. One is the location of the deck height control lever. Just to the left of the seat does cause me a problem getting on and off since the plastic chute guard makes the right side more difficult getting on and off. The other thing that I am not sure I like is that so much of the machine is plastic. Yeah, it won't rust but I am sure that it probably won't last 30+ years either. Time will tell!
Prosplenty of powerwide 54 inch deck18 in turning radius
Constires look cheaper than average not much treadlots of plastic parts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tractor with some minor repairable problems

Posted8 June 2015
Customer avatar
From:Honesdale, PA 18431, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought my D170 in April of 2014, so I've used it for over a year now on a 5 acre lot. It takes me about 4-6 hours to cut it all depending on the thickness of the grass and other things. I go slower when it is really thick/T
tall. Overall it does a good job when the grass is low to start with. If the grass is tall, it will leave a small line of uncut grass in the middle of the cut. I don't know if this problem can be fixed. it's no problem when the grass is low. So if you cut your grass weekly this is not a problem.
Second problem is the seat springs are not strong enough for a 250 lbs man. They slam so hard as you go over bounces that at the end of the day your back really hurts from the pounding.
To repair it go to John Deere and buy the rubber coated springs.
They are the heaviest duty . However, I purchased a pair of stronger springs from them ($11.00), but I will get the stronger rubber ones the next time I'm in town. The springs I did purchase, did help a lot, no more back pain.
So all in all, it is a good tractor so far. I had a L100 for 11 years and it sure took a beating. I still have it, but its retired now. HAHa. I just won't let it go. So I'm hoping my new D170 will last as long.
They make great Lawn tractors.
Good luck.
Phil Barcola
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

D170 Review

Posted18 May 2015
Customer avatar
From:Florida
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Above average lawn tractor --- BUT --- the front end wheel steering linkages could not be more poorly designed. You would think they were built for a toy. If you buy this overall good model expect to spend some down time occasionally replacing the front wheel steering arms. There is no excuse for this problem as I have had many far cheaper mowers that never had this incapacitating problem.
Proshandlingcutting abilitypowerwidth of cut
Conspoor front wheel linkages
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Do not use premium fuel!

Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
From:Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I always run premium fuel in all of my small, gas powered equipment. When i bought this mower, I began running it with premium fuel, and it would backfire and idle uneven. When running the mower attachment, it would smooth itself out, but whenever the mower was not running and the engine was not under any load, it would run very poorly. I sent it back to Deere after putting about 4 hours on it. When I got it back, it was still doing the same thing. i tried a couple of different fuel stabilizers, but the problem continued. I kept running it like this all summer. After talking with some friends about the problem, I found another person who had the same issue with a different brand mower. They suggested running regular fuel instead of premium, so I tried it out. Ever since I switched to regular fuel, it has been running excellent, and I have not had any issues since.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D170 is the mowers mower

Posted28 October 2014
Customer avatar
From:Dyersburg, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purchase 4 month ago-- it replace a 9 year old Troy Bilt 42 inch 21 hp mower.
The 54 inch deck and 25 hp has cut my time by half. the speed and power are great. My yard is 2+ acres. The grass not only gets a great cut ,but the D170 then pulls a grass sweeper afterwards to give that clean neat look. NO problems other than occasional dip cuts from to sharp of a turn. Love the quietness of mower and the power. Easy to maintance-REGULAR oil changes is the life of any motor and 93 octane always-- no excuses.. THANK YOU JOHN DEERE AND BRIGGS for the D170........
Prospowerperformancereliable
Consoccasional dip cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Machine

Posted29 August 2014
Customer avatar
From:North Saanich, BC, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only two issues:
1. As per some other complaints on this site, the mower deck does not like to mow on lateral slopes. It leaves ridges of grass behind and it is necessary to re-mow over this (with marked results) to eliminate the ridges.
2. Mulcher attachment is marginal as it requires frequent passes -- some of this being related to previous issue.
Other than that, I am happy with it.
Prosconstructionease of use
Conslateral mowingmulch kit
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good lawn tractor

Posted11 August 2014
Customer avatar
From:Oakley, KS 67748, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this mower has been a good investment. when first picked up there was an issue with the lift rockshaft retainer, it was broke from factory, replaced it and also added a steel reinforcement so that should never be a problem again.
we also put the blower bagger on it and it sure makes the lawns at home look really nice. we had a 2046 saber and i thought it was a pretty good mower as far as power, turning and mowing, but this D-170 will out do it, especially in turning. i really love the seat on the new tractor and it seems to rides alittle better.
so far it has treated us really well and it sure cuts the mowing time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving my Deere !

Posted1 July 2014
Customer avatar
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've had it about a month now. I have to mow my 1 acre corner lot about twice a week, the 54" deck makes short work of it. I get it done in about 35 minutes and push mow the rest. The controls take some getting used too but once you mow a couple times you get it down. I've added a mulching kit and bagger. This is truly a world class mower,you won't be disappointed. The only con I have is the mower deck top is hard to clean. The pulley covers hold what seems like a yard of lawn material. i think investing in a pressure washer will quickly cure this though.
Prosreally well builtlots of powerlots of add-onscomfortablefast
Conshard to clean
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wreck

Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
From:New York State
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
I have 2 J.D's. This model is a wreck. I had a weld break on the mower deck. I had that fixed. It should not have snapped. I had to replace the battery after one season. Now the transmission is shot. WIll not go forwards or backwards. The JD dealer said it's out of warranty and $800.00 to repair. His exact words to me are: These do not have the best transmissions. I have 52 hours on it and keep it maintained only by J.D. dealer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+36points
39of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Machine!

Posted21 June 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this machine and could not be happier. I am always finding reasons to just go use. I bought it 2 years ago from a dealer and 2 years later I have 317 hours on the machine. Ive spent a total of 7 and a half hours on this machine in one day once and i got off of it at the end of all that time in no pain! Adjustable lumbar seat is a big plus and the big rear tires provide for a nice ride. Steering is light as well and engine is smooth. I cut on very bumpy terrain and there are no squeaks from the deck or anything. I do maintenance on it during the mowing season and then bring it to the dealer to be fully serviced over the winter. oil changes and filter every 50 hours. It cuts beautifully. Not to mention at 2,799 for a 54 inch deck mower is a steal! At 297 hours I had an issue. I have a lot of trees and i drive around them quickly and so my steering went on it. Went out pretty early. What happened was it went out of alignment and it didnt turn left. when you turned the wheel left nothing would happen, turning right was all it would do. the issue was the teeth that are on the steering plate wore down and the part from the steering wheel was skipping over it. so, replaced the plate ($60) and all is well. Also, im just nit picking now to try to find things wrong but, the head lights also went, they're pretty cheap, $7 per bulb so im not really complaining. But, I wear my john deere hat while cutting proudly and happily recommend this machine.
Proseverything!
Conssteering went out quickly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Runs very Poorly

Posted5 June 2014
Customer avatar
From:Hornell, NY
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this mower a year and half ago and have had nothing but problems. It runs unevenly, even after having it serviced twice. Right after I purchased this tractor it started with the problem, and the service I received from the dealer was extremely poor. They took it to their shop and kept it for 3 weeks, and when they finally returned it, it had the same problem. I own 2 other mowers and a JD tractor and I love all of those. Would not recommend this tractor or my dealer.
Consruns poorly
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

Posted17 May 2014
Customer avatar
From:Athens, AL, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cut a lot of grass, this mower rides and drives great, bought on labor day 2013 it now has 85 hrs.
I do have to choke it everytime I crank it,no big deal. The center grease fitting in the front axle could be improved,needs a angled one. Cuts smoother if you run it at a medium speed. This is my second JD. Good machine for the money, bought at Lowes.
Prospowerful-good machine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good Lawn Tractor at all

Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
From:Kearneysville, WV 25430, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am now on my 3rd D170 within a 12 month period. The first one had a issue with the gas line, the second had a issue with starting up now the third one is sitting in the shop having the PTO repaired because the blades will not engage at 27 hours of use.
At the cost of this product I was expecting a good product like my father owned but was disappointed. My D170 has been sitting in the shop waiting in line to be repaired for three weeks now and during this time I've had to rent a lawn tractor to keep up with my grass. Each time I rent one it cost me $85. This is a cost which I feel I should not be paying to rent after paying $2799.00 for a mower.
Consnot sturdy
No, I do not recommend this product.
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ergonomics not very user friendly

Posted6 April 2014
Customer avatar
From:Georgia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have 3 hours on my d170 and I am not at all impressed by the controls layout, the deck adjustment lever is on the left side rear fender...the side I am used to exiting on. it will tear your pants off!! the back up button should be on the right side of the steering wheel. I bought this mower to replace a scotts s2554 purchased in 2002. At this point I am second guessing my decision due to the odd position of the controls,and lack of overall qualityl . The deck makes more noise and vibrates more than my 12 year old mowers does and is missing paint where the rear support gussets are welded on( black primer visible)
Front wheels do not have grease fittings, and deck stabilization devices have been eliminated from this model< not a good idea on a 54 wide deck.
Prospretty
Consergomomics
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does not like tall grass

Posted3 January 2014
Customer avatar
From:Newport News, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mower deck clogs up badly when trying to cut grass approx. 12" - 14" high. will stall engine and / or break belt. if you are not planning to mow on a weekly basis consider something else. my old 155c with 48" deck has no problem cutting in these conditions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-14points
9of 32voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>