Customer reviews for JohnDeere D170 Lawn Tractor

JohnDeere D170 Lawn Tractor

The D170 combines dependability, durability and power in every aspect of its construction, including a fully welded steel frame and a cast-iron front axle.
Overall rating:
4.138 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
Recommended by24 out of 2983%
Customer reviews for D170 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Machine

Posted29 August 2014
Customer avatar
grube
From:North Saanich, BC, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only two issues:
1. As per some other complaints on this site, the mower deck does not like to mow on lateral slopes. It leaves ridges of grass behind and it is necessary to re-mow over this (with marked results) to eliminate the ridges.
2. Mulcher attachment is marginal as it requires frequent passes -- some of this being related to previous issue.
Other than that, I am happy with it.
Prosconstructionease of use
Conslateral mowingmulch kit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good lawn tractor

Posted11 August 2014
Customer avatar
peteman
From:Oakley, KS 67748, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this mower has been a good investment. when first picked up there was an issue with the lift rockshaft retainer, it was broke from factory, replaced it and also added a steel reinforcement so that should never be a problem again.
we also put the blower bagger on it and it sure makes the lawns at home look really nice. we had a 2046 saber and i thought it was a pretty good mower as far as power, turning and mowing, but this D-170 will out do it, especially in turning. i really love the seat on the new tractor and it seems to rides alittle better.
so far it has treated us really well and it sure cuts the mowing time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving my Deere !

Posted1 July 2014
Customer avatar
TacticalPunch
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've had it about a month now. I have to mow my 1 acre corner lot about twice a week, the 54" deck makes short work of it. I get it done in about 35 minutes and push mow the rest. The controls take some getting used too but once you mow a couple times you get it down. I've added a mulching kit and bagger. This is truly a world class mower,you won't be disappointed. The only con I have is the mower deck top is hard to clean. The pulley covers hold what seems like a yard of lawn material. i think investing in a pressure washer will quickly cure this though.
Prosreally well builtlots of powerlots of add-onscomfortablefast
Conshard to clean
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wreck

Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
Rolyat1958
From:New York State
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
I have 2 J.D's. This model is a wreck. I had a weld break on the mower deck. I had that fixed. It should not have snapped. I had to replace the battery after one season. Now the transmission is shot. WIll not go forwards or backwards. The JD dealer said it's out of warranty and $800.00 to repair. His exact words to me are: These do not have the best transmissions. I have 52 hours on it and keep it maintained only by J.D. dealer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Machine!

Posted21 June 2014
Customer avatar
zach26
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this machine and could not be happier. I am always finding reasons to just go use. I bought it 2 years ago from a dealer and 2 years later I have 317 hours on the machine. Ive spent a total of 7 and a half hours on this machine in one day once and i got off of it at the end of all that time in no pain! Adjustable lumbar seat is a big plus and the big rear tires provide for a nice ride. Steering is light as well and engine is smooth. I cut on very bumpy terrain and there are no squeaks from the deck or anything. I do maintenance on it during the mowing season and then bring it to the dealer to be fully serviced over the winter. oil changes and filter every 50 hours. It cuts beautifully. Not to mention at 2,799 for a 54 inch deck mower is a steal! At 297 hours I had an issue. I have a lot of trees and i drive around them quickly and so my steering went on it. Went out pretty early. What happened was it went out of alignment and it didnt turn left. when you turned the wheel left nothing would happen, turning right was all it would do. the issue was the teeth that are on the steering plate wore down and the part from the steering wheel was skipping over it. so, replaced the plate ($60) and all is well. Also, im just nit picking now to try to find things wrong but, the head lights also went, they're pretty cheap, $7 per bulb so im not really complaining. But, I wear my john deere hat while cutting proudly and happily recommend this machine.
Proseverything!
Conssteering went out quickly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Runs very Poorly

Posted5 June 2014
Customer avatar
mflynn1736
From:Hornell, NY
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this mower a year and half ago and have had nothing but problems. It runs unevenly, even after having it serviced twice. Right after I purchased this tractor it started with the problem, and the service I received from the dealer was extremely poor. They took it to their shop and kept it for 3 weeks, and when they finally returned it, it had the same problem. I own 2 other mowers and a JD tractor and I love all of those. Would not recommend this tractor or my dealer.
Consruns poorly
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

Posted17 May 2014
Customer avatar
tmax
From:Athens, AL, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cut a lot of grass, this mower rides and drives great, bought on labor day 2013 it now has 85 hrs.
I do have to choke it everytime I crank it,no big deal. The center grease fitting in the front axle could be improved,needs a angled one. Cuts smoother if you run it at a medium speed. This is my second JD. Good machine for the money, bought at Lowes.
Prospowerful-good machine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good Lawn Tractor at all

Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
Okye
From:Kearneysville, WV 25430, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am now on my 3rd D170 within a 12 month period. The first one had a issue with the gas line, the second had a issue with starting up now the third one is sitting in the shop having the PTO repaired because the blades will not engage at 27 hours of use.
At the cost of this product I was expecting a good product like my father owned but was disappointed. My D170 has been sitting in the shop waiting in line to be repaired for three weeks now and during this time I've had to rent a lawn tractor to keep up with my grass. Each time I rent one it cost me $85. This is a cost which I feel I should not be paying to rent after paying $2799.00 for a mower.
Consnot sturdy
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ergonomics not very user friendly

Posted6 April 2014
Customer avatar
rustynail
From:Georgia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have 3 hours on my d170 and I am not at all impressed by the controls layout, the deck adjustment lever is on the left side rear fender...the side I am used to exiting on. it will tear your pants off!! the back up button should be on the right side of the steering wheel. I bought this mower to replace a scotts s2554 purchased in 2002. At this point I am second guessing my decision due to the odd position of the controls,and lack of overall qualityl . The deck makes more noise and vibrates more than my 12 year old mowers does and is missing paint where the rear support gussets are welded on( black primer visible)
Front wheels do not have grease fittings, and deck stabilization devices have been eliminated from this model< not a good idea on a 54 wide deck.
Prospretty
Consergomomics
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does not like tall grass

Posted3 January 2014
Customer avatar
CutterBill
From:Newport News, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mower deck clogs up badly when trying to cut grass approx. 12" - 14" high. will stall engine and / or break belt. if you are not planning to mow on a weekly basis consider something else. my old 155c with 48" deck has no problem cutting in these conditions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-13points
6of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you don't have one, I recommend you get one.

Posted20 December 2013
Customer avatar
Camper
From:Oromocto, NB, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had it for 2 years now, works fantastic, mowes grass up to 12 to 14 inches, the grass catcher works great, I have the 2 bagger, I have a trailer for it and it works great. My next buy is the snow blower yet to come.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

Posted7 October 2013
Customer avatar
tractordaddy
From:Washington, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the 170 for two seasons now and had no problems with it, it mows well the onlything I can say is that if you have an uneven lawn like my 3+ acres the 54 inch deck is a little uneven when mowing but other than that it starts right up and have had no issues with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good tractor

Posted3 September 2013
Customer avatar
fyrmnjim
From:Waynesville, Ohio
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just put over 50 hours on my D170 and am satisfied so far. It starts quickly, although you frequently have to choke it even when the engine is hot. I bought a blade gauge and the deck uses a 3 point adjuster and is fairly easy to level. I haven't removed the deck yet, but it seems fairly straight forward. Grease fittings are easily accessible and the oil is easy to change, so routine maintenance should not be a problem. The engine is very strong. Deck washer is a nice gadget, but doesn't work that great.
I have a rolling 2.5 acres with lots of bumpy areas. The frame has flexed quite a bit and so far so good. Time will tell how the frame holds out. I sometimes have to cross cut in the rolling areas, but that's just the downside of having a 54" deck.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase and we'll see how it performs plowing snow this winter.
Prospowerful enginereliableeasy routine maintenance
Conscold natured (needs to choke on restarts)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wow... it cuts with the precision of a machete

Posted25 August 2013
Customer avatar
Machete
From:Eustis, FL
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you want a yard that looks like it was cut by a bush hog, then this is the mower for you. Or if your looking for a reason to ride your mower 2-3 times longer than normal while you double and triple cut your yard in an effort to try and cut all the grass that was smashed down by the front wheels and then missed... again this is the mower for you. What a waste of money this was...
No, I do not recommend this product.
-10points
10of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This machine cuts excellent

Posted31 May 2013
Customer avatar
Cory
From:Maine, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have approx. 7 hours on my D170 and I am in love!!! Its a great piece and I am very glad I made the choice to buy this. I have about 1 1/2 acres of lawn to mow. The mower deck is easy to adjust and cuts extremely level! The price is a little steep but once I saw how it worked I was impressed!! If you have a big lawn and can spend the money, this is your machine!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D170- BEST LAWN tractor for home

Posted30 May 2013
Customer avatar
TAZMANTIM
From:Michigan City,In.
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this model last year-2012. Best tractor, I've ever had. well worth the money. Strong 26 Horse v-twin eng. smooth, quite, strong..Great turning radis. smooth ride, very comfortable seat,.excelent blower,sheder, bagger. Large rear wheels makes the ride very smooth. Blower is belt driven, into 2 bages instead of 3, very strong..hour meter keeps tract of sched maintance, reminds you when & what to check, replace , or service..
I would recommend this to everyone..
TAZ-MAN-TIM
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

Posted20 May 2013
Customer avatar
Donsom43
From:Wichita, KS, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The thickness of the mower deck is a good thing. I've had other mowers and I would Have holes in the deck before end of season.
Starts every time and a good strong engine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has a better feature then the old models.

Posted20 May 2013
Customer avatar
Pookey
From:Sodus, NY 14551, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You can now get off the seat with out the engine stopping. There is alot of engine power, very comfort seat, and very easy to use.
Prosyou can now get off the seat with out the engine s
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mower deck rocks/tilts laterally and jump from D140 to D170 is $800

Posted16 May 2013
Customer avatar
sjp70
From:Willoughby Hills, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the D170 to replace a Cub Cadet LT1042 (42'' cut) and wanted to get the widest cut for the least amount of money. The D170 cut my mowing time by 30 minutes on 2 semi-wide open acres. I wish the D140 was a 54'' cut; would have saved $800! D170 cuts nicer than my Cub. Steering is smoother/easier too. Like the 26-hp for hauling cut wood, etc. The quality of the cut is excellent for a residential mower. I had a landscaper cut my lawn the week before I purchased the D170 with a 54'' Dixie Chopper commercial. Cut quality is just as nice as the Dixie, but of course the Dixie cuts 1/3 faster than a residential mower. Only real compliant about the D170 is that the 54'' deck with rock laterally over bumping terrain. The result is scalping on the outer edge of the deck. Not a big deal unless you have a nice lawn. Seems that the engineers need to revisit the lateral play in the deck. So, going 1/2 the max speed is key to an even cut. I like that John Deere demands that all retailers sell their mowers at the same advertised MSRP. Therefore, I went to my local Deere dealer, Lake Erie Lawn and Garden in Mentor, OH. Glad to give them the business. Lastly, I spent a couple weeks talking to neighbors about their lawn tractors that were comparable to the D140 and D170. Hands down, the Deere owners had zero complaints. The other owners who owned the competition had some negative things to say. Not enough time to list the details, but trust me, the comlpaints were significant enough to persuade me to purchase a Deere. Glad I did. Just wish the D170 wasn't $800 more than the D140!
Prosreally nice cutnice hp
Consdeck rocks laterally on bumpy terrainprice diff between d140 and d170don't like the rio button
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D170 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would NOT recommend!

Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
fiveodole
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I find it to be very cheaply made. Stupid things are breaking, like the seat bolts coming up through the fender, (I'm an average size guy) the steering gear is stripped so I can't turn left. It's only 2 years old. Not happy with it.
Conscheaply made
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
12of 31voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>