Customer reviews for JohnDeere X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck

JohnDeere X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck

Introducing the Select Series X300 Tractors from John Deere - maneuverability masters designed for homeowners who mow up to 3.5 acres and have varied terrain and light- to moderate-duty yard tasks.
Overall rating:
4.073 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
Recommended by66 out of 9173%
Customer reviews for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Review 1 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great mower but faulty transmission

Posted25 August 2012
Customer avatar
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spend the extra money and upgrade to the next model up. The X300 comes with the same tranny as some of the upper level L and LA series mowers. My X300 was purchased in 2007 and the transmission started acting up after the warranty ran out. I after running the mower awhile it would quit pulling up inclines, you could let it set an hour or so and it would pull until the rear end warmed back up. The model for the tranny is a Tuff Torq K46, variations of this model can be found on other brands for a fraction of the cost. I love the mower expect the tranny and its function and it is very roomy for a taller person, I am 6'3". Everything else about the mower screams quality expect for the part that makes the mower move. This is not John Deere's fault directly it is a design flaw of the rear end maker. Hopefully JD will make this mower a little better and update the rear end to something stronger. I have close to 500 hours on my machine and have only had to replace the mower belt twice and one was due to a faulty belt which was replaced under warranty. I am on my third set of blades, never replaced the battery and no problems out of the engine or clutch. I am not trying to discourage the purchase of JD only inform you to buy a mower with a K58 or better. Spend the extra money and at least buy the X310 stay away from the 300 and 304, especially if you have hills or intend to pull a garden cart. If you want the John Deere quality step up to the bigger machines JD never used a K46 in the LT series and currently uses them in the LA series. Why pay the cost of a premium mower if the transmission is not to JD grade?
Prosgrass cut quality is excellentengine and wear parts are dependable
Consunder powered transmission for cost of tractor
No, I do not recommend this product.
+63points
65of 67voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good durable mower, long lasting

Posted5 August 2012
Customer avatar
From:Conroe, Tx
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my X300 around 5 years ago (first year they came out) and have been very pleased for the most part. A little pricey compared to similar mowers on the market, but I believe this is one that will easily last and be passed on to other family members.
The deck leveling feature is not as easy as it could be, but once adjusted it doesn't appear to change.
Very effecient and mow is about half the time as the Murray Vtwin it replaced.
I have the 42in deck and this is the only downside to this mower - the deck does not have sufficient support/anti-scalp wheels for its size. Take a sharp corner around landscape features and it will scalp badly on the outside of the turn. The same can occur if mowing on a slight slope on the side. Crawling around the turn helps minimize this, but it shouldn't be necessary.
The now available 48" deck has the anti scalp roller features that the 42 badly needs, but I haven't seen any indication that JD has addressed the issue on any of the newer models in the series.
Prosdurable high qualityefficient operation
Cons42" deck needs better antiscalp design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Machine

Posted1 September 2014
Customer avatar
From:Iowa, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally purchased a new D130 and while that is an ok entry level mower, I wanted something that was going to last me many years. I called my local JD dealer and actually did a trade over the phone. The same afternoon as I was coming home from work my sales rep was pulling in my driveway with my new X300. We did the paperwork and he took the D130. Start to finish that was about 3hrs. I am very impressed with the difference as this is much more like "my dad's John Deere" I grew up with. This machine is solid, steering, and electric PTO are great. And yes folks, just lift the PTO lever and you can backup with the blades engaged. The turning radius is also much better on the X300 than the D130, and I feel as if I'm driving a more solid machine--which I am.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding lawn tractor

Posted4 April 2014
Customer avatar
From:Raymore, Mo. USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my x300 7/2/10 and going into its 4th season has lived up to all my expectations. After riding on a sears craftsman for 9 yrs. and riding the JD for 3 it was as different as night and day. No more wrestling with the steering wheel and the long frame of the JD made the ride so much more comfortable. The Kawa engine has power plus. I can even pull the throttle back slightly for even better fuel economy and it doesnt limit the cutting or the pulling. I never run it at top full throttle thats how strong the engine is. I have turned wrenches all my life but you simply dont have to with a JD. I service it before I put it up for the winter and so far thats all thats had to be done. Ive read several reviews on the 42 inch deck scalping and yes I also think there should be another set of wheels to the rear of the deck but every machine will have its limitations so I just slow a bit when need to. I think also the addition of a fuel guage would be most welcome. I dont understand why a tractor of this caliber doesnt have one. All in all Im 71 yrs. old or young whatever and Ive owned several tractors and this JD simplys the best! As they say " nothing runs like a deere".
Proseasy steeringrides goodlots of powergreat fuel economyeasy starting
Consnedds deck wheels on all 4 cornersno fuel guage
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
31of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding tractor

Posted1 August 2013
Customer avatar
From:Carlisle, Pa
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After cutting grass for 35 years with a push mower, including a very big field that took me over 2 hours, I finally had it with the 90 plus degree days this summer and went down to my local John Deere dealer to check out the rides... I was blown out of the water by the knowledge and products. Do not waste your time going to the big box stores unless it is too far of a drive for you. Go to the folks who only sell John Deer products and you can see the difference of each level of riding mowers. I would recommend the X300 to anyone , just an amazing mower , built to last. Nice job John Deere !
Prosbuy one today !
Yes, I recommend this product.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A beautiful maching that scalps

Posted19 September 2013
Customer avatar
From:Oakland Charter Township, MI, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Deere to replace a Craftsman garden tractor with 18hp Kawasaki liquid cooled engine. Quiet and powerful. Only produced two years. However, had to replace all three belts EVERY season! 42" deck, three blades. Insufficient blade speed to really do the 1.5 acres I cut. The deck essentially rusted off.
This is a Deere. Looks good, works like well, a Deere! The Kawasaki air cooled engine starts right up (after being in the garage with the battery removed from November through May). Hot start? Not so hot. Twice to dealer, different fixes. I think this is a self-healing wound that bleeds a little anyway. Sometimes no problem, sometimes wait a half hour.
One rear and one front tire would NOT hold air, so each got a can of fix-a-flat, and perfect!
All that aside, I really like the mower. The only guy I know that is not impressed has a 30+ yr old Simplicity shaft drive. But he at least admits that this Deere is a technical marvel by comparison.
Should have gotten the 48", but I should've bought Microsoft stock too.
Prosfuel efficient quiet
Consscalps
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plenty of power

Posted9 January 2014
Customer avatar
From:Vancover, WA.
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have owned the X300 for three seasons. Replaced two JD160's that had stick shift. The Hydrastat in the X300 makes easy work of varying work loads while mowing lawns or the pasture. The Hi-lift mower blades are a great help while cutting wet or damp grass. The engine has plenty of power for all of my mowing needs, even the pasture grass. I don't have to use the leaf blower as much, the X300 with bagger picks up leaves and small sticks on the side walks and driveway just great. Its like having a "riding leaf blower". The chopped up leaves work great under the trees to hold in moisture and keep the weeds under control. I built a platform that mounts to where the bagging housing normally sets and bungee strap a on 15 gallon sprayer for fence line and spot spraying. This is so much more handy than a trailer towed sprayer. For the amount of work the X300 accomplishes, it is also good on gas. It is also easy to service.
Proscruise control
Yes, I recommend this product.
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Buy It

Posted19 October 2013
Customer avatar
From:Brownsville, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this product on 11/9/13. I was very scared as I had never owned a riding mower before. I must say it has surpassed all my expectations. This is a well build product that is easy to operate. I don't buy anything without doing my research so don't waste your time buy this product. Do wait and see if it goes down during fall as mine did and I saved $500. I must also thank Mr. Bull (Harlingen, TX) as he never tried to sell me more than I needed and was super patient as I took a year to purchase from original inquiry. If you are considering other models due to speed don't go by the fastest unless you have a super leveled and flat area as I almost flew out when I was going full speed as these are not like cars that have shocks.
Prosfeatureseasy to use
Conswished it had shocks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring It !

Posted11 September 2013
Customer avatar
From:western Pennsylvania
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After five years and 465 hours of grass cutting, snow plowing, and being used as a brush hog; I've flogged this little guy and it starts right up and asks , that's all ya got? Used it for small scale logging Too!
I do maintain it to keep it in tip top shape.
Prosgreat steel quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice operation good overall machine

Posted20 August 2012
Customer avatar
From:ont. canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
have run my x300 for 2 full seasons works well ,quiet & comfortable my only negative comment would be that I find brake pedal location to be a bit awkward, I am 6ft.2 inches tall I guess that is not the tractors fault Good unit ,would I buy another one Yes
Prosable to grease front end & blade spindles
Consbrake pedal location awkward
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The ease of use of this machine is great. Steering is like power assisted . The controls are convenient and easy to use.

Posted1 April 2012
Customer avatar
From:Kentucky
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I owned a John Deere STX38 for 18 years. It was a great machine and I sold it on Craigs List and the new owners are very happy. I purchased the X300 Feburary 2011. I also added mulching attachment and front bumper. The ease of service and the deck leveling system make it a joy. I don't have uneven or scalping with this deck. The Twin Cylinder Engine has more than enough power and torque to handle any task. I am more than very pleased with my purchase. My first encounter with John Deere was when I was growing up on a farm in Kentucky and we owned a 1948 John Deere Model B, and later traded and got 1952 John Deere Model B with electric starter. Things have come along way. These are the good old days.
Prosall
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

K 46 Transaxle is junk!!!

Posted28 March 2015
Customer avatar
From:Yadkinville, NC 27055, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After four yrs. of use transaxle broke. Discover X300 is not to be used for pulling loads. I reviewed owners manual, nothing about load pulling. Spoke with dealer, no info. on issue. I was pulling a aerator and a pull behind motor powered bagger. Cost over 1,100.00 to replace transaxle!!! To look at a TRACTOR of this size I would think it would be a work horse. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH MY DEERE!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+31points
34of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

Posted12 October 2014
Customer avatar
From:Pennsylvania, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had several MTD brands, which were all good for a couple of years then had engine problems. I have owned the x300 with a rear bag for four years, its a great tractor. I purchased the blow out baffle for the deck so leaves don't blow out the front and a speed ball for the steering wheel which makes searing much easier, and quicker.
I purchased a mulch kit last year, but decided the lawn looks better when I bag.
Spend the money once and get a great tractor or buy cheap and do it over and over and over
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
31of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine, comfortable, roomy and quick.

Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
From:Ottawa, Wisconsin
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having given up on my current Yard Machine and its steering linkage slipping I splurged on the John Deere and took advantage of the Free 1 year financing and the 200.00 discount. Being from Wisconsin and living here it was a no brainer to buy from a Wisconsin Manufacturer.
After reading some of the Reviews I had to respond to the misinformation being presented in some of them. There is a reverse on this machine, you only have to lift up on the PTO then use the reverse pedal and your blades will keep moving and not shut off like some have been stating.
One problem I'm having is where the drink holder is located, it should be on the Left Side of the machine and not on the same side as the grass discharge.
Also I should have gotten the 48" deck instead of the 42". The 48" deck would be easier to mow around my evergreens as the wider deck would extend out further than the wheels.
Prosbuildcomfort
Conscup holder on wrong side.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get One!

Posted23 March 2012
Customer avatar
From:Texas
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is a great riding mower for any home. I've mad mine for almost 3 years and mow about a half acre in a half hour. Very easy to maintain and has a great cut.
Prosgreat cutgreat on gaseasy to operateeasy to maintainmy son loves it
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere Works!

Posted22 July 2012
Customer avatar
From:Oregon
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my X300! I have had it for a couple of years now and I have had absolutely no problems with it. My property is a pretty rough acre and a half and it does a great job on it. The motor runs smooth and quite. The hydrostatic drive is easy to use and works well. The steering is super easy to turn. I use the palm of my hand to make quick turns. Feels like power steering. The mower deck is easy to remove and reinstall. All in all, a very well built machine.
I purchased an LT155 in 1998 and I used it for about 6 years without any troubles. I then sold it to my dad and he is still using it today. If you are considering a John Deere, stop considering and buy it.
John Deere Works!
Prosquality machineeasy operationdependable
Consa few to many safety switches
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It makes mowing fun again

Posted8 May 2012
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I compared sears, husgvarna, and a couple others to the john deere and they fell short. I never realized how much frame flex some of the others had. I guess i was accustomed to it and the loud noise of there motors. The john deere dealer offered a test ride and it was the selling factor for my comparision. I no longer grab the wheel with both hands to pull it around. You can lay your palm against the wheel to turn it around the yard. After a couple of months i still need to get accustomed to the back up lever so the blade stays running but, i understand why its there. Now if john deere made a weed trimmer thats this enjoyable i would look forward to that also every week.
Prosquality made
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and functional

Posted22 April 2012
Customer avatar
From:North Carolina foothils
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mower is sturdy and reliable. Bought in early spring of 2011 when there was a $500 discount and also got a good trade-in on my old mower. This mower with the grass catcher and kawaski engine is very user friendly and has adequate power. Have pulled a 48 inch plugging aerator with four cinder blocks on it (pulling up 2 1/2 inch plugs) without any trouble. Would highly encourage use of this mower for good overall usage around the normal house.
Proswell builtstrong
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scalps

Posted2 August 2013
Customer avatar
From:Grasonville, MD, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
I have the 42in deck and this is the only downside to this mower - the deck does not have sufficient support/anti-scalp wheels for its size. Take a sharp corner around landscape features and it will scalp badly on the outside of the turn. The same can occur if mowing on a slight slope on the side. Crawling around the turn helps minimize this, but it shouldn't be necessary. If your land is perfectly flat, this is the mower for you. For the money and the John Deere name, the R and D department should have been all over this.
Consscalps
+28points
32of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

Posted24 August 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We purchased an x300 mower in July and really like it. I was somewhat concerned when I read reviews here about the reverse safety shut off and scalping issues. It turns out neither were an issue. The reverse shut off is covered in the owners manual. Just lift up on the lever that engages the blades and go in reverse! No shut off no problem. The scalping issue should be correct by raising the blade height. No problems here an all!
The owners manual is a wonderful fix for most problems........but most men won't look at it. :)))))
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+27points
31of 35voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>