Customer reviews for JohnDeere X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck

JohnDeere X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck

Introducing the Select Series X300 Tractors from John Deere - maneuverability masters designed for homeowners who mow up to 3.5 acres and have varied terrain and light- to moderate-duty yard tasks.
Overall rating:
4.092 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
Recommended by45 out of 6273%
Customer reviews for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Review 1 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great mower but faulty transmission

Posted25 August 2012
Customer avatar
VTHokie2012
From:Virginia, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spend the extra money and upgrade to the next model up. The X300 comes with the same tranny as some of the upper level L and LA series mowers. My X300 was purchased in 2007 and the transmission started acting up after the warranty ran out. I after running the mower awhile it would quit pulling up inclines, you could let it set an hour or so and it would pull until the rear end warmed back up. The model for the tranny is a Tuff Torq K46, variations of this model can be found on other brands for a fraction of the cost. I love the mower expect the tranny and its function and it is very roomy for a taller person, I am 6'3". Everything else about the mower screams quality expect for the part that makes the mower move. This is not John Deere's fault directly it is a design flaw of the rear end maker. Hopefully JD will make this mower a little better and update the rear end to something stronger. I have close to 500 hours on my machine and have only had to replace the mower belt twice and one was due to a faulty belt which was replaced under warranty. I am on my third set of blades, never replaced the battery and no problems out of the engine or clutch. I am not trying to discourage the purchase of JD only inform you to buy a mower with a K58 or better. Spend the extra money and at least buy the X310 stay away from the 300 and 304, especially if you have hills or intend to pull a garden cart. If you want the John Deere quality step up to the bigger machines JD never used a K46 in the LT series and currently uses them in the LA series. Why pay the cost of a premium mower if the transmission is not to JD grade?
Prosgrass cut quality is excellentengine and wear parts are dependable
Consunder powered transmission for cost of tractor
No, I do not recommend this product.
+57points
58of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good durable mower, long lasting

Posted5 August 2012
Customer avatar
cyendrey
From:Conroe, Tx
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my X300 around 5 years ago (first year they came out) and have been very pleased for the most part. A little pricey compared to similar mowers on the market, but I believe this is one that will easily last and be passed on to other family members.
The deck leveling feature is not as easy as it could be, but once adjusted it doesn't appear to change.
Very effecient and mow is about half the time as the Murray Vtwin it replaced.
I have the 42in deck and this is the only downside to this mower - the deck does not have sufficient support/anti-scalp wheels for its size. Take a sharp corner around landscape features and it will scalp badly on the outside of the turn. The same can occur if mowing on a slight slope on the side. Crawling around the turn helps minimize this, but it shouldn't be necessary.
The now available 48" deck has the anti scalp roller features that the 42 badly needs, but I haven't seen any indication that JD has addressed the issue on any of the newer models in the series.
Prosdurable high qualityefficient operation
Cons42" deck needs better antiscalp design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice operation good overall machine

Posted20 August 2012
Customer avatar
north45
From:ont. canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
have run my x300 for 2 full seasons works well ,quiet & comfortable my only negative comment would be that I find brake pedal location to be a bit awkward, I am 6ft.2 inches tall I guess that is not the tractors fault Good unit ,would I buy another one Yes
Prosable to grease front end & blade spindles
Consbrake pedal location awkward
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The ease of use of this machine is great. Steering is like power assisted . The controls are convenient and easy to use.

Posted1 April 2012
Customer avatar
rickscycle
From:Kentucky
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I owned a John Deere STX38 for 18 years. It was a great machine and I sold it on Craigs List and the new owners are very happy. I purchased the X300 Feburary 2011. I also added mulching attachment and front bumper. The ease of service and the deck leveling system make it a joy. I don't have uneven or scalping with this deck. The Twin Cylinder Engine has more than enough power and torque to handle any task. I am more than very pleased with my purchase. My first encounter with John Deere was when I was growing up on a farm in Kentucky and we owned a 1948 John Deere Model B, and later traded and got 1952 John Deere Model B with electric starter. Things have come along way. These are the good old days.
Prosall
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding lawn tractor

Posted4 April 2014
Customer avatar
old71
From:Raymore, Mo. USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my x300 7/2/10 and going into its 4th season has lived up to all my expectations. After riding on a sears craftsman for 9 yrs. and riding the JD for 3 it was as different as night and day. No more wrestling with the steering wheel and the long frame of the JD made the ride so much more comfortable. The Kawa engine has power plus. I can even pull the throttle back slightly for even better fuel economy and it doesnt limit the cutting or the pulling. I never run it at top full throttle thats how strong the engine is. I have turned wrenches all my life but you simply dont have to with a JD. I service it before I put it up for the winter and so far thats all thats had to be done. Ive read several reviews on the 42 inch deck scalping and yes I also think there should be another set of wheels to the rear of the deck but every machine will have its limitations so I just slow a bit when need to. I think also the addition of a fuel guage would be most welcome. I dont understand why a tractor of this caliber doesnt have one. All in all Im 71 yrs. old or young whatever and Ive owned several tractors and this JD simplys the best! As they say " nothing runs like a deere".
Proseasy steeringrides goodlots of powergreat fuel economyeasy starting
Consnedds deck wheels on all 4 cornersno fuel guage
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get One!

Posted23 March 2012
Customer avatar
JerkyBoy
From:Texas
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is a great riding mower for any home. I've mad mine for almost 3 years and mow about a half acre in a half hour. Very easy to maintain and has a great cut.
Prosgreat cutgreat on gaseasy to operateeasy to maintainmy son loves it
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A beautiful maching that scalps

Posted19 September 2013
Customer avatar
Alan
From:Oakland Charter Township, MI, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Deere to replace a Craftsman garden tractor with 18hp Kawasaki liquid cooled engine. Quiet and powerful. Only produced two years. However, had to replace all three belts EVERY season! 42" deck, three blades. Insufficient blade speed to really do the 1.5 acres I cut. The deck essentially rusted off.
This is a Deere. Looks good, works like well, a Deere! The Kawasaki air cooled engine starts right up (after being in the garage with the battery removed from November through May). Hot start? Not so hot. Twice to dealer, different fixes. I think this is a self-healing wound that bleeds a little anyway. Sometimes no problem, sometimes wait a half hour.
One rear and one front tire would NOT hold air, so each got a can of fix-a-flat, and perfect!
All that aside, I really like the mower. The only guy I know that is not impressed has a 30+ yr old Simplicity shaft drive. But he at least admits that this Deere is a technical marvel by comparison.
Should have gotten the 48", but I should've bought Microsoft stock too.
Prosfuel efficient quiet
Consscalps
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere Works!

Posted22 July 2012
Customer avatar
Mowmaster
From:Oregon
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my X300! I have had it for a couple of years now and I have had absolutely no problems with it. My property is a pretty rough acre and a half and it does a great job on it. The motor runs smooth and quite. The hydrostatic drive is easy to use and works well. The steering is super easy to turn. I use the palm of my hand to make quick turns. Feels like power steering. The mower deck is easy to remove and reinstall. All in all, a very well built machine.
I purchased an LT155 in 1998 and I used it for about 6 years without any troubles. I then sold it to my dad and he is still using it today. If you are considering a John Deere, stop considering and buy it.
John Deere Works!
Prosquality machineeasy operationdependable
Consa few to many safety switches
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My 1st John Deere

Posted6 May 2013
Customer avatar
silentrage
From:Valley, AL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this mower since 2011, only put 18hrs on it so far. The automatic transmission is amazing. It pulls the medium size hills on my property with ease. My neighbor's yard had not been cut in a couple months, so when he decided to cut his knee high grass, his mower kept choking out. I took my JD over and knocked his lawn out with no problem at all. The only problem i have with my mower is when after running for 30 min or longer and i turn it off and it sits for a couple minutes, it will not start back. It has to cool almost completely off before restarting. But overall i really like my JD.
Prosamazing strong mower!
Conshard to restart untill it cools down!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Buy It

Posted19 October 2013
Customer avatar
fsalcedo
From:Brownsville, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this product on 11/9/13. I was very scared as I had never owned a riding mower before. I must say it has surpassed all my expectations. This is a well build product that is easy to operate. I don't buy anything without doing my research so don't waste your time buy this product. Do wait and see if it goes down during fall as mine did and I saved $500. I must also thank Mr. Bull (Harlingen, TX) as he never tried to sell me more than I needed and was super patient as I took a year to purchase from original inquiry. If you are considering other models due to speed don't go by the fastest unless you have a super leveled and flat area as I almost flew out when I was going full speed as these are not like cars that have shocks.
Prosfeatureseasy to use
Conswished it had shocks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and functional

Posted22 April 2012
Customer avatar
Billie
From:North Carolina foothils
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mower is sturdy and reliable. Bought in early spring of 2011 when there was a $500 discount and also got a good trade-in on my old mower. This mower with the grass catcher and kawaski engine is very user friendly and has adequate power. Have pulled a 48 inch plugging aerator with four cinder blocks on it (pulling up 2 1/2 inch plugs) without any trouble. Would highly encourage use of this mower for good overall usage around the normal house.
Proswell builtstrong
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding tractor

Posted1 August 2013
Customer avatar
Tony131
From:Carlisle, Pa
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After cutting grass for 35 years with a push mower, including a very big field that took me over 2 hours, I finally had it with the 90 plus degree days this summer and went down to my local John Deere dealer to check out the rides... I was blown out of the water by the knowledge and products. Do not waste your time going to the big box stores unless it is too far of a drive for you. Go to the folks who only sell John Deer products and you can see the difference of each level of riding mowers. I would recommend the X300 to anyone , just an amazing mower , built to last. Nice job John Deere !
Prosbuy one today !
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plenty of power

Posted9 January 2014
Customer avatar
Ernie
From:Vancover, WA.
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have owned the X300 for three seasons. Replaced two JD160's that had stick shift. The Hydrastat in the X300 makes easy work of varying work loads while mowing lawns or the pasture. The Hi-lift mower blades are a great help while cutting wet or damp grass. The engine has plenty of power for all of my mowing needs, even the pasture grass. I don't have to use the leaf blower as much, the X300 with bagger picks up leaves and small sticks on the side walks and driveway just great. Its like having a "riding leaf blower". The chopped up leaves work great under the trees to hold in moisture and keep the weeds under control. I built a platform that mounts to where the bagging housing normally sets and bungee strap a on 15 gallon sprayer for fence line and spot spraying. This is so much more handy than a trailer towed sprayer. For the amount of work the X300 accomplishes, it is also good on gas. It is also easy to service.
Proscruise control
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love my deere

Posted5 June 2013
Customer avatar
longshot
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this is my second deere my first one lasted 18yrs and now i have the x300. love the hydrastic. the only problem i have is the mulching kit which was put on . doesn,t do the job i expected. leaves rows of mulched grass very often. only used 1.5 seasons.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lawn Tractor!

Posted19 August 2012
Customer avatar
Owl82k
From:Idaho, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased my Son's 3 year old X300 with 64 hrs on clock when he moved and couldnt take it with him overseas. Have been running a LT150 for 8 years. A friend bought it as soon as he heard I was getting a new one. Bagger is similar to one on LT, mounting bracket is different. Also installed mulch kit on it works Great! The X300 is quieter, faster and smoother than the TL150. I think The deck wheels were not adjusted correctly some scalping, all fixed now with some adjustment. Just follow the instructions. Will be putting a blower on it for winter and a blade to move dirt and light snow. The safety features are a pain, but worth the bother. The cruse feature is a nice feature for long straight runs.I also mow with a EZ-Track 445, the X300 plays nice with the larger faster machine.
Proswell built
Consattachments prices
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It makes mowing fun again

Posted8 May 2012
Customer avatar
JD300
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I compared sears, husgvarna, and a couple others to the john deere and they fell short. I never realized how much frame flex some of the others had. I guess i was accustomed to it and the loud noise of there motors. The john deere dealer offered a test ride and it was the selling factor for my comparision. I no longer grab the wheel with both hands to pull it around. You can lay your palm against the wheel to turn it around the yard. After a couple of months i still need to get accustomed to the back up lever so the blade stays running but, i understand why its there. Now if john deere made a weed trimmer thats this enjoyable i would look forward to that also every week.
Prosquality made
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scalps

Posted2 August 2013
Customer avatar
Wilson
From:Grasonville, MD, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
I have the 42in deck and this is the only downside to this mower - the deck does not have sufficient support/anti-scalp wheels for its size. Take a sharp corner around landscape features and it will scalp badly on the outside of the turn. The same can occur if mowing on a slight slope on the side. Crawling around the turn helps minimize this, but it shouldn't be necessary. If your land is perfectly flat, this is the mower for you. For the money and the John Deere name, the R and D department should have been all over this.
Consscalps
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product delivers

Posted28 February 2014
Customer avatar
Percy
From:Natchez, MS, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this mower over a year ago. Right after, the mower deck belt broke. The dealer replaced it under warranty. I have owned John Deere lawn tractors for over 12 years now. My first one was retired last year. I think this one will be better than the last one. Have not had any other problems with it. We mow 3 acres with it every week, and it does a great job.
Proslove the engine
Consmaintenance kits are really expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring It !

Posted11 September 2013
Customer avatar
Dads
From:western Pennsylvania
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After five years and 465 hours of grass cutting, snow plowing, and being used as a brush hog; I've flogged this little guy and it starts right up and asks , that's all ya got? Used it for small scale logging Too!
I do maintain it to keep it in tip top shape.
Prosgreat steel quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for X300 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely pleased

Posted1 April 2012
Customer avatar
88isgreat
From:Wolcott, CT, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used the machine for two full seasons, heading into the third. Machine cuts great. The bagger on my old machine became blocked frequently, this one has only become blocked when I don't pay attention and the bags are over full. Maintenance is easy. I have about 3/4 acre lot and can cut it in about 40 minutes. The bagger is easily removed when I use tow behind attachments such as a spreader and aerator and reinstalls quickly.
Proseasy maintenancecuts great
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>