Customer reviews for JohnDeere X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck

JohnDeere X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck

Introducing the Select Series X300 Tractors from John Deere - maneuverability masters designed for homeowners who mow up to 3.5 acres and have varied terrain and light- to moderate-duty yard tasks.
Overall rating:
3.762 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
Recommended by13 out of 1968%
Customer reviews for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Review 1 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You Will LOVE this Tractor, BUT . . . .

Posted7 June 2013
Customer avatar
cedared
From:Long Island, New York, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchase my X 300R in May of 2007, and I just cut a lawn that looks more like a hayfield, and it bagged all of it with ease and never clogged even one time. The reviews you may read here that tell you the chute clogged have the wrong blades on the machine, and that's why it clogs. JD Ships and delivers this tractor with what they call its standard blades on the cutting deck, they need to be replaced with a set of HIGH LIFT blades to end the clogging problem. Your John Deere Dealer can get them for you. When you go to pick them up take them out of the box, BEFORE LEAVING THE PARTS DEPT. and make sure there is both a Left and a Right Blade, they will be stamped that way in the metal. If they do not say that you have been given the wrong blades, and they used the incorrect part number when they ordered them for you.
What I love about the X 300R:
1- Trim on either side, no discharge to worry about
2- Makes emptying the grass collector easy, dump without getting off the mower.
3 - 6 years and NO REPAIRS
4 - I can do the maintenance on it myself
5 - Powerful, takes on far more than any riding mower ever does.
6 - Dealer has available parts, service, pickup an delivery and the expertise to help with anything should I ever need it.
7 - Makes the property maintenance chores fun, not a burden.
Prostrim either siebulletproof no breakownsnever clogsempty bag from seatfun to use
Consblades must be replaced
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the best

Posted17 June 2012
Customer avatar
rgb496
From:Central New Hampshire
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased new in May 2008. Use almost daily. Replaced one of the deck drive belts 2 years ago and other than oil, filters, lube, blade sharpening and gas, have had to do nothing. The bagger works better than any others I've owned ... and I've owned a few over the years. Back into the dump area, pull the lever, drive out and start cutting again. It's possible to jam the chute if you really, really try. The hose quick connects for cleaning the under side of the deck are a great time and labor saver. Take the bagger off and add the deflector (a very handy option) and you blow your cuttings in a 3ft. wide swath behind you. Overall it's an expensive tool but worth every nickel. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun to operate,quiet, maneuverable,responsive,easy to unload leaves.

Posted27 May 2012
Customer avatar
Charles1951
From:Monticello,Florida
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall an exceptional mower. Very fast,love the hydro-static transmission operation. Fairly quiet operation but still should wear ear protection when mower engaged. Bagger will hold a lot but don't overdo it and clog the shoot-takes some time to remove the bag and clear out the shoot. Being able to unload while seated is easy and very fast- you don't get leaf trash or dust all over you in the process. I have had some problem with the pto binding when engaged the mower deck lately and this problem is still under investigation. It should be solvable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice lawn tractor

Posted2 June 2012
Customer avatar
RetiredFireMedic
From:Fredonia, NY
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This model replaces a Cub Cadet with two bag, bagger system. Wish I would have made this purchase last year! I used to empty bagging system 2-3 times when mowing property. Now, even with spring time grass growth I can finish and only have to dump the bagger once after completing the whole lawn.
Tractor is very quiet. I believe the assist fan for the bagging system is actually louder than the tractors engine! However, not annoyingly loud.
Easy to steer and as other reviewer pointed out...no dust, grass clippings etc. due to being able to empty without leaving seat. No problems with chute plugging. My PTO, auto shuts off via sensor prior to over-filling of bagger.
Have not had to disengage or remove mower deck yet. Will update review once I have done preventative maintenance on deck. I also bought optional rear discharge deflector. I have not used this option yet. Will also update review once I have used rear deflector.
Very even grass cutting. No side discharge opening enables me to cut close to objects on both sides of mower deck.
I have gone and spread the pile of clippings after dumping. There is a plate that is part of the bagging system wall. This extends down to the ground. Therefore, when backing up to empty bagger, the pile does not clear this plate. There is a potential to bend or damage this part if backing over large objects or piles of previosly placed clippings. If you dump clippings in one area, plan on spreading out clippings so that you can back-up and empty clippings next time.
This unit is due for its 5 hour oil change shortly. Will be interested to see if oil is easy to drain from side. So far this tractor is superior to quality in every way, compared to earlier mentioned Cub Cadet.
No reservation so far about purchase. However, there is less than 5 hours of operating time on unit.
Would also highly recommend the dealer that sold this unit to me. Millers in Erie, Pa.
Prosquietoperator stays cleaneasy steerpto shuts-off when bagger is fulllarge bagging capacity
Consdischarge deflector is expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tractor better than I expected

Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
berniec
From:Saratoga, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first riding tractor. I looked at the X300R for a couple of years in brochures before I could actually see one at a John Deere dealer 40 miles away. The local dealer did not have one on display.
I looked at it and messed around with it and thats the one I wanted. I like the dump from the seat feature and the blower on top of the deck. I have had this since the
beginning of October 2013 for the start of leaf season. I have read some of the negative comments on this site and have to say I have not experienced any problems. The 300R
works to perfection for me. I picked up very heavy areas of leaves with no problem. It is nice not to have to walk behind a leaf vac or rake.
I liked using it so much I did a couple of neighbors lawns because it is so quick and easy to operate. I have ear protectors for the blower so that is not an issue, and
I had no problem with moist grass,but who mows soaking wet grass. I have used it for 2 months and cant wait to mow this year and be able to ride.
Prosdump from seatmow close on both sidesmow in reverselike the built in blowernice tight steeringeasy maintenance
Conscant think of one
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rear discharge never clogs, be it wet or dry grass!

Posted17 August 2013
Customer avatar
GrassBlade69
From:McCall, Idaho 83638, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a couple of years of hard use, I can find no fault with my X300R. The rear discharge(system)chute etc... performs quite well. I experience no clogging of wet nor dry grass, leaves and/or needles etc... For those few complains about the rear discharge clogging up, I humbly suggest one thing that you might try. Try turning up the RPM's. This JDX300R is powerful, reliable, and a far better mower than is indicated by poor ratings leveled against it. About the only thing somewhat negative about the mower would have to be that it is a tad bit pricey.
Prospowerfuldependableclog freewell built
Conspricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

$4000 Mistake

Posted1 May 2013
Customer avatar
fishin4wd
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
This mower is poor at picking up even dry leaves. An $800 box store tractor will pick up 3 times the debris this mower collects. Even dry thatch in the spring won't get picked up properly. A John Deere technician spent a week wrenching on the thing before he finally told me it won't pick up leaves properly.
I have very thick grass and few trees, so I'm not asking for anything extraordinary. Just pick up a few leaves in the fall and dry thatch after de-thatching in the spring.
Prossmooth and easy to operate
Consbagger is difficult to put back on.my wife could not possibly put bag on at 5'2" talldoes not pick up leavesdoes not pick up even slightly damp grass clippingdoes not pick up bone dry thatch sitting on topjohn deere has no return policy
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finest Deere we've used

Posted29 September 2013
Customer avatar
Graintrader5
From:St. Louis area
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved our old LT155, which was 13 years old when we sold it to our nephew who had bought his first home and needed a reliable mower that he could afford. We replaced it with a new X300R. NOTE: ALWAYS BUY FROM A DEERE DEALER! DO NOT BUY FROM A RESELLER.
Taking the advice of other reviewers, we ordered it with the high-lift blades installed when it was delivered. It has performed effortlessly and perfectly, with zero clogs, whether wet or dry grass and leaves, when using the hopper. When using the rear discharge diffuser without the hopper, there is some clumping of wet clippings. We don't regard that as a fault or design flaw. In this case, the grass is simply too wet to spread properly under any circumstances. If that happens, we wait for an hour or two until the grass dries, or put the hopper back on. Problem disappears with either remedy.
The X300R has a much tighter turning radius than our old LT155, and is a workhorse. It's an absolute pleasure to run and never bogs. With 8 mature sycamore trees to clean up each fall, plus maples, huge leathery double-file viburnum and linden trees, dumping the hopper without getting off the mower is a plus. This mower is a beast, and we love her. Highly, highly recommended.
Prospowerful engineagile turningempty hopper without effortnever bogs or clogspleasure to operateperfect for heavy leaf cleanup
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good for the Northwest.

Posted26 March 2013
Customer avatar
Cutter
From:Duvall, WA 98019, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If the lawn is even a little wet, this machine clogs up quickly. It's a pain to take the deck and shoot apart to unclog the grass.
Proseasy to dump clippings
Consnot easy to get the deck off to access blades
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super

Posted7 May 2013
Customer avatar
bill7777
From:Northeast Ohio
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is well worth $4000.00 true it will not pick up wet stuff but wait a day and it will do a good job I got it in 2010 and never had a better running and working mower. My yard is the nice's one in the neighborhood I made my own groomer Deer has not made one yet. Buy it it's worth it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sifly's baby

Posted22 December 2012
Customer avatar
sifly
From:Invercargill, New Zealand
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hi there my x300r i have had 4 years and nearly 400 hours on the clock. apart from a couple of fan drive belts due to the fact that this machine is used commercially, and annual servicing this is for me the best my only criticism is the 2008 engine isn't quite powerful enough a diesel option would be cool
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

collector holds a lot more than the old 180 model

Posted1 January 2013
Customer avatar
Gordy
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If you take the collector off the noise is deafening!!!!!
Awkward to get on and off ,The center tunnel you you have to straddle with your legs is wider than the old 180 model
The collector is heavy when full of grass,but good for leaves in the fall
which is what we bought it for
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I fixed the rear discharge problem

Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
lindenj
From:Ashern MB Canada
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the x300r for 4 years now and must admit that I absolutely loved it for the first 3 years. The last year has been a disappointment as I was continually clogging up the chute. I actually looked up this site for a remedy as I thought I had a mechanical issue down below. I read a post about the "high lift" blades. Then I remembered, I changed blades early last year....hmmmmm...I'll bet they gave me regular x300 blades. Sure enough, I specified the x300r blades....promptly installed tham and my problems are over.....I can actually cut grass in water now or wet grass...doesnt matter....works great! Im back in love w/my lil 300r again....wouldnt trade it for anything else out there!
Prosease of use and very manueverable around trees
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased

Posted30 May 2013
Customer avatar
GlenH
From:Shamong, NJ, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a lawn with many obstacles and irregular shapes, and the tight turning radius and ability to mow close on both sides is simply wonderful. Everything about this tractor is head and shoulders above the 15-year-old Craftsman it replaced. I don't know if I could justify the price of a new one, but I bought a 2010 (with only 30 hours on it) for roughly half the price of a new one, and couldn't be happier. Other than the minor issues mentioned below, everything seems very well engineered.
The first issue is the lack of a gas gauge. Deere justifies this on the X300 series by saying that the tank is translucent, so you can see how much gas is in it. But on the X300R, they had to move the gas tank to the side to make room for the chute, so it is now under a fender and not visible. Also, they had to shrink it by about a gallon to make it fit.
The second issue is the grass catcher. It comes off very easily, but does not go back on so easily. There are two arrows you have to line up. This is a necessary but not sufficient condition to get it on. It takes no force -- when it is aligned properly it just drops into place, but it normally takes me several tries to get it aligned properly. Perhaps I will get better at it over time.
The third issue is that there is no way to hang a rear weight bracket from it, so if you need rear weights, you either have to jury-rig something or use wheel weights.
None of these issues is a show-stopper, and I would highly recommend this tractor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not lift up the leaves out of the grass.

Posted7 October 2013
Customer avatar
Junior
From::Lancaster, NY
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a nice compact machine with the rear discharge eliminating the discharge & chute on the right side. It allows you to mow & trim close to objects on either side of the mower. It has a tight turning radius & seems to be very manuverable. The rear dump bag is easy to use. This is a quality made John Deere product.
I have a heavily treed lot. I had a previous mower with a rear bagger assist that picked up the leaves very well. That manufacure no longer makes it. I purchased a John Deere LA135 with a rear bagger and that did not pick up the leaves very well. It is 5 years old & I plan on giving that to my son. I purchased the X300R because it seemed to be just what I needed with the fan for increased suction. Unfortunately the X300R does not suck enough. What it does do much better then any other mower I had is not shoot leaves out from underneath the deck. It does suck those leaves into the rear bagger. What it did not do any better then my LA135 mower is lift the leaves up out of the grass. Of coarse it picks up leaves & fills up the rear bag, but it does not pick up all of the smaller leaves & pieces. So much so that you would have to rake the lawn if you did not want the remnent leaves to mat down your lawn over the winter. The dealer checked the catalog when I bought the machine to insure I got the correct blade. The only blades available for the X300R were the standard blade & the mulching blade. A high lift blade was not an option so the dealer concluded that the standard blade was a high lift blade. That is how my machine was equipped.
Prosquality made very manuverable
Consdoes not p/u the leaves well.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it

Posted5 July 2014
Customer avatar
Cosmic11
From:Moxee, WA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading the reviews, it is obvious, some new owners need
to learn about their machines. The chute removes easily, just
press in on both sides and pull it out. I have a 3 acre place with many trees, two are mammoth weeping willows which I keep trimmed up about 7 feet from the ground. Yesterday I gave them
what I call a flat bottom, and cut off a lot of leaves and small twigs.
My X300R worked great, no clogs, picked up all the little leaves and branches perfectly. If yours doesn't pick leaves up well, change the blades. My only negative is that if you let that hopper
get completely full, it is really heavy, but the blades shut off and
the little light lit up, but it was to heavy for me so I dump before
it gets full..............I love it.....Jim in Moxee Wa.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good mower but beware of transmission

Posted23 June 2014
Customer avatar
Farm84
From:Eighty Four, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My mower just entered it's 6th year and just turned over 200 hours. I have 1.5 acres and most of it is flat with a small hill on half an acre. The hydrostatic transmission is now failing going forward. The dealer has told me it's a common problem and the transmission is the same one they use in the cheaper cost reduced models sold by Lowes/Home Depot. Tractor quality is good but transmission is terrible Be prepared to replace the tranny prematurely. Dealer cost is $1200. Not tractor quality I expected from John Deere.
Prostractor quality good
Constransmission quality poor
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the bagging system and overall width

Posted2 June 2012
Customer avatar
Lawnman
From:Watertown Ct
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great machine, very smooth... but no gas gauge???
The mower deck is a bit lower and 100-lbs heaver that a side discharge
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too much buck for too little bang

Posted30 May 2013
Customer avatar
WBlack
From:Yuba City CA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had my 300r for three years now. If the grass is even the slightest bit wet - don't bother. The shute will clog right away. When trying to reseat the bagger on the mounting rails - get ready for multiple tries. The mounting brackets are simply poorly designed. This unit doesn't pick up leaves well either...again...everything has to be bone dry. The deck has no-scalp wheels but only on the front of the deck leaving the rear subject to drag. If you're picking up leaves on an asphalt surface that is not level this means the metal of the deck frequently high-centers and as a result you get pre-mature wear due to abrasion on the $1100 single stamp deck. Overall the unit is mechanically very dependable but the suction/bagging function is truly substandard.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for X300R Tractor with 42-inch Rear-Discharge Deck
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

rear discharge doesn't work

Posted17 May 2013
Customer avatar
tim4001
From:Appleton WI
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We bought this because the lack of a side discharge chute would allow us to get in narrower spaces for cutting yet still have a 42inch cutting width. But: Problems with rear discharge. Rear discharge chute constantly plugs up. The rear dispersal chute that is used when you don't want to bag does not spread out the cuttings very well. It leaves a narrow row of cuttings behind you. We will be replacing it with a side discharge soon.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>