Customer reviews for JohnDeere X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck

JohnDeere X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck

Introducing the Select Series X300 Tractors from John Deere - maneuverability masters designed for homeowners who mow up to 3.5 acres and have varied terrain and light- to moderate-duty yard tasks.
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
Recommended by24 out of 2692%
Customer reviews for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Review 1 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a dream to use. Look forward to mowing the lawn every week.

Posted14 September 2014
Customer avatar
JohnBoy
From:New York, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tractor handles better then my truck. It rides great and performs well. Have owned 4 riding lawn mowers. This is the best tractor ever. Have a snow blower and soft shell cover. Both work great. Only issue I have is the 42" mowing deck. Wish the deck had two guide wheels on back side like on the front. Doesn't stay level when trimming in circle around trees or anytime tractor becomes off level. Very much recommend the tractor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice features, great dealer support, poor assembly quality

Posted16 April 2014
Customer avatar
LarryD
From:Linthicum, MD
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shopped Kubota and John Deere and decided Deere had more features for the money. Bought the X310 from Finch services in MD. It had a badly bent or twisted frame and the tractor leaned noticeably to one side. Service dept. looked at it right away and said it was not repairable. The dealer jumped thru hoops to replace the tractor the same day. Just great dealer support. They have a customer for life. The one I left with also has some poor assembly quality. The hood was installed so crooked it pulled off the left spark plug wire when closing it each time, the seat springs were in different slots left and right, and the steering wheel was not tight. These things do not instill confidence for long term reliability. The 42" deck is difficult to remove with only two anti scalp wheels, has a confusing twisted belt system, and it does not stick out far enough to easily cut next to things. I probably should have moved up to the X360 with its nicer 48" deck but it was $1000 more.
Prospower steeringa+ dealer support
Consassembly quality42" deck hard to removepricey
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liked my 2013 X310 so much that I bought another one just for cutting grass.

Posted8 April 2014
Customer avatar
FFB1
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought my first X310 a year ago. Last fall I had the mower and bagger removed and put a John Deere 44 snow blower on. This last winter I cleared snow from four times the space I used to with my walk behind in half the time it used to take me. I did do some of my neighbors and a couple of extra jobs now and then. I liked the set-up so much I decided not to remove the blower and purchased a 2014 X310 tractor with-out a mower deck. I had my dealer install the deck from my first X310 onto my new one and I plan on using that for my yard work. My first X310 will be dedicated to blowing snow only.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Underpowered and expensive for what you get

Posted16 February 2014
Customer avatar
kgiexec
From:norman ok
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this lawnmower in May 2013. I have a residential lawn and found the mower slightly under powered and would bog down if grass was thick or had any morning dew in the grass. the mower does not hold its value well. I decided I wanted to get a mower with more hp but the john deere dealer I bought the mower from P&K equipment in norman oklahoma offerred me a whopping 2k for a mower that sales for 3999. the mower only had aboout 25 hours on it. Not impressed.
Consdepreciated 50% after 25 hours and 1 year
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere X310

Posted10 February 2014
Customer avatar
Happy
From:Bethany, CT, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the X310 in November 2012. I had it delivered with the plow, chains, and weights ready to go for the winter. I have used it to clear my driveway for several snowstorms now and it has done a great job! I also found it very helpful for fall cleanup with the bagger system. Not as much raking in the fall and minimal shoveling in the winter. I have already realized how much easier life is when you have the John Deere X310.
Prospower steeringhydraulic lift
Conssnow blade does not lift as high as i would like.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a very user friendly machine!

Posted10 February 2014
Customer avatar
Bigwrench
From:Sebewaing, MI
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been a mechanic for 57 years and I can truly rate this X-310 as a perfect machine except it has an unacceptable loud noise in the hydraulic system which is very annoying! The dealer says that is normal. So my advice: Buyer, Beware!
I would definitely rate this X-310 a five star if it didn't have a growling noise in the hydraulic system!
Prosa great handling machine.beautiful cutting job.easy to use snow blade.
Consnoisy hydraulics!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cuts mowing and plowing times in half

Posted5 February 2014
Customer avatar
MyB145
From:Milan, IL, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i bought this for my husband to replace our 7 yr old basic 100 series. my husband raved about how much he loved this new mower all summer. i just used it to plow the driveway and see why he loves it so much. the power steering is awesome. i can turn around w/o having to back up. the hydraulics raise and lower the snow blade!
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easiest machine to handle I have ever been on.

Posted22 September 2013
Customer avatar
digger
From:Des Moines, IA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a heavy equipment operator, ease and convenience of a machine makes the day go better with less fatigue and aches.
I bought my 310 one year ago, now has 60 hrs on it with no
problems. The dealer had mower adjusted, all fluids to proper level and delivered to my residence at no charge. I have a 7 bushel bagger, works great except when grass is moist or leaves are wet. I bought a 44 inch snowblower for it, and thought it would not handle it in the large drifts. Had no problem, though I had chains and counterweights on the back, as I recommend highly
for snow removal. Also purchase the winter bra for the front end to
keep the snow from being sucked up into the air cleaner.
Placed a steering knob on the wheel and spins around like a dream.
Proseasy to useeasy to service
Consneed switch to snowblower runnin when backing up
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The X310 has everything I was looking for in my next lawn tractor.

Posted15 September 2013
Customer avatar
FFB1
From:Hutchinson, MN 55350, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
When I decided to trade my Simplicity Regent I searched the internet and found the X310. The power steering and power lift is just what I wanted. The 42" deck was just the bump up I needed to make my yard work that much easier. I plan on adding a snow blower this season to do my two drive ways and do my children's drive ways as they live with-in driving distance with the tractor.
Prossteeringliftbuild
Consswitch for keeping implement running in reverse
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tractor and a Great Value

Posted24 August 2013
Customer avatar
automojo
From:Wisconsin, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking at buying a tractor that wold last me 25 years+. I average around 25-30 hours a year.
IMHO John Deere's main competition is Simplicity, and the Broadmoore 26/50 (or lesser 22/44) is a great tractor. And does offer a more powerful Briggs and Stratton pro series engine, and larger cutting deck, along with larger rear wheels. But also neither offers power steering, power lift, or serviceable transaxle. The Briggs in these models are fairly quiet, but nothing like the Kawasaki
I drove both the Simplicity's and X310.
In my conclusion the X310 is much more refined and much smoother, and the 18.5 Kawasaki (by the way built and assy in the USA) offers plenty of power in even the tallest grass) and just seems more confident and solid. No rattling or buzzing.
The Simplicity does offer it's unique rear roller deck, with the age old (but good) stamped steel deck spindles, and it mows great, and gives you that stripping if that's important.
The X310 42" deck, once set up (make sure you have the gauge wheels set properly) mows just as well, and has the advantage of one less blade, thus lowering the operating cost a bit.
You can buy a stripping kit if your into that.
In summary, I thought the X310 offered a much more refined, smoother, quieter machine with more overall professional features, and a better warranty to boot. Really-they are that good.
I have sat on, for many hours a lot of lawn tractors over the years of various makes.
You can tell John Deere has really taken into account user fatigue and comfort, and overall smoothness as important user qualities, without sacrificing build quality or durability. If your driving a 20+ year old tractor, you will be thoroughly impressed, I guarantee it.
This was the tractor I wanted to spend the next 25 years on. No contest. The X series has a great reputation, and I know it will serve my family and I well.
JD IMHO really knows how to build a excellent lawn tractor, that offers excellent value for the asking price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Star

Posted22 July 2013
Customer avatar
Billy51
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The power steering is great. Very well built mower have put 32 hours on mine and no issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

X300 in Florida

Posted8 July 2013
Customer avatar
Granite
From:Naples, FL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had many tractors for my 3 acres. I decided to stop buying big box store mowers and go to John Deere and get a real quality mower that could hold up past 3 years in Florida tough sandy soil. I never had a mower this great. It cuts around trees perfect, handles wet heavy grass if it needs to. I've pulled 20 foot palm trees to the edge of the property. Mowed down heavy brush with little effort. Riding this mower is a dream and makes short work of my land.
Its a great tractor, I don't regret it, neither will you.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Too bad I can't drive it to work.

Posted15 June 2013
Customer avatar
Mike01
From:Opelika, AL, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The mower before this one was a Cub Cadet. Which if I had all the money back that I spent on deck belts I could probably retire. I researched for a whole month before deciding on this X310. After researching night after night, it all came back to John Deere. This is the nicest mower/tractor I have ever had. The power steering is out of this world as is the hydraulic deck. I never knew you could actually enjoy cutting the grass this much. No more research, I've done it for you. Just buy it, you won't regret it.
Prospower steeringhydraulic decksmooth kawasaki enginemakes this old man smile
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lawn tractor with bells and whistles!

Posted3 June 2013
Customer avatar
Teddy1973
From:Wisconsin, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have had the X310 for about a month now. The 42" mower deck is a perfect size for our yard. The power steering and power deck lift will spoil you! Plenty of muscle to get the job done. Only complaint I have is the in seat safety kill switch that shuts off the engine if you get off. I understand the safety aspect of it but it would be better if it would let the engine run as long as the parking brake is on. That way when rinsing off the mower deck underside after mowing I could get off and do other things while the deck gets cleaned. It is for that reason that I only rated it as good for the ease of use rating.
Prospower steering and deck lift.
Consseat kill switch
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One sweet lawn tractor.

Posted24 April 2013
Customer avatar
Pkhog
From:Windsor, NC
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just purchased my John Deere X310 to replace my 17 year old LT155 which is still running great. I purchased the X310 for the power steering, the 42 inch deck, and hydraulic lift deck beause I was in a motorcycle accident 2 years ago and destroyed my shoulder. The power steering is effortless, and I now can mow the lawn without pain again. The only negative was the prepurchase setup.The hydraulic fluid was low, nothing had been greased,the tire pressures were not close, and the deck was not even close to being level. After I did the setup myself, the tractor works like a dream.
Prospower steeringhydraulic deck lift
Consprepurchase setup
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

Posted14 April 2013
Customer avatar
jthopjr
From:Douglassville, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is my first lawn tractor ever. Purchased it last September 2012 at the end of the season. The serviceable transmission was the main reason for choosing this model. Wasn't sure if I needed the power steering cause I don't have a very big yard but it is uneven and pie shaped with a fence and other obstacles. I was so very wrong, because my yard isn't large and odd shaped I am constantly turning and the power steering is effortless. The bagger is easy to use and works well. The only con I have is I wish there were four anti scalping wheels on the mower deck. Otherwise it's a great tractor.
Prosserviceable transmissionpower steeringquiet engine
Consonly two anti scalping wheels on mower deck
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tractor!

Posted31 December 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
From:Grinnell, IA 50112, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally trade garden tractors every 3 - 4 years, This time I went for the X310 with power steering and hydraulic deck lift, It's the nicest and easiest handling J.D. I've ever had. I live in south-central IA so bought the 44" snow blower also - What a dream to operate! I put bar tires and chains on it and it handles deep snow very well, especially with the power steering and lift.... Would recommend to anyone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

X304 vs x310

Posted7 October 2012
Customer avatar
Rono1749
From:Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I traded my x304 in for the x310 and I can now appreciate the four wheel steering even more and it is wonderful. I had to learn how to drive a two sheel steer all over again. I really wanted power steering as I log a lot time in the seat. On a cold fall day wearing gloves and cleaning up leaves, I was tired of muscling the steering wheel . What I notice with the x310 is the transmission is very tight/responsive, I love that it is serviceable and I love the power steering. The perfect tractor would be an x314, all of the quality upgrades of power steering, serviceable transmission in this 310 tractor with the four wheel steer. I miss the four wheel steers agility but it does tear up around the trees when circling around. I am excited to put his tractor to the test with leaves this fall. Both tractors are great, and the x310's transmission is definitely a thumbs up.
Prostransmissionpower steermotor
Constwo wheel steer
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tractor

Posted2 October 2012
Customer avatar
Daddyknowsbetter
From:Joliet, IL, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it. First deere i have owned, glad i got it. I had open heart last year and now i can cut my yard with ease and not be hurting when i am done. the power steering is just the cats meow, and the power lift is easy on my chest after surgery. Again a great tractor.
Prosbetter than craftsman
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for X310 Tractor with 42-inch Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! What a mower

Posted8 September 2012
Customer avatar
Grg82
From:McDonough, GA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have almost 50 hours on the mower and wanted to wait a little bit before I wrote a review. I have not had any issues, the mower is as smooth as it was when it had 1 hour on it. I am amazed at how easy it is to operate. The power steering is absolutely the best feature. I cut a lawn that has hills and with other mowers, when mowing down hill sometimes they would be hard to turn, with the X310 it effortless. I have had several John Deere mowers and the select series X310 is by far the perfect choice for small lawns with tight areas. The 42 inch deck allows the mower to get into areas that other mowers simply can't get. The edge system also allows for close cutting without the need to trim. I have the mulching system and the bagging system. The mulching system is a little difficult to install with out removing the deck. The bagging system, even though it is not a power flow system, does a great job with out clogging. I would recommend using the high lift blades when bagging
Prospower steering42 inch deckreliability
Consconversation to mulch
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>