Customer reviews for JohnDeere X320 Tractor

JohnDeere X320 Tractor

Introducing the Select Series X300 Tractors from John Deere - maneuverability masters designed for homeowners who mow up to 3.5 acres and have varied terrain and light- to moderate-duty yard tasks.
Overall rating:
4.38 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
Recommended by61 out of 7186%
Customer reviews for X320 Tractor
Review 1 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good for the size

Posted13 October 2014
Customer avatar
jcsnappy
From:Doylestown, PA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enjoy it every time I take it out. Easy to operate and has plenty of power.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Homeowner Lawn Tractor

Posted19 September 2014
Customer avatar
JD1945
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive had my x320 5 1/2 years now and its at 205 hours. Its been a great tractor with almost no issues (replaced battery after 3rd year) Mows all my lawns great! I have no problem towing my carts around with full loads. I tow a full size trailer around to move empty but I don't go more then that. Great tractor overall.
Prosmows greatpowerful and quiet enginesmooth turningreliable
Consno fuel shutoff valve
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything as advertised

Posted19 April 2014
Customer avatar
KSJ08
From:Gilbertsville Pa.
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a Cub Cadet HSD2255 42" deck 1999 bought new in 2000 went to trade with 422.2 hrs stored inside, got $450 for trade was happy sold it to a friend for $600. picked new JD yesterday. Made cut 1st time of the season. Awesome results, quiet, smooth,powerful turns incredibly easy & tight, deck cuts fantastic, Always thought JD had a better deck now I know 1st hand!! R.H.Little outstanding dealership. I will be buying consumables from them too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great Machine ,

Posted12 April 2014
Customer avatar
Pollywaffle44
From:Adelaide SA, Australia
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my X320 about 2 years ago and done 200 Hours and had no trouble , good power and light steering. About the seats cracking Iv had no trouble ,I use baby oil about every 2 months and dont leave the machine in extreme cold or heat , better under cover for storage.
Also with the deck take of the 2 pulley gaurds so rubbish will not gather there and clean it with a blower, , You will not get caught because of the saftey switches. and you can not leave the seat while the deck is running anyway, DP.
Prosa very good mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We call it the "JOY" Deere

Posted28 March 2014
Customer avatar
1Joy
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First John Deere. Loved it the moment started to cut the grass. Have an acre plus of hilly terrain and had no issues. Easy to handle and has plenty of power. Cuts and bags beautifully. What a JOY!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Third season, still the best!

Posted2 March 2014
Customer avatar
Chief1AL
From:Evergreen, AL 36401, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second review for the X320. Last summer in addition to cutting my three acres I cut five acres every two weeks for an absentee land owner. With the rain we had his yard was more like cutting a hay field. The X320 did not disappoint! I use my 320 year round and the performance exceeds any mower I have owned. This product will not dissapoint.
Prosit is a deere!
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st john deere

Posted2 February 2014
Customer avatar
timg734
From:belleville mich.
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yes this is my first deere x320 maybe not a garden tractor but compare it to my craftsman yts4500 you cant even though the craftsman has a bigger deck and larger motor a 26hp kohler it dosn't even come close i only have 3.8 hours on this but i have push more snow with the x320 then the sears would of ever dreamed of haven't cut grass yet and will write a review then LOVE IT!!!!
Prospower
Conscost but you get what you pay for
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

Posted30 October 2013
Customer avatar
Senna34
From:Springfield , Illinois
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are mowing with this machine for the third summer. It is easy to steer, comfortable to ride, plenty of power for mowing and is a pleasure to own. There have not been any problems as usual as this is our third John Deere mower. I buy mowers from John Deere knowing the quality is there and I have a place to have it repaired if need be. With most mowers bought at big box stores, once the mower is out the door it is up to you to find a repair shop. These machines are extremely user friendly and if taken care of will give you many years of great service.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely worth it

Posted30 August 2013
Customer avatar
Kevin56
From:Middletown, DE, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had contacted my local JD dealer after looking at a D170 at the box stores. He told me that with rebates and the possibility of trading in my 8 year old L120, the X300 would be a better deal in the price range of the D170. I proceeded to do a lot of research and reading a ton of reviews on the D170, X300, and the X320. I came to the conclusion on my own that it would be worth the additional $800 for the X320 over the X300 the dealer recommended. I have certainly not been disappointed. After hitting the 60 hour point this week, I have found no problems with my tractor. I cut 2 acres about every 5 days and this machine does a great job.
Prostight turningcomfortable ridewell built
Consnone so far
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied!

Posted7 July 2013
Customer avatar
x320
From:Indiana, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had owned three top-end Cub Cadet riders over the past 20 years and recently bought the John Deere x320. The difference between the two brands is night and day. The John Deere Kawasaki engine runs smooth and quiet. It does a really good job of cutting the grass. I mow about 2.5 acres once or twice a week. It is comfortable- -I actually enjoy mowing the yard. I have about 30 hours on the tractor so far, and am really pleased with this tractor. I had looked at Kubota (had a new loaner for about 5 weeks), but they are pricey, and not as nice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tractor is a little "Powerhouse"!

Posted26 June 2013
Customer avatar
Crackers
From:Valparaiso, Indiana
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well I have used my X320 now four times and traded my 7 year old X300 in on it... I am so glad I did... I had 1.25 acre and now a full 2 acres, since I moved and needed a tractor that had a 3 blade, 48" cut with a side chute compared to my X300 which had a full mulching deck... What a difference.. The X320 has a bigger Kawasaki motor with 22hp compared to the X300 with 18.5hp and the difference in the decks is unreal.. This X320 cuts high grass 8 to 10 inches with no problem and no bogging down at all..! Like cutting through butter..! I can't believe the difference compared to the smaller engine in the X300 and the deck designed for mulching..! It's like night and day..! Nothing wrong with mulching but once you get much over an acre I think you have to go with the side chute deck, unless you want to spend a lot more time cutting.. Love this transmission and all you have to do is hit the forward or rear peddle and off you go... If you change the oil, I would recommend a oil filter tool for removal of the oil filter, because you won't get it off by hand.. I picked one up at a local tool store for 8 bucks and the filter comes off in a breeze.. I cut 2 acres in 2 and a half hours and I am not going as fast as I can, as a matter of fact I am rather meticulous and like to do a nice job... It uses 2 gallons of gas to cut the 2 acres... So far, overall, I am really pleased with this tractor..! Before I purchased it, I did check out Cub Cadet, Kubota, and some others but having two John Deere tractors before and looking at the overall quality, the weight of the frame and the deck etc. I decided to stick with John Deere even though they cost more...I feel the John Deere tractors are worth the quality you are getting..! The tractor just looks so darn good and is "standing tall" in that signature green and yellow paint..! Like they say " Nothing Runs Like a Deere" and "Nothing Looks as Good Either"..!
Proscomfortease of usequalitygood looksperformancereputation
Consso far none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower Top to Bottom

Posted13 June 2013
Customer avatar
Tommy50
From:Connecticut, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great Machine fast sturdy rock solid had a L130 for 8 years served me well just to slow sold it moved up to the X320. I was going to buy the X360 but held off you will not need Power Steering trust me save the cash the steering is a breeze the engine is not loud very smooth easy to change the oil plugs air filter. Greese fitting on the spindles which I love K58 Trany moves out no problems up hill or on slopes. I have an acre I wanted to get done in 45 minutes the x320 does that no problem the only issue is I don't want get off the machine now so I have to star buying Church hill cigars instead od Robustos. Happy Mowing
Prosto much to list
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lawn Tractor

Posted12 June 2013
Customer avatar
TheFixitGuy65
From:Maryland, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchased my X320 back in February when John Deere was offering the $500 instant rebate. So, I wanted to wait a little while before I actually submitted a review after using this wonderful time saver machine. I have a one acre lot that I used an old self-propelled walk behind mower on last season and it would to take me 3 hours to complete my mowing task. Now it takes me about 45 minutes to cut the entire yard front, back, and sides with my X320 and another 25 minutes to do my trench hill area with my self propelled walkbehind mower and edging with my edger. I now have 9 hours on the X320 and have completed my first oil and filter change service at the 8 hour mark. This lawn tractor has been flawless in terms of reliability and cut quality. Originally, I was considering the D series but after seeing the X series in person at a dealership, the workmanship hands down was definitely a step up. You can see and feel how solid these machines are when you sit on them. Once you start that engine, you can feel the smooth roaring power coming from the Kawasaki motor. I have some gentle slopes on my property and one slight grade of a hill in some areas and the X320’s transmission pulls these slopes and hill with no problems or whining. I know I could have used a smaller deck and been fine with a smaller machine but the 48" deck, bigger wheels, power and speed that this lawn tractor has is worth the step up in investment. Everytime I turn that ignition and that engine roars and comes to life, I have the confidence that my job of mowing will done while having fun. On another note, I usually like to keep and maintain my equipment for many years so I was looking for a 20 year or more tractor and John Deere had what I was looking for after doing my research on various other manufacture's models. Yes, it is big and green and takes up a considerable amount of space in my garage but like they say either "Go BIG or Go Home”. In this case either "Go BIG and GREEN or Go Home”.
Pros48" deckexcellent cut qualitygood network of dealerslots of powerbigger wheels
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

X320

Posted5 June 2013
Customer avatar
earlspoint
From:Oak Harbor, Wa
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new X320 arrived from the dealer yesterday. I am a Mech. engineer so I research things to death before spending money. This is a well designed piece of equipment. Very user friendly, great power with easy handling “no power steering needed”. I mowed about 2 acres of 8 to 12” thick tough grass “that had never been cut in just 2.6 hrs. I towed the 18 bushel steel cart behind during the entire mowing, to pick up all the limbs and rocks along the way. It never impaired the mowers operation including turning. The munching mower deck cuts extremely well and throws the grass 2 to 4 ft away from the output chute, blackberries were no match. It used 2.2 gal. of fuel. The terrain is a little rough. I found all the high stops and rocks. The mower spring assist lift is no chore to use and the height adjustment is simple to use on the fly. It is ONE tough machine! Estimate my next cutting will only take an hour. The 2500.00 to 3000.00 dollar machines out there, including the John Deere 100 series to not touch this machines value for the money. I highly recommend the X320 If you don't need a full garden tractor
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great on hills good cut tranny will last forever if you pour in synthetic fluid

Posted1 June 2013
Customer avatar
wizard
From:Idaho, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It has been an excellent commercial mower for me. I have extreme hills and obstacles to mow and it has performed better than anyother tractor I have used before. I have 400hrs and the only thing it has needed was a new drive belt because of a twig that got stuck. the transmission was good stock and had plenty of power but if you drain the motor oil that comes stock and put in synthetic motor oil or auto transmission fluid it will never slip and have tons of power.
It can sidehill like no other if you shift your weight to the uphill side.
overall an excellent mower engine is strong and has never bogged down. Reccomend mulching kit and stripekit.
Rio safety feature is annoying.
Prospowerstrong trannyquality cutdurablecomfortable to operate
Consrio is annoyingfluid in tranny from factory will lose viscosity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mower I have ever used.

Posted15 May 2013
Customer avatar
FordTech
From:ANDERSON SC
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Up graded to X320 from a 2 year old cub cadet LX320 that on paper looked to be a great mower (big motor and deck). There is just something about a john deere. It cuts all the clumps of dandelians that my cub missed and the kw motor is smaller but seems much stronger than the kolar on the cub. I absoulutly could not be more happy with my new mower and have 10 hrs on it so far and am still impressed every time I use it. Only complaint I could have is the nonesense rev safty switch that cuts blades off in rev if you dont pull up on pto switch when backing up.
Conscost but worth it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing Runs Like A Deer!!!!!

Posted4 May 2013
Customer avatar
Axdman412
From:Powder Springs, GA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this mower after looking at the X320, 304 etc.. for over two years. I had a Scotts 2048 and it was a good mower but I wanted the green and gold colors. Boy, I wish I would have bought it sooner. It runs very quiet and the engine doesn't run out of power. If you are in the market, buy it!!!!. Just like John Deere says Nothing Runs Like A Deer!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quit and mows great

Posted4 May 2013
Customer avatar
BooBoo
From:Niota, TN, USA
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a 17 year old lx188 and thought it was a great mower. But now I know what a great mower really is. Its an X320
Prosvery quietmows great
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Deere X320 tractor, twice the tractor of a d100 series for those willing to upgrade!

Posted6 January 2013
Customer avatar
lawnmowerman
From:Ellsworth, PA 15331, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Well at first I bought a new D110 tractor from lowes that I use for my grass cutting business and really put the hours on fast. well after 2 years and 450 hours; the rust is creeping up everywhere and the transmission whines even after I put 5W50 synthetic in the transmission as an ugrade to make it last longer. so I went and bought a used 2010 X320 with only 32 hours on it from jd equipment in ohio and other than some scratches(which I buffed out from the plastic and made it shine) this tractor is so much more solid!! You can tell an overall rock solid machine that is so much better in everyway over the D series which I only use for snow removal in the winter with a plow. I wont be using the X320 until spring but after taking it up and down my snowy hillsides with 84lbs of weights in the back, I can tell you this machine is excellent. I even tried cutting some very tall 8 inch weeds to try out the 48" mower deck with only smooth cutting and excellent lugging ability from the itorque 22hp v-twin engine!! so much more power and even smoother running than my 22hp v-twin I bought and installed in the D110 after a year for more power over the standard single 19.5hp engine that barely would literally "cut it" up hills* The X320's engine barely loses RPM from a stand still to full speed at full throttle and you can really snap your neck back if your not prepared for it with no noise at all from the transmission! the seat seems more solid and should last longer without ripping compared to the softer, more padded D series seats and plus it has an open back to keep my back from sweating on those long, hot summer days of mowing. we will see how it goes this spring/summer and fall and I will write another review after this fall. I truly am happy with this tractor. overall I recommend this tractor to anyone willing to spend the extra money for a more solid, longer lasting machine and for those needing to cut more than 2.5 acres of grass a day. I promise you wont be sorry you bought one!
Prossuper itorque engineplush tireslonger lasting open back seatfaster 6.8mph speedheavy duty solid framemore options and attachments usedless engine vibrationwider rear tiresmore powerful hydro transmissionlarger 3.3 gallon gas tank
Consas with all deere's a little $$$$ priceyshould of bought it sooner
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for X320 Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

Posted2 January 2013
Customer avatar
Jac167
From:Asheville, NC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good. I shredded a drive belt after the first year but has been good ever since. I wish it had a little more pulling power but still a very good mower. Highly recommended!
Prosexcellent qualityspeedcomfort and controls
Consno fuel gaugethe two belt covers get full of leaves and trash
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>