Customer reviews for JohnDeere X500 with 48-inch deck

JohnDeere X500 with 48-inch deck

Riding Mowers, Lawn Tractors , Garden Tractor, Mower, Riding, Lawn Tractors, Home Owner, Select Series X500, X530
Overall rating:
4.697 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
Recommended by30 out of 3294%
Customer reviews for X500 with 48-inch deck
Review 1 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Picture is misleading

Posted4 September 2014
Customer avatar
Sivedog
From:Eastern Montana
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I chose this model to mow some rather steep hills here in Montana. It has the option of locking in both rear wheels which makes a huge difference in climbing and safety. I was not happy when it arrived with turf tires on the back rather than the Carlisle HD Field Trax pictured at the JD website. You have to look thoroughly to find that the tires pictured on the X500! are NOT included. You have to move up to the X530 to get the tires shown on the X500!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2014 x500 w/ 48" deck

Posted21 August 2014
Customer avatar
Flummy24
From:Chapel Hill, NC
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A design problem was mentioned by another owner which is the engine blows hot air in a channeled pattern that burns and turns the grass yellow at the front of the mower in a Mickey Mouse head pattern. This only takes a few seconds to occur which is completely unacceptable for a $6,000 piece of equipment. Other than that, the mower is top notch and I hope lasts for a very long time. Remember to check your tire pressure and level your deck because mine was out of whack when delivered and never idle on your yard due to the scorching.
Prospowercuttraction controlbuild quality
Consengine heat kills grass
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
bigben5054
From:Quad Cities, IA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Originally went with the X320, but it kept getting stuck on my very hilly yard. Swapped it out with the X500 w/HDAP rear tires and it is pretty much unstoppable. I debated between the X500 and the X540, but just couldn't see spending the extra money for power deck lift and steering. I can work the manual lift and steering with ease. Best feature on this machine for me is the locking rear axle. It makes all the difference. Runs great, drives great and cuts beautifully. I have a mulch kit installed. I've only got about 9 hours on it so far. Also good for non-mowing jobs. It accepts a standard hitch ball, so I can use it to pull a trailer around the yard for landscaping, tree clean up, etc. Two complaints. First, changing oil is a mess. They did a fine job extending the drain tube out so you can put a pan right under the drain, but taking off the filter is impossible without getting oil all over. Second, if you leave it sitting and running on the lawn for very long, the heat from the engine will burn a pattern into the grass. Took me a while to figure out why I had these weird patterns of dead grass in the yard. Almost looks like a Mickey Mouse head. It doesn't take long either...30 seconds or so will do it. Otherwise, I love this machine.
Prosruns drives cuts greatgreat traction on about any terrain
Conschanging oil is messyburns grass if left sitting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very glad I upgraded from the GT275

Posted12 July 2014
Customer avatar
RickfromSuffolk
From:Suffolk, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Deere GT275 served me very well for 16 years. I had a mulching kit on the 275 and with only 17 hp it did struggle when the grass was more a bit high. I decided to upgrade to the X500 last fall (2013). I have 25 hrs on the X500 now. I love it. It is a lot quieter than the GT275 (something I did not expect). The mower turns much better and easier than my old mower and the extra horse power is just what I needed. I struggled with the decision to get a zero turn vs. the X500 but I wanted to be able to pull a trailer and my budget was limited to just over $5k and I did not want to purchase a zero turn with a B & S motor. I am cutting about 1.5 acres and am very happy with my x500.
while I do not cut much grass in the dark, my only suggestion for improvement would be to switch to LED headlights, I noticed Kabota had LED lights on their mower when I was shopping and they looked great.
Prosturns great almost like it has power steeringquietlove the gas gaugecuts greatcomfortable
Consshould upgrade to led headlights
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Too much plastic parts

Posted7 July 2014
Customer avatar
Rick60
From:Oxford,Al,USA. Roll Tide
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price has too much plastic parts and should have rear tires like the one in the photo. But overall sometimes you don't always get what you pay for. I will not cry anymore about it
Consdon't always get what you pay for
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower. Worth the money.

Posted1 July 2014
Customer avatar
HappyJDCustomerKG
From:Western, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this mower in 2012. So far it's been awesome. Cuts beautiful, starts up when I expect it to. Easy to use. I have had 2 issues so far. First, the j pins with springs that are used to remove the deck are not that easy to remove and re-insert. There's a couple tricks. I ended up using a piece of wood as a pry bar to try to get the deck to align with the drop levers and then was able to reinsert the J pin after some jimmying. The short end of the J pin is not tapered, on the contrary it has 2 small bulges in it which can make it difficult to remove. Recommend spraying some WD40 on the short end and then using a large pliers to pull the J pin out to remove the deck. Once the J pin is removed you can apply a small amount of lithium grease to the short end with the bulges. I'd love to see the manual updated with some of these tips so that it's easier for the person removing and reinstalling the deck for the first time. Second issue, I lost the main belt which connects the deck to the engine at only 24 hours of mowing. This seems too soon. It's only a belt, and a lot can happen with a belt so I can't complain too much. In short, this machine is built just as well as I could expect a machine to be built these days. I can tell this mower is going to last a long, long time.
Prosreliablecuts very nicelybuilt extremely well.
Consj pins on mower deck can be stubborn.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only mower for hilly and rough terrain.

Posted11 June 2014
Customer avatar
Hoss
From:New Salisbury, IN 47161, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased a used X500. It is a 2006 model with 300 hours on it. It looks like it just came off the showroom floor. I mow 2.5 acres and there are no flat places on it. I was using a zero turn mower for about 2 years but after almost rolling it several times, I decided it was time for a change. This is by far the best cutting mower I have ever used in my 36 years of cutting grass. When I come to one of my many inclines there is no doubt about getting it mowed in a safe manner. As far as I am concerned you can not find a better mower for the price of one of these. I was going to buy a new one but found this one at the JD dealer and figured I would save some money since it was in such good condition. The only thing I would like to see changed is the hydrostat foot controls to be switched. I am 6'4'' and wear a size 15 shoe, so if the controls were just flip floopped in their positions it would be a much more comfortable fit for those with clown size feet.
Prosvery stable and easy to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

X500 is a solid machine for the $$$

Posted24 April 2014
Customer avatar
ChrisF
From:Hartford, CT, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The X500 is a solid tractor for the money. I find you get the best value from Deere if you go with their lower end models. While they may not have all the bells and whistles (power steering, fuel injection, liquid cooling, four wheel steering, etc) it keeps things simple.
I was debating between this model and the X530 which has power steering. The X500 turns easily and I felt I didn't need the power steering. I think if you snow blow or are older it might be worth getting the X530, but for the large difference in price I didn't feel the need.
The machine is well built overall. The majority of it is plastic, but that is everyone these days. To the reviewer below -- the deck spindles are grease-able, not sure if you lost your glasses? The deck is solid steel and if maintained will last 20-30 years.
The engine is air-cooled vs. liquid cooled. I didn't want to bother with changing coolant and having more maintenance.
The seat adjust-ability is very nice and is comfortable for me at 6'2". If you don't like the seat you can always change it out with another seat from another model (it's a 5 minute swap).
The great thing about this tractor is the transmission. It has a Tuff-Torq K72 and its a pretty capable transmission. While it's not as brawny as the K92 in the X700 series, it still has some serious strength to it.
For me, I am all for simplicity in my yard equipment purchases. I like to keep things simple as service becomes expensive after warranty. The X500 is manual steering (no hydraulic lines to break, no pump to break), air cooled (no cooling system), and not fuel injected. It's a solid investment and will handle your hard without any issue.
It's still a very expensive machine, but if taken care of you will get 30 years out of this machine. Remember to buy a grease gun and grease the mower deck spindles and the steering joints up front. Also, if you hose off your tractor, follow up with drying it with compressed air. Sitting water = rust.
Proswell built strong dependable well engineered
Yes, I recommend this product.
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but better deck needed

Posted9 April 2014
Customer avatar
Mitakuwe
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Why would anyone couple STAMPED 3mm thick deck to a powerful tractor like this? The price is sure high enough to afford a thicker fabricated one....... that's greasable.
Prospowertraction
Consdeck
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

tires

Posted10 March 2014
Customer avatar
jimspizza
From:Greenbrier County, WV, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought an x500 in 2012. it is a good lawn mower,but i wish mine would have came with better tread rear tires like the one in this picture. lackof traction is a issue with this machine.
Prosease of use
Conslack of traction
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for hills

Posted17 February 2014
Customer avatar
FishinRN
From:Crittenden, KY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was using another brand lawn tractor with tractor tread tires and wheel waits. I was still sliding down the hill and spinning to come back up. After talking to the sales rep at my local JD store, he told me about the X500. He offered to bring it by for me to test out. When he showed up it was misting rain. I drove it up, down and all around the hills in my back yard. After not one slip I had no choice but to cut him a check right there to keep him from loading it back up. This thing handles hills like no other. I also added the mulching attachment to the deck. It chops the blades up so fine and drops them back perfectly with no visible mess. It may be a little pricy as some have said, but worth every penny if you got rough terrain to mow all the time.
Prosperformancedurabilityquality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough and dependable

Posted2 November 2013
Customer avatar
Countryhome
From:La Crosse, WI, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This replaced a very old jd rider that came with the country home we bought. I have +\- 3 acres to mow and I wanted something that was quick at mowing and could handle banging over uneven terrain plus go up and down hills. 5 years later I still gasp at the price tag but must agree that it's the perfect machine for what I needed. The big box solutions were so tempting for a frugal guy but I would have been stuck all the time without locking rear end and no doubt replaced parts too flimsy for my property. It takes down neglected long grass with ease and mowing wet grass is effortless. No mechanical problems and seat is holding up fine. Gas cap spun off a few years ago cutting against hedge line. Would be nice to have a leash on it like my car. Maintenance is not hard but if the designers had to change the hydrostatic fluid the filler port wouldn't be stuffed under the rear end quite so far.
Well made, durable, awesome lawn cutting machine in all conditions and in the end I'm still surprised it costs as much as it does but in this case you get what you pay for.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mower I have ever owned!!!

Posted25 September 2013
Customer avatar
BloodyWheels
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I mow 3 acres a week and my 1979 John deere 216 was getting a little worn. I looked at different brands (really wanted a Kubota but couldn't afford# and it came down to the John Deere X500. It was a little pricey but it was what I needed. Man!!! This thing is great!!! Very comfortable, fast, powerful, great cut #48" deck), quiet, diff lock is awesome. Durability has yet to be tested, my 216 is tough as nails. Other than the price, this is a great buy!
Prosdiff lockpowerfullquietgreat cutfasteasy to operatecomfortable
Consprice
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Posted20 July 2013
Customer avatar
GRWH
From:Ohio
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this tractor about a year and a half ago to cut my very hilly two acre yard. The only way I can describe this piece of equipment is Unstoppable.
The feeling of security on the hills is worth every penny of the purchase price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
26of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Small Tractor

Posted16 June 2013
Customer avatar
OldMacGuy
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only owned the x500 for three weeks, but so far I am very impressed. Our property is hilly, with two steep slopes and lots of tight quarters for maneuvering. The locking differential is a game-changer, and the tractor possesses some serious "grunt factor" when it comes to heavy going. I like it a lot, and I am hoping it continues to impress for many years.
Prosqualitystrong running
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Marred Product

Posted20 May 2013
Customer avatar
BrianUK
From:Ozark, IL 62972, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mower is very proficient at what it does. The locking rear diff is an excellent feature and was the main reason I bought the X500. There are things I could say about ease of servicing that might not be just so complementary but they in themselves would not deter me for recommending this machine.
My great problem is the Seat fabric. It is disgraceful that a Manufacturer of the caliber of John Deere would use such poor fabric. My machine is now 3 years old with 170 Hours on the clock and the second seat has now split. Have been awaiting decision from John Deere as to whether they will replace it but not looking hopeful.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!

Posted7 May 2013
Customer avatar
Vroom
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I up graded from a L118 to the X500. I never knew what I was missing out on. This has been the best investment. Plenty of power to spare.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I use it every week on the farm

Posted5 May 2013
Customer avatar
Almo
From:Brimfield, MA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unlike most garden tractors this is built to high standards
Prosheavy duty parts were needed
Consseat doesn't hold up
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great motor, very hardy, withstands alot of abuse

Posted27 April 2013
Customer avatar
Joe51
From:Marion, WI 54950, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this tractor in 2005, so going on 8 years of hard use. We live on a three acre hill, very steep terrain with boulders coming up through the ground each year(frost heaves them up). Our teenage son mowed all three acres..., running into trees, getting stuck over bushes, running over boulders. He was not too careful. I can't believe the tractor lasted! We never had ANY mechanical repairs .The deck was bent, but the engine still runs as well as when we bought it. Thankfully son is off to college and mowing is now done more carefully. By the way, I know the tractor is assembled in USA, but the engine on our X500 is Kawasaki, but again we bought it in '05. Also pulls a cart heavily loaded very well. This is one tough tractor.
Prossturdy well built
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for X500 with 48-inch deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

excellent fit and finish

Posted18 March 2013
Customer avatar
schumacher70
From:Ohio
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had a lot of trouble with the mower on my X500 JD. Two of the pulleys do not have grease fittings and they both have gone bad. I have owned my JD for 4 years and both of the above mentioned pulleys were replaced under warranty. I was advised to not wash the deck but blow the junk off with a leaf blower. So far I have not had any more trouble. JD put grease fittings on the blade spindles, why didn't they put grease fittings on the idler pulleys? My old Cub Cadet did have grease fittings on all the pulleys.
Prosdoes a good job of mowing fast
Consmower deck needs grease fittings on all the pulle
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>