Customer reviews for JohnDeere Z225 EZtrak

JohnDeere Z225 EZtrak

EZTrak Series mowers are designed for use by residential customers. They have superior maneuverability and are offered with a variety of engines and mower sizes to efficiently take on a variety of mowing jobs.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Customer Reviews 32 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
8
1 Star
5
Recommended by19 out of 3161%
Customer reviews for Z225 EZtrak
Review 1 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheaply made and overpriced

Posted27 July 2016
Customer avatar
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the price you would expect sturdy construction. With the name of John Deere on it you would expect durability.
Not so. I had one of the wheels that keeps the deck from scalping the yard fall off and go under the deck and bend a blade. Now what? I won't buy another one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Came assembled missing a major bolt and brake rods were too long and maladjusted.

Posted25 April 2016
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Extremely light duty mower. Suited for manicured city lawns. Functionality is great. Mower deck height adjustment is and always has been a source of grief. The deck will not "easily" raise from lowest to highest positions. It gets extremely difficult up past 2" adjustment. The brake adjustment rods were too long and maladjusted from day one. I had to cut 2" off the left side rod and almost 3" off the right side rod. When the brakes were applied, the end of both rods were trying to puncture the tires. I have had to reinforce the edge of the mower deck to keep it from bending under the deck if a root or low spot were hit.
Prosjohn deere parts are easily available.
Consassembly was poor.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great mower but bad motor

Posted18 January 2016
Customer avatar
From:Tennessee
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Monthly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had the mower for three years first year great beginning of sec year would not start to too a dealer which is 50 miles away after two weeks they brought it back went to unload it off the truck and it would not start so the man got on the phone did a few things it started but smoke like a canon ran ruff I said no take it back get it running right so they bring it back two days later it runs ok for the first two times used it the. Running ruff again call dealer they come back out can't get it running right have to deal with it that the way the brigg motor is they say year three get on it start it back it out the barn the motor pop real loud and lock up no john deer dealer says 1100 bucks for new one the piston came apart inside the mower point is for a 2800-3000 buck invest Kent that has less then 120 hours it is a pice and I will never buy a john deer again run run very fast away from any john deer with a Briggs motor run fast
Prosgood ride easy use
Consmotor is a briggsleave ruts from the deckno grease inserts for the front wheelsdid i say the briggs motor
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast and easy to use

Posted10 September 2015
Customer avatar
From:South Dakota, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have the mower for 3 years and no problems. Easy start, good on fuel, fast easy to use. Sometimes uneven cut. Readjust deck ok. Over all value good
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great if your lawn is flat and straight.

Posted31 August 2015
Customer avatar
From:Kingston, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After owning for 3 years I can honestly say I would not repurchase this mower if something were to happen to it. Tears up turf when turning. Not heavy enough so wheels drag when trying to turn or just slowing down. One side will turn fast than the other. Rear wheels wider than cutting deck.No grease fitting for front wheels.
Motor is strong though. There's the bright side.
Prosstrong engine
Constoo many to list.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Mower if you stay off steep hills

Posted26 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Cedar, MN 55011, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Mower is a little bad-boy lightning grass killer. Word to the 'not-so-wise".... Read your operator's manual. 90% of the bad reviews I've read all complain about gas draining into the crank case. Yes, this will happen if you mow on an incline greater than 10%. Symptoms I've witnessed are: causes engine acceleration, clouds of smoke, and then engine temperature to skyrocket. After 7 years of use, this has happened 5 times (multiple operators not 'in the know" about the incline rule). After the 3rd time, mower began a very slowly oil leak from below (likely a correlation here because of when the leak began). Eventually, after 7 years, it appears the seals have gone completely (spewed oil after it killed), and now it won't run. I gave the 'Value' attribute of this review a '3' for this reason (taking into consideration our contribution to the problem, by operating the mower on a steep incline, briefly, 5 times). Will follow up with another review after I confirm the problem, and fix it.
Prossuper fast mowing.fun to use.fun and efficient for short transportationvery dependable if operatored correctly
Consoverly sensitive to mowing on inclinespoorly designed oil drainage (no oil filter designmower frame may seriously out class briggs engine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Fuel System Design

Posted2 July 2015
Customer avatar
From:Cedaredge, CO 81413, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Power fuel design. I had to install a manual fuel shutoff as fuel would drain into the crankcase. If I forget to manually shutoff the gas then I have to drain the crankcase, replace the oil filter, blow out the cylinder and drain the carburater bowl. What a pain!!! Sometimes it takes 3 to 4 hours to get the engine running again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor quality

Posted29 August 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned one for three years and have had many troubles. First year, eletrical problem that prevented it from starting. It was a seat safety switch that had loose wiring.
Year 2, mower deck spindal caused blade to strike deck, damaging both, needed to replace blade and spindal. Dealer told me to re-allign the deck by hitting it with a sledge hammer. He said that is how they do it.
Year 3, engine rocker arm failed. Had to take to service to for replacement. A few weeks later, right rear deck lift mount arm broke away from deck. I am really regretting this purchase. This is the first, and last John Deere product I will purchase.
Prosvery manueverablecuts well
Consfragilepoor quality mower deck
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nothing but trouble

Posted28 August 2014
Customer avatar
From:Loxahatchee, FL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My mower threw a rod with only 20 hours on it. Getting it fixed was a nightmare. Now, it burns oil, hard to crank, runs rough. I am so disappointed with this John Deere. I grew up with my father having one for over 30 years. John Deere lost me as a customer for life.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Difficult to remove valve cover

Posted5 August 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Although the advertising brags about their engineers attention to detail they did not leave enough room to remove the valve cover... Would adding 1" to the rear frame been that difficult?
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Run My Friend Run

Posted28 July 2014
Customer avatar
From:amarillo
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dreamed, Lived, and Breathed John Deere my whole life! Finally after 60 years I was at a position where I could fulfill this dream. I purchased my first 'Green' mower, I was so happy and proud and all my neighbors flocked around me and it. The first year I mowed everything I could find to mow. I was happy-I was proud. But year 2 came, oh no! She blows smoke out like a freight train, off to my dealer--gas in the oil--new carb. Mowed for about half a year- back to Deere--oil level over full--service ask if I had added any oil--Nope! So they just drain it down--mowed ok.
Year 3--imagine this--it won't start--back to Deere---choke assy would not function--blamed dirt---wait just a minute--what about all this smoke? Oh, it will clear up, but the oil is a little too high, might change when you get a change!
Now I change oil 3 times a year just to keep from smoking my neighbors out because the oil level fills with gas---and on top of that, it now clumps grass so bad it looks like I am cutting so I can bale it.
My dealer is no help--if you are thinking about purchasing a Z225 with a 18.5 in her---Run My Friend Run.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Service is NOT EASY

Posted5 July 2014
Customer avatar
From:Paducah, KY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The mower cuts and rides very good, after you learn how to operate it. But when you change oil and filters, this is a pain. To lube it ,first you need to break your hand so you can reach the area you need to be in. My thoughts are "let the people with the expertise do the job".
Prosdoes a good job
Conshard to service
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor cut quality

Posted2 May 2014
Customer avatar
From:Eastern NC
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this mower less than a year ago and have never been happy with it. I only got to use it twice the first month so I did not have a good indication of how this mower would perform. My biggest and only complaint is the poor quality of the cut. My yard is whatever the good Lord planted in it so I am not looking for ball diamond quality. I have tried mowing slow and fast and at all heights. But nothing is as good as my old L130. In some places, it looks like the blade simply pushed the "grass" over instead of cutting it. My recommendation, do not buy this mower!!!
Conspoor cut quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its just right

Posted18 April 2014
Customer avatar
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use the Z225 every day. Due to extreme heavy usage I've replaced every major part from transaxles to engines...on my 3rd at present. Eight hours plus every day, year after year. Its a good mower. I'm famaliar with the mower. The following are features I believe the Z225 excells at.
Mows average grass at higher speeds and is good in tight spots. Deck design handles wet grass better than most. Left side off-set deck design allows you to mow closer...less weed trimming. Low center of gravity. Best bagger around when it comes to speed and ease of attachment or removal, a serious plus for small gates. Like the 1/4" cutting height increments. Its comparitively light.
A good mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall excellant.

Posted5 March 2014
Customer avatar
From:Perry hall, Maryland
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do residential lawns on the side. 500 hours over 5 years. For a homeowner that is 15 -18 years. I've totally abused this mower for 5 years. I will have the blades sharpened regularily, and an oil change. For a private homeowner, an 1 acre or 2, it's the right machine. Smaller lot's, WOW ! IFTIME ='S MONEY, THEN JUST DO IT!
Prosfits in a pick up truck.so easy to use and fast compared to lawn tractorsit's fin and not boring to operatetrime time can be cut down.
Consi can't complain the z225 has helped me earn some
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Motor Needs Repaired every year

Posted28 September 2013
Customer avatar
From:Indiana, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Z225 42C in the spring of 2011. The motor had electrical issues and would not start in the spring of 2012. Repair was covered under warrenty, although it took 3 weeks. Fall 2013, appears same thing has happened again. Mower will not start. Mower does a good job mowing, but the Briggs motor is the weak link.
Proslawn looks good
Consbriggs motor
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Gift

Posted6 September 2013
Customer avatar
From:Wainwright, AB, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Despite its small size, the Z225 has proven to be a serious performer. Its size and ergonomics are perfect for any modest property owner who is looking for speed, economy and quality. This machine has a power to weight ratio that will amaze you as it handily motors you through some of the toughest and wettest grass conditions and then cleans up like a breeze when you use the built in hose connector for washing out the mowing deck.
There is a huge amount of performance, satisfaction and fun built into the Z225.
This mower was purchased as a present for my Dad's 73rd birthday, and it's the gift that just keeps on giving... ask him!
Prosqualitydesignpower to weight ratiofun factorenvy factor
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive beast

Posted1 June 2013
Customer avatar
From:Jersey shore
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got mine today from lowes. It was a floor model leftover from last year. I stole it for $1800.00! After getting used to the steering, I love this machine. I am so impressed with the power. It rips through a high thick lawn like nothing. With the ZTR it commands the yard. It could have come with a mulch kit and a tow hitch but overall I love the quality, power & speed.
Prosa total lawn cutting experience
Consaccessories are pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No problems here, this Deere runs.

Posted26 May 2013
Customer avatar
From:Morgan Mill, Texas
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have mowed about 10 acres a year for the last 3 years with this machine. It didn't start out this way, the mower was purchaced for the one acre around the house...but the lure was too great. Will this thing take on more? Yup...10 acres. And I am not talking manicured yard here, I am talking Texas pasture...cactus, mesquite shoots, thick weeds, fire ant mounds and an ocasional snake. With over 300 hours on the clock, this year I am replacing the spindals and fixing a couple of minor deck cracks. Not bad for the beating this Green Machine has taken. Had I been a kinder, gentler operator, I suspect that I would not be repairing anything at this point. Oh, an this don't take in account a couple of neighbors who have borrowed it and mowed like it was a rental with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Z225 is a good machine

Posted3 May 2013
Customer avatar
From:georgia
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Parts availability and dealer support is a plus. Good for obstacles, cuts well, and deck design seems to leave less clumps in wet grass. Especially love the cast iron lined cylinder wall....with hard use we got 1300 hours on one (700 on another). Cast iron sleeved walls are a huge plus.
Needs a foot control deck lift instead of a hand lift, takes two hands to drive it (safely) and a third to lift the deck over bumps. Need to catch up with competitors in this area. A front center anti-scalp wheel would be helpful also, 42" decks are not prone to scalp but for the occasions where it happens another scalp wheel would be nice. And the anti-scalp wheels are not rounded enough and can dig a trench in some instances. We replaced ours.
However...we love the mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>