Customer reviews for JohnDeere Z225 EZtrak

JohnDeere Z225 EZtrak

EZTrak Series mowers are designed for use by residential customers. They have superior maneuverability and are offered with a variety of engines and mower sizes to efficiently take on a variety of mowing jobs.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
Recommended by17 out of 2277%
Customer reviews for Z225 EZtrak
Review 1 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Difficult to remove valve cover

Posted5 August 2014
Customer avatar
Jeboyd
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Although the advertising brags about their engineers attention to detail they did not leave enough room to remove the valve cover... Would adding 1" to the rear frame been that difficult?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Run My Friend Run

Posted28 July 2014
Customer avatar
trh51799
From:amarillo
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dreamed, Lived, and Breathed John Deere my whole life! Finally after 60 years I was at a position where I could fulfill this dream. I purchased my first 'Green' mower, I was so happy and proud and all my neighbors flocked around me and it. The first year I mowed everything I could find to mow. I was happy-I was proud. But year 2 came, oh no! She blows smoke out like a freight train, off to my dealer--gas in the oil--new carb. Mowed for about half a year- back to Deere--oil level over full--service ask if I had added any oil--Nope! So they just drain it down--mowed ok.
Year 3--imagine this--it won't start--back to Deere---choke assy would not function--blamed dirt---wait just a minute--what about all this smoke? Oh, it will clear up, but the oil is a little too high, might change when you get a change!
Now I change oil 3 times a year just to keep from smoking my neighbors out because the oil level fills with gas---and on top of that, it now clumps grass so bad it looks like I am cutting so I can bale it.
My dealer is no help--if you are thinking about purchasing a Z225 with a 18.5 in her---Run My Friend Run.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Service is NOT EASY

Posted5 July 2014
Customer avatar
teto70
From:Paducah, KY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The mower cuts and rides very good, after you learn how to operate it. But when you change oil and filters, this is a pain. To lube it ,first you need to break your hand so you can reach the area you need to be in. My thoughts are "let the people with the expertise do the job".
Prosdoes a good job
Conshard to service
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor cut quality

Posted2 May 2014
Customer avatar
Redballjets
From:Eastern NC
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this mower less than a year ago and have never been happy with it. I only got to use it twice the first month so I did not have a good indication of how this mower would perform. My biggest and only complaint is the poor quality of the cut. My yard is whatever the good Lord planted in it so I am not looking for ball diamond quality. I have tried mowing slow and fast and at all heights. But nothing is as good as my old L130. In some places, it looks like the blade simply pushed the "grass" over instead of cutting it. My recommendation, do not buy this mower!!!
Conspoor cut quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its just right

Posted18 April 2014
Customer avatar
Stan252
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use the Z225 every day. Due to extreme heavy usage I've replaced every major part from transaxles to engines...on my 3rd at present. Eight hours plus every day, year after year. Its a good mower. I'm famaliar with the mower. The following are features I believe the Z225 excells at.
Mows average grass at higher speeds and is good in tight spots. Deck design handles wet grass better than most. Left side off-set deck design allows you to mow closer...less weed trimming. Low center of gravity. Best bagger around when it comes to speed and ease of attachment or removal, a serious plus for small gates. Like the 1/4" cutting height increments. Its comparitively light.
A good mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall excellant.

Posted5 March 2014
Customer avatar
Metrowon
From:Perry hall, Maryland
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do residential lawns on the side. 500 hours over 5 years. For a homeowner that is 15 -18 years. I've totally abused this mower for 5 years. I will have the blades sharpened regularily, and an oil change. For a private homeowner, an 1 acre or 2, it's the right machine. Smaller lot's, WOW ! IFTIME ='S MONEY, THEN JUST DO IT!
Prosfits in a pick up truck.so easy to use and fast compared to lawn tractorsit's fin and not boring to operatetrime time can be cut down.
Consi can't complain the z225 has helped me earn some
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Motor Needs Repaired every year

Posted28 September 2013
Customer avatar
lhughes39
From:Indiana, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Z225 42C in the spring of 2011. The motor had electrical issues and would not start in the spring of 2012. Repair was covered under warrenty, although it took 3 weeks. Fall 2013, appears same thing has happened again. Mower will not start. Mower does a good job mowing, but the Briggs motor is the weak link.
Proslawn looks good
Consbriggs motor
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Gift

Posted6 September 2013
Customer avatar
Oilfield1
From:Wainwright, AB, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Despite its small size, the Z225 has proven to be a serious performer. Its size and ergonomics are perfect for any modest property owner who is looking for speed, economy and quality. This machine has a power to weight ratio that will amaze you as it handily motors you through some of the toughest and wettest grass conditions and then cleans up like a breeze when you use the built in hose connector for washing out the mowing deck.
There is a huge amount of performance, satisfaction and fun built into the Z225.
This mower was purchased as a present for my Dad's 73rd birthday, and it's the gift that just keeps on giving... ask him!
Prosqualitydesignpower to weight ratiofun factorenvy factor
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive beast

Posted1 June 2013
Customer avatar
MikeD
From:Jersey shore
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got mine today from lowes. It was a floor model leftover from last year. I stole it for $1800.00! After getting used to the steering, I love this machine. I am so impressed with the power. It rips through a high thick lawn like nothing. With the ZTR it commands the yard. It could have come with a mulch kit and a tow hitch but overall I love the quality, power & speed.
Prosa total lawn cutting experience
Consaccessories are pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No problems here, this Deere runs.

Posted26 May 2013
Customer avatar
Knuckjim
From:Morgan Mill, Texas
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have mowed about 10 acres a year for the last 3 years with this machine. It didn't start out this way, the mower was purchaced for the one acre around the house...but the lure was too great. Will this thing take on more? Yup...10 acres. And I am not talking manicured yard here, I am talking Texas pasture...cactus, mesquite shoots, thick weeds, fire ant mounds and an ocasional snake. With over 300 hours on the clock, this year I am replacing the spindals and fixing a couple of minor deck cracks. Not bad for the beating this Green Machine has taken. Had I been a kinder, gentler operator, I suspect that I would not be repairing anything at this point. Oh, an this don't take in account a couple of neighbors who have borrowed it and mowed like it was a rental with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Z225 is a good machine

Posted3 May 2013
Customer avatar
randall9023
From:georgia
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Parts availability and dealer support is a plus. Good for obstacles, cuts well, and deck design seems to leave less clumps in wet grass. Especially love the cast iron lined cylinder wall....with hard use we got 1300 hours on one (700 on another). Cast iron sleeved walls are a huge plus.
Needs a foot control deck lift instead of a hand lift, takes two hands to drive it (safely) and a third to lift the deck over bumps. Need to catch up with competitors in this area. A front center anti-scalp wheel would be helpful also, 42" decks are not prone to scalp but for the occasions where it happens another scalp wheel would be nice. And the anti-scalp wheels are not rounded enough and can dig a trench in some instances. We replaced ours.
However...we love the mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a Deere. That says it all.

Posted25 April 2013
Customer avatar
ronla
From:Peabody, KS 66866, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It could use a air ride seat, because my yard is like a moto cross track. But that never slowed down a DEERE I guess
Prossolid
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

Posted5 April 2013
Customer avatar
VintageChief
From:Beaufort, NC, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned the Z225 for three years. I mow my 3/4 acre residential lawn (centipede). I purchased/installed the optional rear bumper & hitch assembly & they both work great - solid pieces of steel & well made. I change oil each year, clean air breather/filter & lubricate according to maintenance manual specifications. I have had zero issues with Z225. Extremely well made product.
Prosgreat product
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best residential mower ever

Posted4 October 2012
Customer avatar
JackMc
From:Mint Hill, NC
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought mine new at Lowes and have had it for several years. A part (i think it was a drive pulley) broke during the first year - replaced free - good warranty service from James River Equipment (local John Deere dealer).
The optional 2 bag grass catcher appears to have been poorly engineered as an afterthought, but it works okay as long as you get the high lift blades and the grass isn't too wet. But the mower itself has been great and is still going strong.
Prosgreat performance
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second Year Review Update

Posted26 September 2012
Customer avatar
Patriot
From:White Hall, AR 71602, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am completing my second year with the John Deere Z225. My first year end review can also be found here. My second summers use of this product simply reinforces what I have already said. This machine is a good value, does everthing I need well and has not exibited any mechanical problems. The only problem I have experienced pertains to the exhaust system and Deere needs to correct this. The Z225s muffler is mounted close to the ground. Obviously, the muffler gets very hot. If the operator stops the machine for a period of time, the grass directly under the muffler shield becomes scorched and turns brown. A heat resistent shield would correct this problem. This however would only be an issue on a highly manicured lawn. I recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dont buy johndeer

Posted19 August 2012
Customer avatar
johnnygohome
From:ohio
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
recommend not to buy this mower,sucks gas up at the top of motor ,mower deck very week ,no oil filter,and so on.po
No, I do not recommend this product.
-25points
8of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mower ever owned

Posted31 July 2012
Customer avatar
Duke
From:Buda, TX 78610, USA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been wanting to get one for a while.I got the Z 225 worth every penny
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lawnmower

Posted26 July 2012
Customer avatar
Nichshnn
From:Fort Assiniboine, AB T0G, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The motor runs better then expected! It will mow very thick and tall grass with hardly no struggle! I think everyone should have on of these!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Motor failure after 4 hours of operation and bad warranty service.

Posted6 June 2012
Customer avatar
Clancy
From:Sale Creek, TN
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After only 4 hours of use, our new Z225 had all the gas drain from the gas tank into the crank case. We drained the crank case and installed a new oil filter, ran the mower for 1 hour and parked it for 2 days. When we returned after 2 days, it had happened again. We have owned the unit for 3 weeks. When we contacted Lowes to return it for a replacement, we were informed that model is not offered anymore. They suggested we get our money back and invest in another make and model. We also have the option of bringing it back to the store so they can ship it to the service center to have it inspected and fixed (no telling how long it would take).
Very frustrated with John Deere and Lowes.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
15of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Z225 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Owner

Posted2 June 2012
Customer avatar
BobESS
From:Amherst, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just had my Z225 delivered today. I was informed not to judge the quality of cut the first time because my grass was long and wet. I cut the lawn and was amazed how it handled the long wet grass. I did have to rake some however that was expected. I initially wanted to purchase the bagger but thought if I double cut there would be no need for the bagger. The Z225 handled very well and other than a few of the metal parts being a little thin I am very happy so far. Keep in mind this is a low end RESIDENTIAL machine. You will not get the quality of a commercial machine for $2899.00. I will keep everyone informed when I hit the 6 month mark. So far so good!
Proseasy to drive
Consbare bones machine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>