Customer reviews for JohnDeere Z245 EZtrak

JohnDeere Z245 EZtrak

EZTrak Series mowers are designed for use by residential customers. They have superior maneuverability and are offered with a variety of engines and mower sizes to efficiently take on a variety of mowing jobs.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
Recommended by6 out of 875%
Customer reviews for Z245 EZtrak
Review 1 for Z245 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

Posted1 July 2013
Customer avatar
JustinB
From:Huntsville, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned my Z245 now for almost 8 years and I have NEVER had it break down. I am not a mechanic by any means but the oil changes are easy to do and the blade changes aren't too bad either. I have an acre that my house sits on and it takes me about 25 minutes to do the entire place vs almost an hr on a conventional tractor. I have friends that have purchased other brands and not had near the luck I have with John Deere. They make a GREAT product!
Prosreliability
Consno trailer hitch
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Z245 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

Posted15 March 2013
Customer avatar
gman
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned my Z425 for three years and have nothing but good things to say about it. It cuts my thick lawn with ease, even when I let it grow too long.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Z245 EZtrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very fast

Posted6 October 2012
Customer avatar
Boogietoone
From:Kansas, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tried almost all mowers during my 55 years including other zero turn mowers. Bought my Z245 from local Deere dealer. Plenty of power, plenty of speed. I have lots of trees on my property with millions of leaves in the fall so also purchased the bagging kit. Makes quick work of a chore that used to take hours.
Prosmore than enough power and speed
Constire will tear up grass on a zero turn
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Z245 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doesn't cut level

Posted5 August 2013
Customer avatar
Hockeyhawk
From:High Level, AB T0H, Canada
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I own a 46" Saber/John Deere lawnmower tractor style and it cuts awesome nice and level. Decided to buy the new Z245 EZtrak and I am very unhappy with the cut not really level. Looks higher on one side at the front and there is only one adjustment at the front, two on the back one for each side. Any suggestions or ideas???
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Z245 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A vary good mower

Posted8 June 2013
Customer avatar
Rubbercity
From:Laurinburg, NC
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very good mower and for the price a real work horse. It handle lawns and is not afraid of fields. I cut 5+ acres of the combination and this machine handles them both with ease. I have the pull behind attachment and I spread seed, fertilizer, lime, and anything else using it.
Prosfun to driveresponsive and powerfulexcellent follow up and service from jd dealer
Consreplacement blades are a little expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Z245 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

Posted25 February 2013
Customer avatar
SERVICEDUDE
From:Missouri, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will be going into the 4th mowing season, and other than regular maintenance(oil change,filter,lube) the only other I have done is change the blades. My only wish is that the rear tires were a little taller. Other than that, mows great, speed is fast, maneauvers around trees with ease. I guess my only con is the arm rests. It is hard to get up and off of the mower without putting downward pressure on the armrests. One has broken because of this as it is mainly made of plastic.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Z245 EZtrak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice machine for homeowner use.

Posted6 October 2012
Customer avatar
Jimmy
From:Lee's Summit, MO
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my Z245 4 years ago and have put over 1150 hours on it. I have used it in my landscape maintenance business to mow some residential and small commercial properties. I would not recommend it for heavy duty commercial use but it has performed well for my purposes. I had to replace the mowing deck around 600 hours. Quality of cut is not great, but acceptable. This machine is easy to do maintenance and repair when needed. It is light enough to handle slopes easily. The Briggs V-twin engine is still running strong. Overall, I have been very satisfied with this mower's performance for the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Z245 EZtrak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

Posted16 July 2012
Customer avatar
JJ2012
From:New Orleans, LA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ive had a Z245 for 4 years. I put about 50 hours a year on the mower. I've had to replace the deck and everything else on the machine at 100 hours and have it back in the shop again at 200 hours having to replace everything again. Cost is almost $1000.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+63points
76of 89voted this as helpful.