Customer reviews for JohnDeere Z655 EZTrak

JohnDeere Z655 EZTrak

John Deere Z655 Zero-Turn Riding Mower
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
Recommended by19 out of 19100%
Customer reviews for Z655 EZTrak
Review 1 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best on the market

Posted30 April 2012
Customer avatar
GoldStarmower
From:Midwest
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Overall, I've been very happy with this tractor. I've put almost 50 hours on it since I purchased it 2 months ago. I was concerned about hill-side performance at first but after getting used to how the machine handles, hills are no problem for it. The wider wheelbase and better weight distribution make it a stable machine. The control sticks are super smooth and allow the operator to leave arrow straight lines in the yard. The 54" high capacity deck stripes great even without the optional grass groomer kit and disperses clippings very well. I'm really glad I spent the extra $$$ and bought this over the Z445. This thing is a purpose built grass cutting machine and it sure is good at its job.
My only complaint is the combined throttle and choke. I really wish those were kept separate like they were on my old Deere. It takes a couple seconds of cranking to get the engine to turn over on a cold start but once it's fired up it idles smooth at full power and runs strong even at quicker speeds in long grass.
Prosgreat cutexcellent striping qualitycomfortable for the operatorplenty of powerfun to drivesturdy construction
Conscombined throttle and choke should be separate
Yes, I recommend this product.
+35points
35of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wouldn't have anything else

Posted1 March 2012
Customer avatar
whoseyourtiger
From:Napoleon Township, MI, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a John Deere LX172 for 16 years mowing just over 2 acres before it finally died. I went to my local John Deere dealer and purchased a Z655 EZTrak mower (after drooling over them for years) and have never been happier. I was a little hesitent at first going from a riding lawn mower, but after about 15 to 20 minutes of learning the basics of driving the zero turn I was sold. It cut my mowing time in half by being able to mow at all speeds. My friends commented on my lawn before... now they are buying them for their lawns as well. When they say nothing runs like a Deere, their not lying. John Deere will have my business forever!
--A Very Satisfied Customer
Prosreliability and decreased mowing time
Consabsolutely nothing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+52points
59of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower!

Posted13 June 2012
Customer avatar
Kenneth
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just purchased a Z655. Man, what a great mower! I only have about three hours on it, but that's been three hours of pure mowing pleasure! I searched many brands before I bought this machine, even though I'm a JD fan. I also tried out a couple other brands, but the Z655 got my vote. I think for the price, and not to mention, quality that you'll get with this machine, it's a good buy. I am 6'5" and can fit on the mower easily, the power this mower has is very surprising. The 21" seat helps a bunch as well, not to mention the larger tires. I could go on and on, but, with a smooth ride and wide, quick mowing deck, you can't go wrong here. A+++
Pros54" high capacity deck21" high back seatplenty of power even on inclineplenty of power and smooth comfortable ridegrass doesn't clog up under mowing deck
Conschoke/ throttle should be seperatetowing hitch should be standard equipment
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I Recommend
 
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! Fast and Fun!

Posted6 April 2012
Customer avatar
Bill
From:Robinson. IL
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just bought it today and put 4 hours on it already. My Wife and I are fighting each other to mow. My Wife has never driven a zero turn mower before and she took to it in 2 minutes. I can't believe how fast and well it can cut. We had some 12-16" grass in our horse pasture that it just blew threw and made it look like lawn. The high capacity deck justs spits the grass out. I can't believe the power. Engine didn't pull down a bit. I'm glad I bought the 54" and not the 62". I'd be struggling to fit between the trees.
Prosfast and powerful
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid quality mower

Posted13 July 2012
Customer avatar
Mike49
From:Palacios, Texas
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my 655 now for 2 months. I did alot of research on several zeroturns before I bought this one. Also talked to a couple of guys that own one. So far I really like this mower. Plenty of power, very well made and very easy to drive. The warranty is by far better than any one I"ve researched. I mow about 5 acres and normally use my tractor and shredder but this mower will due it all much faster. This mower cuts my mowing time in half and which gives me much more time to fish.
Prossolid quality machine
Consneeds larger fuel tank.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased!

Posted15 April 2012
Customer avatar
TheKid
From:Mississippi
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time to use a ZT, within 15 minutes I was able to get the hang of it and was able to finish in half the time it took me to use a garden tractor.The Z655 has the horsepower to get the job done. Maintanence on the machine and clean up was a breeze. The easy access to the controls and the comfort of the higher seat along with the wide tires makes the task of maintaining the lawn enjoyable. A seat belt would be a nice safety feature since the Z655 is very quick. So far no complaints, great job John Deere!
Prosthe ease of operation makes yard work fun!
Consbecause of the speed could use a seatbelt
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I went with zero turn over riding mower.

Posted1 October 2012
Customer avatar
Scott
From:Rice Lake, WI, USA
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought my new Z655 and love it. Reduced my mowing time in half. I used to have a Cub Cadet and hated it. John Deere Z655 rides smooth and zero turn is the only way to go.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Z655 is absolutely awesome!

Posted16 November 2012
Customer avatar
MCinMD
From:Frederick, MD, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just finished mowing 4.5 acres in 2.6 hours and it was pure bliss. I literally had a smile on my face several times from how the Z655 performed. The Z655 did not hesitate on hills or thick grass, even at full speed! The cut was perfect, everything about this machine is perfection. I would highly recommend this ZTR to anyone looking to mow in record time with a professional result.
Prosfast comfortable professional cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look forward to mowing now

Posted6 August 2013
Customer avatar
mkkcpa
From:Ada, OK
Length of Ownership:1 month
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Z655 to replace my 2006 Cub Cadet GT1554 riding tractor. I hated mowing before. With the Cub Cadet, I spent a lot of time laying in piles of fire ants trying to reattach the deck which came unhung every time I hit a tree root or something. Plus I had to keep spare parts on the shelf; belts, pulleys, bushings, pins, etc. At 345 hours, it was too worn out to justify anymore repairs.
The Z655 is built tough and is a blast to drive. It used to take me 6 hours to mow 3.75 acres. I can get it done now in less than 2.5 hours. Incredible. Blasts through tall grass and thick wet grass without a problem and leaves a beautiful cut.
This mower did cost twice as much as my old mower, but it's 10 times the machine and well worth every penny!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

Posted27 March 2013
Customer avatar
ck76
From:Crossville, TN, USA
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my Z655 last year and put 20 hours on it. I got the Mulching kit with it and it does a super job. Plenty of power and good traction with the wide wheels. It doesn't accumulate a lot of grass on the underside of the deck, and the deck wash system takes care of that.
The only negative comment I have is that when cutting grass that is a little taller than normal, it leaves a strip about 2 -3 inches wide that is a little taller than the rest of the cut.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would absolutely buy it again

Posted29 August 2013
Customer avatar
Blake68
From:Minnesota, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned the Z655 for about 3 months now. I have about 10 acres to mow and depending on the length of the grass it used to take me quite a while to get the job done. I also have a lot of trees to mow around. First of all, let me say, this thing is FAST! I have a second zero turn mower in a different brand that I've owned for 4 years. I thought it was fast until I purchased this mower! The controls on the Z655 are super responsive which is a huge plus considering how fast you can be going. It does a much better job handling long, heavy grass than any other mower I've ever owned including other John Deere mowers. It absolutely hurls the grass away. The deck is also easier to clean than a lot of other mowers as it's a simple matter to lift it nice and high. I do like the option of hooking up a garden hose to the deck to clean it and I regularly do that. However, I don't rely only on the garden hose as it does not fully remove all the stuck on grass. I do still need to get under there and scrape it good on a regular basis. The seat is very comfortable and everything is easy access. My singular complaint with this unit has to do with the fuel tank. I guess it's actually a two-part complaint! The first being my other zero turn has an 11 gallon gas tank, the Z655 has a 3.5 gallon tank! This means that I almost always have to stop and refill with gas to finish mowing my lawn. With my other zero turn I could fully mow the lawn at least two times without refilling. Not a big deal, but something I hope JD addresses. The second part of my complaint is the gas gauge is a sad little window behind the seat that without stopping the mower and craning my neck around I can't see. Not super handy. Even my 25 yr old JD318 has a better gauge than this. Again something I hope JD addresses. Other than that this is a top notch mower I would highly recommend!
Prosfastcomfortableefficient mower
Conssmall fuel tankpathetic gas gauge
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

power for your buck!

Posted28 July 2013
Customer avatar
Riverview757
From:Hampton, VA, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Daily
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this for 2 seasons and I'm very pleased with the mower. I bought it for the house (5 acres) and ended up starting a lawn care business on o the side and it's the tops. On my regular riding mower it took 3+ hrs. because I'm picky but with Bertha 1.5 hrs. The only draw back for me is that when the grass is high the mower bogs down with the mulcher and occasional hard start, but bottom line best money I've spent in a while, no joking!
Prosprice power and speed
Conswhen the grass is long mulching is a hassle.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very tough non-commercial ZTR

Posted4 May 2013
Customer avatar
Dennis
From:Gainesville, FL, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Other reviewers have pretty much covered it. This is one tough puppy and, despite cutting fibrous bahiagrass, my Deere blades seem to stay sharp forever. I've been very happy ... except for one crucial aspect.
The drive belt has popped off the pulley twice in under 50 hours of use. It happened both times on level ground at medium speed - the mower wasn't being bounced around.
As with every ZTR I've used, there is continual vibration in the belts during use. The tensioner seems to be set perfectly. I don't know if the pulley rims are too shallow and a small variation in torque makes the belt jump the rims, or if the belt simply vibrates loose. There are no retainer clips to keep the belt seated.
This is not a one-person fix in the field. And of course if you lose your drive belt you can't load it onto a trailer ... so it has to be repaired in situ or winched up a trailer ramp. My wish is that Deere redesign the access for this belt so that it's easier to reboot in the field (without tearing your hands to shreds in the process).
Prosvery tough - mows through anythingdeere blades stay sharp long time
Consdrive belt pops hard to repair aloneoriginal battery dies young
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I purchased my z655 in summer 2012 and have found it to be an absolute dream to use. the larger tires make for a smooth ride and even cut.

Posted25 October 2013
Customer avatar
Nile8er
From:Chaumont, NY, USA
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I mow 3 acres in 90 minutes to golf course precision with the z655. My previous mower took 3-4 hours and not nearly the precise cut as the z655. I have 2 girls and a wife so my z655 is my oasis of peace and tranquility! Thanks John Deere
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rock solid performance and value.

Posted2 September 2013
Customer avatar
Oilfield1
From:Wainwright, AB, Canada
Length of Ownership:6 months
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Z655 is a rock solid performer. I cannot help but smile every time I use my Z655, what a superb machine! A well balanced, well designed, well made mower that has easily shaved off 45% of my original mowing time. And that savings in time in some ways saddens me because my Z655 is such a pleasure to operate. Nothing runs like a deere or makes the neighbours greener with envy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

Posted16 May 2013
Customer avatar
Rogcons
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've now put 12 hours on my new Z6555. Easy to learn to use as I've never run one before. Cut some grass over 18 inches high and with mower set at 4 inches, handled it well. My regular mowing went about twice as fast as usual with my old LX280. It could use a larger gas tank, real disappointed in that. Overall a great mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Posted21 March 2013
Customer avatar
RichC
Length of Ownership:1 year or longer
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this mower for 2 season and do not know how I survived with a standard riding mower. I cut between 2.5 - 4 acres and have cut my time in half. Handles great (once you get use to it) cuts nice and lots of power. I add the mulch kit which works good also. Does a great job on my finished yard and also so higher field areas.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just bought this 655 eztrak Zero turn.

Posted16 July 2013
Customer avatar
PARIS
From:Montgomery, TX, USA
Length of Ownership:1 week
Usage Frequency:Weekly
Level of Expertise:Expert
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very nice zero turn but for the money, I should have bought a Z trak for the extra 2k. I have used this maching 3 times now and it cuts my 1.5 acre yard in 30min tops and is very comfortable. The Ztrak commercial mowers are way better built structual wise is why I said I should go that way. I did get the 4yr/500 hr warranty which makes me feel good about the purchase. My next one will be the beast Z910A for sure!!!
Thanks John Deere!!!!
Prosquick cutting
Consnothing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Z655 EZTrak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i'm a big guy love the seat. get it gas and it moves.turns on a dime.and it pretty,best looking mower in the neighborhood.

Posted19 April 2012
Customer avatar
uncle1
From:House Springs, High Ridge, MO 63051, USA
Length of Ownership:3 months
Level of Expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this mower is smooth and fast.i had extra foot plates put on foot bar.nice my 13 4ewide fits perfect.
Prospretty
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.